I Think I Found My New Eggs

24 Jul

While trolling through Whole Foods I always take a long pause at the egg section. There are just so many varieties to choose from it’s hard to figure out which is the best choice. But this time I found a new one. Now I know New Zealand is a long ways away for eggs to travel, which means it takes a lot of petroleum to get them to my fridge. But for the first time in all of my egg-buying years I saw this:Sold.

P.S. Here’s something else I discovered. The stone fruits that are underneath, tend to be riper than those on top.

Of course it’s risky to remove them because of, you know, gravity. But who doesn’t love Jenga?

P.P.S. Like how I used  the word “stone fruits?”

72 Responses to “I Think I Found My New Eggs”

  1. Erin July 24, 2010 at 10:19 pm #

    Totally like how you used the word “stone fruits”. And I might have to look into those eggs!

  2. Lauren July 24, 2010 at 10:28 pm #

    I LOVE stone fruit. They are my most favorite and I call them that all the time and it confuses most people.

    I love that the farm calls out that they don’t trim beaks! That is a very good sign and I’m thrilled to see a grocery store brand mention it.
    I do wonder — why aren’t you shopping at your farmer’s market? No really, I do mean the question at face value — as a market vendor, I’m always wondering how we can get more people and more awareness; would love to hear what is keeping you away so I can try to figure out how to change it for our potential customers here.

    In any case I bet you can get even more delicious and happy eggs there …

  3. Toddy July 24, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    I was going to comment on how I liked your use of “stone fruit” but you beat me to it! You are so right about the riper ones being on the bottom and I know because I’m that girl who had gravity work against her at the grocery store…very embarrassing!!

  4. Elsie M July 24, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    That’s fantastic! I haven’t bought eggs in a long time because of the hell those poor chickens go through. I’m not quite ready to jump back in, but this is a step in the right direction.

    You’ve got a good heart, Jorge. 🙂

  5. Kathleen July 24, 2010 at 11:43 pm #

    NO WAY! I live in New Zealand, but I haven’t ever seen these before. You should totally visit us sometime Jorge!

  6. Sarah July 24, 2010 at 11:49 pm #

    I used to get those eggs back in NZ, that’s kind of mad that you can get them in Wholefoods! They must be airfreighted.

    I live in the UK now, and I’ve just had to go and do some research – I’ve found out that Soil Association accredited eggs come from chickens that haven’t been debeaked, and there are even higher welfare standards than normal organic eggs. Hurrah!

    I don’t get what you mean about your use of “stone fruits”…

  7. Curt July 25, 2010 at 12:17 am #

    Jorge, you are cooler than ever. Now I’m going to Whole Foods and getting me some eggs.

  8. Debbie M. July 25, 2010 at 12:26 am #

    I like your egg choice Jorge! Hopefully others will follow suit and you’ll be able to buy locally.

  9. jackie July 25, 2010 at 1:03 am #

    sorry mess that we have to get eggs from new zealand that are humane to chickens…
    i was going to make a joke about high gay people..but couldnt come up with one that didn’t sound tacky.

  10. gretchen manzer July 25, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    Or you could just not eat eggs at all!! no energy to get them to you..no hens being treated inhumanely!! win win?

  11. Johnny July 25, 2010 at 1:53 am #

    I’m from NZ, so I buy New Zealand free-range eggs all the time. Hardly any petrol needed, because we get local eggs. NZ is by Australia, for those of you who thought that it’s near Europe.

  12. Pei July 25, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    I love u man !

  13. Sarah July 25, 2010 at 4:13 am #

    Jorge you rule. Thank you for looking out for the chickens x

  14. Juju July 25, 2010 at 4:22 am #

    I bet they’re awesome!

  15. KathyinMN July 25, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    Fruit Jenga! My fav supermarket game. And love the term stone fruits. Going try to use that this week and see if anyone notices.

  16. dr mum July 25, 2010 at 5:51 am #

    I am in Australia and we have four chooks in the back garden. Their eggs are totally awesome. . yolks are orange as and they taste good. We have a Chilean Chicken that lays blue eggs!

    • Sariel July 25, 2010 at 6:53 pm #

      Chilean blue eggs. Best eggs.

  17. Lisa July 25, 2010 at 6:04 am #

    Jorge, I think it’s time for you to get a chicken~~ I know you travel a lot, but surely you have friends that could tend to it while you were away! Free range, petroleum free eggs every day~~ give it a good think. Chickens are super fun to raise!

  18. Kelsey July 25, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    It’s really greatto see people I admire making awesome choices. It motivates me and hopefully inspires others to do the same!

    Thanks!

  19. Adam July 25, 2010 at 7:41 am #

    Fun Fact: The fruit at the bottom ripens faster *because* it’s surrounded by other fruit. Fruits release ethylene gas, which tells them and the fruit around them to ripen. It’s the reason why letting a peach sit in a paper bag turns it from hard to lovely very quickly.

  20. Jean July 25, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    I agree with Lisa. It would be so much easier for you if you had a chicken. Countless free eggs and they can be quite entertaining.

    My parents had chickens when I was growing up and they’d chase me all over the yard. Just an FYI: if you do end up making that purchase, let them know who’s boss from the beginning. It’s not fun having your ankles pecked at constantly🙂

  21. Jeanie July 25, 2010 at 7:58 am #

    I had to look up beak trimming. Eugh.

  22. Connie July 25, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    I saw the title and wondered what the hell you were doing ovulating. D’oh!

  23. Danielle July 25, 2010 at 9:03 am #

    Checkers, jenga…what’s next tiddlywinks?

  24. Donna July 25, 2010 at 9:12 am #

    Hi Jorge,
    Those eggs sound delicious! BTW, your post reminded me that I wanted to know which bread recipe book you liked best. My 20 year old son has just started baking bread – like freestyle (not loafs in a pan) and I would like to buy him a book for his birthday.
    thanks,
    Donna

  25. Tena Lynn July 25, 2010 at 9:15 am #

    Hey Jorge, how are you? You know, I don’t think I even wanna know what beak trimming is. What is it, seriously?

    Tell you what I have really been trying to do~~~go to my local Sprouts for food these days. I am on a mission to eat cleaner food, more organic, buy meat and poultry that is more humane and responsible. You know when something has a zillion ingredients listed, that can’t be good for you.

    I now go to Chipotle when I buy “fast food” these days and nowhere else.

    Oh and Haagen Dazs Five Lemon is my new addiction. lol

    http://thm-a02.yimg.com/nimage/2cd414220fdee1ae

  26. Suzie Q. Wacvet July 25, 2010 at 9:43 am #

    Yes, I was very impressed when I saw how you used “stone fruits.” I’m also very impressed by your desire to use organic eggs from chickens that don’t have their beaks trimmed. You just never cease to amaze me, Jorge. (I still want you if Bethany ever decides to give you up!!)

  27. GroovyMom July 25, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    I’ve got a friend who built a “Chicken Tractor” (look them up). They keep 3 hens and always have oodles of eggs. When you settle into a house with a lawn again, you can get chickens & you’ll be in organic eggs up to your eyeballs – zero petro – no beak trimming!!! You could name your chickens & post pictures. We would totally dig it!

    Always enjoy your shopping posts!!!
    Enjoy the rest of your weekend – K

  28. Jean Schubert July 25, 2010 at 10:34 am #

    I think organic eggs taste better, anyway.

  29. Rachel July 25, 2010 at 10:52 am #

    Wherever you end up staying now, you should try to find a place that you can keep a few chickens! They are actually really easy and cheap to keep, and you get your own fresh eggs right there! We had them all the time as kids.

  30. Abby July 25, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    I grew up eating eggs fresh from the chicken. Om nom nom. Store-bought eggs have got nothing on those produced by chickens who have been raised right near you. AND they get rid of all kinds of garden insect nasties! Double win!

    Just don’t get a rooster. Roosters will make your neighbors want to have you arrested. Unless you’re on a farm or palatial estate.

    • Aparatchick July 26, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

      So true, Abby! The only part I didn’t like was persuading the hens to give up those eggs. Other than that …. sublime.

      Seriously, Jorge, fresh (as in from your own backyard) eggs are wonderful.

  31. Sundeep July 25, 2010 at 11:01 am #

    Thanks for the laughs Jorge, much appreciated!

    Are you still able and willing to autograph items shipped to you?

  32. Capmaster July 25, 2010 at 11:27 am #

    I’m wondering why whoever made that egg sign thought it was necessary to add the word “ORGANIC” at the bottom. Has anyone ever seen an inorganic egg? Maybe eggs from the planet Zyklon?

    • gretchen manzer July 25, 2010 at 11:54 am #

      the organic means the hen that laid it didn’t eat foods containing pesticides that would have passed through and be in the egg.

  33. must

    eat

    NOW

  34. Jessie July 25, 2010 at 12:41 pm #

    Very cool, Jorge! I always try to be green, and animal kind. I have found green versions of most non-food household products for less then the non-green stuff. Unfortunately, finances keep me from being as organic as I would like at the grocery store. I do the best I can with the money we have.
    It’s nice to see you being such a good example! And I am very impressed with the “stone fruit”.

  35. Erena July 25, 2010 at 1:44 pm #

    Yay! Go New Zealand. Also note that none of our animals have any growth hormone treatments.
    You need your own chickens Jorge. That would help sort your footprint. Plus they make neat pets.

  36. Janet July 25, 2010 at 1:54 pm #

    You seem to be very knowledeable about produce and food in general, Jorge. I didn’t know that tidbit about stone fruits – thanks! I am enjoying plums and peaches (especially white) right now. Just had watermelon for lunch. Yum.

    Janet

  37. Kim July 25, 2010 at 2:29 pm #

    You are so right. I always dig around the peach bin for the riper fruit.

  38. Jules July 25, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    Maybe if you lose more pieces of that checkers board you can use the stone from the fruits as replacements?

    BTW, you haven’t lived if you haven’t had a GA peach. We get them fresh from the trees here.

  39. jackson July 25, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    I’ve never seen any labels that promised no de-beaking. That’s the sort of thing that people would really get behind . . . debeaking is among the cruelist practices in industrial food production. Thanks for bringing this to everyone’s attention.

  40. Karen July 25, 2010 at 8:12 pm #

    I’ll have to see if my Whole Foods has those eggs. Right now we’re just getting eggs right from our CSA, but I would pay extra for no beak trimming.

  41. nirese July 25, 2010 at 8:40 pm #

    I’m with some of the others here: get a few chickens to call your own.😉 There’s a great book out with a chapter about chickens called ‘The Backyard Homestead.’ At the very least, I think the experience would make great blog subject matter.

  42. fireball3316 July 25, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    yay, i’m a New Zealander and so just got a buzz that my nations name was on your blog. cos i’m a geek. you should come here… hint hint :o)

  43. Melody July 25, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

    I was going to ask if they were really from NZ but judging by the comments I guess they are. The reason i was going to ask is that in recent years I have been seeing more and more products that have a deceptive names like that. The name or brand leads you to believe they are indicating where the product came from. When we lived in San Diego I bought some Wisconsin cheese and then found out it was made in CA! Same thing happened when we moved to the Kansas City area. I some Vermont maple syrup made in Oklahoma City a few weeks ago too.

    I’m afraid to look up what beak trimming is. I’m going to anyway, but I am pretty scared.

  44. Susan B July 25, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    I see your “stone fruits” and raise you “drupes”

  45. Barbara July 25, 2010 at 9:31 pm #

    This post just reminds me of how much I love you! (in that totally platonic, non-threatening, not-a-stalker-and-won’t-ever-be kind of way, of course)

  46. Karla July 26, 2010 at 1:42 am #

    Thanks Jorge, I love your observational blogs. Very well written AND entertaining!

  47. Karen July 26, 2010 at 3:48 am #

    Free range eggs are always the best – but no beak trimming? Did not know that happened (how cruel). Will check if Whole Foods has them in the MA/RI area.
    Thanks for the info you are too cool!!!!

  48. emmanuel July 26, 2010 at 5:24 am #

    Bonjour de la France

    J’adore lire votre blog, c’est super intéressant.Vous avez l’air super simple et sympathique.Continuez aussi longtemps que possible. Ah ,j’allais oublier, merci pour Lost🙂

    Hello from France

    I like reading your blog, it is great interesting. You have the great simple and nice air. Continue as long as possible. Ah, I was going to forget, thank you for Lost:)

  49. Mandy July 26, 2010 at 5:34 am #

    Before I read your comment about the beak trimming, I thought you bought them because of the dharma-like octagon label….

    Dharma eggs.

  50. Joe July 26, 2010 at 8:39 am #

    No beak trimming? What does that even mean? Why would anyone trim a chicken’s beak?? Now, I’ve heard everything! LOL.

  51. Kate C. July 26, 2010 at 9:25 am #

    Have read your blog for so long and am finally putting my address on so I can make a comment. Anyway, I was wondering if,in addition to stone fruits, you called carrots, turnips etc, “root vegetables.” Was at a new restaurant and the meal was served was root vegetables, and without thinking, I thought that sounded cool. Wasn’t thrilled to get carrots and turnips; said “duh” to myself. By the way, you mentioned this eons ago and I’ve never forgotten. Pancakes with jam or jelly are the way to go–the only way I eat pancakes!

  52. James Hernandez July 26, 2010 at 11:47 am #

    Jorge,

    The line about ‘stone fruits’ is a classic. Regarding the beak trimming, my grandfather had laying hens and I made the mistake of getting pecked by one – now I know what the chicken on the other end feels like.

  53. alisa July 26, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    find a local hen-haver (we’re everywhere these days) or better yet, get some horse pee eggs from thailand…saw these while there this winter
    http://www.travelblog.org/Asia/Thailand/North-West-Thailand/Chiang-Mai/blog-469874.html

  54. Irma July 26, 2010 at 4:31 pm #

    Something you might think about, once you find and settle in to a new home, is buying a few laying hens for your backyard. You can’t ask for fresher, more organic, more delicious, fewer-food-miles eggs than those you produce “yourself”.

  55. Erin July 26, 2010 at 6:10 pm #

    I love how conscientious you are. It’s funny, my brother and I were just talking about free range chickens today and how much better it is to buy those eggs. Plus, buying from New Zealand you can pretend those chickens are owned by hobbits!

    I hope you aren’t causing too many avalanches in the grocery store! I’m rather paranoid about that; I’ve seen one too many disastrous commercials and sit-coms!

  56. moon July 26, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    Green eggs-check.
    Ham?

  57. Tiffany Noélli July 26, 2010 at 7:12 pm #

    Esses ovos vieram de muito longe, hein? Houve uma época em minha casa, que minha família criava galinhas, sempre eu buscava ovos. Eu tinha medo, de levar bicadas delas, rsrs…. Melhor comprar no supermercado mesmo como você fez. Eu tenho também mania de olhar de onde as coisas são fabricadas. Beijos e uma semana de paz a você!!!😉

  58. The Muellers July 26, 2010 at 7:18 pm #

    God bless you, sir, for caring about the little chickens!!

  59. Irish Girl July 26, 2010 at 10:18 pm #

    Aw, man, why do you always have to make me so hungry…

  60. Suzanne July 27, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Jorge,
    PLEASE. Really. You can get no-beak-trimming eggs here at home. Probably only miles from where you live. I’m talking about local free-ranged eggs. Go to a farmer’s market and get some. They are no doubt WEEKS fresher than anything you buy in the supermarket, much less New Zealand. And a whole lot tastier too. Or, as the others are saying, raise your own hens.
    De-beaking is NOT a common practice among small producers. Buy local.

  61. Gracie July 27, 2010 at 10:18 am #

    You were already awesome, but you just became one of my favorite people.
    Thanks for caring about the chickens! Most people think of them as stupid, dirty animals. However, I have a friend with chickens. If you raise them to know people, they are actually quite friendly and adorable.
    I am a vegetarian… would love to be vegan, but I do love stuff like ice cream & cheese. I love to see these improvements in animal care.
    This post made me happy🙂

  62. Jennifer M July 27, 2010 at 8:34 pm #

    Beak trimming? Ew. Ick. Mean!
    I always wondered why it’s called “free range”? And how come the other ones aren’t called “paid range”? And yes, nice use of “stone fruits”. One would think the stores would rotate the fruit so the actual loss from over ripe fruit isn’t so high. Yes, get some chickens. Then you tell people you live with your lovely Beth, and a whole bunch of other chicks.

  63. Claudia July 28, 2010 at 2:30 am #

    You are super cool. I love reading your take on things.
    Thanks for making me smile🙂

  64. IndyScooterGirl July 28, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    Dude, did you see this article about one of your favorite games?

    http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/38438062/?gt1=43001

  65. Ann MacKay July 28, 2010 at 8:42 am #

    Is beak trimming common in free range chickens? I grew up with a farm across the street and they had free range chickens that had beaks. To me, if a free range chicken needs its beak trimmed it’s because it’s still confined in a densely populated pen, even if it is outside and free to roam around that pen.

    To me it’s a double-edged sword. If we choose to eat eggs we have to make the choice whether we’ll eat factory laid eggs from hens with trimmed beaks who can’t cannibalize their neighbour, or we eat eggs from free ranged hens who have the opportunity to peck their neighbour to death and then cannibalize them. Either way, it’s the chicken that suffers. Psychologically, animals that engage in cannibalism are usually too densely populated and stressed. Lab rats also cannibalized each other in those conditions and in a way people do too (violent crime in big cities).

    Back “in the day” we use to be able to go to the farm to pick up a flat of fresh eggs directly from the farmer, chickens roaming around the yard freely, or the ‘eggman’ (farmer) would come directly to your door and sell you the fresh eggs that way much like the milkman and breadman. (yes.. I’m an old fart who remembers the days eggman, milkman and breadman) I’m not sure how it is elsewhere but these days we can’t do that anymore because by law, eggs have to be graded in accordance to government standards.

    Jorge, what you need is to buy yourself a house in the hills and have your own laying hens. They you can be sure they chickens are humanely treated and the eggs are fresh.

  66. Jake July 28, 2010 at 9:17 am #

    Jorge, I commend your efforts to eat conscientiously. But as you acknowledged in your post, buying eggs from New Zealand put a pretty huge ecological footprint on those tasty eggs. Also, “free range” is a term that doesn’t carry much meaning. “Pastured” eggs are a better guarantee that the chickens have real access to open space. I PROMISE you you can find a local farmer that doesn’t trim beaks and also lets the chickens graze a natural pasture instead of keeping them cooped up. This site can help you find yourself a local farmer: http://www.localharvest.org/

    You can also probably find farm fresh eggs at a farmers market–as good as the store-bought organic eggs are, you’ll be blown away by the taste of true farm fresh eggs. Most farmers of this type even encourage customers to visit their farm to see with their own eyes how their food is grown. In many ways, LOCAL is more important than ORGANIC. Plus, my brother is a small, natural farmer in Kansas who pastures chickens, lamb and beef–so its a subject I’m passionate about. I hope you’ll check it out.

  67. peli July 31, 2010 at 12:08 pm #

    Great find! Too bad they are from so far, but you work with what’s available.
    If you ever want to consider just giving up the eggs (no cruelty then!) I’m sure I’m not your only vegan fan who could provide some tips🙂

    • gretchen manzer July 31, 2010 at 11:31 pm #

      i’m vegan too! whoo hoo!🙂

  68. Elaine Dale August 12, 2010 at 4:02 pm #

    Personally never thought about going deep for ripe “stone fruit” – makes sense though. Now to figure out the physics of doing it without causing a stone slide……. Cheers!

Leave a Reply

