Random Pics from Cabo

28 Jul

As I had mentioned earlier I went to Los Cabos for my cousin’s wedding.

My mom and I flew in a few days early to explore the area.

This shark was hanging outside a restaurant that was closed. As I got closer to take a picture I noticed that a bird had nested in its mouth.

This is from a series of bilingual cards. I guess it’s a way for children to learn Spanish. Except for this one. This one does not teach anything. Because that is clearly not a horse. So if the guy really is a horsebreaker, he’s in trouble. But I usually root for the lion anyway.

This is me at the urinal where we stopped for lunch. Well we didn’t stop AT THE URINAL.  The urinal was in the restroom, in the restaurant, where we stopped for lunch. (Whew!)

A more pressing question is who took this picture while I’m at the urinal and what I had to do to get it from him?

P.S. I’m the captain.

37 Responses to “Random Pics from Cabo”

  1. Spooky July 28, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Dude, your mom is really, really old! Oh, wait, I guess that’s not your mom.😉

  2. llisa July 28, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    If that 1st pic is of your Mom…
    Pleeeze for the love of God buy her a sandwich!
    and tell her lavender IS her color!
    hahaha
    Still lovin’ YOU! Jorge!
    er… um… Captain!

  3. Debbie M. July 28, 2010 at 12:14 pm #

    Jorge, I think you’re now going to have to post a real picture of your mom🙂

  4. Cat July 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    Great pics, I miss traveling and my mom…

  5. Pam July 28, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    That bilingual card and your comments about it are the first thing I’ve laughed out loud at in a long time. Thanks for that, Jorge!

  6. argh- what a cool pirate adventure– shivered your own timbers and all! I dig the shark nest, cool, way cool.

  7. Michael July 28, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    This looks awesome! Dude, can I take you out for a beer next time you’re in DC?

  8. pamelalovescharlie July 28, 2010 at 1:06 pm #

    LOL…looks like your mom needs to spend a little time outside in the sunshine and maybe hit the buffet and desert tables more often! As for the urinal….not a nice name for an eating establishment…but it looks like a very nice bathroom…good thing you cleared that up ;D

  9. Myn Serendipity July 28, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    Man, I would never eat at The Captain’s Urinal. Just doesn’t sound appetizing to me.

  10. Kay July 28, 2010 at 1:36 pm #

    En otra ocasión podrías hacerte una foto tras la puerta del capitán con “not Penny’s boat” escrito en la mano😉 Saludos desde España Jorge!

  11. Adam July 28, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Haha Ben Linus really needs to learn to give you some privacy on that island! 🙂

    Great stuff Jorge, I love reading your blog!

  12. mrcelofan July 28, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    Curioso lo de la tarjeta del domador, mala manera de empezar a aprender otro idioma😉

  13. Pedro July 28, 2010 at 2:03 pm #

    quizas no sea el mejor ejemplo el de la tarjeta y en lugar del dibujo del león mejor estaria el dibujo de un caballo, pero acaso no es domador tambien aquel que doma los caballos al igual que el que doma los leones en un circo?

  14. Nikki July 28, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    I could see though bilingual cards leading to many many problems down the road.

  15. jackson July 28, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Wait, you were really at the urinal when someone snapped that picture? That’s pretty funny. These tourist traps have such a sense of humor. Why else would they make bilingual cards with the wrong translation on them? LOL!

  16. saratogajean July 28, 2010 at 3:39 pm #

    Even more pressing question: was it the most satisfying pee of your life? I think yes.

  17. Janet July 28, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Jorge – you and Beth are the cutest.

  18. Irish Girl July 28, 2010 at 3:45 pm #

    I also always root for the lion…seeing as I’m a Leo. But yeah, someone’s wires got crossed when he or she made that card. Poor kids. Spanglish class 101.

    As for the urinal thing…well, I dunno, are you SURE you didn’t stop there just to get a cool picture of you peering through the porthole? I mean, I would…but that’s just me. Heh.

    Irish

  19. Margie July 28, 2010 at 3:46 pm #

    OK, I have to ask. Where is Bethany??!!

  20. Irish Girl July 28, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    PS. As for who took the picture, I’m presuming you’re in the men’s loo, which follows that only men go in there, which follows further that someone male took the photo….Hmmmmmmm…Michael Emerson and you still bonding?

    …on second thought, I don’t wanna know details….

    Irish

  21. vospik July 28, 2010 at 5:10 pm #

    The burning question I have is where did you stay & were you able to swim at the beach that belonged to the hotel? Rough seas!!!

  22. Jules July 28, 2010 at 6:25 pm #

    You’re Captain of the Urinal???

  23. Elaine July 28, 2010 at 6:59 pm #

    you crack me up!

  24. jackie July 28, 2010 at 7:46 pm #

    congratulations to your cousin..what? no picture of mom?

  25. Erin July 28, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    LOL! I laughed aloud at every part of your post. Hilarious! Thanks for thinking of our entertainment on your trip!😎

  26. Joan Crawford July 28, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

    And there should be a smaller porthole lower down that says “first mate”.

  27. Kitti July 29, 2010 at 1:05 am #

    Jorge, you’re so funny and I think it’s the best when someone can find a small beauties and wonders in life!🙂
    Hugs,
    Kitti from Hungary

  28. andrea July 29, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    dude, you wear those strange sandal yet……

    they are sooo funny!!!!!!

    as well as your “mom”!!!!

    a big huge from Italy!

    Andrea

  29. Kerry July 29, 2010 at 2:23 am #

    Hi Jorge,
    I am a fan of GJB and you guys promised another podcast after the last one. Is is still coming? – Kerry

  30. Pkitass July 29, 2010 at 9:44 am #

    you don’t look anything like your mom. She’s cuter😉

  31. Demetrios July 29, 2010 at 10:33 am #

    Actually, the true meaning for Domador is Trainer. Domador de caballos is Horsebreaker. So unfortunately the maker of the card has double dipped in errors…. Poor little Mexican kids are getting all confused!

    Plus… That lion has a big smile on his face… Do you think he’s thinking “Lunch!”

  32. Becca July 29, 2010 at 10:56 am #

    Can we see a picture of your mom? I can’t get Lillian Hurst out of my head.

    Lost in translation: I once paid a toll on a road in Mexico, and there was a sign that said to keep your receipt because “es su seguro.” But the English translation said, “Is your safe.”

  33. jennY July 29, 2010 at 11:41 am #

    Thanks fur the pics Captain!

  34. James Hernandez July 29, 2010 at 7:28 pm #

    Jorge,

    Horse breaker? That card is lying, cause that is a lion (or oversized cat). I’m a poet don’t you know it.🙂

  35. Ann MacKay July 30, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    You are the captain but are you master of your domain? 😉

  36. Kathy August 1, 2010 at 12:26 pm #

    So nice to hear you travel with your mom. My son is like that, we do lots of things together and I really enjoy it. He’s about your age. Good for you!!! Great pics by the way. Just love hearing what you’re up to–like everyone else, missing LOST.

  37. Tiffany Noélli August 5, 2010 at 3:47 pm #

    Querido Jorge… Como eu amo acessar o seu Blog! Que viagem legal você fez para o Cabo hein? Lugar com praia, sempre é uma delícia! O passarinho que viu na boca do Tubarão, aposto que estava fazendo ninho. Você foi detalhista quando viu ele lá! Sobre o “Domador” em espanhol, também em português se escreve e se fala assim. Concordo com você, eu também sempre torço para o leão, como na Tourada para o touro. XOXO😉

Leave a Reply

