The Day Tofu Came Over

20 Dec

Yesterday as Beth and I were on our way to breakfast we came upon a dog in the street. He was wet and scared. We tried to get him to come to us but he kept running away. We made a quick stop at the corner gas station where I bought a piece of beef jerky in the hopes I could bribe him into coming with us. When we found him again he was in someone’s front yard. We cornered him behind these trash cans and with the help of a neighbor were able to get a collar and leash on him. We took him to check for a chip as he had no tags. (And as it turned out no chip.) Something he did have was his balls. Which made me pretty nervous about inviting him into our house. We held off on fixing Pip and Smidge until they got some more weight on their bones. We’re planning on doing it in January. (Well, having it done, we’re not going to do it ourselves.)

We bathed him and gave him food and water and a place to lay down in a warm bathroom. And we made flyers that we (Beth actually) put them up around the neighborhood. He whimpered a lot behind the bathroom door. Sorry dude, can’t have you running around my house with nuts on. I went to the pet supply store to pick him up a bully stick to keep him company.

At the store I got the call from Beth that his owner had called and was already on his way. And that his name was “Tofu.” Not the name we gave him. Beth want to call him “Monty” and I wanted a name that reflected the fact that he was wet when we found him. So I called him “Sop.” So we decided his official name would be “Monty the Sop.”

He had gotten out the night before so he was walking the streets for a quite some time already. A part of me was a little sad to see him go. I was already making plans for him to be adopted by my mom or my sister. But I’m glad he’s back at home.

People please tag and fix your dogs. You never know when they might get out.

59 Responses to “The Day Tofu Came Over”

  1. Maggie December 20, 2010 at 12:36 pm #

    I was really glad to read that this story had a happy ending. My best friend’s dog just escaped nearly 2 days ago and she’s beside herself. (Actually, if you know anyone in NC, here’s a flyer: http://twitpic.com/3hrt8o)

    Thank you for taking care of this person’s dog and doing all the right things. (Like going to a vet to check for chips.) I hope someone does the same for my friend’s dog.😦

  2. Lisa December 20, 2010 at 12:37 pm #

    Its so nice to know that you took him in and were taking such good care of the little guy. I always microchip all of ours because you just never know when they could slip out without their tags on. Right now our Chihuahua’s tags are hanging on the key rack since he needs his nails trimmed and their getting caught in the collar. I’m glad Tofu found his home again, you both did good !

  3. Matt B December 20, 2010 at 12:42 pm #

    Such an adorable picture!

  4. Nikki December 20, 2010 at 12:43 pm #

    Jorge~ I love what big hearts you and Beth have!!! I hope you all, puppies included, have a wonderful Christmas!!!

  5. Steph December 20, 2010 at 12:46 pm #

    My family’s fostered dogs for three years, and we were so glad when it became rescue policy to microchip all of the dogs. My own beagle has been returned thanks to them, and you never know when a dog’s going to slip a collar and take off. Nice job on the coralling Tofu!

  6. Debbie M. December 20, 2010 at 12:50 pm #

    You said it Jorge. I don’t understand how people can’t at least put a tag and collar around their pets neck. This goes for both dogs AND cats. The owner was lucky that you and Beth were the ones to find Tofu. You took excellent care of him and tried to find out who he belonged to. Without tags and a microchip people run the risk of never seeing their pet again. Not everyone goes out of their way to find the owner.

    I hope you, Beth, Pip and Smidge have a wonderful holiday and a very happy New Year!

    • Veronica December 20, 2010 at 8:52 pm #

      Well said!! Merry Christmas to all!!!

  7. Arsnof December 20, 2010 at 12:57 pm #

    THIS is why they left you in charge of the island.

    Seriously, though. That is so sweet and awesome.

  8. yellowdoggranny December 20, 2010 at 1:02 pm #

    Dexter is fixed but the new kitteh I got isn’t fixed yet, but taking him down after 1st of the year and get him fixed too.
    He has a company name Nitty..and a bad kitteh name which is Fucking Flowers…he just broke my 26 inch flat screen tv..so I may yank his balls off my ownself.

  9. Alan December 20, 2010 at 1:04 pm #

    My fiancee and I recently went through the same experience. We had decided to keep him about 30 minutes before the owner called to say she had seen our flier. It was nice to get him back home but sad to see him go.

    I’m glad there are other people out there who will take a soggy dog in and try to find it’s owner.

    My dog thanks the two of you!

  10. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies December 20, 2010 at 1:22 pm #

    OH Monty is the name of our baby- we got him because we saw how cool nunu was.. I am glad and sad for you both. (Where do we send your Giftmas Cards this year??)

  11. Summertime December 20, 2010 at 1:25 pm #

    You guys are so awesome!
    My Mom recently welcomed two rescue Chihuahua puppies to the family. One found on a freeway offramp. She is so sweet and tiny. We named her Nunu.🙂
    Happy Holidays!

  12. Patty December 20, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Thank goodness you took the time and caring to put out flyers–you really made someone’s day! (plus, I’m sure they were amazed to learn it was you!!) Thanks for being good role models.

  13. Marilyn December 20, 2010 at 2:06 pm #

    Wow – what a wonderful thing you guys did. Yay for you two, and yay for Tofu. Happy Holidays to you both, and to your little pups.

  14. llisa December 20, 2010 at 2:14 pm #

    What a cutie Tofu is! LOVE this story!(doggies!:)
    As a kid I promised myself I’d keep every stray I would find when I grew up and had my own place… sadly (or not?) any I have found were like your story (just loose, not homeless)but at least they all made it home safe, right?!
    Blessings and best wishes to you & yours Jorge!
    Enjoy your new little ones! I sure miss the fun of Nunu’s Advent calendar last year… maybe next year a new one with Smidge & Pip?!

  15. Julie from NY December 20, 2010 at 3:12 pm #

    Aw! I’m so glad you guys got him off the street. My husband has a habit of bringing home lost/stray dogs. The first couple of times, we were able to locate the owners. The most recent one came to us in January 2009. He was sick with a severe eye infection, had no collar or leash, and his chip was unregistered. After a week of posting flyers and calling all the local shelters and police stations (and having his eye and other “things” fixed at the vet), we adopted him. He’s amazing, a purebred male English cocker spaniel who was already house-trained and understood basic commands. I think someone dumped him to avoid a hefty vet bill. He’s one of the best dogs we’ve ever had. Lesson of the Day: If you have pets that you love and they’re microchipped, make sure to register them!

  16. Katzenmother December 20, 2010 at 3:30 pm #

    Bless you for caring and stopping to help a scared and appearingly homeless dog. Its good that Beth put up the fliers so Tofu’s owner could come and get him. Jorge there is a lot of Hurley Reyes in you. Best wishes for a Merry Christmas and Happy New Year for you, Beth, and the “kids”!

  17. Lauren December 20, 2010 at 3:35 pm #

    Bob Barker would be proud of the moral of this story. Happy ending for a wet soggy soy-pup.

  18. Joey December 20, 2010 at 3:38 pm #

    What, you didn’t resort to calling him Vincent? He wasn’t LOST? Ah, too easy to resist. But great work! If everyone was as compassionate as you, the world would be a better place for people AND animals.

  19. Debbie Johnson December 20, 2010 at 3:42 pm #

    What a lucky guy he was to have you and Beth find him.

  20. Jude December 20, 2010 at 4:27 pm #

    The best way to catch a dog is to lie down. It will become curious about why the human is being submissive and you can grab it fairly easily. I did this once for a completely strange dog, and it worked like a charm. If you chase them, they will run.

  21. Nikki December 20, 2010 at 4:57 pm #

    Jorge, you and Beth have hearts of gold! I don’t know many people who would go to those lengths to catch and care for a random dog wandering the neighborhood. You two are awesome–I’m sure Tofu’s owner will have a much merrier Christmas now that his beloved pet is there to spend it with him, thanks to you and Beth. You guys rock!

  22. Karla December 20, 2010 at 5:22 pm #

    Another good deed done! I’ve rescued many animals over the yrs too…pd vet bills, found them homes. It’s very rewarding.

    Also FYI…I lost a dog a long time ago, she was a major escape artist. This was before chipping was avail. She had tags on her collar, but lost her collar somehow during her travels. We posted flyers and checked the Humane Society…luckily someone posted a card on their bulletin board that they found my little dog 2 miles away from my home. It was amazing to find her, 5 days had gone by!

  23. LSE December 20, 2010 at 7:51 pm #

    Thank god you guys were there to save that little dog! It’s so dangerous to have an untagged, unchipped AND unfixed dog. In a big city I honestly would have assumed he was a stray. Again, the family is very lucky you put up signs! I hope Tofu gets fixed and doesn’t escape back into this deluge of rain L.A. is having.

  24. BrettfromOz December 20, 2010 at 8:57 pm #

    Hey guys great to see and that you beat even the owner in putting up flyers. I’m always surprised to hear that owners don’t de-sex their animals when there is no intention of breeding.
    Anyway Well Done and a big bag of Karma coming your way – Merry Xmas!

  25. kpandcoffeetoo December 20, 2010 at 10:22 pm #

    That was great of you guys to take care of the little guy, but man! Mister Tofu needs to be fixed and chipped or something! Glad he’s home though.

  26. Ang December 21, 2010 at 2:15 am #

    We’re about to post up some signs in our neighborhood too, since we rescued a runaway (fly-away?) pet parrot on Saturday. Somehow I don’t think the owner will be quite as thrilled to see me returning his bird as Tofu’s owner was to be getting Tofu back from you😀 Hopefully he’ll be thrilled to be getting his bird back at all though. My kids are quickly getting attached though. Hoping to connect with the owner really REALLY soon or we may be first-time bird owners😛

  27. Jules December 21, 2010 at 4:34 am #

    You and Beth are such good people to take in Tofu and make the effort to find his owners. Some people would just pass by a dog and not think twice about it. Thanks for doing the right thing.🙂

  28. Ann December 21, 2010 at 5:07 am #

    Doesn’t it make you heart sick when you find a stray? Its happened to me a couple of times. You just know the poor dog is terrified and thinking “oh crap.. oh crap.. oh crap… what have I gotten myself into here?” and somewhere at the other end there’s (hopefully) a desperate owner frantic with worry.

    Our dog has a bunch of tags. A license, a rabies tag, a tag with her name and phone number engraved and a tag that has the serial number of her chip. She has a chip but it was inserted incorrectly when she was just a puppy and it has worked it’s why off the back of her neck and is now more down on her shoulder. the chip reader sometimes has a hard time finding it.

  29. pamelalovescharlie December 21, 2010 at 6:58 am #

    Tofu is so CUTE and you and Beth are awesome! It’s so nice to hear that this lost dog story has a happy ending🙂 I have 2 boy dogs, Momo (American Eskimo) and my Charlie Fudgems (Chihuahua) they both have tags and their “nards” but we also have a big fenced in yard they run around in, and they are mostly inside dogs. Since I am a SAHM they are not used to me being gone and get sad, howl and cry when I go away, even when the kids are here. The one time someone left the back gate open, Momo was barking and scratching at the front door desperate to get back inside with me. I hate that they have so much separation anxiety…but they never try to run anywhere unless they are chasing after me…I should have named them Shadow 1 and Shadow 2😉

  30. DWeimer December 21, 2010 at 7:44 am #

    Wow. I had to take a second look at “Tofu”. He looks like my 8 year-old Jack mix we lost to cancer in September. It’s still hard to think of him, he was misdiagnosed and it was quite a shock and heartbreaker when it happened. I’m so happy and grateful there’s people like you and Beth that go out of your way for animals. Enjoy your new babies, we enjoy your sweet pictures and stories about them.

  31. Pei December 21, 2010 at 8:00 am #

    You are rally a caring person..

  32. Julienne December 21, 2010 at 10:24 am #

    Beth and Jorge, you guys are wonderful. Thanks for helping the poor pooch out and for actually considering adopting him. I wish you the merriest christmas ever and may all your wishes come true in the new year 2011! Big hugs from Germany.

  33. Nitou December 21, 2010 at 11:34 am #

    It so nice of you🙂 Beth and you have a big heart. I love animals and even if I didn’t know this dog personally It warms the cockles of my heart to hear you say that. Hope pip and Smidge are well. Hugs from Belgium.

  34. pamelalovescharlie December 21, 2010 at 11:57 am #

    Merry Christmas Jorge and Beth, Smidge and Pip! This is for everyone who loves dogs as much as I do🙂 http://ak.imgag.com/imgag/product/preview/flash/pdShell.swf?ihost=http://ak.imgag.com/imgag&brandldrPath=/product/full/el/&cardNum=/product/full/ap/3173936/graphic1

  35. Teri December 21, 2010 at 12:06 pm #

    Thanks for being the caring individuals that you are, and also for reminding folks to fix and tag their animals. We get a lot of gorgeous dogs into our rescue, that perhaps have owners that have searched for them. A chip helps, so do tags, etc. If you love your animals, take very step available to ensure that they will come home to you.

  36. Jeff December 21, 2010 at 12:25 pm #

    I like Jude’s advice about laying down. I’ll have to remember that the next time I come upon a stray that I will want to help.

  37. Dave December 21, 2010 at 1:51 pm #

    Jorge,
    You and Beth are my kinda friends! If you’re ever in the Rancho Cucamonga area, let me know! What great people you are!

  38. Voltaire December 21, 2010 at 2:19 pm #

    I can never bring myself to spay or neuter my pets. I know all the reasons why you should, but it just seems cruel. On that note, have you ever heard of neuticles? haha, they’re implants that make it look like the dog still has his junk, but really, they’re just styrofoam (well probably not styrofoam but you get the idea). Oh, and I think you you should re-title this blog post as: “What to do with Monty’s Python” or “Lopping off Sop’s Knobs”.

  39. Kathy Myers December 21, 2010 at 2:22 pm #

    It would be great if everyone who found a lost dog was a diligent as you and Beth to try to find the owner. Both of my beagles are tagged and microchipped. You never know when they might accidentally escape the backyard. Merry Christmas.

  40. Meg December 21, 2010 at 2:43 pm #

    Aw, that’s how I got my dog. Found him at 9 weeks and he is the best! Since then, I always have to stop and chase after stray dogs. Usually, they aren’t far from home. Though what is the deal with fixing them? Mine is not, and I have no plans for it. He is not aggressive (he is a big baby) and he doesn’t pee in the house unless another dog pees there first. Maybe I just got lucky. But, if I’m out and we find a stray, I can take his leash off and put it on the stray and he stays by my side. I can also let him out front and he will not go past our yard. I think this guy knows he has a good thing going.

  41. Suzie Q. Wacvet December 21, 2010 at 3:15 pm #

    Some men are just real weird about having their male dogs neutered. Some women are just dumb about it. Thanks for reminding folks.

  42. jackson December 21, 2010 at 4:32 pm #

    Thanks for being kind to Tofu. I always hope that if my pup should ever sneak out, he’ll meet someone like you and Beth.

  43. Bonnie Francis December 22, 2010 at 12:20 am #

    You two are the best kind of people! So glad to know you’re out there saving little friends and keeping up the faith!

  44. gabyaventuras December 22, 2010 at 1:49 am #

    Jorge!!! Just wanted to say Merry Christmas for you and all your loved ones and may 2011 come full of good surprises and success!!!
    Congratulations for your excelent performances in Lost and HIMYM!
    Gaby

  45. Nitou December 22, 2010 at 3:20 am #

    It’s kind of you. Beth and you have a big heart. I love animals and It warms the cockles of my heart to hear you say that. Hope pip and smidge are well. Hugs from Belgium.

  46. Anna December 23, 2010 at 12:59 am #

    that’s so sweet.♥ now they can celebrate the holidays knowing everyone in their family is safe and sound.🙂 Happy Christmas Jorge!:)

  47. JoAnna December 23, 2010 at 3:43 pm #

    Very sweet. Tofu looked like a smaller version of Sh*thead from “The Jerk.” Have safe travels and Happy Holidays.

  48. gina December 24, 2010 at 8:02 am #

    I love you guys and not in a stalker kind a way. Just cause you are good souls

  49. Irish Girl December 24, 2010 at 9:48 am #

    Awww, what a cutie. I’m so glad he and his owner found each other again–and what luck that the little furball ran into you and Beth. A lot of people wouldn’t even bother trying, much less go the extra mile that you two did–which is a sad thing to say, but unfortunately true. I would hope someone would do the same for my little morsel, Billy. He’s been fixed and has a shiny new name tag that I got him for Christmas. Hopefully he’ll never really need it.

    Irish

  50. Tianna Pilipovic December 25, 2010 at 7:11 am #

    Aww nice name choice, my cats’ name is Monty!

  51. Glenda December 25, 2010 at 3:58 pm #

    Yes, it’s a very nice story and yes it’s good to tag them but why fix them? Dont they have a right to live their life as fully as possible like us, I mean their purpose cant be just to please the human being and not bother him,is it?

    • Chaely December 29, 2010 at 11:24 pm #

      The problem is that there’s a severe overabundance of animals overcrowding shelters already – un-neutered strays (even temporary strays like Tofu) just create more feral animals. Unless you intend to breed your pet intentionally it’s best to have them fixed.

  52. Chaely December 28, 2010 at 3:44 pm #

    It must feel so good to be responsible for reuniting a dog and his person.

    I got my dog tagged one Saturday morning a few months ago after having him for about a month & 3 hours later he snuck out the front door to check out what was going on at the baseball fields next door. A kind baseball dad found him & brought him back after a frantic 30 minute search around the (really bad) neighborhood. I don’t know what I would have done if I hadn’t tagged him that very morning but I don’t think I would have ever seen him again.

    For xmas my mom had him chipped while she was puppysitting. I was so happy I cried. Now nothing can come between me & my little guy!

  53. Lacie J Garrett December 29, 2010 at 12:01 pm #

    I love to read your pet stories, I believe that kindness is still out there. Kudo to you and Beth, Happy New Years 2011

  54. Mike December 31, 2010 at 10:07 am #

    Sir, You and Beth are number 1 in my book!

    Good work!

    Mike

  55. RJ January 6, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Awesome story– my wife and I have a house full of rescued pets. Thanks for taking the time to care about that dogs welfare!

  56. Nora January 6, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

    Just one more reason to think you two are wonderful! In case Tofu forgot to tell you…Thanks for being so sweet to him.

  57. Wanda January 6, 2011 at 7:08 pm #

    I had something very similar happen to me not too long ago. I was walking to the mall to meet my husband and found the most adorable beagle wandering around on the sidewalk of the main street in our town. I was going to keep walking because, well, I didn’t know what to do, but I couldn’t. Poor little thing could’ve been hit by a car. The dog was very friendly and came right too me. Getting her – or a possibly neutered him, I didn’t really inspect – to come with me was a bit harder. I don’t carry a leash with me so I took the strap off my purse and hooked it to the little thing’s collar. The only tags on its collar showed the number for one of the veterinarian offices in town but they were closed when I called. It looked like we were going to be welcoming another dog into our home but I called the police, got the number for the dog catcher – not one of the scary ones like in the movies, but I really sweet lady that runs a rescue – who came and picked the beagle up. I left my number and offered to adopt her if they couldn’t find the owners. Otherwise the dog would’ve gone to the animal shelter. We have a no-kill shelter, but it’s horribly overcrowded and under funded. The story had a happy ending though. The dog was reunited with its owner and my husband didn’t kill me for almost bringing another animal into the house! I have no idea why I just wrote all that out. I just felt like sharing, I suppose.

    As an aside, I would recommend anyone that finds a dog or cat in the same situation, it’s best to approach the animal with caution and only if it’s in danger. You never know what could happen. Notify someone you saw it if you can’t take it to a shelter or rescue yourself so that you know it’s getting help. A lot of things can happen to animals that are away from their homes.

Leave a Reply

