My “New” Tradition

2 Jan

New Years at our house is usually pretty quiet. Dinner is always Sloppy Joes and Tater Tots.

And at midnight we celebrate with the three CHs :Churros, Chocolate and Champagne.

2009-2010

(Or this year we went with a bottle of Cava I received as a gift.)

2010-2011

(Same cup by the way)

But this past New Year’s Eve night we made two batches of Joe. Because I had mine meatless.

56 Responses to “My “New” Tradition”

  1. Tim Anthony January 2, 2011 at 11:39 pm #

    Love tots. We make Sloppy Joes meatless too. We use Crumbles in it. Taste just as good.

  2. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies January 2, 2011 at 11:44 pm #

    How long have you been veggie? or is this just a choice for some foods?

  3. Debbie M. January 2, 2011 at 11:46 pm #

    Did you use the soy hamburg crumbles? It’s very good. We use it with tomato sauce over pasta. Perfect to use in chili and tacos too.

  4. Anthony S. January 3, 2011 at 1:58 am #

    Man that looks delicious, have you ever had Buรฑuelos?
    They’re kinda like Churros and are amazingly delicious.

  5. Sundeep January 3, 2011 at 2:14 am #

    No WAY! That was a twist ending!

    Is the meatless thing a New Year’s resolution?

  6. Claudia January 3, 2011 at 2:51 am #

    Those tater tots can’t be the frozen kind! They look WAY too good.
    You got my stomach growling and it isn’t even 5AM yet!!!!๐Ÿ™‚

  7. Sam G January 3, 2011 at 3:50 am #

    Cava better than champagne.

  8. purposefullyliving January 3, 2011 at 4:19 am #

    Good for you!๐Ÿ˜€ I hope the change is “permanent”, but if it isn’t every meatless meal helps the animals and the environment.

    There are so many great non-meat products out there these days, it’s so easy to be vegetarian!

    Big hugs!!

  9. purposefullyliving January 3, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    Happy New Year, by the way๐Ÿ™‚

    yay 2011!

  10. Dawn Kate January 3, 2011 at 4:32 am #

    Veggie is the way to go. You feel much better in so many ways.
    HAPPY NEW YEAR KIDDO!

  11. Karen January 3, 2011 at 4:43 am #

    Veggi is great – but stay away from soy Jorge. Men and soy do not mix.

    • cholling January 3, 2011 at 6:28 am #

      Yeah, if you eat like EIGHT GALLONS of soy a day.

  12. Ali M January 3, 2011 at 5:34 am #

    Do tell Jorge – how do you have meatless Sloppy Joe? sounds interesting…but I think the churros would be my fav๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Petra January 3, 2011 at 6:43 am #

    Happy
    New
    Year!

    The blog makes me smile. Thank you!

    : ) P

  14. Tyson Garst January 3, 2011 at 7:34 am #

    NO FRIGGIN WAY!!! We do about 5 pounds of Sloppy Joe EVERY New Year since 2003 as we have a party of friends come over to our house to hang out – good times, but we had to cancel this year cuz we were sick – but we still made 2 pounds of Joe so we could have leftovers!
    Interesting on the meatless as we do have a veggie friend๐Ÿ™‚

  15. Amber January 3, 2011 at 7:39 am #

    I wondered if you were vegetarian! You seem like someone who would be (even if you’re not 100%).

    Happy New Year, Jorge!

    • Kara January 3, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Happy New Year!

      yummy tots! How did you make your meatless Sloppy Joe? I’ve been in love with Fantastic Foods Vegetarian Sloppy Joe Mix for a while now – it is sooo good.

  16. Jude January 3, 2011 at 8:20 am #

    I’ve been a vegetarian for almost 40 years. Good luck.

  17. Kelly Deneen January 3, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    I’m curious about the meatless too. I am guessing Morning Star veggie crumbles.

    I am a fan of ground turkey or chicken in our household (no beef here).

  18. Ann January 3, 2011 at 8:37 am #

    Nice. We had lobster and game night at friends’ house.

    Once my brother-in-law gave up all things beginning with CH for Lent.

  19. pamelalovescharlie January 3, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    That looks yummy! Our New Year’s food is always homemade pizza…I make everyone their favorite kind and sneak Charlie a bite or two of pepperoni…mine is always thick crust with mozzarella AND cheddar…yum! Hope this new year is a great one for you and yours๐Ÿ™‚

  20. paulyS January 3, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    What the hell is Sloppy Joe!

  21. Laurel Avery January 3, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    Ooohhhh! Churros, chocolate and tater tots… my dream meal. Since leaving the U.S. for Europe I think it may be the tater tots I miss most.

  22. Tim January 3, 2011 at 10:54 am #

    I’d always wondered what tater tots were (though obviously not enough to bother looking it up!). We do have them in England, but with a different name (which I can’t remember).

  23. argus January 3, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    You should have just made one batch of Joe – just meatless! Seriously, going veggie is the best decision ever.

  24. Mary January 3, 2011 at 11:58 am #

    You need to publish a cookbook.

  25. Irish Girl January 3, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    Ok, I have no issue with vegans or vegetarians, though I will never be one. But I gotta ask: what’s the point of a meatless Sloppy Joe? What replaces the meat? Wheat germ?

  26. Joy January 3, 2011 at 1:12 pm #

    Your sloppy joes look delish! I’ve been veg/vegan for over a decade. Never looked back.๐Ÿ™‚ So many great options now. Boca vegan crumbles are my favorite, but some people use jackfruit or lentils in the vegan sloppy joes. When are you going to get a twitter account? ๐Ÿ™‚

    Oh, during the 1st season of Lost, my husband and I rescued some stray kittens and their mother. We named them all after Lost characters. I thought you might like to see a couple of pictures of “Hurley”. He is one of the sweetest cats in the world.

    Hurley1
    hurleyspinach2sm

    • Liz December 30, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      I named my kitten “Penny” because of Lost.๐Ÿ™‚

  27. Anna January 3, 2011 at 2:19 pm #

    I am jealous of your stove with grill plates. I’ll join in the choir. How do you make a meatless Sloppy Joe?

  28. Gia January 3, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Go Jorge!!! Eric has been a vegetarian for a long time and I’m leaning towards that myself. Good for you!!!

  29. KT January 3, 2011 at 3:03 pm #

    Vegetarianism rocks! And the meatless sloppy joes aren’t awful. I’ve been a vegetarian for 8 years. I’m very proud of you.๐Ÿ™‚

  30. jackie January 3, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    You need to come to West, Texas so I can buy you some kolaches and a skunk egg…washed down with a Dublin Dr Pepper. Hope you and Beth have a wonderful new year.

  31. Ames January 3, 2011 at 5:31 pm #

    I’ve been eating meatless for years and I think the best sloppy joes are made from either grated tempeh or lentils. Or even better a combination of both. Delish!

    Keep up the meatless cooking. And have a great 2011.

    : )

  32. Amy January 3, 2011 at 6:11 pm #

    Sounds like a yummy tradition!
    Our new years ever tradition for as long as I can remember is waffles with softened ice cream and strawberries on them.

  33. Shira January 3, 2011 at 6:18 pm #

    Another vote for the morning star veggie crumbles, they are great in veggie chili too. Although I think the benefits of going meatless are cancelled out by the churros!!!! but yum๐Ÿ™‚

  34. Fia January 4, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    I have to second the lentil sloppy joe’s! I used to make it with soy crumbles, but then I tried a lentil recipe and they were so much better.

  35. James Hernandez January 4, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Jorge,

    Sloppy Joes and Champagne that’s the meal of champions.
    I hope you didn’t bet the New Years football games, I lost my shirt this year.

  36. Ashley January 4, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    Hope you played the Mega Millions lottery tonight, Jorge! 4 of the 6 numbers were 4, 8, 15, 42. That’s got to be worth something (and hopefully not cursed)

  37. Johanna January 5, 2011 at 12:47 am #

    So, did you hear? If you used the LOST numbers for the big lottery tonight, you would’ve gotten 4/6 of them! How funny…and I almost didn’t believe you.

  38. Bear January 5, 2011 at 1:09 am #

    I love the new tradition! I’m glad you’re making healthy choices, Jorge. We want you to be sharing your wonderful work with us for many, many years to come!๐Ÿ™‚

    Johanna–laughed at that, too! I bought a ticket but used the “Quick Pick” option. I wonder how many “Lost” fans won the $150 prize for matching 3 white balls plus the Mega ball last night?๐Ÿ™‚

  39. Carrie G January 5, 2011 at 5:28 am #

    Thought you might find this funny. here are our lottery numbers for the night ($330Million) – recognize any of these numbers.

    Winning Mega Millions Lottery Numbers: 15-47-4-25-8 Megaball 42

  40. kayeffjay January 5, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Welcome to the dark side!๐Ÿ˜‰

  41. Pam January 5, 2011 at 9:38 pm #

    Now I want tator tots…with cheese melted on top. ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Traci January 5, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

      Thank you so much for what you’re doing for the animals and the planet!! (Even if that’s not your reason for becoming vegetarian, I still applaud the results!)

      I love my veggie sloppy joe’s with Yves Ground Round. Delish.

      • Justine January 6, 2011 at 1:49 am #

        I LOVE Yves Ground Round. I saw these pics and immediately thought how good sloppy joe’s would be with it. Mmm … Think I’m gonna have to make that later this week!

  42. Miss Kitty January 6, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Nice! Just expanding your food horizons or have you become a fellow veggie? (Count me as another vote for Morningstar crumbles, too.)

    Happy New Year!

  43. thoughtsappear January 6, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    This is my first visit to your blog, and I’m really enjoying it!

    Mmmm…Sloppy joes and tater tots. That’s an awesome New Year’s tradition!

    I made sloppy joes for my boyfriend’s kids just a few days ago. We actually made them into cars by adding cucumber wheels and pretzel steering wheels. I, I mean, they loved playing with their food!

  44. jackson January 6, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

    mmmmm . . . tater tots!!!!! Cool tradition . . .

  45. Selina January 7, 2011 at 1:16 pm #

    Jorge please help! I’m from Denmark and I have been obsessed with the idea of sloppy joes since I first saw them in that movie with Mary-Kate and Ashley Olsen where they’re twins and they switch at a summer camp… but I never knew what they were until just now! How do you make them??๐Ÿ™‚

  46. Erig January 9, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    God I love tater tots…

    And I too am curious about your meatless recipe. I was a vegan for about two year (for health reasons, not to feel superior or PETA nonsense) and I always preferred natural meat substitutes (tempeh, seitan) to the processed beef crumble junk. Probably healthier, anyway.

  47. Ian January 14, 2011 at 11:00 pm #

    Jorge, making sloppy joes and tater tots is one of mine and my girlfriend’s favorite meals! In fact I just had it last Sunday, except we also made a delicious apple pie as well! I make my sloppy joes using a homemade recipe. What’s the recipe for yours? Please don’t saw manwich….

  48. Katherine January 19, 2011 at 4:42 pm #

    Oh Jorge. Just when you couldn’t get any sweeter. You are so awesome.

  49. Jackie Denney December 30, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    a very happy new years to you and yours..

  50. Lynn December 30, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    Yves is awesome and tastes great. After I got used to it, I like it better than the real meat. Their tofu dogs are great too. Happy New Year Jorge!

Leave a Reply

