Local, I’m working on it.

29 Jul

So I posted about these eggs I found that were from New Zealand. I bought them because their package stated that they didn’t trim beaks. A few people complained to me for buying eggs from so far away. Yes I know, that’s why I made a mention of it in my post.

I want to buy local eggs. When I lived in Kailua I usually bought my eggs at my local farmer’s market or traded bread for eggs with my friends who owned laying hens. Trust me, local eggs is my ultimate goal. But I also believe in voting with my wallet, so if a company is going to not trim beaks, they have earned my support. So I bought their eggs.

Where I live now there is a farmers market. But I have not made it yet. It’s on Sunday mornings. And so far I haven’t woken up and remembered it. It’s a new habit I have to get into.

But I also wanted to try a CSA. I had heard about www.farmfreshtoyou.com from a friend of a friend. So I gave them a try. I went with delivery every other week to start.

Yesterday I got my first delivery. I came home and a box was waiting for me by my door. This is what I got:Pretty sweet huh.

Now I’m not saying it’s perfect. There are CSAs that come from closer farms.

But FFTY is very convenient by the fact that they deliver to my door.

Most local CSAs have pick up locations, in fact one even uses the farmers market as a pickup location. But as I’ve admitted I have yet to make it there on a regular basis.  My schedule is a bit irregular so I might not always have the opportunity to make my pick up. However I will always go home at the end of the day. And waiting there will by my box.

Also they are customizable. You can request to just get fruit or just vegetables. You can ask to not get a specific type of food.

Personally my only complaint was that my tomatoes were cold. I assume everything rides together in the refrigeration truck. So tomatoes may suffer a loss of flavor from being too cold. But because I can customize, I can just that request no tomatoes be in my box. And get my tomatoes from my local farmers market or my backyard.

61 Responses to “Local, I’m working on it.”

  1. jennY July 29, 2010 at 11:37 am #

    Sweet FFTY is a awesome service! Good luck getting back on a schedule and hopefully you will make it out to the farmers market soon! 🙂

  2. John LeMay July 29, 2010 at 11:39 am #

    I have my own laying hens, your own eggs just taste better.

  3. Debbie M. July 29, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    You’re absolutely right Jorge about voting with your wallet. Money talks. Hopefully, no beak trimming will catch on. Thanks for the info. on Farm Fresh to You.

  4. KB July 29, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    I’m still waiting for my darn tomatoes to ripen. I get the feeling they’re all going to turn at the same time and I’m not going to know what to do with them. That happened with my peas.

    15 Tomato plants= tomatoes everywhere.

    It’s kinda weird up here. Everyone hunts and farms so you can get just about anything you want from your friends and family. We have a freezer of corn and can get brown eggs.

    Try planting the carrot tops if you can. They’ll sprout carrots. It’s kinda funny. Even if those carrots aren’t good you can collect the seeds from it and start from scratch.

  5. Marykae July 29, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    Thank you for setting a good example. I think we all can do better, but we do have individual limits on how much better we can do. I think of it like stretching. You stretch as far as you can without hurting yourself, and then maybe next time you can stretch a little further.

  6. Rachel July 29, 2010 at 12:04 pm #

    Ya know, kudos for you for making the effort to consume responsibly. So many people don’t even bother to give it a thought. And in these crazy days it’s more important than ever try to consume with compassion. Bravo!

  7. sarah kozlen July 29, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    Love CSA! One of the grocery stores near where I live(Kansas City) has it and I just joined. Its all so fresh and super awesome. They have days you can meet the farmers too. You beat me to a blog about it, it is on my list of things to blog about.🙂

  8. toby July 29, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    Those vegetables look so good! I’ve also been contemplating joining a CSA – nice to see what a delivery looks like. Thanks for posting this!

  9. Cult Leader July 29, 2010 at 1:07 pm #

    Why anyone ever puts a tomato anywhere near a refrigerator is beyond me. There is really no need, they keep for weeks on the counter and taste so much better that way!

  10. mcm July 29, 2010 at 1:16 pm #

    I just joined FFTY myself! I recently moved from Chicago, where I had done a CSA for the past three years… and it’s so exciting to not be rolling in root vegetables anymore! (Not that I don’t love root vegetables, of course.)

  11. Bree July 29, 2010 at 1:19 pm #

    Dude, thanks for posting this, they deliver to our area. I’m with you on the wanting to join a CSA but there aren’t really any deliveries close enough that I can pop over on a lunch break. I think this is our answer!

  12. mary July 29, 2010 at 1:31 pm #

    We do the very best we can with the resources we have and that’s all we can do. If you’re buying eggs from someone because they don’t trim beaks, then I’d say you’re making more effort than most.

    I’m an organic gardener who has been known to bend the rules when faced with something destroying my whole crop. Sometimes compost tea, soapy water, etc, just won’t do. But I try my hardest to make choices that won’t impact the honey bee population or stay in my soil for another year.

  13. James July 29, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    Jorge,

    I like that idea! A routine delivery of fruits and vegitables to one’s front door, well, that can only encourage one to eat more fruits and vegitables! Pretty smart, old boy!

    I thought I should let you know, even if you don;t care, that you had apart in own inspiration to try gardening. In reading through your old blod, Dispatches from the Island, it was sorta fun seeing how much fun you were having growing things. How you favored to tend the garden for relaxtion.Now I’ve never grown anything in my life, but I thought I’ld give it a go. So I started with containers, of various sorts, to see what would happen. It’s definately a delay in gratification, but eventually, it was worth it.

    Now I have a patio wrought with edible things, from pole beans to chives. How pleasant it is to wander out there in the mornings, still in my pajamas, and water the wonders there. And after a long day at the office, to unwind and tarry in the garden seat, with a lovely beverage at hand. Good times.

    I trust as soon as you get settled into a new place, that you’ll take up your old form, and plant a garden again. I see why you enjoyed your gardens in Hawaii. and I can’t see why you wouldn’t keep after it.

    Peace out unto thee!

  14. Wa Conner July 29, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Thanks for posting your experience.
    Unfortunately the service you chose does not serve my area, but I was able to locate a CSA, Organic 2 Go (organic2go.net) that is located near me in Oregon. I don’t know how I missed seeing this service before!

    I think you’ve convinced me to give it a try! Thanks.

  15. Petra July 29, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    I love Local Harvest: http://www.localharvest.org/csa

    We participate in a CSA and love it. We find we are eating more, and vastly different, veggies as a result.

    Good for you, for voting with your wallet. That is sometimes all we can do and I definitely do so.

    : ) P

  16. Randa Dubnick July 29, 2010 at 2:16 pm #

    Great CSA here in Massachusetts, but I think it is a national program. It is called The Food Project. Part of its mission is to employ teenagers. Also, becoming a member of this CSA also means supporting local food pantry.

  17. Xicluna July 29, 2010 at 2:31 pm #

    Yep, it’s a great service… I love it.

  18. Penny July 29, 2010 at 2:46 pm #

    Wow – that looks a LOT different from what FFTY sent to my house this week. Floppy carrots, mushy melon, and half green, half white tomatoes. Looks like your stuff came from a different farm or something.

    I’m new to FFTY but am about to cancel because the quality of my produce is FAR below what I can buy at the local farmer’s market.😦

  19. Mia July 29, 2010 at 2:59 pm #

    I wonder if they have something similar for NY?! That would be awesome.

  20. Barb July 29, 2010 at 4:00 pm #

    Thank you for thinking of the animals.

  21. Holly July 29, 2010 at 4:19 pm #

    Usually the only “farms” that “trim” beaks are the huge factory farms that keep the layers crammed into small cages (which is why they trim beaks: the hens get stressed from the conditions). So, if you get eggs from pasture-raised hens, there should be no beak trimming anyway. Good luck!

  22. GroovyMom July 29, 2010 at 4:29 pm #

    Looks fantastic!!! Love love love your shopping / produce / baking etc. posts. You did inspire me to start a container garden as well (another poster mentioned this). However mine met a quick death when I pulled them inside during a freeze and the cats thought they were litter boxes. I haven’t had cats long enough to realize this might be a problem. NOW I know!!!

    We are also terrible at getting to the farmers market due to erratic sleep schedules!

  23. csc July 29, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    Wow, I just love you more the more I learn about you! It is so great that you are into local food and you don’t support animal cruelty. You rock, Jorge!

  24. jackson July 29, 2010 at 5:20 pm #

    That produce is beautiful! Don’t take every little negative comment to heart. You’re just getting back into the swing of things and trying to be conscientious. You’re going to discover pretty quickly what works for you and what doesn’t. Then, you’ll be able to make well-informed decisions as a consumer. That’s all anyone can ask. I think you’re awesome to be so concerned about about. I wish more people were.

  25. Shelley Willson July 29, 2010 at 6:07 pm #

    Dude!!! (yes, I say that a lot, no , it’s not based on Hurley….Or drugs.😉
    That is fantastic! I’ve been looking around for a good program here in Colorado, but haven’t really found one yet.

  26. Elly July 29, 2010 at 6:18 pm #

    I like the idea of supporting the with your money. Even if it wasn’t local, I’m glad you said ‘yes’ to no beak cutting just that once, at least.🙂

  27. Maria July 29, 2010 at 6:27 pm #

    I saw this doc a while back called No Impact Man (check it out if you haven’t already)… there was this message that Colin Beaven brought forth in that film that stuck out in my mind that I think can relate to any consciencious thinking. We all can’t (like Colin) do EVERYTHING (even he couldn’t, although he tried!) But we can ALL do SOMETHING. We can all make changes to better our world as best we can, and buying “no beak trimming” eggs (albeit from NZ) IS a great step in the right direction. If we in North America have a hard time with the eggs not being local, we should all start asking some hard questions of our farmers.

  28. Antonia July 29, 2010 at 8:04 pm #

    K, I just tried to get stuff but I guess its for West coast only.
    We have a bunch of farmers markets in NYC but theyre so expensive and packed that I just go to Wholefoods and call it a day. Another thing is cash vs credit. Most of the time Im at work and I see stuff at local market I want but I cant get it because I never have cash on me!
    Did you ever see the crazy looking ostrich eggs at Wholefoods? I frickin want one!
    Anyway, nifty blog post🙂

  29. CoffeeJitters (Judy Haley) July 29, 2010 at 8:11 pm #

    I have the same problem getting up early enough to make it to the farmer’s market. But farm fresh eggs are worth it if you can get it. Here’s hoping you can get some super fresh cruelty free eggs in your near future.

  30. jackie July 29, 2010 at 8:22 pm #

    tsk tsk…not getting up on a sunday morning to go get fresh veggies and fruit?..sigh*….that my little buddy…is sad.

  31. sookiesookiesue July 29, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Oh for the love of all that is holy. Double Rainbows to you J. for responding to the “your food has flown too far” comments. Trying to leave a gentle footprint is hard enough…there seems to be 8 sides to every issue. That is like arguing that peolpe should not shop at Wally World even if they are poor as a church mouse.

  32. Fia July 29, 2010 at 9:53 pm #

    We get FFTY! We’ve been doing it for a few months. I love getting fresh produce on my doorstep. I also like the flexibility that they offer as opposed to other CSAs.

  33. Sandy July 29, 2010 at 11:15 pm #

    I think it’s absolutely great that you’re into baking your own bread and choosing your foods with so much thought. I wish I was as particular about those types of things. I tend toward “easy”. sigh.

  34. Maria July 30, 2010 at 12:33 am #

    I just finished a long blog post of my own, which this post has helped inspire. (hope you don’t mind I linked back to you!). Thank you for writing this by the way, and encouraging me to search for better answers with my food in my own life and community.

    Here’s the post if you’re interested… http://madcapmama.blogspot.com/2010/07/expel.html

  35. Janet July 30, 2010 at 2:13 am #

    Yum, Jorge. I checked out the website and there doesn’t appear to be one in my area (New York), so… I’ll have to be patient.

    I get Peapod delivery, but the produce just isn’t the same as farm fresh or home grown.

  36. Antonia July 30, 2010 at 4:28 am #

    Dude you should have your own Island themed cooking show and have guest stars and stuff. You could bring in your own experiences and have the underlying theme be “food away from home”

  37. Ashlie- Mommycosm July 30, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    Wish we had that around here in NH. I would love farm fresh fruits and veggies right at my doorstep!

    We have pesky deer, skunk and other critters that eat anything we try to plant ourselves. I’m busy dealing with my own critters: 2 kids and 2 dogs. So, I haven’t picked that battle, yet. Someday I hope to have my own garden though.

    I’m echoing an above comment. I think you should have your own cooking show.

  38. Monica July 30, 2010 at 5:56 am #

    Jorge,
    I don’t normally comment because, well, you get a million comments and I don’t want to take up your time. It seems like often (not always, of course) when people post it’s because they have something critical to say. Just remember- for every one criticism there are probably 30 people that supported your ideas and didn’t bother to tell you. I love that you signed up for a CSA- my husband and I are going to do that next year when our daughter is old enough to start eating solids. Don’t feel bad about not making it to your farmer’s market, we have the same problem- by the time we’re up and ready to go it’s nearly over! Have you considered raising your own hens? That’s something we’ve thought of but aren’t sure if we could manage. I guess you’re pretty busy but if you do I would love to hear about the adventures of Jorge and his hens🙂

  39. Erin July 30, 2010 at 6:18 am #

    That looks like a pretty sweet home delivery deal!😎

    Speaking of chickens, have you seen the “Mr. Cluck’s” keychain the ABC is giving out as a “free gift” to people who order from the site?

    Dude, that thing is ugly. ABC should come up with something that represents Hugo’s franchise better…

  40. Amy July 30, 2010 at 6:47 am #

    Way to go trying to make compassionate choices about eggs! I’m really jealous you found a CSA that will deliver to your door. All the CSAs I’ve found in my area require an hour drive roundtrip once a week.

  41. Demetrios July 30, 2010 at 7:42 am #

    Jorge,

    Virginia = Best tomatoes in the US, hands Down. Especially when my mom makes Stuffed Tomatoes Greek Style!

  42. WanderChow July 30, 2010 at 7:59 am #

    CSAs can be so much fun. I used to subscribe and have been mulling over it again, but now I have a small garden plot so I’m not sure I will.
    What I love–in addition to the obvious, more local food aspect–is that you get veggies and sometimes fruits you many never have heard of before. It becomes a game to find recipes to go with the food. Have fun!

  43. Kelly Deneen July 30, 2010 at 8:09 am #

    That is very cool! We have our own garden, but I’d like to try a CSA next year. 🙂

  44. Emma July 30, 2010 at 12:47 pm #

    Hi Jorge, this is the first time that I write. I’m a big fan but also we used Farmfreshtoyou for long time. Not only the produce is really good but also the people who run it are great. Fall and winter boxes are awesome.
    Glad you live around here.
    Take care.

  45. Dave July 30, 2010 at 1:48 pm #

    Jorge,
    MY wife and I got this as a gift for my in-laws and they love it. It’s even better when they invite us over for dinner!

  46. James Hernandez July 30, 2010 at 3:04 pm #

    Jorge,

    Reminds me of back home. Fresh vegetables from the garden, and plenty of them. Geez I was spoiled! Now I live on frozen TV dinners. 😦

  47. Sarah July 30, 2010 at 4:21 pm #

    Those carrots look DIVINE.

  48. Jules July 30, 2010 at 6:21 pm #

    Those veggies look AMAZING! I checked out the website and unfortunately they don’t deliver in my area.😦 Maybe I’ll check out some other local program. I wouldn’t mind getting fresh veggies delivered to the door. Of course, there are tons of farmer’s markets and fruit stands around here. I just have to spend the gas getting there.

    Jorge, do you have a mailing address? I noticed you took it down recently.

  49. Lauri July 30, 2010 at 7:08 pm #

    I think it’s great that you’re doing this whole organic thing but seriously… you don’t have to justify or defend anything about your lifestyle to other people. If you want eggs from New Zealand then dammit, have eggs from New Zealand and to hell with what everyone else says!

    The veggies look amazing though. What time is dinner? 🙂

  50. Krissy July 30, 2010 at 7:25 pm #

    FFTY is great. They even have fund raising programs where I pick up our veggies at my daughter’s school and what they save on delivery, goes to our school’s PTA.

  51. Leah July 30, 2010 at 9:01 pm #

    For me finding local provisions is a process. It’s like establishing any other relationship, you meet good people and they introduce you and so on until you have a wind network of vendors you love. Enjoy the journey!

  52. Patty Rieman July 30, 2010 at 9:12 pm #

    I admire you for taking the healthy, sustainable, greener route! I wonder do they give you lists of places you can donate whatever leftovers you have? I would imagine it ends up being A LOT of produce! Be sure to buy coffee, tea, chocolate from Equal Exchange!

  53. KathyB July 31, 2010 at 4:33 am #

    Hi–have you ever read The Omnivore’s Dilemma by M Pollan? He analyzes 4 different meals and follows the chain all the way back to where the food actually came from; he also talks about what has happened to our farmers (in the US). And, the book doesn’t seem to be one of those ‘shock’ or preachey books on the subject. It’s a hard read but has changed my thinking in how I (and my family) can have impact on our community. And if we can’t buy local then we don’t. The book does mention the beakless thing–more than anything else, that did make me change how I buy eggs. Also your bread looks great — I started looking at this site when I began to try making my own: http://www.thefreshloaf.com/

  54. Capmaster July 31, 2010 at 7:35 am #

    I support your decision about the beaks, Jorge. I’m completely against animal cruelty. We stopped eating KFC chicken because of their brutal de-beaking practices. There are more humane ways to raise chickens that might not be as cost-effective, but the chickens don’t suffer.

    Kudos!!

  55. marta July 31, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    I neither buy eggs from hens kept in cages.It´s cruel to have them in this way. And lately I neither buy nor eat patté, although I like it a lot…since a day I saw in internet how geese were supercharged to get it. I´m very sensitive with animal since I have my cat… ;_;

  56. Sue July 31, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    Hi Jorge-
    This is off topic-sorry- but I wondered if you are going to bid on the Hurley golf course flags that will be in the Lost auction in August? I saw on a TV special that those might be the prop you would want to keep if you could.

  57. Hillary August 2, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Hi, Jorge —

    I had to laugh when I read this post because it looks exactly like the posts on my blog, which is about the stuff I get in my farmshare each week and what I do with it: http://farmsharefun.blogspot.com. Good luck, and I look forward to more updates!

  58. Goof August 2, 2010 at 2:20 pm #

    I love how organic and co-ops are catching on. There are more and more programs and specialty stores to provide things like that. In my area we have “Bountiful Baskets”. We’ve only tried them once so far but love having it available. We’d like to do it again but it’s hard to work it into our budget right now.

    As for eggs, we’ve been having our own egg laying ducks. Although unfortunately lately they’ve started eating their own eggs so we’re looking into getting rid of them. We’re going to try to hatch some new eggs. Some we’ve scavenged from our ducks before they could eat them and some are special hatching eggs on order and on their way through the mail.

    Good luck with the eggs Jorge and Beth.

  59. John August 9, 2010 at 1:46 am #

    some farmers from lancaster, PA come to the the teaneck, nj farmers market…so…the oil is used up pretty good by farmers driving to the various farmers markets all over the place…you’ve got a good idea with the delivery program

  60. Shannon August 10, 2010 at 11:48 am #

    I’ve been a FFTY recipient now for about 6 months. I just love it! Enjoy!

  61. Heather August 10, 2010 at 8:33 pm #

    I wish they had something like that here. I hate grocery shopping or any kind of shopping! Most of what I buy is unfortunately not local.

Leave a Reply

