Garden: Square One More Time

7 Aug

One of the first things I wanted to do to make my temporary setting more homey was to start a garden.

So I immediately went out and bought some tomatoes and herbs to plant.

It’s a modest “huerta,” but when I do figure out where I’m going to be living, I’ll be able to take it with me.

51 Responses to “Garden: Square One More Time”

  1. Lorie August 7, 2010 at 10:36 pm #

    There’s nothing like a garden to make it feel like home, uh? It’s wonderful you can start a garden this late in the year. In Oregon you better start by Memorial Day to get a ripe tomato.

  2. Anne August 7, 2010 at 10:57 pm #

    Home grown tomatoes are so much better than any bought in the store. I’d love to grow some but so far every tomato plant I have tried to grow here(Az) has died. It is just too hot. I wonder if I’d have better luck trying indoors in front of a window? I am definitely a wannabe gardener but seem to lack the green thumb.
    So jealous here….

  3. Elsie M August 7, 2010 at 11:22 pm #

    Good luck with your garden, Jorge. Your plants look so green and lovely.

    I bought one of those upside-down hanging tomato thingies a month ago and still haven’t done anything with it. I’m here in L.A. too, but I’m thinkin’ I better get it done soon or forget about it. lol

    It’s kinda chilly at night these days, eh? Winter can’t be on it’s way already!

  4. Caroline B August 8, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    Good for you – fresh tastes far better! I warn you, gardening is an addiction – this year in my pots I’m growing tomatoes, squash, zucchini, pumpkin, peppers, potatoes, beans, figs(!), gooseberries, strawberries, currants and herbs – phew! If I ever have to move house, I’ll need a truck just for the plants!

  5. listening August 8, 2010 at 2:08 am #

    Your plants look healthy, congrats. I have home grown watermelons and their taste amazing.

  6. Alison August 8, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    I new garden no matter the size is always exciting. We are already harvesting here in the Adirondacks. I’m a little nervous because it got down to 36 degrees last night and I am just starting to get green marbles out of my tomato plants. I hope they turn into something larger and red before the first frost. You are so lucky to have gardening weather year round. Have you ever done anything with the aero garden?

  7. Jules August 8, 2010 at 5:23 am #

    Awesome job. Gardens are very rewarding and I miss mine. I should take your lead and plant in containers because we seeded over the area where I used to plant my veggies and now it’s all grass. Definitely keep us posted on the growth of your garden and post more pics as time goes on!

  8. Julie August 8, 2010 at 5:39 am #

    I live in a condo, so my whole garden is in pots and it works very well! Although they do tend to dry out faster so I have to make sure I’m on top of my watering. I have Tomatoes, Strawberries and just about every hot pepper you can imagine!

  9. Capmaster August 8, 2010 at 6:15 am #

    Have you ever tried growing red chile, Jorge?

    Here in New Mexico it’s a dietary staple. I have a friend in N. Scotland who has a huge chile garden, so it grows in most climates.

  10. Caroll August 8, 2010 at 6:24 am #

    You’ll be able to harvest some limes too that I see in the background. It’s nice that your “coworker” lent you some space.

  11. Anfield Fox August 8, 2010 at 7:07 am #

    Sun would be impressed.

  12. Anfield Fox August 8, 2010 at 7:08 am #

    Don’t let Jin near it though!

  13. Anne August 8, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    I agree about the chiles. That is the only plant that doesn’t die on me. I have two growing right now.

  14. Sarah August 8, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    My wish for a garden post has been granted! The outrageous temperatures here killed my container garden, but I did get quite a bit of lettuce…and one gourd before everything withered away. Cute fence.

  15. Erin August 8, 2010 at 8:29 am #

    Seems like a good plan to me!😎 Glad you didn’t leave your green thumb in Hawaii!

  16. Cheryl August 8, 2010 at 9:02 am #

    That’s the first thing I do when I move to a new place…if I don’t have some that I’m bringing with me already. Nothing better.

  17. Abby August 8, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    I’m so glad to see that you’re still gardening. You are a nurturing person, and this is a great outlet for that nurturing.

  18. Pedro August 8, 2010 at 10:06 am #

    Es una buena idea lo de la huerta Jorge, a ver si cosechas buenos frutos, y lo cierto es que los frutos cosechados por uno mismo siempre saben mejor. Suerte con la huerta…… invitame a degustar esos frutos cuando esten maduros!!!!

  19. Margie August 8, 2010 at 11:03 am #

    Be careful when you lift those tomato plants in the containers. Those suckers get so heavy. I wouldn’t want you to hurt your back.

  20. jackson August 8, 2010 at 11:49 am #

    Good luck with your garden! I love the idea of gardening, but everytime I try, everything dies. I guess I don’t have much of a green thumb.

  21. Lisa August 8, 2010 at 11:51 am #

    We have had good success with both a Yellow Pear and Early Girl tomato plants in containers. The containers are maybe 10 gallon and the height of both plants is about 5’6″!! My boyfriend didn’t care for the texture of the Yellow Pear (mushy?) and our Early Girl has tough skin. It’s a learning experience for us! The tomatoes are definitely my boyfriend’s babies – although I do help hunt for tomato worms. SO much easier if you can find the eggs before the worm emerges.

  22. Melody August 8, 2010 at 11:56 am #

    I was wondering if you had planted a garden. What kind of tomatoes did you choose? Looks great!

  23. Márcio Vandré August 8, 2010 at 12:02 pm #

    Hey dude, fine “huerta”!
    When you start a new serie/movie?🙂

  24. Jean Schubert August 8, 2010 at 12:20 pm #

    What kind of wildlife can get into your garden?

  25. Joao Paulo August 8, 2010 at 12:24 pm #

    Well thats a nice garden for a place without backyard. I think its common in places like NY. And your “huerta” or “horta” (portuguese) looks fine already.

  26. jackie August 8, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    the Texas heat kilt most of my garden..did get a lot of yellow squash, the okra is still growing ..but man my herbs this year kicked butt…I have basil(regular and black)all over the place..going to make some basil mayo in a little while…if I can get up enough nerve to get out in the heat.

  27. pamelalovescharlie August 8, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    LOL…we have a big yard with lots of trees, flower gardens and a small pond. When we moved here 4 yrs ago, I brought some of my favorite plants from our old house with us. Everything did great so I cleared a patch and planted veggies and strawberries…the squirrels and rabbits were VERY happy! I didn’t get one thing harvested…the animals even ate the blossoms from the zucchini plants. I gave up on the veggie gardening…the squirrels will come on the front porch to gnaw and hollow out our fall pumpkins and a great blue heron showed up and ate my fish! It’s easier and less stressful😉 to buy our fresh produce, we just got home from a farm stand with sweet corn, tomatoes, zucchini and a huge honeyrock melon. Enjoy your garden!

  28. Ian August 8, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    Jorge, so what exactly is going on in your life right now? You said this is temporary living space. Are you getting a permanent job somewhere sometime soon. Are you just waiting for the next gig to come around and then that is where you’re moving to? Do you have any sort of income at the moment?

  29. Andre August 8, 2010 at 1:47 pm #

    Jorge, my name is Andre i`m a cook and brazilian. i don`t really care about blogs and all, but i just found yours and… There`s some thing here. Thank` s for it.

  30. Irish Girl August 8, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I’m growing an herb garden. A small one, to be sure–I tend to kill plants without meaning to, so I figured I should start small. Why punish innocent plant life unnecessarily?
    🙂

    Irish

  31. tavalon August 8, 2010 at 3:40 pm #

    One of my partners grew up in Santa Monica (as an aside, he looks a lot like you and uses a lot of the same phrases you do – there might actually be a true dialect there!) and he calls the whole of Southern California “soul killing”. He was peripherally involved in “The Industry” and was/is a stand up comic. Anyway, I was wondering if where you are living now is temporary because you are just renting or temporary because you hope to own outside of Southern California? If SoCal is as awful as my hubby says and you got to live in Hawaii for 6 years, I could imagine you might not have much desire to buy anywhere near Hollywood even though that’s going to be where your livelihood revolves? Am I projecting?

  32. LuAnn August 8, 2010 at 4:56 pm #

    I love to grow tomatoes, but I have better luck if I don’t plant them in a black bucket as the roots get to hot and the plant doesn’t do as well…I also have trouble with birds eating them! Haha… Good Luck with yours!

  33. cindycee August 9, 2010 at 9:18 am #

    how come only temporary, you arent staying in LA? thought thats where all the work was for you crazy actor types lol. its nice to have a garden while u are there though, i would like to have my own herb garden, i just seem to kill everything. i can however grow weeds the size of friggin beanstalks.

  34. Anne August 9, 2010 at 12:21 pm #

    Nice garden, Jorge!

    In other news, how does it feel to be the face of Weezer’s new album?

  35. Kara August 9, 2010 at 12:39 pm #

    Is this true?
    http://pitchfork.com/news/39699-weezer-reveal-ridiculous-album-cover/

    I did like Weezer before – but now I like them even more!!!

  36. Kara August 9, 2010 at 12:48 pm #

    PS – I don’t think it’s ridiculous at all – it’s GENIUS!

  37. Debby August 9, 2010 at 1:18 pm #

    Jorge I am so glad to read about you starting a garden, my husband and I were talking about one this weekend but are afraid all our labor would just go into the local bunny population’s tummies.

    I love how comfortable and homey your blog is.

  38. bluedog1121 August 9, 2010 at 1:40 pm #

    Is this true? If so, it’s awesome! If not, it would be awesome! http://nymag.com/daily/entertainment/2010/08/weezers_new_album_hurley_actua.html

  39. Laurel Avery August 9, 2010 at 1:59 pm #

    I’ve had to resort to container gardening because nobody in Spain likes to have any dirt in their yard. It’s not my preferred method of gardening, but as you say, it will be easier to move the plants when we move. The only problem has been the neighborhood cats that like using my pots as their litter box. This year we have foiled them by putting a shallow layer of gravel or pot shards on top of the soil. Hopefully my chiles and tomatoes will survive to produce an abundant harvest!

  40. Erika August 10, 2010 at 8:56 am #

    I had herbs in pots a few summers ago and didn’t know much about them. Don’t let them flower or else the leaves will die and you will just be left with seeds! Good luck!

    • furtherdispatches August 18, 2010 at 12:51 am #

      Not true. In Hawaii I had plenty of flowering herbs and it just made more herbs really.

  41. Emma August 10, 2010 at 9:16 am #

    We have a small potted garden. Tomatoes, purple potatoes, several peppers, zucchini, basil etc…but this year it is really slow: summer is like winter in east bay. We will probably have ripe tomatoes in september or even october.

    have a good week.

  42. Sammy August 10, 2010 at 12:23 pm #

    Jorge, I’m perturbed by this whole Weezer thing. I love Lost, I love your character, I love your blog(s) and Beth’s. But I’ve gotten so used to perusing your stories of gardening and travels and restaurants, that it seems so weird to me that Weezer decided to use a photo of YOU (you, yourself, Jorge) and expects their fans to call the album Hurley. I saw the story and thought wait – but – that’s my clever gardening internet friend Jorge!! That’s not Hurley! It’s not a shot from Lost, it’s a personal shot, so it is so clearly of Jorge Garcia the human-damn-being! So screw it, I’m calling Weezer’s new album “Jorge Garcia”, and wrinkling my nose at their presumption that the only thing their fans would see is Hurley. They’ve been too teeny-boppery for me for years anyway, and now this?🙂

  43. Heather August 10, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    That’s great Jorge. I hope it’s starting to feel more like home now. My nephew grew some cherry tomatoes and they are quite good!

  44. Luke Leger August 11, 2010 at 4:42 am #

    It looks like a wonderful little garden, Jorge. What kind of tomatoes do you have? I have grown my tomato plants from seed for the last couple years and found that the Seeds of Change Wisconsin 55 variety produces the absolute best tomatos I have ever tasted. My two-year-old eats them like apples. Just a little food for thought.

  45. Pat August 11, 2010 at 8:18 am #

    Haha funny, I saw that little yellow fence and thought “that looks like Emerson’s house”. Many pics of his new house in mags and stuff. He just said in an interview that you and Beth are house sitting for he and Carrie. Ha! I was right that is his little yellow fence isn’t it?

  46. mallorie August 11, 2010 at 8:24 am #

    Thats pretty cool, we used to have a garden growing up! YUM!

  47. hayley l. August 11, 2010 at 10:47 am #

    Up here in Seattle it hasn’t been hot long enough for my garden to really flourish. Only NOW am I just seeing my tomatoes starting to blush. I did early girls and better boys in upside down hangers. Next year I will forego the bigger varieties and get those at the farmers market while keeping sun golds and maybe romas in the garden. I also regret not planting more basil. I’ve got one plant and it’s so scrawny compared to all my other potted herbs. Have you tried adding a tablespoon or so of fresh diced herbs into your bread dough?

    Weezer album cover…so awesome!

  48. Ann MacKay August 12, 2010 at 9:37 am #

    I really love the way you share this part of your private life with us. It really is very, very generous of you after you already give us so much in the capacity of your professional life.

    John Corbett and Sam Elliott are in my town this week filming a movie called “November Christmas” (Hallmark TV movie). We’re a very small town (about 4000 residents) and its been a huge deal having the actors and crew doing their thing here but I can see how the public must just drive them nuts. After they’ve spent the morning working and probably just want to go sit down in the shade someplace and have a bite to eat, everyone moves in to grab a picture or to say “Hello.. I love you” or even hug them in a ‘way too familiar’ way etc. I understand that you guys wouldn’t have a job if you didn’t have fans but I guess after watching John Corbett and Sam Elliott generously and patiently pose for pictures and talking with with fans in my town this week I’ve just really come to appreciate the extra stuff all you guys have to deal with. And then for you to take the time to relate to us here in your blog… well.. it really puts you over the top in the “special guy” category.

  49. magnus August 12, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    Are those lava rocks? Its bad luck to take them from Hawaii!

  50. James Hernandez August 15, 2010 at 11:32 am #

    Jorge,

    The plants look marvellous. I forecast another bumper crop!

Leave a Reply

