My Favorite Song This Minute

27 Sep

“Swords of a Thousand Men” by Tenpole Tudor.

It’s a bit old school but I just heard it again on a commercial for EA Sports. I always thought they were singing “Toora Loora Toora Loo-Rye-Aye” like they do on Come On Eileen but it appears they are actually singing “Hoorah hoorah hoorah yea.”

14 Responses to “My Favorite Song This Minute”

  1. jackie September 27, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    I love it when you have a favorite song and sing the lyrics for years only to discover you’ve been singing it wrong..

    • pamelalovescharlie September 27, 2010 at 10:49 am #

      LOL… I had a friend at work who would sing “kay hairy ho”….we finally asked what she was singing, it was Can’t hurry love by Diana Ross🙂

  2. Billy Ray September 27, 2010 at 11:36 am #

    Is this the same Ten-Pole Tudor who sang “Who Killed Bambi” in the film “The Great Rock and Roll Swindle”?

    If so, coooool…….

  3. Janet September 27, 2010 at 11:44 am #

    Love it, too. Thanks for turning me onto it. The lead singer, Edward Tudor-Pole, looks strung out (or like he’s wearing ghoulish makeup), doesn’t he?

    He doesn’t sing like it, though. Terrific song. Thanks again.

  4. Caroline B September 27, 2010 at 1:14 pm #

    Oh, this is one of my favourite, favourite songs…trouble is, I was around when it first came out! Edward Tudor-Pole then went on to host a weird game show called Crystal Maze….he was so cool!

  5. Cheryl September 27, 2010 at 1:42 pm #

    Sounds like the old Irish song I used to sing as a lullaby to the kids…..

  6. Comedic Author with Rat Training Tendencies September 27, 2010 at 2:27 pm #

    Erin GO Braless. and all that there stuff. So now that Weezer has YOUR album out..are you going to record something and call it Weezer??

    • eb October 1, 2010 at 10:54 am #

      BWaahahahahaha!

  7. Irish Girl September 27, 2010 at 7:21 pm #

    Hee…I can’t help it, that album photo just sends me into “Monty Python and the Holy Grail” mode…(giggling helplessly)

    Irish

  8. Lacey September 27, 2010 at 10:23 pm #

    All I know is that this is the MOST EPIC album cover EVER.

  9. pq September 28, 2010 at 4:41 am #

    Omg, the memories! i was also around for the original release, and now i feel really old. loved that song!

  10. dynamicspiral September 28, 2010 at 9:20 am #

    Heh. That album cover is fantastic—epic, even. And the song’s great. I’d never heard it before.

  11. eb October 1, 2010 at 10:31 am #

    Oh thank you for reminding me of something long forgotten but good! You got me in a classic old school punk rock mood! I feel old and young at the same time!!!
    http://ecclesiasticbohemian.blogspot.com/2010/10/classic-punk-rock.html

  12. Coco Ray October 7, 2010 at 12:33 pm #

    you have excellent taste! This was one of the greatest songs of the eighties xx

Leave a Reply

