Check out how much traveling I did this summer.

10 Jul

Okay I probably should have posted this one BEFORE the last one. But that’s nine. Count ’em nine bonnets de douche. Which I used to make that bread I just showed you.

(For those who have no clue what I mean: bread-making-tip-one-shower-caps.)

I know I can buy them. I know I own tons of ’em already. But taking them from hotel rooms just makes the bread taste better.

63 Responses to “Check out how much traveling I did this summer.”

  1. Karen July 10, 2010 at 9:08 am #

    I would never have thought about using shower caps for bread making but it’s such a great idea! Thanks so much. Love reading your blogs.

  2. pamelalovescharlie July 10, 2010 at 9:11 am #

    LOL…they say the best things in life are free….I always wonder who they are. Happy Baking!

  3. julianna July 10, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    definitely makes the bread taste better… :0) there’s a little memory if this place or that one in each “bonnet” that surely tranfuses into the bread!

  4. Debbie Johnson July 10, 2010 at 9:23 am #

    Being “thrifty” myself, I totally understand that the bread tastes better after using a hotel room shower cap. It’s great that you enjoy making your own bread; it looked beautiful.

  5. Margie July 10, 2010 at 9:33 am #

    Jorge, you might as well take them because really you did pay for them. I’m sure it is included in the price of the room. By the way, the bread looked yummy!

  6. Capmaster July 10, 2010 at 9:55 am #

    “Bonnets de douche”

    Translation: Hats or caps that Randy Nations wears.

  7. Jules July 10, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Somehow that makes me chuckle. Shower caps from hotel rooms makes the bread in your household… heh.

  8. Kyra July 10, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    wowzers! =]

  9. Mimi July 10, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    I now keep my stash of hotel shower caps in the kitchen drawer along with the parchment paper and foil. When people ask me why I tell them it so they won’t get lost! It’s my own little inside joke.🙂

  10. maria July 10, 2010 at 11:19 am #

    haha, thats why they are there!!! for people to take them😛

  11. jackie July 10, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    im not sure i would want anything called a douche wrapped around my food…ha

  12. Antonia July 10, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    You know what they say…Happy douching! lol

  13. Irish Girl July 10, 2010 at 12:18 pm #

    That’s ’cause anything free is ALWAYS better. Doesn’t matter what it is. I have a ton of little soaps from hotel rooms I collect. I put ’em in a little basket in my bathroom for guests, along with shampoos and lotions. It just looks so purty.

    …and I work in the hotel business. I could get them legitimately, too. But where’s the fun in that? And besides, they expect those things to be used or taken. If they’re not used, the cleaning crew throws them out anyway and replaces them with brand new ones. So you’re actually doing them a service. 🙂 Hee hee.

  14. Debbie M. July 10, 2010 at 1:03 pm #

    Hey Jorge, you could create your own recipe and call it Bonnet Bread🙂

  15. Kate July 10, 2010 at 1:09 pm #

    Thats hilarious and fascinating alla t once…so how do you use them? To shape the bread- or to cover it while its doubling in size…?! Learn something new everyday! K x

  16. Ken July 10, 2010 at 1:39 pm #

    I’m curious how exactly do you use the bonnets in your breadmaking?

  17. Jeff July 10, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    What a cool idea, I’m going to try that.

    Using it for bread making that is, not the stealing.

    …Ok I’ll try the stealing too.

  18. Dee July 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm #

    What a great bread making tip, certainly one I never heard before! lol this is too funny : D

  19. Mercedes July 10, 2010 at 3:22 pm #

    Love it. Ha! 🙂

  20. Jessica July 10, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    Wow you have travelled a lot. And it’s only July 10th!

  21. Maria July 10, 2010 at 4:08 pm #

    Heh heh heh… Jorge said “douche”. You’re so cute! >_<

  22. Karen July 10, 2010 at 4:24 pm #

    I’m going to have to tell my husband — the baker in the house — about this. He always brings the toiletries home from hotels when he travels for my daughter. Next time, I’ll remind him to get the “bonnets de douche,”

  23. Jules July 10, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    Ok. I’m not laughing anymore… I just made my first pizza dough and used a wet towel to cover the bowl. I really could have used a shower cap tonight.

  24. Tammie July 10, 2010 at 8:50 pm #

    That’s funny, I thought the only thing that made bread taste better was butter!

  25. Janet Krouse July 10, 2010 at 9:40 pm #

    Jorge, I don’t know if bread can be classified as “pretty”, but that bread DOES look pretty! Is that weird?

  26. Rachel July 10, 2010 at 10:17 pm #

    Stumbled Upon this: http://comixed.com/2010/06/17/4-koma-comic-strip-dreamworks/

    Glad you’re still blogging, Jorge. Reading makes me feel I am still connected to LOST somehow.

  27. Goof July 10, 2010 at 10:39 pm #

    Responding to this and the other post:
    ❤ Awwwwe Nunu, glad people were able to give.

    Mmmmmmmm bread.

    LOL shower caps.

    and…..doh! Too bad you guys didn't think of this during last Halloween.
    http://myfoodlooksfunny.com/2010/07/09/funny-food-photos-halloween-in-tropical-climes/

  28. Sebastian Rueda July 11, 2010 at 12:36 am #

    Hey dude THANKS a lot for your awesome Lost character, you (and the whole show) really change my life for good and I miss it a lot.
    Everyone knows you are a great person and I wish you the best for your life.
    Greetings from Ecuador, South America.

  29. Pei July 11, 2010 at 12:40 am #

    I love u !!!

  30. Brad July 11, 2010 at 3:38 am #

    Now the REAL question is, do you wear the shower caps prior to their use in baking, and if so, does it add any additional flavors to the mix? Not to mention having to get all the hairs out first. LOL!

  31. Kathy July 11, 2010 at 4:29 am #

    I can totally relate. I have a significant other who does the same thing whenever we stay at a hotel. He just has to take something so he feels he’s getting his money’s worth.

    The bread looks awesome! Wish I had a slice right now! Love Ya!!!

  32. Ashlie- Mommycosm July 11, 2010 at 7:02 am #

    lol – sorry, but there’s something terribly wrong with the word “douche” being in the same sentence as a baking post. Even it if IS in French.

    Glad to hear I’m not the only one to stockpile hotel toiletries though! And if it makes your bread taste better – than more power to ya, dude.

  33. Judy July 11, 2010 at 7:18 am #

    I’m impressed by a regular guy who makes bread. And, I miss you guys something fatal. My son and I have already watched seasons 1 thru 5 again (me more than that) and are waiting anxiously for the season 6 release. Be in something else soon, okay? You make my son laugh and that makes me happier than anything.

  34. RenaissanceGrrl July 11, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    My reasoning is anything they don’t wash is probably thrown out and replaced for the next guest regardless of whether or not it looks used, the same way they can’t send an apparently-untouched basket of bread/rolls out to another table at a restaurant. So it’s NOT COOL taking towels/pillowcases/blankets, but any soaps, coffee packets, food items, and yes, shower caps, are free game, and built into the price of the room.

    It was rather nice, after my honeymoon, to keep washing my hands with the bar of soap from our suite. =)

  35. Joy July 11, 2010 at 3:08 pm #

    Dang, I tried reading the hotel names on some of those shower caps, but the image isn’t big enough (or maybe my eyes aren’t sharp enough😉 ).

    Hope you’ve enjoyed your travels!

  36. Vicki July 11, 2010 at 8:16 pm #

    Hee! Hee! i know what you mean… Same with those slippery thingies X;-)

  37. Heather July 11, 2010 at 10:44 pm #

    I think it’s pretty darn cool that you get excited about the shower caps! We used to have these Glad food covers and they looked just like shower caps. They are discontinued now. As I was typing this I Googled ‘glad shower caps’ and your previous blog entry ‘Please no more shower caps’ came up!

  38. Keara July 12, 2010 at 6:14 am #

    That must be where I got the idea to use shower caps as bowl covers on our last beach vacation. We had a full kitchen but no plastic wrap. The housekeeper gave us 2 new shower caps every day, so they made great bowl covers for leftovers. I must have had your bread post in the back of my mind.

  39. Patty July 12, 2010 at 7:05 am #

    FYI: save all the free stuff they give you in hotels–they’re great for donating to homeless shelters and domestic abuse shelters!!

  40. Wembley Fraggle July 12, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    I was wondering if you’ve made sourdough bread and if you have any tips for it. My husband has been trying to make some sourdough bread but it’s not working very well.
    Thanks!

  41. gwinchy July 12, 2010 at 2:17 pm #

    LOL on the latter part of your entry! Just wanna share, i have a friend who collects menu from different restaurants!🙂

  42. gwinchy July 12, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    oh by the way, i just finished reading your dispatchesfromtheisland blog and also finished watching season 6 of LOST the other night, i cant wait to watch the next season.

    my condolences…reading your entries about Nunu shows how much you love her.

    • Margie July 15, 2010 at 9:05 am #

      gwinchy, there is no more lost after season 6. It’s over. All we have to look forward to now is the collector’s edition.

  43. Pequitas July 12, 2010 at 10:31 pm #

    Freebies are always better.

    • Miztification July 16, 2010 at 9:39 am #

      That they are.

  44. April July 13, 2010 at 4:57 am #

    Hey, you gotta collect something!

  45. Michelle July 13, 2010 at 8:54 am #

    that looks so good! It’s lunchtime and I’m starving. I wanna slap some mustard on that bad boy…mmmm

  46. inelegancewetrust July 13, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    I keep also the plastic bathing cap. I love them even if they are useless to me. I like that little squarely box!

  47. dr mum July 14, 2010 at 4:52 am #

    So Jorge you nothing to prove?

  48. Michelle July 14, 2010 at 8:40 am #

    That is a GREAT baking tip! Excellent! Happy Baking!

  49. SuperC142 July 14, 2010 at 4:17 pm #

    haha- I love how the content of this article causes ads for “summer’s eve” to appear at the top (when viewing the mobile version, which shows ads).

  50. moon July 14, 2010 at 6:44 pm #

    That’s a whole lot of loafing around!

  51. Tracy July 15, 2010 at 7:13 am #

    All of the cooking shows on tv nowadays, here in Canada I can’t think of a single one that focus’ on the art of breadmaking-and it truly is an artform.

    I’m half armenian and when I was a child we used to go to our relatives home and they’d serve us this absolutely delicious armenian bread with a butter/flour filling in the middle. I cannot for the life of me remember the name but boy it was good!! I’d love to learn how to bake it!

  52. James Hernandez July 15, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Jorge,

    I can’t believe you find room to pack all that stuff in your travel bag.

  53. Chelsea July 15, 2010 at 11:56 pm #

    I work at a restaurant that you sort-of frequent when you’re home in OC. I saw a man that looked like you from behind the other day, but lo-and-behold, it wasn’t you! I was very disappointed. Hope all is well!

  54. FranArgentina July 16, 2010 at 12:51 pm #

    Hi Jorge, how are you?
    Well Im from Argentina and I follow the this and de last blog for some time…

    I leave this comment because i wanna know how do you feel about Emmys nomination.😉

    Sorry for my mistakes, my english is amateur hahaha

  55. malika July 17, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    lool you’re right! … so now you have to make a lot of bread… no?
    we are waiting for the pictures^^

    malika from Algiers

  56. Tiffany Noélli July 18, 2010 at 4:47 pm #

    rsrsrs, esses brindes de hotel são ótimos!😉

  57. Taryn July 19, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    I love to travel. I usually take a shampoo and conditoner though. I like to have a reminder of where I have been.

  58. Kristin July 19, 2010 at 3:21 pm #

    I can’t believe that no one has commented that you can find recipes and variations on the Artisan Bread in 5 minutes a day website. I’m kinda poor AND lazy so I haven’t bought the books you recommended yet but I HAVE been making the bread along with my own variations via their website. Heading into the kitchen to make the chocolate bread now.

    http://www.artisanbreadinfive.com

    My dog Cooper gives you and Beth lots and lots of kisses.

  59. KJ July 22, 2010 at 6:01 pm #

    Jorge, I have a suggestion for another book I bet you would love. My dh and I make things from it all the time and we never tire of poring through it. It’s called “Flatbreads and Flavors” and you can find it on Amazon here: http://www.amazon.com/Flatbreads-Flavors-Jeffrey-Alford/dp/0688114113/ref=tmm_hrd_title_0?ie=UTF8&qid=1279846795&sr=8-1 That is a link to the hardcover edition which I recommend as it’s very sturdy and will hold up to use, but there is a paperback version also available. What I love about it is that all the breads having accompanying recipes from all over the world. Yum!

  60. Scott Cuzzo November 16, 2010 at 6:45 pm #

    I love making bread! I’ll be checking back here often. And shower caps for proofing the dough…genius.

    Thanks.

    Scott
    scottcuzzo.com
    http://myillustrationblog.blogspot.com/

    • Scott Cuzzo November 16, 2010 at 7:06 pm #

      I’m back to add one more thing…

      I make my own chicken stock and I use that to make bread…and it’s awesome. My stock turns out rich and gelatinous and I use that for the liquid in a bread recipe and it adds a lot of something special.

Leave a Reply

