Whew! That was close!

23 Aug

I was having issues with my Music hard drive.

It was taking long to wind down and was making me nervous.

So I bought a new hard drive. And holy crap hard drives are small now!

This is my new 500 gb next to my old 200 one. It’s ridiculous. Not only is it so much smaller for 2 1/2 times the storage. But the new one doesn’t even require a power source.

Ah technology. Keep making things tinier and tinier. (Maybe that’s why my font feels so small, it’s technologically advanced.)

It took forever to copy the files though. The old drive kept freezing up. So I had to keep shutting down and restarting my laptop. But everything is now safe again in their new drive.

13 Responses to “Whew! That was close!”

  1. Debbie M August 23, 2010 at 12:11 am #

    I know my husband just got a new one too and it’s actually a little smaller and has its own case. You would never know it’s a hard drive. Just connect with the USB.

    By the way Jorge, here is a link I found that may help you with your font issue.

    http://www.ehow.com/how_5469172_change-font-size-wordpress.html

  2. Jules August 23, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    Sometimes smaller IS better… wait…

  3. Julie August 23, 2010 at 6:14 am #

    Same thing happened to my old clunky LaCie drive. it was only a 160g and it was HUGE. It started to get really slow turning off, booting up and transferring stuff. I got all my photograph back ups off just in time. It took over 5 days to transfer everything off and once done, it was fried. Close call!

  4. Brandon August 23, 2010 at 7:29 am #

    The 500gb HD probably cost you half of what you paid for the 200gb HD. I always feel ripped off when I buy technology.

  5. beema August 23, 2010 at 8:37 am #

    I heard those g-drive minis are great. I wanted to get one to back up my macbook, but was hoping for more space/

  6. David August 23, 2010 at 8:50 am #

    I’ve been thinking about getting a seperate hard drive just for my music, too. I’ve got so much music taking up so much space on my laptop’s drive that it’s actually making it run slower. Hadn’t looked into them yet, and didn’t realize they were so small these days.

  7. Pei August 23, 2010 at 11:23 am #

    “Maybe that’s why my font feels so small, it’s technologically advanced”

    Haha you are so humorous !!

  8. jackie August 23, 2010 at 12:44 pm #

    hmm, does that mean it’s not all about the size? my second husband will be glad to hear that.

  9. jackson August 23, 2010 at 3:25 pm #

    Good for you! I am so overdue for this, and it’s making me really nervous . . . I keep putting it off because I need the money for something else on any given week, but I know if I don’t get my butt in gear, I’m gonna be crying.

  10. Irish Girl August 23, 2010 at 6:31 pm #

    I remember my very first modem…ya know, those early models back in the early nineties that were as big as bricks and had all the cool twinkly lights? It was external, of course, and you had to plug it in to your hard drive. Now I have a little teeny weeny wireless modem that’s about the size of a credit card. I can either hook it up to USB or use it as wireless when I travel. And I have an internal modem in my laptop.

    Pretty soon things are gonna be so tiny they’ll be able to implant them without us ever knowing…(shudder)

  11. Brad August 23, 2010 at 9:27 pm #

    Have several G-Drives … couple of regular size ones and one mini. They are awesome and very reliable! Enjoy!!

  12. jmgasper August 24, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

    You could go the other way if you want something that is relatively indestructible. I’ve got one of these, and once you put it somewhere you will think twice about moving it again, but the peace of mind is worth a little extra hassle:

    http://www.amazon.com/Fireproof-Waterproof-External-Recovery-SL1000GBUSB20/dp/B001TNR8EI/ref=sr_1_1?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1282717337&sr=8-1

  13. Chrissy August 26, 2010 at 7:55 pm #

    They come even smaller than that!

    I don’t get why techonolgy shrinks everything though. especially with mp3 players, some of them are so flat, you could use them as bookmarkers.

Leave a Reply

