Poor baby

11 Jan

does not appear to enjoy the ride home after being spayed.

49 Responses to “Poor baby”

  1. Debbie M. January 11, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    I hope she’s feeling better soon.

  2. Ann January 11, 2011 at 5:35 pm #

    Oh no!! Not The Cone!!! Oh, the humanity!!!

  3. amy t. January 11, 2011 at 5:40 pm #

    Awww, not the Cone of Shame!!! Poor thing!

  4. Sam G January 11, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    Oh, poor baby but the cone can come off if you leave your stitches alone.

  5. Lisa January 11, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Oh poor THING!! Can you imagine having that on your head?!

  6. Ikkin-bot January 11, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    I can’t help but smile when I see a dog in a cone. They just look so pitiful and cute.

  7. Kara January 11, 2011 at 5:58 pm #

    Aw the lampshade – embarrassment for the dog, hilarity for us! :)But as Sam said – if she leaves the stitches alone she doesn’t have to wear it – just keep an eye on her.

  8. Tena Lynn January 11, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    I don’t think I would, either! Awwwwwww.

  9. Jessica January 11, 2011 at 7:03 pm #

    awwwww poor thing…..my chihuahua walked backwards for a week she could never master it – she hated that dang cone!

  10. LSE January 11, 2011 at 7:35 pm #

    Oh poor baby! It’s been a long day.

  11. Anastasia January 11, 2011 at 7:46 pm #

    They make soft cones that aren’t so terrible, one brand is the Comfy Cone. They also make clear plastic cones so they can keep their peripheral vision and not get as stressed.

  12. nora January 11, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    Are you sure she is not just pressing her cell phone closer to her ear while calling for help?!?!
    Hope she is happier soon!

  13. pamelalovescharlie January 11, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Aww….and you took pix of her humiliation 🙂 My neighbor put her pup in a baby onesie when he kept smacking the cone against the wall to get it off. It kept him away from the stitches and she just unsnapped it when it was time for a bathroom break. She cut a tail hole so it was comfortable to wear and saved him some head trauma🙂

    • Teresa Avalon January 15, 2011 at 1:54 am #

      A premie onesie would work really well for a wee one like this one.

  14. crankypants January 11, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Awwww! ‘get this thing off me!’ My chihuahua Elvis managed to get his loose enough to lick off the glue on his incision. Oh and when I first took him home he was so dopey it would take him like 5 minutes to take 2 steps. But at least he quit trying to bite my butt after it was done.

  15. Lurkertype January 11, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    The cone of shame!

    My cat’s had to wear that several times but he gets the clear ones so he can see where he’s going — and we get a clearer view of his humiliation.

  16. Jim January 11, 2011 at 10:05 pm #

    Take that cone off and put a small baby onesie on the pup.. mine is on day 5 of her recovery…

  17. Heather Crandall January 12, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    When my little Lucy got spayed, she left her incision totally alone while she healed so the vet never gave her a cone. I was so grateful. The cones are horrid!! You should see if they have a see-through clear one. They are easier for the little pups to deal with rather than the solid white ones.

  18. Caroline B January 12, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Ooh noo…
    While the cone was off for a meal break, my dog quietly chewed the bit where it fastens, thus making it useless. Dogs aren’t stupid!

  19. Tammy January 12, 2011 at 1:27 am #

    Awww, poor thing😦 Do they not have the Medi Pet shirts there? When my dog was sterilized they gave me one of those instead of the lampshade and it worked a treat! Here’s a photo:

    We also had one on my other dog after he was attacked by a Rottie and had to have stitches:
    Bailey After The Attack

  20. Bear January 12, 2011 at 1:37 am #

    Poor Smidge! Heal fast and heal well, sweet puppy!

    I agree with Anastasia that there are protective cones/collars that might be more comfortable than the ones the vet gives you. My cats wore inflatable, doughnut-shaped ones that worked well and didn’t make it as hard to see or eat. I think most of the chain pet supply stores have several options.

    Bless you for doing the right thing, Jorge!🙂

  21. Claudia January 12, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Oh no it is the CONE………….Poor little thing!

  22. pq January 12, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    Aw, poor little conehead!

  23. thoughtsappear January 12, 2011 at 7:21 am #

    Awww, poor girl! Did they tell you not to let her run around and jump? I was like, “How am I supposed to do that?”

  24. Jules January 12, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Poor puppy! But she makes one heck of a desk lamp!

  25. James Hernandez January 12, 2011 at 8:24 am #

    The cone of shame does it to them all the time, that and getting their groove maker whacked!

  26. Patty January 12, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Oh, man, my dog hated that thing! The vet bill described it as an Elizabethan collar–not the cone of shame!

  27. mrcelofan January 12, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    Un perro con parabólica !!!

  28. Shannon January 12, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    The cone of shame!! I have a big black lab, and he had to wear one after hip surgery last year. They do look so pitiful in them. But i’m sure your baby is getting lots of extra hugs and treats to make up for it!

  29. chiiii January 12, 2011 at 12:19 pm #

    oh no what did you do to his privates?! poor Smidge kisses for him!!! :* and for you😉 ;*

  30. jackie January 12, 2011 at 4:22 pm #

    well who would be..my cat Dexter went out this morning ..was 18 degrees..came back in and said ‘good thing you got me fixed, other wise they would have froze off.’..

  31. Irish Girl January 12, 2011 at 7:42 pm #

    Dogs always look so utterly humiliated and defeated in those cones…LOL. The poor things remind me of Eeyore.

  32. Waterland January 12, 2011 at 9:58 pm #

    People who spay and neuter are awesome! If there were more animal lovers than animal owners, there would be no homeless animals…love and respect!

  33. Lauren January 13, 2011 at 8:18 am #

    Awww it’s a martini-pup! Here’s to a speedy recovery.

  34. MarnieB January 13, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Awww… poor baby. But you did the right thing. Give her extra cuddles.

  35. Nojan January 13, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    jorge i really like your blog , and its like the last connection to the lost for me . and to be honest , you were the second favorite character on show for me .

    i wish u the best .

  36. Gwen January 13, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    like an ufo… poor baby…🙂

  37. momandjeff January 13, 2011 at 5:25 pm #

    Wow, I wish I knew about the “onesies” when my puppy got spayed last fall. She was miserable in that cone. Thanks posters:) Love to Smidge!

  38. Patty January 13, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    p.s. Keep an eye on his chin–our dog got a sore there from it rubbing whenever she bumped the cone on something.

  39. Tiffany Noélli January 14, 2011 at 8:41 am #

    My Hanna, is using this object also vet. On a more serious surgery. Is hospitalized, there will be 10 days. I and my family are with heartache. But it’s for her own good.

  40. Emily January 14, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Hi Jorge, I am a faithful follower in you blog and thought since you are a dog lover like me you might like this heartwarming story going around the internet. ❤ Emily

    http://www.scoutingny.com/

  41. shelf January 14, 2011 at 1:23 pm #

    Oh no!! my mini schnauzer has just has his done too!!!

    Poor babies!!

  42. Lynnelle January 16, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

    It’s good that you got her spayed if you don’t plan to let her have puppies. Female dogs who are not spayed and allowed to have heat cycles have a greater chance of developing pyometra and ultimately mammary cancer. I recently lost my beloved to this terrible disease. You and your little pup will be much happier in the long-run.

  43. jackson January 16, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    I hated when they put that collar on me when I had my tubes tied. Poor pup.

  44. David January 17, 2011 at 9:35 am #

    woah dude like poor dog, I just watch the final episode of lost like yesterday and Hurley was like favorite character and Ifond this blog🙂

  45. Kostya January 17, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    My cocker spaniel is also in a cone right now. It engenders sympathy and compels me to provide treats.

    It was nice to see you at O’Hare yesterday. Any expanded pat-down is improved by the sudden presence of Jorge Garcia.

  46. Susie January 19, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    I wish I had one of those for my daughter when she went through her biting phase.

  47. sheila January 20, 2011 at 2:06 am #

    my lab mix had surgery a few years ago and had a cone. the vet brought her out and she heard my voice and jerked her collar away and ran into everything trying to get to me. it was really funny and pathetic. haha🙂

  48. Jeff B. February 5, 2011 at 7:09 pm #

    Our Bernese Mt. Dog was so clumsy with his. Granted, it was the biggest cone the vet had. But, man, he bumped into everything.

    Hope Smidge feels better soon!

Leave a Reply

