Adjusting Slowly

9 Jul

Needless to say it’s tough returning to Los Angeles after everything has ended.

But as a symbol of my slow return to normalcy I baked my  first bread on the mainland. It turned out beautifully. And I had to do it with measuring cups because I didn’t have  a scale. (Although I just bought one today.)

All of my bread books are in storage. I might have to just go buy a second copy of Jim Lahey’s My Bread, because I don’t know if I can just wing it for the next few months until I find a place. I guess I could give it away when I break my other one out of jail. But the thing is, I write in my cookbooks. The recipes have dates and notes around them from when I tried them before. I kinda like keeping a record like that.

On a separate note, I just received a letter from the Hawaiian Humane Society with the names of about forty people who made donations in Nunu’s honor. I can’t tell you how good it makes me feel that you honored her memory in that way. Mahalo nui loa.

56 Responses to “Adjusting Slowly”

  1. ChargingBird July 9, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Beautiful bread!!

    I don’t own cookbooks, instead I copy (usually by hand since my printer is usually broken or out of ink) recipes, and slide them in the plastic protectors, and have them all in a binder. I can look at them with messy hands, and still pull out the paper to make changes. I think making notes of dates and changes is a great idea. I usually only remember to write down the changes if they come out good.

    How amazing about donations in Nunu’s honor! I cried when I read about her. I’m still sorry for your loss.

  2. Ali M July 9, 2010 at 6:05 am #

    Jorge,
    When you take the cookbook out of storage copy everything you’ve written into the new one (presuming you buy it) THEN sell the other for a charity auction like ‘Bidding For Good’ or something.
    The bread looks yummy and what great animal loving fans you have out there on the interwebs.

    -Ali

  3. mrcelofan July 9, 2010 at 6:07 am #

    En mi tierra a eso se le llama “pa de pagès”, se corta a rebanadas y se unta con tomate, se le echa un buen chorro de aceite de oliva y una pizca de sal y ya está listo para acompañarlo con cualquier tipo de embutido, jamón, queso…

    Un saludo.

  4. Juju at Tales of Whimsy.com July 9, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    That’s absolutely beautiful! *hugs*

  5. Kat July 9, 2010 at 6:23 am #

    I’m sure you could sell the cookbook with your added notes. Would be more valuable than a brand new cookbook.

  6. Patty July 9, 2010 at 6:31 am #

    Oh, yum! I can almost smell it…Looks like sourdough?

  7. Kathy July 9, 2010 at 6:42 am #

    The bread looks delicious Jorge….and I’m sure you’ve heard it before but – one day at time…take it one day at a time.
    That’s the best way to adjust…to everything.
    Such wonderful heartwarming news about the donations. 🙂
    Peace…
    xo

  8. Christi July 9, 2010 at 6:51 am #

    Glad to see you back at it & back to blogging! That bread looks fantastic & if you need anyone to “donate” the cookbook to…. I would be willing… if you really can’t find anyone🙂

  9. Jacque July 9, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    Way back when (San Clemente High) you came to our home with our son, Brian.
    we’ve been following your blog and are so proud and happy for you. A beautiful wife, a wonderful career!

    Nunu was a sweetie and as always will have a special place in your heart. The donations made will help so many pets, it’s very heartwarming, to say the least.

    Take care,
    Brian’s mom

  10. Mary July 9, 2010 at 7:34 am #

    What a nice crust! Something about the sharing of bread with friends and family, it just shows what is important in life.

  11. Liz R. July 9, 2010 at 7:52 am #

    That was so sweet about the donations =)

    That bread looks great

  12. midlifenatalie July 9, 2010 at 7:55 am #

    can i just say that i love the fact that you bake bread. i enjoy hearing about the hobbies other people have. while i may not be a bread baker, a toy train collector, or a bird watcher i just absolutely love when people have a passion like that. thanks for sharing yours.

  13. devonellington July 9, 2010 at 8:11 am #

    The bread looks fabulous.

    is there anyway you can get into your unit to retrieve the book, or is that too complicated? Having been through that recently, I completely understand.

  14. Henry Wasserman July 9, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    I’m sure the writers of lost would find it amusing that the true reward you got for taking over (and protecting) the island was to be temporarily banished from it….

    As Frank Sinatra would say…
    “That’s life”

    Another island is just waiting for you to find it.
    “Here Comes the Sun” – George Harrison

    : )

  15. Luke Leger July 9, 2010 at 9:09 am #

    There’s nothing like baking to make things seem a bit more normal. The bread looks wonderful!

  16. DJ July 9, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Wow, Jorge, ever since I heard about Nunu, I can’t imagine the emotions you were going through. It would be hard enough leaving Hawaii, your friends and your home for the past 6 years, and then losing Nunu on top of it. Cheers for your bravery and your fortitude in such an amazing flurry of major life moves.

  17. Henry Wasserman July 9, 2010 at 9:30 am #

    The Rainbow Connection – Paul Williams

    And why are there so many
    Songs about rainbows
    and what’s on the other side?

    Rainbows are visions
    they’re only illusions
    And Rainbows have nothing to hide

    And so we’ve been told
    And Some choose to believe it
    And I know they’re wrong
    Wait and see.

    Someday we’ll find it
    the rainbow connection
    The lovers the dreamers and me.

    And who said that every wish
    should be heard and answered
    when wished on a Morning Star?

    And somebody thought of that
    And someone believed it
    And look what its done so far.

    And what’s so amazing
    That keeps us star gazing?
    And what do we think we might see?

    And Someday we’ll find it
    the rainbow connection
    The lovers the dreamers and me.

    And have you been half asleep
    and have you heard voices
    well I’ve heard them calling my name

    And are these the sweet sounds
    that called the young sailers
    Well I think they’re one and the same.

    And I’ve heard it too many times to ignore it
    There’s something that I’m supposed to be.

    And Someday we’ll find it
    the rainbow connection
    The lovers the dreamers and me.

    Someday we’ll find it
    the rainbow connection
    The lovers – the dreamers and me.

    – Paul Williams

  18. Melody July 9, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Just copy all your notes into the old book and then you could auction the newer cookbook off for charity. I don’t really buy celebrity memorabilia at all but I would bid on your cookbook. I was going to pick that one up anyway.

    That is awesome about the donations. Nunu lives on in all sorts of ways.

  19. Sarah Sommer July 9, 2010 at 9:46 am #

    You definitely should thank Jo Garfein (Jopinionated). She sponsored a contest – in order to enter you had to donate in Nu Nu’s honor. I wasn’t sure if you knew that. Not that people only donated because of the contest… But, at least for me, it planted a seed and a good idea I never would have thought of on my own…

    Hope you find somewhere nice to live soon. It sucks not being able to put down roots. I once lived in a hotel room for 10 months – not my idea of a good time.

    I’m glad you’re still blogging. Thanks!

  20. Tena Lynn July 9, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    You make me want to bake bread, seriously.

    I do know the sort of insecure feel of having things in storage and being kinda in limbo.

    I have thought of Nunu many times.

    • Karla July 9, 2010 at 10:17 am #

      Welcome back Jorge, so glad you’re doing well. I can only imagine how difficult it is for you to adjust to all of your recent life changes. Things take time!

      I recently got a new Brittany puppy after 18 mos of missing my old dog that passed away. Ivy is 11 wks old and full of the puppy crazies. Love her to pieces, but I feel like I just gave birth to a toddler w sharp teeth!!!

      xoxoxo and really missing LOST! Karla

  21. Megan July 9, 2010 at 10:03 am #

    What about a 2nd cookbook blog giveaway? You have lots of loyal readers here who drool over the delicious looking breads… just sayin’! *cheesy grin*

  22. Kitti July 9, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    It’s so great when a man cooks.🙂 I’m a woman, but can’t cook…yet!
    Love you Jorge,
    Kitti

  23. marcmedia July 9, 2010 at 10:40 am #

    Dude, making pizza dough in LA is easy, but getting it to cook right in your oven is another story.

    Guess “LA” is anti-pizza dough…

    I’ve tried other breads and such but can not get the formula right: LA+smog+valley+old crappy oven=😦

    That’s why the freezer is stuffed with emergency tombstone pizzas. 🙂

    Keep us updated on your bread adventures!

    – Marc

  24. Kate July 9, 2010 at 10:46 am #

    Dude! Bread looks awesome- you gotta start posting recipes…you could compile a book…’the LOST art of baking bread’ or ‘baking found’ …I dunno – I’d buy it!
    Sorry to hear about Nunu…
    K X

  25. Renee July 9, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    I really want to learn how to make bread the Jorge way. Will you make a tutorial?😀

  26. Debbie M. July 9, 2010 at 12:54 pm #

    Welcome back to the mainland, Jorge! Wow, the bread looks good! I’ve never made bread myself. As far as not having access to your cookbooks, I can relate to that. Moving can be so stressful. It’s best to just wait until you’re settled. Hopefully, it won’t be that long.

    -Debbie

  27. Kathy Myers July 9, 2010 at 1:00 pm #

    The bread looks yummy! My former husband used to make bread and it was to. die. for. I love the way it smells when it’s baking.

    I felt your pain about Nunu but know the donations help.

    I MISS LOST!!!!!

  28. rob schwager July 9, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    i wanna loaf……

  29. Ashlie- Mommycosm July 9, 2010 at 3:28 pm #

    Looks yummy!

    My late uncle owned a catering company. We were very close. He also made notes in his cookbooks – and he gave me a bunch of them when he retired…it was a few years before he died. They are invaluable to me now. It’s kinda like he’s talking to me when I use one.

    Definitely break yours out of jail…you’ll be glad you did.

  30. Abby July 9, 2010 at 3:50 pm #

    Wow. That bread looks perfect. Have you thought about taking baking classes? I think you’d excel at them!

    I made a larger-than-usual donation to our SPCA, thinking of Nunu and all our animals that we have rescued over the years. I saw a chihuahua with those huge radar dishes for ears recently and thought of your lost pooch too.

    Good luck in all that you and Beth do.

  31. jackson July 9, 2010 at 4:58 pm #

    This is the time when you get to redefine “normal”, because everything has changed and what was normal is gone. Find the things that bring you joy and make them your new normal. Bread is a good start. Best wishes.

  32. kraftypixie July 9, 2010 at 5:33 pm #

    I love that you are into so many down to earth things in your life, like baking bread. Even if you put up a small blurb with a pic on your blog it usually makes me smile. It’s great that people thought to donate in Nunu’s name. When the time is right I am sure you will find another furry baby to welcome into your heart. Any news on any new tv or movie projects or are you intentionally taking a break for now? I still have my “LOST” finale party decoractions up- tiki masks & foil palm tree on top of my dvd player- I haven’t quite been able to let go yet. Give Beth a big hug & take care.

  33. Irish Girl July 9, 2010 at 5:58 pm #

    YAAAAY! Jorge is baking again! Life is good…

  34. Kristina July 9, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    That delicious-looking bread makes me want to go and bake a bread, and that says a lot, considering I don’t like that kind of things.. I’m more of a desserts person.😀

  35. JustMeInOrangeCounty July 9, 2010 at 9:00 pm #

    Oh happy day!! Food p*rn!! Looks delicious.

    What’s this I see on IMDB regarding “When We Were Pirates”?? Got anything you can share?

    Enjoy the weekend. Man, SoCal weather has been LOUSY lately….

  36. jackie July 9, 2010 at 10:41 pm #

    Oh i can’t live with out my cook books…my pages are stuck together at my favorite recipes..with sugar or butter..
    I think the Goddess has Nunu with her and takes her for rides in her chariot…

  37. Heather July 9, 2010 at 10:50 pm #

    That’s a good idea to make notes in your cook books. The closest I’ve come to making bread is putting those Pillsbury dough things in the oven. I think I could be a good cook if I tried, but I get frustrated and give up too easily. Hope you and Beth are doing well. I’m sure things must still seem out of sorts but it will come together. It’s a lot of change at once. That’s very sweet about the donations for Nunu.

  38. Carrie Marie July 9, 2010 at 11:03 pm #

    OH my heck! I love that you write in your cookbooks. That is awesome! *hugs* for Nunu.

  39. Maine Mom July 10, 2010 at 6:54 am #

    That bread is BEAUTIFUL! I write in my cookbooks too – and learned it from my Mom. It’s so nice to open one of her books and see her recommendations or notes about who she served it to and when. Buy another book and pass it on! What bread books do you recommend?

  40. Capmaster July 10, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    Delicious-looking bread, Jorge!

    It was nice to read that Nunu was honored that way, and that other animals will benefit from the generosity.

    One way to look at that terrible accident, and please forgive me if this seems too light-hearted for this topic: Nunu’s fate was to stay on the island. Sound familiar? I sometimes believe that things happen for a definite purpose. We can’t see it because we don’t see the whole picture. Maybe Nunu’s whole purpose was to inspire people to donate more to the Humane Association ….. just a thought.

    Cheers, Jorge! And keep up that great breadmaking.

  41. Tracy July 10, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    That’s nice about the humane society and Nunu.

    When you are ready (and more settled) I thought I’d suggest two really good places to rescue dogs that have *normal* people working for them ( while normal, I do not work for them and am just giving them a shout out)
    http://www.langefoundation.com http://www.mollysmuttsandmeows.org

    After my chihuahua passed away I went all the way to the West Valley Shelter in Chatsworth because I heard theyy had a lot of chi and chi mixes. I got a little black chi. In a reversal I then moved from West LA with him to Kailua.

    Anyway, LA shelters and rescues are overflowing with chihuahua and chi mixes.There are so many that they don’t all get on ahelter website photos. The best thing I did to honor my chihuahua that passed away was rescue another. When the time is right I hope you consider that option

  42. Skye July 10, 2010 at 2:41 pm #

    Nice! How do you make your bread so light and fluffy? Mine always turns out so dense, you can throw it at someone and it hurts.
    Am I being too impatient and not letting it rise long enough?? I have no idea.

  43. Dee July 10, 2010 at 3:03 pm #

    Oh you’re a pro now Jorge, if that bread tastes as good as it looks maybe you could open your own bakery!

    Also glad nunu’s memory is still being honoured, lets hope the donations keep rolling in : )

  44. Janet July 11, 2010 at 3:00 am #

    Jorge – You are a wonderful, loving person. I feel so bad about Nunu. My best to you and Beth.

    Your bread looks yummy.

  45. Anne July 11, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Jorge,

    I think your next mission in life is to open a LOST themed bakery in LA. I would SO be your first customer🙂 Better yet, we should team up. You make bread, I’ll make cupcakes!

  46. ames July 11, 2010 at 7:58 pm #

    You know it’s funny, when a gig ends for me, and I’m experiencing post-show depression. I always spend time in the kitchen cooking up a storm. Some how, creating in the kitchen uses up a little bit of that creative energy that goes into rehearsals and performances. Keep up the baking and blogging. : )

  47. dr mum July 11, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    When I got my stuff out of storage after a year, My thoughts were “What a load of ****, WHY did I keep any of this?”

  48. Miztification July 12, 2010 at 12:35 pm #

    Way to go, Jorge!

  49. Pequitas July 12, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    yummy looking bread

  50. Bill July 13, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    We heard about NuNu’s passing through Ryan & Jen and made the donation.
    So happy to have done something to honor Nunu’s memory.
    You are in our thoughts.
    All our best, Bill & Sean

  51. Sariel July 13, 2010 at 10:20 pm #

    JORGE:

    A beautiful piece of art.

    Can you share with us your favorite bread recipe?
    I promise to bake it, took a photo and send it to you.

    C’mon dudes, let’s bake the planet!!!

    Hugs from CHILE

  52. Mia July 14, 2010 at 5:59 am #

    I write all over my cookbooks also, great way to make new things…I usually use the blue covers from Glad.

    PS…still missing Lost😦
    Good Luck in LA!!

  53. Phil July 28, 2010 at 2:58 pm #

    Jorge:

    Saw you at Veggie Grill the other day – wanted to come up and say hello, but didn’t want to interrupt. Mostly wanted to say thank you for the blog and for turning me onto the bread recipe. It has been encapsulating my life lately – and fresh bread is either rising or cooking…

  54. Erik Nyquist August 16, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    I was wondering if you read this article in the NYT about baking bread at Riker’s Island?

    http://cityroom.blogs.nytimes.com/2010/08/15/rikers-bakery/

  55. Jongela October 11, 2010 at 6:49 pm #

    Hey Jorge, We recently moved back to the mainland from Hawai’i after 5 years and are missing it lots too. Such a special place! We are in Seattle and doing our best to blog about our new adventures. http://www.dakinecascadia.com

Leave a Reply

