For the Sake of Karma

23 Nov

Please adopt these rats.

‘Hoarders’ Rats Up For Adoption: 1,000 Rats Removed From House On Reality TV Show

 

35 Responses to “For the Sake of Karma”

  1. Sam G November 23, 2010 at 11:27 pm #

    Could it be 1001, I have one I need to get rid of.

  2. B.E. Earl November 24, 2010 at 12:05 am #

    Wait…they’re rats, right?

    • Malea November 24, 2010 at 1:01 am #

      awww, now doesn’t that make you feel guilty for trying to kill your little Hawaiian rat buddy?๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Janet November 24, 2010 at 3:02 am #

    ew

    • Kate November 24, 2010 at 5:36 am #

      You and Beth are the rat experts. You need to adopt them. Plus think how much fun Pip and Smidge will have!

  4. Kate November 24, 2010 at 5:19 am #

    Sounds like the perfect Christmas present for Beth๐Ÿ™‚

  5. Margie November 24, 2010 at 6:37 am #

    That makes a shudder go down my back. Just thinking about all the disgusting rat pee and poop makes me want to hurl.

  6. Lisa November 24, 2010 at 6:52 am #

    LOL Maybe Beth would like to adopt some? LOL!! Sorry Beth I just couldnt resist๐Ÿ™‚ Hope you BOTH have a wonderful Thanksgiving

  7. Sheila November 24, 2010 at 7:09 am #

    I saw this episode the other night. Disgusting!! The hoarder is dealing with incurable cancer and insisted on searching through feces looking for a gold ring she had lost. She never found it.

    • jojo May 16, 2011 at 7:24 pm #

      No you have the completely wrong episode!

  8. David November 24, 2010 at 9:41 am #

    I think you should buy them as a Christmas present for Beth and post a video of her reaction.

  9. Janela November 24, 2010 at 9:50 am #

    Rats are the sweetest pets in the world. We have 2–one we bought from the ‘feeder’ drawer at a pet store, so it wouldn’t get fed to a snake. Ours are both female–the other we adopted from a couple that did a ‘rescue’ like you described.

  10. Mamasan November 24, 2010 at 10:26 am #

    Just not all of them at once, please.๐Ÿ˜‰

  11. Kbakken November 24, 2010 at 10:32 am #

    Rats are AMAZING pets. They’re perfect for people who don’t have the time or space for a dog or cat. Affectionate, smart, small and very quiet. They’re incredibly social and like interacting with you – MUCH better than a hamster which is by nature a solitary animal. Take a look around at pet rat sites to get more info about these incredible, unjustly maligned animals. I feel so bad for these rats.

  12. Mrs. L November 24, 2010 at 10:54 am #

    Yeah and they are holding them in MY town! (Hubby already asked if we could get one. I reminded him we have a cat)

  13. tenalynn November 24, 2010 at 11:04 am #

    OMG, I don’t know if I could do that even for karma, bub.

  14. Karla November 24, 2010 at 11:35 am #

    Pet rats are so fun, they’re actually very smart and entertaining. Unfortunately tho, they don’t live long enough, only a couple of yrs…RIP Jessie and Maude.

  15. Tracy November 24, 2010 at 12:58 pm #

    Reminds me of The creepy old identical twin rat ladies in Pacific Palisades that LA weekly did a story on years ago. If you google it read the story. So weird and creepy.

  16. Sarah November 24, 2010 at 2:04 pm #

    Rats really are wonderful pets. I hope these poor little guys find a home soon. I know they have a bad rep but they have the same thoughts, feelings and rights as dogs or cats and should have the same freedom from suffering.

  17. Ann November 24, 2010 at 2:33 pm #

    “…previous owner’s daughter had brought home a pregnant rat one day and the litter began multiplying quickly.”

    It was home’s previous owner’s daughter that introduced the pregnant rat to the house or the previous owner of the rats was the hoarder whose daughter brought the pregnant rat home?

    Anyhow, would these rats even be suitable for adoption? Wouldn’t they be pretty much wild? I think Andy’s pet Store going to have a sale on live python food.

  18. Joan Crawford November 24, 2010 at 2:36 pm #

    I think it’s clear what needs to happen here, Jorge. You and Beth need to make amends for the Rat Execution Videos you made.

    Just think – you have 1,000 ways to make it right!

  19. Comedic Author with Rat Training Tendencies November 24, 2010 at 2:49 pm #

    Our rat rescue has taken home hundreds and probably thousands of rats from idiots who hoard them. They are sweet animals, and great great pets.. thanks for posting this jorge. I’m a mom to 26 of them now but have had up to 100 before. (rescue wise) I’m the mom to 6 that are my personal pets. Love them.

  20. yellowdoggranny November 24, 2010 at 4:18 pm #

    no thanks …I just had a bar of soap.

  21. Jules November 24, 2010 at 5:26 pm #

    Ok. As a child of a clinical hoarder I’m horrified. Gosh, I hope my mother didn’t live with rats…

  22. Jessica November 24, 2010 at 6:03 pm #

    BLLLLLLECH!

  23. Irish Girl November 24, 2010 at 11:16 pm #

    I’m terrified of rodents. Get all wonky when I’m around most of them, even though they ARE very smart, and I’ve heard they make wonderful pets.

    However, intelligence and suitability notwithstanding, I believe I must decline to adopt. My dog is a MinPin–a ratcatcher, so I don’t think little furry Fido would be happy living with us. But I’ll use humane means of ridding myself of them, okay?

    Irish

  24. Karen November 25, 2010 at 5:08 am #

    I really hope that after allowing themselves to be exploited on TV these people are getting the help they need. Compulsive hoarding is a terrible disease and difficult to treat.

  25. pamelalovescharlie November 25, 2010 at 6:19 pm #

    I’m out…I have 4 cats who will chase anything that moves and bat things around that don’t just so they can chase them too. Then there’s my little Charlie who goes ballistic anytime a squirrel or bunny shows up in the yard. A little possom wandered onto the back patio (screen door got left open) and I let the dogs out, I didn’t see it and the poor little thing screamed and hissed like a cat. I got the dogs back in before they could hurt it but it was terrified. Don’t think rats would last too long around here…

  26. Kelly November 26, 2010 at 9:41 pm #

    We adopted two rats from our local animal shelter after they took in several hundred from a hoarding incident several years ago up here in Sonoma County. We named them Cocoa and Puff and they were really great little pets but they passed on last year. Now we have 3: Kirk, Ernie & Bert. Maybe it’s time to adopt 1 or 2 more!

  27. moon November 27, 2010 at 3:20 pm #

    After you!

  28. James Hernandez November 27, 2010 at 6:36 pm #

    Jorge,

    I swear that in Philly with the number of feral cats around there is no rat problems.

  29. Jennifer November 28, 2010 at 11:50 pm #

    heebyjeebies

  30. Rachel December 7, 2010 at 2:05 pm #

    Awwww, Jorge, you’re the best. I love rats, I have 7 right now (as pets). I’m so glad you’re trying to help these little guys find a good home!

  31. Teresa Avalon May 2, 2011 at 9:06 pm #

    http://www.facebook.com/home.php?#!/media/set/fbx/?set=a.191151957583857.48894.124933627539024

    These are the pictures of the hoarder’s rats who ended up being sent from California to Kenmore, WA. Best Friends Rodent Rescue. Why do I mention this? Well, today was my first volunteer day with Best Friends. I can’t have ratties right now because my dog would try to kill them, but I’m doing the next best thing. And they are cute, cute, cute! Getting very socialized.

    This wonderful rat savior can use any help anyone can provide and especially, people who want to adopt. Needless to say, her rat population went way up when she took a number of the famous Hoarder’s rats.

  32. Teresa Avalon August 7, 2011 at 4:04 am #

    Hey, when you and Beth get settled in, please repost this posting. Since we can’t really have back and forth talk unless you initiate it. I’ll just say I have a good, I mean great story to tell you. You have changed (for the better) more lives than you might otherwise have realized, with this post. And you might just get an invitation to see some of what you have “wrought”. Little hint, though, if you do, don’t bring Beth. I think she’s scared of rats.๐Ÿ˜‰

    Anyway, get settled, repost this and as Paul Harvey used to say, you’ll hear the rest of the story.

Leave a Reply

