Just got back from my cousin’s wedding in Cabo

8 Jul

More on that later. But I just had to share this picture with you.

It’s a Nativity Set made up entirely of Mariachis. Pretty sweet.

41 Responses to “Just got back from my cousin’s wedding in Cabo”

  1. Ali M. July 8, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    NEAT – and can’t wait to hear about the wedding – tis the season for it🙂

  2. Özer July 8, 2010 at 8:25 am #

    ¡Estuviste en mi país, yay!!
    Hope you had a great time in Mexico!

  3. Henry Wasserman July 8, 2010 at 8:32 am #

    “Now the birth of Jesus Christ was on this wise: When as his mother Mary was espoused to Joseph, before they came together, she was found with child of the Holy Ghost.”

    Do you ever wonder how many people believed Mary that Jesus was conceived like that? She probably just stopped trying to explain it.

  4. Sandy July 8, 2010 at 8:41 am #

    Like it! Was this at a market? (And glad to see you back to your blog.)

  5. Kathy July 8, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    Sweet indeed!🙂

  6. Sávio July 8, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    Seems to be a great choise to get married there =)

  7. Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com July 8, 2010 at 9:34 am #

    Brilliant! I want it!

  8. Margie July 8, 2010 at 9:35 am #

    Welcome back Jorge and Bethany! That picture looks cool. I’m so glad LOST got nominations for emmys but bummed because they did not acknowledge your wonderful work.

  9. Ian July 8, 2010 at 9:45 am #

    Agreed. You should have been nominated back in season 4 if you ask me. Michael’s already won, and I know his work is always good, but this year he didn’t have as much to do from a dramatic acting standpoint (he had the one scene with Illana in the woods that probably earned him the nod). You should have been on that bill for your always amazing underrated dramatic acting. I hate it when the voters can’t recognize good dramatic performance because a character is written into a drama series as a comedic relief type character. Those of us who know the character and who know the performance can recognize it as being truly brilliant. Your scene at the heart of the island alone should have secured you the nod.

  10. Teléfila July 8, 2010 at 10:00 am #

    I love that nativity set.

  11. James Hernandez July 8, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Jorge,

    Sweet Mariachis.

  12. Tena Lynn July 8, 2010 at 11:38 am #

    Hell ya you should have been nominated!!

  13. jennY July 8, 2010 at 11:40 am #

    thanks for the blog! i was checking and checking and hoping for a update! i miss hurley and i missss LOST!

  14. Ms. Morales July 8, 2010 at 11:52 am #

    Yeeeessss. I love it. The only thing better would be if it was made up of all Catinflases. LOL

  15. Megan Berlinger July 8, 2010 at 12:12 pm #

    Cool.

  16. Gwen July 8, 2010 at 12:28 pm #

    That’s really nice!

    Good to hear from you, Jorge! :-))

  17. Miztification July 8, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    I love it too!

  18. I just want to shrink and hug the little gals. How sweet?! We really missed you here…. just seems so long since the Lost days already- Yet, I’m wearing an Oceanic Air shirt, so maybe that has something to do with it. Welcome back! hugs to you n Beth!

  19. Marc July 8, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Jorge,
    Your blog is fascinating, and through all of your fame you seem to be just a regular guy (I intend that as a compliment).
    You were fantastic as Hurley.
    Thanks!

  20. devonellington July 8, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    What fun! YOu must have had a marvelous time.

  21. mrcelofan July 8, 2010 at 1:21 pm #

    Perdón por la pregunta pero…. Ya es navidad ??

  22. lacie July 8, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    Jorge, you are my nomination for best actor. Mathew Fox was good but your scene’s are why I watched. I am happy that Lost got so many Emmy nods.

  23. Jessica July 8, 2010 at 2:28 pm #

    I want one!!!!!!!!! So neat!

  24. Patty July 8, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    What are mariachis? Do you mean as in players in a mariachi band, I wonder? Anyway…how cute!

  25. jackson July 8, 2010 at 2:44 pm #

    Cool! Mariachis always make everyone happy – how appropriate!

  26. AmyQ July 8, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    Hey congrats on the nominations for the Emmys! Oh, two of my LOST paintings were in an art gallery this past weekend (village NYC). They are both only 6″x6″….It was a lot of fun to make, thanks for the inspiration!

    http://store.6x6gallery.com/lostbyamybethquering.aspx
    http://store.6x6gallery.com/lockebyamybethquering.aspx

  27. Bea July 8, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    That is too funny! I want to see a picture of this being displayed in your home during Christmas time 🙂

    Glad you are back. Looking forward to reading about your further adventures.

  28. vospik July 8, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    Ooh! SOOO Jealous! I was just in Cabo last month & if I ever got married, that would be THE place to do it! I am planning to head back there again in November when its maybe not so hot hot hot! Thanks for the posts!!!

  29. jackie July 8, 2010 at 5:43 pm #

    been missing you sweety..i’d like to see a nativity scene made up of day of the dead characters.

  30. Paula July 8, 2010 at 6:09 pm #

    That set is beautiful. Will you please let us know if they are available to purchase?

  31. Ann July 8, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    I have a nativity scene from Mexico that looks a whole lot like that one. It is one of my favorites to put out during the holidays!

  32. Mary July 8, 2010 at 7:31 pm #

    My tia would kill for that nativity set…oookay, maybe not the best way to put that…

  33. Trish Johnson July 8, 2010 at 9:34 pm #

    Welcome home!

    On one of the facebook games where you own and island and you dig, one of my friends just reached Richard Alpert status. LOL

    Thanks for keeping the blog going. I enjoy Beth and your adventures!

    Trish

  34. Elizabeth July 9, 2010 at 7:26 am #

    I just have to tell you this, the nativity directly to the left? My grandmother owned that one when I was a child and I would carry the baby Jesus EVERYWHERE.

  35. DP July 9, 2010 at 1:23 pm #

    Aye! Mi gente. ❤

  36. Olive July 9, 2010 at 4:05 pm #

    Know just how you feel: I’m away from home and my library of almost 120 bread books….am contemplating buying copies, specially the Hammelman, it’s my bible….;-).
    PS: That loaf looks lovely….

  37. Heather July 9, 2010 at 10:38 pm #

    Those are so cute! Ok I had to Google Mariachis, but still, very cute! What a beautiful place for a wedding. Hope to see some photos!

  38. Dee July 10, 2010 at 2:57 pm #

    Pretty cool navity set. I had to look up the meaning of ‘mariachi’ as we don’t have anything like that in the UK. At least I learnt something new today, thanks for sharing : )

  39. Tracy July 15, 2010 at 7:16 am #

    Beautiful!

  40. Tiffany Noélli July 18, 2010 at 4:50 pm #

    Fofo esse artesanato local de Cabo, com certeza é pintado a mão. País de pessoas com sorriso bonito… Um pouco do estilo brasileiro. =)

  41. Colleen Bemis July 22, 2010 at 11:00 pm #

    Hi Jorge,

    I just started reading your posts. I love the nativity, I collect them when I travel, just like you collect your shower caps(although I haven’t tried to use them to help me make bread). I am so sorry about Nunu. I know it has been a while, but I’m sure it still hurts. I have a sweet sweet pug named Strawberry. She has survived cancer twice, she will be 13 on August 1st and she is the love of my life. Don’t know if I can post her pics, but you would instantly love her just like everyone else does. I will catch up on all of your blogging. There is something about your writing that is comforting. Colleen

Leave a Reply

