Prehistoric Gardens

13 Aug

When we passed these dinosaurs on the side of the road I had to radio Beth to turn around so we could stop. 

We didn’t go in. I kinda regret that. But we had the luggage on top of the car and the babies to worry about.

So we settled for pictures of the two dinosaurs could see for free from the parking lot.

27 Responses to “Prehistoric Gardens”

  1. Marilyn Kanes August 13, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    This reminds me of the old Lost World in the Santa Cruz Mountains/Scott’s Valley. Where was this?

  2. Diane August 13, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Reminds me of the old Prehistoric Forest near me in Irish Hills, MI. But I don’t think it’s there anymore. I know it’s hard to stop when you have ‘babies’ in the car…I have a Chihuahua and a PomChi as well. Your little guys are so adorable Jorge!

  3. zauberaber August 13, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    we went in last year. totally fun. and worth it, scared my 2-year old…a bunch of rainbow dinos!

  4. Kimberly August 13, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    Jorge, I bought a Hurley (and Jack, Kate, Eko and Locke) action figure this morning at a neighborhood yard sale. You guys were thrown into a bin with a bunch of other toys. 75 cents each!

  5. Tena Lynn August 13, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Don’t you look cute standing next to them. :-) Those look pretty cool, by the way so thanks for sharing!!

  6. Beth Becker McMeekin August 13, 2011 at 11:40 am #

    These pictures remind me of the pics my parents took of my 1st trip out west when I was 18 months-old. They drove from Alabama to Spokane, WA with a toddler, just so they could go to the World’s Fair (my dad grew up in Spokane). I have pictures of these same dinosaurs, as well as pics of the redwoods you posted a couple of days ago. Cool.

  7. Lurkertype August 13, 2011 at 12:25 pm #

    Didn’t they make Jurassic Park partly in the same places you shot on LOST? Between that and all the Dharma/time-travel stuff, you and the T-Rex look perfect together.

  8. Debbie M. August 13, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Love these photos! By the way, where was this?

  9. Sandy August 13, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    I’m guessing southern Oregon? Port Orford area? So fun to stop and get a pic along the way. Memories! :)

  10. LSE August 13, 2011 at 3:00 pm #

    Something to do on the next road trip!

  11. IslandPearl August 13, 2011 at 4:03 pm #

    When I was about 7 years old, we lived across the street from a park like this…must’ve been very popular back in the late 50s. It was in the ruins of an authentic sugar mill (called Sugar Mill Gardens – inspired, yes?) in Port Orange FL.

    You’d think being that close to those beasties, with my vivid imagination, would be nightmare inspiring, but I never gave it a thought!

    They’re still there, too.

  12. Irish Girl August 13, 2011 at 4:25 pm #

    I’m loving this travelogue. :)

  13. kake79 August 13, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

    *sigh* Now, Jorge. You know you should’ve pulled your arms in your sleeves and mimicked the T. Rex.

  14. Shannon August 13, 2011 at 6:02 pm #

    We’ve been there before, pretty cool place. I’ll have to find my pictures of it. It’s fun to think of you there, even if you didn’t get to go in.

  15. BethS August 13, 2011 at 6:49 pm #

    Awesome! We visited our local zoo (Cleveland Ohio) a couple of years ago just for the dinosaur exhibit as my daughter was very in to dino’s back then. They were so lifelike in look and sound. The exhibit travels though so it’s not there all the time unfortunately. Great pics!!

  16. Ratmando August 13, 2011 at 10:55 pm #

    you PEEWEE, an adventure. Love it

  17. Claudia August 14, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Wow. This is too cool of a place.
    You guys are on quite the adventure.
    Thanks for sharing.:)

  18. Jeff August 14, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    I hope that the pups didn’t see those huge creatures. The night tremors would never cease.

  19. MARTA(BcN) August 14, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    where is that?? is amazing!! you live a lot of adventures, a mi no me pasan estas cosas en Barcelona, haha, Im glad to read you again,take care!!

  20. gwinchy August 14, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    is this shot taken from iphone apps called Instagram???

    you can also try Leme Cam! It has so many cool variety of lenses! :-D

  21. Kristen C. Orl, FL August 14, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    RAWR! (That means “I love you” in dinosaur)

  22. Melanie August 14, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    LOVE IT! Jorge, just remember you will have a next time to stop and go through. ;-)

    To everyone wondering where this is: Prehistoric Gardens is on Hwy 101 between Port Orford and Gold Beach, in Southern Oregon. It’s about 45-50 minutes (depending on seasonal traffic) north of the California border.

  23. Aparatchick August 15, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    Oh yeah. That’s a southern Oregon road trip classic, along with Sea Lion Caves and the House of Mystery.

  24. Mighty Morfin August 15, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Very cool pictures, Jorge. Too bad you didn’t go inside. Next time, ya? Thanks so much for sharing your pictures with us!!

    • Nils August 15, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

      I grew up just down the road from here in Gold Beach (the place with the jet boats and the cool bridge). This was a popular field trip destination. One day I was driving by early in the morning and some pranksters had hung a dead deer from the jaws of the T-Rex. I stopped and walked inside like the earnest naive teenager I was and asked the proprietor if he knew he had a deer hanging from his dinosaur. Somehow this had not escaped his notice. He was not amused. Evidently this was not the first time someone pulled this prank. I’m sad this was in the days before the omnipresence of camera phones…

  25. Alisa Smolkina August 17, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    Hi, Jorge! Nice pictures, I like it :-)

  26. Kitty August 17, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    Ooh, I love Prehistoric Gardens! My husband and I made the road trip there from Portland, Oregon, just a few years ago. Such a delightful place! I do hope you’ll go inside when and if you return to Southern Oregon.

    It does my heart good to think that there are now two Lost cast members somewhere in Oregon now (the other being Matthew Fox, who, last I heard, moved to Lake Oswego, Oregon). Hope you guys can meet up! And best wishes to you and Beth in Vancouver.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 811 other followers

