Problem Solved. For me at least.

23 Aug

All I did was “zoom in” on the text on my blog and presto the font looks bigger every time now.

That works for me.

16 Responses to “Problem Solved. For me at least.”

  1. Jules August 23, 2010 at 2:52 am #

    I’m glad you found a way to make your font bigger. Now if only women had a way to make their typeset larger…

  2. carrie August 23, 2010 at 8:21 am #

    blogs are hard to figure out. There is always at least one fatal flaw. But I enjoy reading this one!

  3. Sandy August 23, 2010 at 8:58 am #

    Glad you got that handled, Jorge. I’m at that point (getting old) where the only things that help are large-type books, “zoom” on the computer, larger screen TV, and taking my glasses off to hold sewing needles or teeny tiny writing up to my nose! (Oh, there’s also the “extend your arm as far out as you can” trick, but I’m pretty sure it would involve dislocating my shoulder to get that to work anymore.)

  4. Jessie August 23, 2010 at 9:47 am #

    Isn’t it funny how the answer can be so simple? I never would have come up with that, I like complicated. Glad you got it all figured out and your eyes can be happy now.

  5. Pei August 23, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Congrats ! you have solved your problems bro.

  6. jackie August 23, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    You can also hold you hand on the ctrl button and use the up down thingy(I’m so technical) on the mouse(between left and right click) and you can make it smaller or larger …I use it when I come here now.

  7. Ann MacKay August 23, 2010 at 12:52 pm #

    How do you do it on a Mac? :-\

    I got this iMac almost 2 years ago for Christmas. That was the year I found out that “I’m a PC”. It drives me frikking nuts.

    I’m too old to switch, turns out.

  8. Sandy August 23, 2010 at 2:40 pm #

    Thanks, Jackie! Just learned something new! (And I have a MacBook…so should work on an iMac, as well.)

  9. Mark August 23, 2010 at 9:20 pm #

    Blah too bad you paid $15 for the CSS thing.

    I was just looking at the CSS on here, you can open the style.css in this theme and go to the “body” tag, It is being set by default to 62.5% (of people default browser font size). If you change that to 80 it should look fine. Also you could set it to something static like 9pt or 10pt.

    attached my email to this, let me know if you got a question (use a fake email if worried about it.) or I can change it quick for you.

  10. jenny August 24, 2010 at 4:46 am #

    glad you got it figured out. 🙂

  11. Sandy August 24, 2010 at 6:38 am #

    I hope you’ll have time to read a this little dog, maybe you’ll be interested in Chili over at

    http://stiehlosborn.blogspot.com/

    The blog owner says:
    Chili is a tiny 3.5# chihuahua, and she’s only 9 months old. I had not planned on fostering any dogs right now, but a rescue needed a foster home for Chili to recover from major surgery. Chili had to have a back leg amputated, and it broke my heart to think of her recuperating in a shelter kennel, so of course I said yes to fostering her. Chili has now healed from her surgery and is looking for the perfect forever home. However, the rescue still has the vet bill to pay.

  12. @cristian August 24, 2010 at 10:25 am #

    Jorge, if you want a fully self hosted wordpress blog with custom design just ask, we can made one for you, free.

  13. Janice August 24, 2010 at 10:49 am #

    Yes this mature eye syndrome is a drag.

  14. Keila August 24, 2010 at 11:16 am #

    Hi Jorge and Beth
    Thanks for all your blogs and podcasts. I loved every single one of them
    I also love making breads and growing herbs and vegetables at home.
    I also make different kinds of cheeses. It is very easy and the flavor doesn’t compare to store bought cheeses. I posted some videos on youtube showing how to make them.

  15. dr mum August 24, 2010 at 10:00 pm #

    Maybe you need some glasses. Can look good with the right pair.

  16. Dory August 25, 2010 at 4:59 pm #

    I downloaded a web developer add-on to Firefox that allows you to see the CSS for any page and to modify it (just on your screen – not in real life) to see what changes what… when you’re new to CSS code.

    Trying it on your page – I found that if you look for this line of code:

    ***
    post h2{display:inline;padding-bottom:5px;margin-bottom:5px;line-height:1.2;}.post small{display:block;}.post h3{font-size:1.5em;padding:0;margin:15px 0 0 0;}.post{font-size:1.1em;
    ***

    and you change that number at the end,
    {font-size:1.1em;

    to something bigger, like 1.5em;

    it will change the font size on the blog post only. The sidebars and header will still be the same.

    You can try it yourself if you use Firefox: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/60/

    I highly recommend that you make a copy of your original CSS before you make changes to it. Just in case……

Leave a Reply

