My Latest Impulse Buy

6 Jan

I’ve seen it for a while and I had a little extra space in my Best Buy Rewards Certificate. So I figured I’d give this a try.

I swear this stuff looks just like the slime I used to buy from vending machines when I was little.But it doesn’t smell like it.And then I saw the number one ingredient is Diazolidinyl Urea.

UREA! Really! Is that what I smell? Or is that what the “Aroma Materials” are covering up?

I wish I could give it a good test but my keyboard is actually quite clean at the moment. (Unlike my screen.)

35 Responses to “My Latest Impulse Buy”

  1. Debbie M. January 6, 2011 at 11:59 pm #

    Seems like a fun way to clean your keyboard🙂 It’s actually gotten some good reviews.

  2. Korina January 7, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    I’ve bought some that looks like that but it came in a plastic case.It is amazing!

    It got all the bits out of my keyboard I didn’t even know was there but I now know that my dog’s hair can get anywhere.

  3. Jennifer Crowther January 7, 2011 at 12:35 am #

    Wonder if the urea is the same they are using in semi trucks now. I work for daimler trucks north America aka freightliner and EPA requirements are very strict and they use urea to get the emissions down. But it’s not the urea you would think (I thought it was that the first time I heard it at work there’s a urea tank, I was like they have bathrooms on this thing? It actually is just a place to store the urea that helps with emissions). Pretty soon or even now gas stations will have a place to fill up with urea.

  4. ErikaJean January 7, 2011 at 12:37 am #

    That’s funny! I’m impulse baught the stuff to and did a simialr post. I think the Cyberclean people were out trolling when I posted it though. I got a ton of spam from it.

  5. Andrea_R January 7, 2011 at 6:00 am #

    Ha! I put this in my son’s stocking for Christmas – he’s 23.😀

    I also found the same or similar stuff at the dollar store in the kid’s section,. I tried it on my car dashboard – worked great.

    • KathyinMN January 8, 2011 at 7:58 am #

      What an excellent idea! I’ve got some nooks and crannies in my car that need some help. I’m trying it (as soon as it warms up in MN that is).

  6. Mark January 7, 2011 at 7:49 am #

    http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Diazolidinyl_urea

    Diazolidinyl urea is an antimicrobial preservative used in cosmetics. It is chemically related to imidazolidinyl urea which is used in the same way. Diazolidinyl urea acts as a formaldehyde releaser.

  7. BabyBird January 7, 2011 at 8:29 am #

    Hmm.. does it work on your screen?
    It’s the WORST when it’s sunny out and your screen’s dusty.. can’t see a damn thing!

  8. Lacey January 7, 2011 at 8:32 am #

    I have been missing your product reviews. They are always so helpful and silly🙂. Thanks, and, Happy New Year!!

  9. pamelalovescharlie January 7, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    LOL…I need a blob size wad of that stuff….just roll it around the house! Every time one of our kids brings home a plastic egg of slime, it lasts about 3 minutes. They drop it on the floor and it’s instantly full of carpet fibers, hair, crumbs and God knows what😉

  10. fibrowitch January 7, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Hate to break it to you my friend, but silly putty works even better for much less money.

  11. tadeu January 7, 2011 at 10:59 am #

    dude,
    stop smelling that! you look kinda blue!
    🙂

  12. jackie January 7, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    dude…step away from the credit card..

  13. Bethany Shady January 7, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    Diazolidinyl Urea?

    So, Di-Urea??? Gross!

    • Rhonda January 8, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

      HA! I flippin’ love you. You’re always so funny!

  14. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies January 7, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    yknow.. dog spit works MUCH better than cow urine on computer screens.🙂

  15. mrcelofan January 7, 2011 at 4:12 pm #

    Lo mejor es no limpiar nunca el teclado.

  16. Becky January 7, 2011 at 4:23 pm #

    I want to know where the urea comes from….

  17. Karen January 7, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    eeewwwwww!!!!!!!!Urea!!!!!!!Ughhhh!!!!!

  18. Wounded Keyboard 2.0 January 8, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    You mean urine, right?

    Right?

  19. Janet January 8, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    lol

    Urea is a common ingredient in lotions and creams. It retains moisture.
    😀

    • Ann January 8, 2011 at 7:53 am #

      If you get stung by a jelly fish maybe you can rub it on your skin for relief.

      • Janet January 9, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

        Cute, Ann.

  20. KathyinMN January 8, 2011 at 7:57 am #

    I got some for Christmas, so took it in to work and cleaned my keyboard there. It was amazing. I mean-people actually commented on my clean keyboard (which must mean it was really disgusting, right?). It got more than the air blowing thing did. Worth a try at least for those waffling.

  21. Tena Lynn January 8, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Oh just yuck~~

  22. jackson January 8, 2011 at 4:21 pm #

    My first reaction was “EWWWWW!” but then I looked down at my filthy keyboard . . .

  23. Irish Girl January 8, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I oughta try some of that stuff. It looks crazy enough to work.

  24. Jeff January 9, 2011 at 5:24 pm #

    Don’t let the pups get a hold of it; they could choke on it.

  25. JS in the UK January 11, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    I just love that they label it ‘Swiss Formula’ does that mean it’s better than the ‘US Formula’ or ‘UK Formula’ version??? What about the ‘Outer Hebradian formula’….. what is it the Swiss have that makes it sooo good? lol

  26. Joan Crawford January 11, 2011 at 2:34 pm #

    The Shaky Old Grandpa Hands in this commercial always make me feel angry.

  27. Angela January 13, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    I saw that in SkyMall and then found it at Target! I really like it and used the same “it’s like that stuff from the gumball machines” description to a co-worker…just remember to use it when your computer is off:/

  28. Gian January 14, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    I’ve been looking at it for a while. How is it?

  29. veronica the veewitch January 17, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    It IS repurposed “Slime” ! From back when !

  30. Ashley February 17, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    aha I got 2 of these free one day at my university. I tried using one but it was just awkward. Fun to squish, but uh maybe I should just eat chips at a short distance from my laptop…nah. I just get that snacking urge whenever I’m watching lost (just started season 5) and yeah I know I’m like 7 years late – but thank goodness for netflix.

Leave a Reply

