Memorial Day?!!

6 Sep

I understand when my dumb friends confuse their day off at the end of summer with their day off at the beginning of summer. Hell, I’ve done it myself.

But NPR? C’mon guys. I thought you’d be more on top of it. Beth thought it was a rerun.

18 Responses to “Memorial Day?!!”

  1. Janet September 6, 2010 at 11:28 am #

    Hi, Jorge. I confess to being ignorant. What does NPR stand for?

    Thanks.
    🙂

    • Jessie September 6, 2010 at 11:30 am #

      National Public Radio ~ it’s a very popular radio news station.

      • Janet September 8, 2010 at 3:49 pm #

        Thanks, Jessie!

  2. Jessie September 6, 2010 at 11:29 am #

    Now that’s funny (and sad)! Sounds like someone over at NPR didn’t have enough coffee this morning.

  3. Irish Girl September 6, 2010 at 11:31 am #

    Hee. I do that, too. I think subconsciously we all want it to be the beginning of summer, so we instictively grab onto “memorial” day in our little, warped brains.

  4. tapadance September 6, 2010 at 11:58 am #

    The second hour of “On Point” was a re-run today. I think “All things Considered” is going to be a re-run also. Except they don’t call them re-runs on NPR. They call them “Classic episodes”

  5. Henry Wasserman September 6, 2010 at 12:10 pm #

    One time NPR was being way to NPR’ish and I started making fun of them to my son. “Hey Ben, listen to this.” Turns out it was April Fools and they were doing a spoof on their own content and style.

    They got me.

  6. Jules September 6, 2010 at 1:37 pm #

    Bwahahaha… I like NPR, but seriously? I wish I’d heard that today! Thanks for the chuckle.

  7. jackie September 6, 2010 at 1:52 pm #

    Next year you really need to try and come to Westfest..I’ll work on them making you the Parade Marshall. If I get you and Beth free travel and room at the Czech Inn,along with parade Marshall will you commit to it? seriously.
    check out the pictures on facebook
    Jacque Sue
    Roycroft Denney

  8. Erin September 6, 2010 at 3:16 pm #

    Ha! Silly NPR… But I wouldn’t really mind if it actually was Memorial Day!

  9. eb September 6, 2010 at 5:56 pm #

    Ha! I totally do that, but I expect more from NPR. ;P

  10. Alison September 6, 2010 at 7:56 pm #

    I live in Canada and I still have no idea when Memorial Day is. I know when most of the other US holidays are (basically the first Monday and last Friday of every week, right? haha), but that one.. I just can’t ever remember. Then I’ll see previews for movies coming out on Memorial Day so then I have to look it up.. then the next year I can’t remember again.

    • Melinda September 7, 2010 at 4:45 pm #

      Memorial Day is the last Monday in May. I can never remember when Canadian Thanksgiving is, other than it’s in October. (First Monday and last Friday of every week…hee!)

  11. Ryan George September 6, 2010 at 8:00 pm #

    I want to meet you in person more than anything in the world. The end.

  12. Stacie September 6, 2010 at 8:02 pm #

    The only way I have ever been able to remember it is that Memorial and May both start with “M.” Who knew?

    • eb September 7, 2010 at 6:42 am #

      That’s a good way to do it. I think that will help me remember it now. Also, associating labor and September, when many children go back to school.

  13. WanderChow September 6, 2010 at 8:21 pm #

    Maybe NPR is like me–in denial that summer is ending. Maybe they’re thinking, “We have to go back! We have to go baaaaack!”

  14. Melinda September 7, 2010 at 4:54 pm #

    OK, now I’m picturing your friends asking you which of them are the “dumb” ones. “Oh, no, I wasn’t talking about YOU.”

Leave a Reply

