Man It Was Hot Yesterday

28 Sep

My car said it was 115 degrees outside!

I couldn’t believe it. Figured it might be running hot or something but my phone said pretty much the same thing.

Yikes. And it’s October Friday?

By the way if the weather says the high is 106. And it’s currently 112. Shouldn’t the high automatically become 112?

47 Responses to “Man It Was Hot Yesterday”

  1. Debbie M. September 28, 2010 at 8:06 pm #

    Also, in So. Cal. and I never thought the summer would get here. Most of July was gray and cool. But this is too much!

  2. Guillermo ROdriguez September 28, 2010 at 8:13 pm #

    That´s nothing!! you should come to mexicali one day (of course you are welcome)… we had 124 degrees…

  3. Jennie B. September 28, 2010 at 8:29 pm #

    Naughty, naughty! Going 25 miles and snapping pictures.. I caught you🙂

    • Jennie B. September 28, 2010 at 8:31 pm #

      oops… just realized that says AVG. 25🙂 My bad!🙂🙂

      • Jorge Garcia October 1, 2010 at 9:01 am #

        Right and that average is miles to the gallon not my average speed.

  4. Annie September 28, 2010 at 8:37 pm #

    It was 88 in Boston!

  5. Heather September 28, 2010 at 8:41 pm #

    Holy crap that is hot! The last and only time I was in weather that hot was in Palm Springs years and years ago, and even then it was ‘only’ 110! We found a nice outdoor pool and jumped in expecting to be refreshed, but the pool was heated! Why heat a pool in 100+ weather LOL. Here in BC, our temps are expected to go up to 20C this week, which is very warm for this time of year!

  6. Comedic Author with Rat Training Tendencies September 28, 2010 at 8:51 pm #

    be very glad you don’t live here in Vegas- there is so much sweat n the air that 302,341 vats of antiperspirant were sold in one walmart alone. (That 78cent special probably helped.)

  7. Anastasia September 28, 2010 at 9:03 pm #

    Yep, same thing in San Diego. No air conditioning, either, I’ve never been so miserable.

  8. Kristianna September 28, 2010 at 9:26 pm #

    Is it wrong I am jealous that it was cooler there today? It was so flipping hot in the Bay Area… my thermostat inside topped out at 100 because that’s as high as it goes. Oh well, price we pay to live in paradise.

  9. Tim A. September 28, 2010 at 9:54 pm #

    That looks like some of the crazy weather we have here in Arkansas.

  10. Kelly, The Glass Dragonfly September 28, 2010 at 10:08 pm #

    We had record breaking heat in Colorado today too. 92 degrees in my town…for the end of September? Yeah, hot!

  11. Tara September 28, 2010 at 10:14 pm #

    Yes, very hot here in LA. My thermostat said 115 degrees too, and the a/c in my house doesn’t work. (btw, I miss GJB)

  12. Melissa September 28, 2010 at 10:29 pm #

    27F this morning in Anchorage and snow is not too far off in the future. What I would give for an extended summer…

  13. Irish Girl September 29, 2010 at 12:15 am #

    Come to Arizona. We got it ALLLL over L.A. In The Desert, No One Can See You Sweat…

    But I’ll take it over the freezing, icy, slushy, dirty, YUCKY New England winters I used to endure. (shudder)

    Irish

  14. luckylibbet September 29, 2010 at 1:34 am #

    Yep, hot in NoCal too. No AC makes it sucky. But yipes, 112. I’ve only seen that on business trips to Phoenix – once was there at 118 and man that is hot.

  15. tehluckinator September 29, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    yeah iphones get pretty dumb. sometimes the map app tells me i’m in socal when i’ll be in sacramento.

  16. jackie September 29, 2010 at 3:25 am #

    we’ve been in the 80’s and lows of 50’s…I’m a happy camper.

  17. Janet September 29, 2010 at 5:20 am #

    The weather channel does that here (in NY), too. (Leave whatever high was predicted.) Bothers me, too.

    Another hot one for you today?

    It’s cool here (finally), but super humid. 68 degree dewpoint, which is tropical.

  18. Scott September 29, 2010 at 5:26 am #

    You always hear about how the weatherperson is always wrong, but it is pretty bad when they give themselves a 40 degree range and still miss it. By 9 degrees! Or, 6, depending on whether the car or phone was correct.

  19. Loonietunez September 29, 2010 at 7:24 am #

    It’s nice here in Hawaii🙂 It was a Nice breezy 90 deg (thurs)day and now its 430am friday morning and its 68 deg here

  20. Hipstre September 29, 2010 at 7:27 am #

    High temperatures are usually recorded at the same place with the same method for years on end. So, while the weather system you have access to might have access to dozens and dozens of thermometers at locations all over town, the official high temperature has to be the highest temperature at a location that they’ve been taking the temperature at for decades. Usually, it’s an airport. The point is to get consistent data.

  21. Michelle September 29, 2010 at 7:48 am #

    Aaaah. A glorious 68 it was yesterday in the lovely state of Washington.🙂

  22. pamelalovescharlie September 29, 2010 at 8:20 am #

    Damn that’s really HOT…here in Northwest Ohio it was only 56 yesterday but it was rainy. This morning when I got up it was freezing in the house…only 42 outside and we left the windows open all night. It still beats 115 though, I can make a fire in the fireplace or wear fleece but you guys could be naked and you’d still die from that heat…well I would…85 is hot to me🙂

  23. Dee September 29, 2010 at 8:48 am #

    Wow, 115 degrees….that’s pretty much half way to boiling point!

  24. Pkitass September 29, 2010 at 9:19 am #

    Van Nuys was worse! Stupid heat pisses me off!

  25. Anfield Fox September 29, 2010 at 10:20 am #

    Nice to see you out of the Hatch. You could use more sunshine.

  26. Mary September 29, 2010 at 10:28 am #

    It’s been as high as 94 here in SW Florida. We get hot weather starting in May. It should be cooling down to 90 in another couple of weeks.

    I usually don’t watch How I Met Your Mother, but I will when you are on it.

  27. Bonni September 29, 2010 at 12:03 pm #

    It was 115 in Mission Viejo area too. Quite a shocker to emerge from my air-conditioned retreat around 2:00 p.m. and walk out into that … oven, for lack of a better word! Very, very unusual. (Wishing you were back in Hawaii?!)

  28. James September 29, 2010 at 1:15 pm #

    I’ll tell you something. I envy alot about your life, but I don’t envy where you live! Come to the midwest, it’s just better here.

  29. Jules September 29, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    OMG. And I thought that 45 days of 90 degree + days in Atlanta was terrible. Humid, too. However, my friend in the Middle East said it’s 120 and humid every day in the summer. I really thought I had it bad. Sorry for the awful weather.

  30. Kelly September 29, 2010 at 2:56 pm #

    They were talking about this on Ellen. Meanwhile here in the South it’s gotten noticeably cooler! But after a long summer of completely humid, miserable days I’m forever grateful.

  31. Ann September 29, 2010 at 3:33 pm #

    We’ve had a couple of great summer-like days here in Nova Scotia. It was 80F both today and yesterday. Usually this time of year the high should be mid-50s to 60s so for Canada, this warm weather in the Fall is a BONUS.

  32. jackson September 29, 2010 at 3:34 pm #

    We’ve been in the 80’s and 90’s in New England. It must be all that global warming. LOL!I hope that means no snow for a while . . . I really gotta move to a warmer clime.

  33. Josh Taback September 29, 2010 at 4:14 pm #

    Welcome back to L.A. Jorge.

  34. Bonnie September 29, 2010 at 4:41 pm #

    Sure was a day for the history books. Heard that at 112 degrees the thermometer then broke downtown! Sure would seem that the weather APP would be the same as the downtown temp!

    BTW: Did I mention that I love the avatars here…they’re quilt blocks! Being a quilter I’m loving it (I’m the one who made the LOST quilt if you’ve heard of it)!

    • pen2 September 29, 2010 at 10:16 pm #

      Hi all

      Yes the temps in downtown were 115′ that day and tons of folks rushed to the southern ca beaches only to find it was a not so cooling off 97′ there.
      Tuesday the weatherman added damp warm air from the south for a lot of humidity, yuck. This afternoon,Wedsday, we had lighting, thunder and a wonderful rainbow to the south East, a rare sight
      around here.
      Oct. will see us way down to 80′, a real cooling trend.
      Hah
      Enjoy
      pen2

  35. Nikki September 29, 2010 at 5:44 pm #

    We are still surfing the 100’s in Phoenix. I’ll live thru one 113* day to get those 80’s your phone is showing. 🙂

  36. Jann September 30, 2010 at 8:55 am #

    I still have a picture I took off the tv screen a long, long time ago in Pullman, WA. It was the local weather channel, and only posted text with the current conditions. The current temp showed as 24 with an up arrow to show it was climbing, the low was listed as 23, and the high? 129. Oopsie!

  37. Nancy September 30, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Those temps are what it felt like in Philly this summer. It was brutal. Stay cool out there, west coasters!

  38. Kim - Mommycosm September 30, 2010 at 6:37 pm #

    Nah – that would make too much sense. I often say that I’d like the be a meteorologist. What other profession could you be 50% accurate and still have a job?!

  39. Ela October 1, 2010 at 8:28 am #

    UGH, that just makes my bones hurt! 112!!! It has stayed in the 90’s here in Utah (which is still abnormal for this time of year). However, knowing that the snowy weather is just around the corner, I refuse to complain about the extended heat wave!

  40. Sebastian October 2, 2010 at 2:22 am #

    I think the highs and lows are what the computers predicted for the day and the actual current temp is updated from the wheather station. Meaning the small numbers under the big one are the prediction and the big one is the current value.

  41. Tadge October 2, 2010 at 1:27 pm #

    Blimey – only 24.4 mpg – what kinda guzzler is that?!! – if my v-dub did that kind of mpg I’d be broke!!😉

  42. Matt Comegys October 5, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    C’mon out to Nagano, Japan. We’ll give you some cold. I had to wear three shirts and two pairs of pants last night.

  43. Marc October 5, 2010 at 3:56 pm #

    yeah, it was HOT! I live in the valley and it was nightmare…

    enjoyed the cool summer though. one week later and it is 63 degrees.

    going to Hawaii in a few weeks, gonna check out all the “Lost” locations while I’m there, yeah!

  44. Ewan "Hijole" Morrison October 18, 2010 at 11:50 am #

    Even SC was 102 on this day, homes.

Leave a Reply

