Emmys Recap

6 Sep

Thursday 8/26/10 11:00am – I go to Capital records to record my line in the pre-taped opening segment. Never been there before. Although I recorded my part in a small “closet,” I was able to check out the room where Sinatra recorded.

Saturday 8/28/10 8:30am – I’m picked up to go to the Nokia Theatre to shoot the opener. Learn the live choreography and rehearse it on the stage. I share a dressing room with Jon Hamm, Joel McHale, Randy Jackson, and Tim Gunn. I’m wrapped at about 7-7:30.

Sunday 8/29/10 8am pickup. Arrive at the Nokia theatre. Dress in wardrobe and run-thru the opener a few times. And then go back to my hotel to get ready for the Emmys.

2:45 Arrive at the red carpet. (I have one hour before my call time). I do interview stuff and get held up a little at the still photo line which is all the way at the end. You can see I’m anxious because I have my foot out in every picture ready to take the next step to move over.

Quick change,hair and makeup, “cast to the stage”

and it’s over before you know it.

90 Responses to “Emmys Recap”

  1. Manda September 6, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    I didn’t see the Emmys live but I just watched the opener online the other day … it was awesome! I got SO excited to see you up there! We are huge Lost and 30 Rock fans (and I’m a fan of Glee but my husband … He’s not there yet) and we LOVE Springsteen. The whole thing just made our day. Great job!!

  2. Marilyn September 6, 2010 at 8:35 am #

    Sooo cool! Thanks for sharing all of this. Looking forward to more dispatches, and really sad that “LOST” didn’t take home the Emmy. But – the Emmy went to you and your cast in all of your “LOST” fans minds and hearts. Great job on the Emmy’s, and looking forward to seeing you on your next project.

  3. Jonna Isaac September 6, 2010 at 8:52 am #

    That opening was crazy amazing. You really rocked it out on that escalator! I can’t decide if I like that one, or Conan’s Emmy opener bestโ€ฆย but either way, you were in both of them!! I hope the next Emmy host takes note of that!!

  4. bluedog1121 September 6, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    Opener was awesome. So excited when you popped onto the screen. LOST was robbed! But you and Beth look amazing there on the red carpet!๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Labs September 6, 2010 at 8:57 am #

    I was wondering when you were gonna update with your Emmy opener story. I was pleasantly surprised to you see you shakin’ what ya mama gave ya. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Dennis September 6, 2010 at 9:05 am #

    Thanks for the behind-the-scene look. We were really happy to see you as a part of the opener.

    Looking forward to your next project.

    Take care.

  7. Ali M September 6, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    It was bloody fantastic even though it was short. Kudos and good job๐Ÿ˜€

  8. Jules September 6, 2010 at 9:22 am #

    How awesome! Thanks for the the insight behind the scenes. Very cool stuff.๐Ÿ™‚

  9. Petra September 6, 2010 at 9:26 am #

    Love the backstage stuff, Jorge, thank you. I’m still pretty pissed over the LOST Emmy snubs, so seeing the photos and reading about the opening was a nice little diversion!

    : ) P

  10. Kethryvis September 6, 2010 at 9:52 am #

    Dude, you and Tim Gunn in one dressing room? How can one room contain so much awesome without asplosion?!

  11. Annie September 6, 2010 at 9:54 am #

    You were great! Honestly the best part of the Emmy’s!

  12. Stacy Disarrayed September 6, 2010 at 9:56 am #

    It was awesome!

  13. Keila September 6, 2010 at 10:01 am #

    Best part of the show! You and Beth look so cute together๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Carol September 6, 2010 at 10:09 am #

    Loved it! The audience cheered so loudly when you came on the screen. I’m interested to know what you’re other LOST castmates thought. I thought Damon or Carlton would tweet something.

    I just have to say a couple of quick things: LOST is one of the best shows that has ever aired and I’m so sorry that the Emmys and I didn’t agree on the clear winner.

    And, is it just me, or is Jack Bender unbelievably sexy?

    • Carol September 6, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

      Sorry – “your” – I hate it when I mispell something.

  15. Chris September 6, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    …and with that I realize I’ve had “Born to Run” in my head for over a week! I just can’t get enough of that opener (and I don’t even watch Glee). Epic! It was hilarious to me when I realized why Beth tweeted that we HAD to watch the opener. Thanks for a look behind the scenes, Jorge.

  16. yvan September 6, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    Hugo Formidable! It’s very nice!
    yvan une “fan de Lost” de Belgique en Europe

  17. Cathy September 6, 2010 at 10:38 am #

    I have this on my DVR, and I’ve watched it a hundred times. My 18 year old son’s claim to fame is he looks like you, he is a big fan (he watches you on Becker, too!) The crowd went crazy when you made your entrance. I’m so happy for you!

  18. Sylvia September 6, 2010 at 10:48 am #

    That opener was so awesome and such a cool surprise! I watched it live and then several times on YouTube.๐Ÿ™‚
    Lovely purple dress, S-22!

  19. Samantha Kam September 6, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    What a fun intro!

    In getting to know your character on the show, and from learning about your off screen life through your blogs (both yours and Beth’s)…I have to tell you I just get so excited to live vicariously through your acting adventures.

    (I got goosebumps!๐Ÿ™‚ Shh don’t tell)

    Onward to the next great gig…

  20. Dax September 6, 2010 at 10:53 am #

    I’m not an emotional person but I was deeply saddened by the fact that LOST didn’t win anything at the Emmys. My faith in the Emmys is lost (excuse the pun).

    You were awesome, Jorge!

  21. Janet September 6, 2010 at 11:22 am #

    I was pleasantly surprised to see you in the Emmy opening number. You did a great job, Jorge. I wish there was more to your role in it.

    Beth looked terrific and so did you in those 2 photos you posted. I wish they were bigger.
    ๐Ÿ™‚

  22. Irish Girl September 6, 2010 at 11:33 am #

    Well, I have it in my Favorites folder on YouTube. I pull it up when I want to smile. ๐Ÿ™‚ Glad you updated, Jorge. Was beginning to think you’d wandered off…

    Irish

  23. Jen September 6, 2010 at 11:45 am #

    Can’t tell you how happy I was to see you in that opening…made my night! Thanks for sharing the behind-the-scenes details.

  24. Karla September 6, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    And yet again Jorge, you prove to us that you’re one in a million. Thanks for sharing, you are such a great person. I’ll bet you had a lot of laughs working on that opener, it was great,,,

    xoxo Karla

    • Alex September 6, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

      Dude, you deserve a part in Glee!!!
      Congrats

  25. Caroline September 6, 2010 at 12:53 pm #

    So cool! I love the insight to the busy life of an actor! I think too many people think it’s all just red carpets and paparazzi. You guys work really hard!

  26. Sandy September 6, 2010 at 1:24 pm #

    Absolutely loved the opener. I get a kick out of Glee, and having you show up as part of the fun…priceless!

  27. Lacie J Garrett September 6, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    The Red Carpet is made for you and Beth. So glad you blogged today. I was thinking maybe you were out on vacation or something like a new series. Yes I wish the series Idea was trur. Lacie

  28. Rachel September 6, 2010 at 1:38 pm #

    That was seriously the best Emmy opening number ever. I squealed when you came on! Hell, I squealed with every new reveal! And I’ll admit – I’ve watched it several times since. FANTASTIC job… and I still have ‘Born to Run’ stuck in my head.๐Ÿ™‚

  29. jackie September 6, 2010 at 1:49 pm #

    it was fecking fantastic. Best Emmy’s in years…and the opening number with all you guys..was spot on..congratulations.

  30. chameleon September 6, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    You were awesome Jorge! It was the best surprise to see you in the opening segment at the Emmy’s. Thanks for sharing the behind the scenes details. Sad the show didn’t win any awards on air.

  31. Kerry September 6, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    I just want to let you know that the instant I saw you, I yelled out your name and everyone in my house came running in to watch. Yeah, we’re BIG fans of Jorge Garcia! Can’t wait to see what you will be doing next.

  32. Erin September 6, 2010 at 3:18 pm #

    You did a fantastic job, Jorge! Loved it!

  33. Donna September 6, 2010 at 3:24 pm #

    Just love you Jorge. That’s allโค

  34. Bonnie September 6, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Best Emmy opener ever! So excited to see you there dancing and singing! Thanks for the behind the scenes look!

  35. Karla September 6, 2010 at 3:53 pm #

    I forgot to mention what a crime it was that LOST didn’t win any Emmys.:(
    And I only caught one glimpse of you in the audience:(

  36. amber September 6, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Did Tim tell you to “make it work!” before you went onstage?

    And, you had a dressing room with Joel McHale, too? How cool.

    Along with everyone else, I’m was totally pissed that Lost didn’t sweep the Emmy’s. Boo!

  37. pamelalovescharlie September 6, 2010 at 5:02 pm #

    I am so glad I turned the tv on in time for the opening Glee spot…LOL…you should have heard me going crazy when I saw you…I told my son “I love that song” and then Joel snapped his fingers and there you were….SOOOOO cool! I LOVED it!

  38. Jaynee September 6, 2010 at 5:32 pm #

    I adored the opening bit! It’s one of the best that I can remember in a long time. I love Jimmy Fallon, and let out an extra squeal when you came onto the screen!

  39. eb September 6, 2010 at 6:00 pm #

    What a great group to share a dressing room with. You and Beth look great, Iโค Beth's purple dress.

  40. Becky @TheVioletFig September 6, 2010 at 6:50 pm #

    …and you were my favorite part!!

  41. AnnR September 6, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    The opening bit was great. So was Fallons song about LOST “I couldn’t understand it but I tried”… LOL… Welcome to the LOST club.

  42. Alexandria September 6, 2010 at 7:32 pm #

    Love love loved this opening number!! So cool to see people from some of my favourite shows dancing all together. Great job singing and dancing Jorge!๐Ÿ™‚

  43. Jodi Cooper September 6, 2010 at 7:54 pm #

    What a awsome surprise to see you in the opening number! Loved it! When Beth tweeted you were sitting near Kate Gosselin, I was like, “What is she doing there?” LOL!

  44. WanderChow September 6, 2010 at 8:15 pm #

    I cried out in delight when I saw you there on the stage! And with Jon Hamm no less. Was he as much a ham as he seemed with Betty White? You all looked terrific. So awesome.

  45. kraftypixie September 6, 2010 at 9:09 pm #

    Again, thought you were great in the opening. Just wanted to add that I am also sad that LOST didn’t win any Emmys. As others have said, you know you’ve already won in our hearts.

  46. Sara Sawatzki September 6, 2010 at 11:13 pm #

    Epic…that opening number combined three of my favorite things: Jorge Garcia, Glee, and Bruce Springsteen! So freakin’ epic!

  47. hello September 7, 2010 at 2:36 am #

    I wish I were in US.
    I’m dying to watch this.

    • SiL September 7, 2010 at 3:46 am #

      You can watch it from YouTube!

  48. SiL September 7, 2010 at 3:45 am #

    You were great on the stage, Jorge!!๐Ÿ˜‰
    And Beth was so cute!!

  49. Shannon September 7, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    The opening rocked! I was like Hey!! It’s Jorge!! It was really fun. Did you have a good time??

  50. BeckyW September 7, 2010 at 7:32 am #

    Very, very cool!!! Loved the Emmy opener.

  51. Bill B. September 7, 2010 at 8:16 am #

    Dude! LOST totally should have won Best Series, Drama and Best Actor, Drama!! Terry O’Quinn was robbed!!! Thanks for the look behind the scene at the Emmys! Entertaining the entertainers is quite a compliment to your accompaniments as an actor. Keep up the good work Jorge, you rule!

    • Bill B. September 7, 2010 at 8:19 am #

      accompaniments = accomplishments (stupid auto spell correct…)

  52. Kim - Mommycosm September 7, 2010 at 9:31 am #

    Wow – that whole Glee number looked like SO MUCH fun! It was great to see you up there. Loved it๐Ÿ™‚

    Dude, your shirt. *giggle*

  53. heather September 7, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    it was wonderful!!!

  54. JustMeInOrangeCounty September 7, 2010 at 10:04 am #

    You guys look great on the red carpet! Although I must say, I’m not sure what was worse…. LOST getting robbed or them pairing you up with…. with…. that….. KATE for the opening number!!! Grrr!!! (hey, someone had to say it!)

  55. Joy September 7, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Thanks for blogging about this — we were wondering about the timeline, how long ahead of time you had to record and rehearse. Sounds like an intense weekend, but (hopefully for you) a very fun one! Great to see you up there!

  56. Gracie September 7, 2010 at 10:51 am #

    So, I get a big kick out of crazy combinations of people. A picture of you next to Kate Gosselin kinda makes me giggle a lot!
    Good job! A lot of fun to watch, thanks!๐Ÿ™‚

  57. Briarwood Julie September 7, 2010 at 2:11 pm #

    Thanks for all of the backstage scoop – the opening was awesome.

    And I was curious about Jimmy Fallon’s song choice for his homage to LOST leaving the air. Did he know about Matthew Fox and Billie Joe Armstrong being good friends, or is it just a coincidence that Jimmy picked a Green Day song?

    Or – maybe I’m mistaking coincidence for…, no, no, that can’t be it!๐Ÿ™‚

    • furtherdispatches September 10, 2010 at 9:59 am #

      He had no idea. When he sang it to me during rehearsal I told him how appropriate it was.

  58. Jeanie September 7, 2010 at 3:55 pm #

    I watched it on youtube later and it was amazing!

  59. Melinda September 7, 2010 at 4:40 pm #

    I came in late, right before the scene on the stairs. I squealed when you showed up onscreen. I searched for the opening online and watched a bad recording of it several times that night, and a better one the next day or so. I’ve had “Born to Run” stuck in my head ever since. I was wishing that they’d had a better angle of the background people. So, how was dancing with Kate? ๐Ÿ™‚

    I think that Randy Jackson needs to practice his lip-synching. Like, for serious. (Sorry–I think that I was channeling Claire Danes channeling a teenaged Valley Girl from the ’80s.)

  60. deneicee September 7, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Loved the Emmy opening! This is unrelated, and you don’t have to post this, I know you preview. But I had a funny dream last night and you were there. I don’t normally have celebrity dreams (except the one where I see James Taylor in concert, but it’s really James Earl Jones singing ‘Fire and Rain’), but I dreamed I was in Florida at a new ‘LOST’ theme park and I’m in line to ride the ‘Hurley’ and you ride it with me. It’s the raft from season one. It goes over some rapids and you have to try to hit some golf balls at some targets while rafting down the river. You deemed it worthy of the name ‘Hurley’ when we got off the raft. I was amused and thought I’d share. :~)

    • Lacey September 7, 2010 at 9:33 pm #

      Hahahaha awesome dream! I have had one or two ‘LOST’ dreams as well….in particular I recall Ben Linus was trying to murder me o_0

  61. Stufsocker September 7, 2010 at 7:19 pm #

    Greatest opening ever. It really made the night, and my hubbs was wicked impressed with your mad vocal skillz.๐Ÿ˜‰ Word

  62. Tiffany Noรฉlli September 7, 2010 at 8:35 pm #

    I loved your dance at the Emmy!๐Ÿ˜‰

  63. Heather September 7, 2010 at 8:42 pm #

    Love to see the behind-the-scenes! You were awesome! I have watched it over and over!

  64. Lacey September 7, 2010 at 9:29 pm #

    I literally exclaimed “What the JORGE?!?!” when you jumped into that opening number. Excellent work; thanks for the behind the scenes photos๐Ÿ™‚.

  65. Spanish Munchkin September 8, 2010 at 1:15 am #

    And not a single word about how amazing Beth looks! Shame Garcia, shame! Lol. Looks like a great night, I think my invite got LOST in the post. Keep those posts coming dude.
    PS: Beth you look amazing๐Ÿ˜‰

  66. Pei September 8, 2010 at 4:01 am #

    Thx for sharing all of this

  67. hello September 8, 2010 at 4:45 am #

    Finally, I watched your performance on youtube.
    That was really great.
    I enjoyed it so much.

  68. Jason September 8, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    Very awesome, Jorge! You all did a great job! I was actually surprised to see you as part of the group in the opening!

  69. cyndi b September 8, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    Watched the opener on You Tube the next day…great job! Best Emmy opener in a looooong time!

  70. Melissa Hausdorf September 8, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Hey Jorge~
    Wanted to wish you all the best in your next endeavor! I think you should have won an Emmy for Most Loveable character EVER! Love keeping up with you through your blog so thanks for keeping it updated!

  71. James Hernandez September 8, 2010 at 4:03 pm #

    Jorge,

    Michael Emerson was robbed of the best supporting actor. I demand a recount.

  72. moon September 8, 2010 at 6:32 pm #

    Looking at the fall season lineup and all I can say is…please come back to my TV!

  73. lienonmeshow September 8, 2010 at 8:03 pm #

    Awesome Jorge! It was the best part of the evening! Great photos๐Ÿ™‚

  74. dr mum September 9, 2010 at 3:14 am #

    hey I hope you got a fee for doing that!

  75. Lisa September 9, 2010 at 6:55 am #

    Great job on the Emmy opener Jorge. It was really entertaining, great to see you. Tell Beth her dress was stunning and she looked amazing. You looked great too, but girls need more complimenting…

  76. Kelly September 9, 2010 at 8:43 am #

    The opening was so amazing! I loved it! Great job!!!!! You guys looked fantastic up there!

  77. Ela September 9, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    That was probably one of the BEST Emmy openings in a LONG time! You did a great job! Also, both you and Beth looked GREAT on the red carpet.

  78. Vicki September 9, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Was FABULOUS!!!

  79. Lytuanne September 9, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    I saw! You guys look awesome!

  80. Mireya Ayala September 9, 2010 at 10:06 pm #

    Hey Jorge…maybe YOU should be on Dancing With the Stars next season??? You really pulled some good moves there (alongside Kate Gosselin).

  81. Heather Martin September 10, 2010 at 7:35 pm #

    Wonderful job at the Emmys!๐Ÿ™‚ I screeched like a little schoolgirl when I saw you up there. The whole opener made my night – and it was the best in Emmy history. Congratulations and best of luck to you in everything you do!

  82. Ian September 10, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    I mean, you got to dance with Kate Gosselin on stage. Never in a million years would I have imagined that happening in your life…

  83. heather September 12, 2010 at 8:23 am #

    um. most awesome dressing room ever. what a great opener! it made me so happy to see you up there. wish lost had received some emmy love, but nothing can take away or add to the fact that it was the greatest show i’ve ever seen on television! nothing else even comes close.

  84. leendadll January 8, 2011 at 3:15 am #

    i saw the segment for the first time this week (in a “best of 2010” post). it was FANTASTIC!!

Leave a Reply

