I Promised People I’d Post About This

22 Jan

This is Nooch. Nooch is an insider term for nutritional yeast.  And it’s not the stuff you feed your goldfish. (Although that stuff may actually have nooch in it. )

Nooch is hands down the most popular condiment amongst the plant-eating world. (More popular than Cholula? I know right?!)

But apparently it’s used in everything and is a great source of B12. I’d describe its flavor as a cross between nutty and umami, almost cheesy.

According to this small set of vegans I met at The Post Punk Kitchen forum the best introduction to nooch is “noochy toast.”

1. Make toast. (You know what toast looks like already.)

2. Spread with Earth Balance.

3. Sprinkle with nooch.

4. Pop it in the toaster oven.

It’s great. You know what else it kind of tastes like? Chicken bouillon.

And you add a little garlic? It will make a fine (can you see this coming?) garlic bread.

So PPKers know I’m legit now. Now to convince the people at fanforum…

69 Responses to “I Promised People I’d Post About This”

  1. veganchai January 22, 2012 at 1:23 pm #

    woo! now that you’ve mastered noochy toast, the next step is mac & cheeze with a noochy sauce. there are lots to choose from, but my very favorite is the cheezish macaroni in the glad cow cookbook. (and i’ve never actually had noochy toast, so you’re one up on me.)

  2. Tammie January 22, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    I love that you gave us another recipie! I tried the almond milk you made and it was good! I will have to give this a try. I have a couple of nieces that went veggie, and I love to cook, but tend to get stumped for ideas so they may end up with only two or three things to nibble on when I make a big meal.

    • P.F. Freud's January 22, 2012 at 2:08 pm #

      You can’t go wrong with chili. Gain extra points if you top fries w/ ‘em. Extra, extra points if you use non-dairy cheese or a noochy cheese sauce.

  3. Melanie January 22, 2012 at 1:35 pm #

    Mm, nooch! I also really like it sprinkled over pasta with tomato sauce!

  4. niven January 22, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    i use nooch in anything that i want to taste cheesy. it reminds me of the mac and cheese that has the powdered cheese. you should try adding cashews to some of your recipes. they give everything a meaty, cheesy flavor.

  5. Jo Sparkle January 22, 2012 at 1:40 pm #

    my friends put it on popcorn… mmmmm

  6. Debbie M. January 22, 2012 at 1:56 pm #

    Thanks for posting, Jorge. Will have to give it a try. I just checked out The Post Punk Kitchen and added it to my bookmarks.

  7. P.F. Freud's January 22, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Haha, you rock Jorge! I’m glad you are digging the nooch. I had some noochy tofu scramble w/ cremini mushrooms and spinach this morning. De-lish!

  8. Shira January 22, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    love PPK!!!!!

  9. js January 22, 2012 at 2:07 pm #

    Favorite thing to make with nooch: cashew cream sauce.
    1/2 cup raw cashews (soaked if you don’t have a Seriously Badass Blender)
    1/2 cup non-dairy milk
    1/2 tablespoon minced onion
    1/2 tablespoon (or more) nooch

    Blend in a blender or food processor until it’s sauce. Eat it on steamed veggies, or think it with more milk or water and use it as salad dressing. A little goes a long way.

  10. erinwyso January 22, 2012 at 2:12 pm #

    You were always legit. The ppk loves you!

  11. Too Cheap for Pine Nuts January 22, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

    My husband and daughter both love noochy toast. I hate the smell of it myself. I don’t mind it in sauces or IN things, but not in any dry form – i.e. on my toast and on my popcorn. :-p

  12. megan January 22, 2012 at 2:17 pm #

    Awesome.

  13. Rebecca Lynne January 22, 2012 at 2:25 pm #

    Be still my beating heart. ;)

  14. rtimko January 22, 2012 at 2:31 pm #

    Here in Boulder, CO we call it ‘hippie dust’. It’s pretty awesome. There is a local guy here (famous ultrarunner) named Scott Jurek that introduced me to it. I believe he’s coming out with a vegan cookbook pretty soon.

  15. Amber Gilewski January 22, 2012 at 2:32 pm #

    So glad to see you post about nooch! It’s awesome on popcorn too and in any vegan mac & cheese recipe.

    Feel free to try out my mac & cheese recipe from my blog (featuring nooch): http://tuxedocat.us/2011/creamy-vegan-mac-cheese

    PPK for life!

    • Amber Gilewski January 22, 2012 at 6:08 pm #

      Just checking if my response went through. It says it’s still awaiting moderation.

  16. Jacq January 22, 2012 at 2:37 pm #

    We’ve been eating nooch for years here. My kids just call it yellow stuff. So we often have toast with yellow stuff or my favorite, everything bagels with yellow stuff. :)

  17. flight815down January 22, 2012 at 2:39 pm #

    I eat Morning Star Farm products. Does that count?

  18. tanis January 22, 2012 at 2:46 pm #

    I had noochy toast for breakfast!

  19. Mr. Shankly January 22, 2012 at 2:56 pm #

    Thanks so much, Jorge! Nooch also makes a great vegan mac and cheese. I think there are a couple recipes for it in Appetite For Reduction and maybe one in Veganomicon.

  20. Christian January 22, 2012 at 3:09 pm #

    wow, I’ve been vegan for a few years, and I NEVER knew that this was a thing. Nooch on plain popcorn is pretty good too.

  21. Bethany January 22, 2012 at 3:11 pm #

    I’m going to have to try that, nutritional yeast is the best.

    My new favorite toast is something I recreated from a great pizza place in Seattle w/ tons of vegan options (Razzi’s):
    1. rub frozen bread slice with garlic (the frozen bread sort of acts like sandpaper w/ the garlic, making it so you don’t have to mince the garlic). or skip the garlic part.
    2. spread with a thin layer of pesto. the garlic in the pesto means you can skip step 1 if you want.
    3. top w/ vegan mozzarella cheese.
    4. put in toaster oven until toasted

    It’s really good. Probably even better if I used french bread instead of Killer Dave’s. Gotta love Killer Dave w/ his whole grains :).

  22. Sophia January 22, 2012 at 3:12 pm #

    try it on popcorn too! it’s a very easy introduction (tastes almost like Parmesan on popcorn!) yum.

  23. jordanpatter January 22, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    It’s also fantastic on popcorn (also with EB) and is a great addition to vegan pesto!

  24. Don S January 22, 2012 at 3:15 pm #

    I’m glad I’m not the only person that calls it NOOCH!

  25. Celeste January 22, 2012 at 3:28 pm #

    Nutritional yeast is the BEST. Try it on oatmeal or grits (me EVERY DAY), or add it to potatoes or other vegetables before roasting. Also really good for coating tofu in. SO GOOD. Definitely my favorite condiment =)

  26. Pennsylvegan January 22, 2012 at 4:20 pm #

    Nooch toast is the most awesome thing eva!

  27. jess January 22, 2012 at 4:42 pm #

    As a PPKer, I would just like to say…..POPCORN!!!!!!!

    And I bet those hippie era Dharma folks had a canister somewhere. Just saying.

  28. Kira January 22, 2012 at 4:49 pm #

    You should check out Nacheez. It’s an awesome vegan “cheese” sauce made from raw cashews. It comes in mild and spicy (I believe she’s working on a medium, too), and is totally awesome and versatile, and I say this as a person who isn’t even vegan!

    They’re only in one store in Canada right now, but you can order online too. I hope you like it too :)

    http://www.nacheez.com/

  29. Kristen January 22, 2012 at 5:11 pm #

    Mmm, noochy bread! Love it.

  30. Ilsa Hess January 22, 2012 at 5:24 pm #

    Nooch is a vegan godsend and so is the PPK! Jorge, I’d be happy to send you some free jars if you would like to try my Nacheez! http://www.Nacheez.com (Thanks for posting that, Kira!)

  31. Suzie Q. Wacvet January 22, 2012 at 5:25 pm #

    I don’t know why I read that as Post Punk Kitten. Hmmm.

    • Katie January 22, 2012 at 8:34 pm #

      We DO love our cats over there!

  32. Zelavie January 22, 2012 at 5:34 pm #

    Noochy popcorn is the best! Basically the same treatment – popcorn + EB + nooch. I could live on that.

    Also… Jorge Garcia is a PPKer! This made my day!

  33. Donna Siano January 22, 2012 at 5:36 pm #

    Thank you for sharing. I’ll have to try it.

  34. RandiJM January 22, 2012 at 6:05 pm #

    Oh this makes me so happy! You’re real!! And you’re fabulous. <3 from the PPK

  35. Sarah M. (@appifanie) January 22, 2012 at 6:31 pm #

    My favorite use is in minestrone soup! I put about a tablespoon in a bowl and mix it in. So yummy.

    JorgeSquee!

  36. niven January 22, 2012 at 6:44 pm #

    that cashew cream sauce is AWESOME on kale! sometimes the grossest sounding foods are the BEST!!

  37. Bonni January 22, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    I had no idea that there was another name for it other than simply “nutritional yeast.” Grew up with the stuff … I particularly liked it sprinkled on popcorn, but apparently as a toddler I also loved it mixed with apple juice (a frothy delight). Haven’t had it in years, but seeing how your readers use it, I might just have to give it another go. :-) Thanks!

  38. SnarkyVegan January 22, 2012 at 7:52 pm #

    We’ve been using nooch on popcorn for years. I never once thought about it on toast. Thanks for the heads up!

  39. Shade January 22, 2012 at 9:05 pm #

    I’ve been eating “nooch” for about three years now, but never called it “nooch”. I love the name! Great post. I make this cheese sauce: http://vegweb.com/index.php?topic=7057.0 and use it on pasta, over broccoli, on vegan philly cheese steak sandwiches. It’s a great base recipe you can easily customize to your liking, more or less salt (I usually use half the salt) and more or less garlic etc. and it has a wonderfully cheese-like taste and consistency. Makes great comfort foods like vegan mac n’ cheese too. :)

  40. gpope January 22, 2012 at 9:06 pm #

    Jorge, you are awesome and us PPKers love you! If you haven’t already, you should check out the amazing vegan options at Wild Rice, Cafe Kathmandu, and Nuba in Vancouver. Also great: Panz Veggie (downtown), Chau VeggiExpress, Grub, Chutney Villa, and Saravanaa Bhavan. Thanks for being awesome, and I hope you like BC! And yes, it’s lame that you have to pay a quarter for a shopping cart.

  41. supercarrot January 22, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    i can not tell you how many times I’ve made the nacho cheese from the ultimate uncheese cookbook. I even mix up a big batch of the dry ingredients and keep it in a jar until I’m ready to have nachos. just take 1/4 cup of the mix, mix it with 1/2 cup water and a tsp or so of chickpea miso and a squirt of yellow mustard and cook on the stove. vegan convenience food at it’s finest.
    <3

  42. Laura January 22, 2012 at 11:03 pm #

    Growing up, my mom always sprinkled it on popcorn with garlic, salt, and parsley. It was so delicious!

  43. Ameyfm January 22, 2012 at 11:06 pm #

    Woo hoo! He’s legit, AND he likes noochy toast! I actually use nooch most often in my salad dressing, a recipe I got out of a book called “Becoming Vegan.” it’s such delicious dressing!

  44. Emma January 23, 2012 at 2:54 am #

    Whoop Whoop! Gotta love some nooch! You’re officially “legit”!

  45. peggy January 23, 2012 at 5:54 am #

    yay for nooch!!! my hubby and i have noochy toast for breakfast all the time!! his favorite has peanut butter instead of earth balance though. yum yum yum. nooch is an amazing ingredient

  46. jessy January 23, 2012 at 6:59 am #

    noochy toast is gloriously good. hooray for noochy toast and the PPK!

    i like to sprinkle nooch on roasted broccoli, add some in meatless tempeh-beanballs and homemade veggie burgers, and it’s awesome sprinkled on mashed potatoes, too!

  47. jeannie cave January 23, 2012 at 9:35 am #

    also excellent as additional garnish on a good wholesome soup.

  48. lostsailors January 23, 2012 at 4:11 pm #

    Wow, I have never, ever heard of this stuff! I am going to have to check out my local stores.

  49. Melissa January 23, 2012 at 7:24 pm #

    Nooch is awesome!!! I put it on almost everything. And my cat likes it too~ I sprinkle it on her food!!

  50. Debbie January 23, 2012 at 8:01 pm #

    Just had to tell you that I just finished watching tonight’s Alcatraz and Doc made me all teary. My fingers are crossed that this stays around.

  51. Jackie Denney January 23, 2012 at 8:09 pm #

    I live in a tiny Czech town in the middle of nowhere..West, By Goddess, Texas..the chances of me finding nooch here is the same if I was looking for something lo-cal or lite, or having less than 50 carbs in it..but I’ll look the next time I hit the health food store in Waco, Full of Baptists, Texas…

    saw the show tonight..was terrific..but most exciting was you have Leon Rippy…I love Leon almost as much as I do the kolaches they make in West..tell him I said howdy.

    • Lisa Battrick January 24, 2012 at 9:24 am #

      I convinced them at the fan forum.They were so excited.It’s hard to believe you are so available to your fans. Something I’ve appreciated about you so much through the past couple of years. Off to listen to Diego’s soul patch. Can’t wait to hear it. I’ve missed Geranimo’s Jack’s Beard. I hope you guys have the same formula for your new podcast.

  52. Michal (@inkasrain) January 24, 2012 at 5:49 am #

    Wow, FanForum is still around? Who knew?

  53. Libbe January 25, 2012 at 12:52 am #

    I love your blog, and am especially enjoying your adventures in veganism. I’m not vegan, but my old roommate is, and she writes an amazing blog (sort of the veggie version of Julie & Julia) taking all the Betty Crocker recipes and veganizing them. http://www.meettheshannons.net That’s all. Thanks for continually entertaining me!

  54. Kim S. January 25, 2012 at 10:11 pm #

    Ahhh… I see you found Isa Chandra Moskowitz. I highly recommend her Vegan Cupcakes cookbook (pumpkin chocolate chip – the best!). And I love her Appetite for Reduction. The only thing I like nutritional yeast on is popcorn though. I would love to try it on this though… http://ohsheglows.com/2011/10/03/butternut-squash-mac-n-cheeze/

  55. Shannon January 29, 2012 at 12:11 pm #

    Sounds like it’s a yellow version of vegemite. You can’t go wrong with Vegemite!

  56. kayeffjay January 30, 2012 at 11:21 am #

    Yay, nooch! It is FANTASTIC on popcorn.

  57. veganfoodrocks February 2, 2012 at 12:32 pm #

    ppk ftw!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  58. Katherine February 3, 2012 at 1:31 am #

    Oh man this is my favorite snack! So simple and yummy!

  59. Jennifer B February 5, 2012 at 9:05 am #

    Thank you for posting this! I’ve been a vegetarian for 23 years, and I am trying to go vegan. I need all the tips I can get as I have no vegan friends to help me and the vegan recipes I see are intimidating. Thanks for being my vegan friend.

  60. GroovyMom February 5, 2012 at 10:28 am #

    Green Earth (A healthy grocery store here) makes this tofu dish that is AMAZING. They slice tofu into wide thin pieces, and marinate them in Tamari (a type of soy sauce) and sprinkle them with sesame seeds and that nutritional yeast and then they bake or broil them. WAY yummy!

  61. iambabsjohnson February 6, 2012 at 4:40 pm #

    It looks like keif.

    • Jorge Garcia February 7, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      I had to look this word up. Did it it get your hopes up when you saw it?

      • Poppy June 23, 2013 at 6:31 pm #

        I just looked that word up too, never seen that before! It does actually look like it!

  62. mamakau March 20, 2012 at 5:09 pm #

    Thank you so much for this posting! My family and I are new vegans and nutritional yeast is one of our favorite vegan products. We prefer a modified version though…..in a food processor, we mix 1/2 C. of nooch with 1 C. of raw almonds and 1 Tbsp. of salt free seasoning (I like Mrs. Dash garlic & herb). You just process it into a powder and voila! It takes plain nooch to a whole new level! I got the recipe from Chef AJ’s book “Unprocessed.” Her disappearing lasagna is awesome too =)

  63. Steve October 19, 2012 at 11:27 pm #

    Awesome. Excited to see this Nooch post. Nooch for Prez. Yes, from months ago, so I’m late to the Nooch party, but I’m still excited.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 815 other followers

