Week Later Report: Halloween

7 Nov

So we moved recently. And because we moved so close to Halloween I wasn’t sure if we’d get a chance to carve  pumpkins this year.

But we came in just under the wire when on Halloween a bunch of us went out to Forneris Farms and picked out some pumpkins. Brought them home for a night of chili and carving. Pausing every now and again to pass out candy to trick-or-treaters.

I carved these two. This one was inspired by the shape of the pumpkin.

28 Responses to “Week Later Report: Halloween”

  1. Debbie M. November 7, 2010 at 12:34 pm #

    Wow, nice job on the pumpkin carving, Jorge! Looks like you guys had a blast.

  2. Tim A. November 7, 2010 at 12:40 pm #

    Very cool! Good job! Love the one with the scary tree.

  3. Comedic Author with Rat Training Tendencies November 7, 2010 at 12:56 pm #

    before I even read which one was yours, I KNEW the moonshine had to be it! We had more hallowed weeners this year than any year in the last 10.
    Wanted to let you know about a program you may be interested in- especially before holidays- called Adopt A Soldier, (adoptaUSSoldier.org), which lets you write to orphaned, aged out foster kids, and others who have little or no family- who signed up to be part of the armed services. It’s a non-profit, all volunteer group that lets you cheer up someone working on behalf of our country. I bet some of the pics of halloween would make a few folks happy over there! (I adopted a kid who is in Afghanistan now) A lot of us art/entertainment people do it.

  4. Debbie Johnson November 7, 2010 at 1:05 pm #

    Love the butt cheek pumpkin.

  5. Alex2 November 7, 2010 at 2:01 pm #

    yeah the butt man is cool, especially lit on fire!

  6. vospik November 7, 2010 at 4:04 pm #

    AHHHH! Thank you for this post!!! Looks like a wonderful time🙂 I know how much work that pumpkin with all the circles took (I did that one year), looks great! All them gourds are adorable, glad to see fun is not forgotten in the move. I wish it was Halloween more than once a year😦

  7. pamelalovescharlie November 7, 2010 at 4:16 pm #

    Looks like a fun Halloween! Good job on the pumpkins…I got creative this year and carved some cool pumpkins, some of our trick or treaters even took pix🙂 Why does is look like your head is across the room sitting on the counter?

  8. Kathy November 7, 2010 at 7:00 pm #

    The bum one….lol!🙂
    Each Halloween, I look forward to your pumpkins…thanks for sharing them again this year Jorge….and congrats to you and Beth on finding a new home. Wish you many happy days in it! xo

  9. Becky November 7, 2010 at 7:47 pm #

    Brilliant big booty pumpkin Jorge!

  10. yellowdoggranny November 7, 2010 at 10:13 pm #

    oh man..the pumpkins were terrific..great job done by everyone.

  11. Pei November 7, 2010 at 11:53 pm #

    Thx for u post, I really love the pumpkin that you carved.

  12. Joan Crawford November 8, 2010 at 6:50 am #

    Yay! I’m glad you posted your pumpkin pics. The scarecrow in the first pic is thisclose to touching Beth’s bumbum.

  13. james November 8, 2010 at 8:53 am #

    YES!!!!!!

    Thanks man, cause I thought you were gonna fail miserably and miss it all together, and disappoint thousands of people, or maybe at least twenty. But you didn’t and instead upheld your carving tradition!

    It’s been said, what you carve on your pumkin is what you think about in your sleep…Hmmm, your a sad mamma jamma!

  14. Dawn November 8, 2010 at 9:04 am #

    Hurray! Thanks for posting the pumpkin pictures. I was grossly deprived of my carving and gutting fun this year. Mostly due to my own job change and lack of sleep. Thanks for sharing.

  15. yogahz November 8, 2010 at 9:24 am #

    The pumpkin just knows what it wants to be.

  16. Debby November 8, 2010 at 1:45 pm #

    We didn’t get to carve any pumpkins so I am glad to live vicariously through all of yours. And BTW – that is an awesome looking stove your cooking the chilo on there.

  17. Debby November 8, 2010 at 1:46 pm #

    err – chili – I meant cooking the chilI on…

  18. jackson November 8, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    I remember you post last year about the pumpkins you carved and was wondering if you’d done it again. Thanks for posting these! I get such a kick out of them. You did a great job!

  19. Margie November 8, 2010 at 5:04 pm #

    Loved all your pumpkins. This year, in addition to carving pumpkins for Halloween, my husband has blown some up with his shot gun. It was fun watching it in slo-mo.

  20. Christina Hillock (Orlando, FL) November 8, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    Hey Jorge!–

    All of this pumpkin carving talk gave me the courage to let you know that for my Halloween 2010 pumpkin I carved, well….YOU! I would love to be able to send it to you somehow, I’m just not too sure how to go about doing that. Anywho, I would love for you to see it, so please let me know if I am able to send a picture to you in any way, shape, or form! Thanks, & nice job on your pumpkins!🙂

    -Christina

  21. Melody November 9, 2010 at 9:28 pm #

    LOL That is some fine artwork! Seriously though, I am impressed. Thanks for sharing!🙂

  22. tricia (T) November 10, 2010 at 6:56 pm #

    you are talented. end of story. whenever you want to wander up to Alaska, let me know. I’ll hook you up with stuff,people and places.

  23. lacie june garrett November 12, 2010 at 12:59 pm #

    I got hooked on Dispatches many moons ago from your carving post. I am so glad that you got to carve yet again only this time in your new home on the mainland.

  24. Pamela November 13, 2010 at 1:41 pm #

    Jorge,
    Is that Eddie’s head on the countertop in your kitchen? If so, that’s pretty cool.

  25. Bill B. November 14, 2010 at 5:37 pm #

    YES! The pumpkins! Glad to see the Garcia Halloween Fiesta tradition is still alive! Is that a “Ghost Busters” jack-o-lantern I see? Thanks for the pics Jorge!

  26. James Hernandez November 19, 2010 at 8:26 pm #

    That one pumpkin is just singing ‘moon river’…. as wide as an ocean.

  27. beema November 22, 2010 at 9:15 pm #

    lol
    awesome pumpkin jorge
    I think the best I’ve ever done was Cookie Monster

  28. Arielle November 24, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I carved something awesome, too awesome to tell you. you have to see it to believe it.

    http://artforlife42.tumblr.com/post/1395285250/death-star-pumpkin-epic

Leave a Reply

