I’ve always made an effort to avoid dropping the f-bomb on this blog

2 Feb

But this is FUCKING HORRIFYING!!!

SPCA probes ‘execution’ of 100 sled dogs.

And this editorial is right on the money.

When animals are a business, killing is a business decision.

I encourage those of you who feel inclined to join me in donating to the

BC SPCAThe British Columbia Society For The Prevention Of Cruelty To Animals.

They’re the only ones looking out for these dogs.

60 Responses to “I’ve always made an effort to avoid dropping the f-bomb on this blog”

  1. sim February 2, 2011 at 2:38 am #

    oh good lord…

  2. Nicholas February 2, 2011 at 2:48 am #

    It’s rare for an article of any kind to make me want to cry. But this? I… I’m utterly speechless.

  3. ale73 February 2, 2011 at 2:50 am #

    It’s horrible………

    • C Capone February 2, 2011 at 3:22 am #

      OMG. Someone needs to “euthanize” the bastard that killed these poor dogs.

  4. Viajero February 2, 2011 at 4:23 am #

    Es una verdadera lastima. Pobres animales.

    Yo me pregunto ¿Se puede hacer algo?

  5. lse February 2, 2011 at 4:25 am #

    I think this time it’s ok to drop the bomb. How horrible.
    ; _ ;

  6. thoughtsappear February 2, 2011 at 5:37 am #

    So awful.

    Sometimes you have to let the F-bomb fly. This is one of those times.

  7. eB February 2, 2011 at 5:40 am #

    Jorge~ I have always appreciated your effort to keep the language “PG” on here, and giving a ‘heads up’ when a link or site you posted had some stronger language.

    I am sickened and so sad over this story. Thanks for giving us a link to where we can do something helpful to assuage (somewhat) our very distressed feelings over this horrible story. When is this world ever gonna change so that we treat each other and God’s beautiful creatures better? Lord Jesus, help us.

  8. pq February 2, 2011 at 6:02 am #

    Thanks for sharing this awful story, Jorge. I’ve reposted on my dog’s Facebook to spread the word and awareness. Absolutely sickening.

  9. Justine February 2, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    I heard about this last night. It’s so sad, such beautiful dogs.

  10. Miss Scarlett February 2, 2011 at 6:18 am #

    Jorge – thank you for suggesting donating to the BC SPCA. So proactive!

    I live like half an hour from where this happened and I certainly never heard of dogs needing homes or…else. I would have gladly saved a dog or two.
    These people need to be charged as criminals. There’s an excellent shelter in Whistler too, WAG – I’m sure they would have helped place these dogs.

    I’m very sad and disgusted by this. Thank you for calling attention to it! Perhaps the increased spotlight will lead to more culpability. I can always hope!

  11. grant February 2, 2011 at 7:14 am #

    Oh, good god. I’m getting my wallet…

  12. nora February 2, 2011 at 7:41 am #

    A very appropriate f bomb! I read the same article last night before bed…at least some of it. I could not finish it because I was spilling tears all over my laptop.
    I find it difficult to believe that anyone could do such a thing…. OR that they made much of an attempt to find those beautiful pups a home! I hope karma bites the asses of those involved!

  13. CathyAJ February 2, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    I love animals so much I can’t even read these. This definitely the place to use the f-word! Thanks for the BC SPCA link.

  14. Ian February 2, 2011 at 8:44 am #

    Yay for you finally dropping the f-bomb!!!….Disgusted by what transpired. It would have been easy to just make an announcement that sled dogs were available for free to anyone who wants one and I’m sure people would have taken them up on the offer.

  15. Lynn February 2, 2011 at 8:46 am #

    Truly tragic and thanks for sharing. As an aside, I registered your blog on Facebook with the Networked Blogs app, which I use to follow all my favorite blogs. As the author, you can go an claim the blog there, if you like. The app lets anyone register a blog without claiming any credit for it, but I find it’s a great tool for my 3 blogs.

  16. April February 2, 2011 at 9:24 am #

    OMG…how horrible. It totally deserves the F-Bomb!

  17. Tena Lynn February 2, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    OMG, unbelievable. HOW can anyone do that? How?

  18. Nicole February 2, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    “The greatness of a nation and its moral progress can be judged by the way its animals are treated ” Mahatma Gandhi

    I will never understand how a person can do something like this to an animal. Thank you for posting this so that we can do something about it.

  19. Margie February 2, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    I saw this the other day and it was horrible. They could have just given the dogs away. There are alot of people who would have taken care of them.

    • Jessie February 2, 2011 at 10:48 am #

      How horrible ~ The F~bomb is justified!
      Just yesterday a friend posted about a man in OH who’s father just died, the man wants all his fathers horses gone by Saturday or he will have them put down. As of yesterday there were still 23 mares, some pregnant who had not yet found a new home. It all makes me so sad. I do have the info on how to get any of these horses, but I didn’t want to just post it here without your consent.

  20. Erin February 2, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    Thanks for writing about this, Jorge. I’m from Victoria, not too far from Whistler and this has been all over the news here. I’m horrified by it. Glad you included the link to the BC SPCA.

  21. IslandPearl February 2, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    Sometimes even f*** isn’t strong enough. This turned my stomach.

    And the way they kept calling it “euthanasia” — it’s murder. Period. I haven’t seen so much spin since the last election.

    Disgusting…and I have no pity for the executioner.

  22. ChiTown Girl February 2, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    This story is horrifying!! How could they not have at least attempted to just give those poor dogs away?!?! Unbelievable. An F-bomb isn’t really even strong enough for this.

  23. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies February 2, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    when the movie Willard was filmed, (crispin glover not the one from decades earlier), our rescue ended up with over 300 animals that were “discarded” by the trainers who had brought the animals in for filming. For some clueless reason, they paired female and male animals in the same shots, (males are larger, make better camera shots, femals are smaller- move quickly), and there were no neuterings done. Suffice it to say, our rescue ended up with thousands of animals we had to find homes and fosters for- Had they hired a rat crew to begin with, there wouldn’t have been the loss of hundreds of animals to euthanasia. That broke my heart.

  24. pamelalovescharlie February 2, 2011 at 11:20 am #

    😥 I read about this in the morning paper…I can’t even imagine what those poor dogs who survived but were maimed and in pain were thinking, and I believe they do think, you can tell by their expressions and how they act. It breaks my heart! I have had and loved 2 beautiful huskies…Bandit and Cody and they were the kindest dogs. How anyone could even think to do this let alone actually following through with such a slaughter is beyond comprehension!!!

  25. Melody February 2, 2011 at 12:31 pm #

    WTF was that guy thinking? Obviously the decision makers here are not right but it’s almost worse to be told to do something like this and actually do it. He could have said no. He could have called the police or PETA or the local news or something. Every time there is some sort of tragic event or puppy mill on the news the dogs get adopted right away. All he had to do was make some noise until someone paid attention.

  26. Jennifer Davis February 2, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    F*Bomb justified. Thanks for posting, and bringing it to people’s awareness.

  27. James Hernandez February 2, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    Jorge,

    Yes its scary. Almost as scary as owners who don’t
    spade or neuter their pets.

  28. Gretchen February 2, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    The editorial is right on. It is horrible, but no different that the common slaughter methods that are widely accepted for farm animals. For poultry in America for example, there are no laws restricting cruelty at all. The only way to truely fix the problem is to say enough, we won’t support the industry of killing animals for human consumption or enertainment. Let’s evolve…go vegan!

  29. Steve February 2, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    Jorge,

    I’m not one to comment on celeb blogs, but I do enjoy reading yours and enjoy the messages that you convey and the causes that you choose to support.

    Thank you for making others aware of this awful occurrence. You’re a pretty wicked dude in my books.

  30. Suzie Q. Wacvet February 2, 2011 at 2:37 pm #

    I completely agree with you, Jorge. This is one time when the F-bomb is appropriate. Those stupid bastards!!!!

  31. Tonia Azevedo February 2, 2011 at 3:20 pm #

    Disgusting… Thanks for sharing, Jorge, I’m posting it also on Facebook to spread the word, maybe we can get this people off the market.

  32. nora February 2, 2011 at 3:32 pm #

    Looks like I will be making a donation locally, here in Houston!
    What is WRONG with people?!?!
    http://www.khou.com/news/local/Houston-SPCA-seizes-over-300-animals—-including-2-tigers—-from-Texas-ranch-115131974.html

  33. Gia February 2, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Horrible!!!!
    Good for you for getting the word out!

  34. BrettfromOz February 2, 2011 at 5:06 pm #

    Absoutely disgusting! Criminals who worship the almighty dollar. Jail them.

  35. Amber February 2, 2011 at 5:59 pm #

    I saw an article about that on CNN. It made me sick to my stomache. That f-bomb was completely warranted. Thank you for using your blog to get the word out and encouraging the support of a wonderful organization like the SPCA.

  36. jackie February 2, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    ooh, avoid my blog then…they drop like contestants on american idol.
    and they were really flying when I saw that article..first I cussed and then I wept.

  37. Meribeth February 2, 2011 at 7:33 pm #

    Oh, dear god. Those poor dogs. I feel so sick for them.😦

  38. Randi February 2, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    I’m thoroughly embarassed to be Canadian right now

  39. ellemck1 February 2, 2011 at 7:43 pm #

    I know what I’ll be doing with my paycheck come Friday… Jeez… this is horrifying. I’m not a dog lover, but this breaks my heart! I couldn’t imagine… I’d rather have no job than do that.

  40. Colleen February 2, 2011 at 8:34 pm #

    That story is so horrific that CNN wisked it off their website asap. Im inclined to donate out of feelings of frustration and compassion, but where was the ASPCA before these animals were brutalized?

  41. Tara B February 2, 2011 at 9:50 pm #

    I am BC (british columbia)resident and when this story broke out in recent days.. i think we all are all speechless and sickened.. and i think alot of people are confused as to why this happened and if the story the man told about advise he got about kill all those dogs. to me it doesn’t sound right and there’s stories out there saying he did talk to the SPCA and they told him he should do this.. ect.. i hope the truth comes out about what really happened.. if it does come down to cruelity to animals.. i hope he is put away.

  42. Jen February 3, 2011 at 10:05 am #

    They do the same thing in Alaska.

  43. Katherine February 3, 2011 at 2:50 pm #

    Thanks for telling us about this story…I can’t believe anyone could treat a dog that way but there are some sick people in this world. Thanks for the link to SPCA as well.

  44. Flamingo February 3, 2011 at 6:22 pm #

    First of all I am horrified by what happened. I mean really horrified. But to all the people who are saying that they should have given the dogs way or adopted them out, I mean really? They would be completely unmanagable. There was one lady from a rescue organization especially for former sled dogs and she said that’s it takes a lot of time and patience to rehabilitate these dogs. They aren’t like regular, pet huskies. I mean you need to fence your yard, 6 feet above ground and 2 feet below. You can’t just give them away.
    Now don’t get me wrong, what they did in Whistler was wrong, and I have already donated to the BCSPCA. And the man who did it who supposedly has PTSD because of the slaughter that he carried out, I have absolutely no sympathy for him whatsoever. But you can’t just give these dogs away, that would cause more problems then it would solve.

    • Kim February 11, 2011 at 10:04 am #

      If these dogs are not adoptable after being sled dogs for a while, then there is a serious problem with how they are treated while being sled dogs. Police and military dogs which are trained to attack on command are adoptable when they can no longer do their job, so a sled dog definitely should be. There are individuals who own sled dogs for their own personal use and those dogs are not treated the way the business-owned ones are and those dogs are perfectly capable of being good companion animals.

      So, sure, these dogs were not necessarily adoptable, but let’s not just brush that off as just the way it is. Let’s acknowledge that it is and then acknowledge that it is a problem and see what we can do to change it.

      • Flamingo February 14, 2011 at 6:27 pm #

        I never said that we should brush it off and accept it. I think it’s deplorable. But it’s because these dogs are running dogs that’s why they’re difficult to adopt out, they needs lots of room and tonnes of exercise. It’s not that they’re treated badly as sled dogs, it’s just that they get used to running, and then when you adopt them out to somebody who doesn’t know any better, like I said it would only cause more problems.
        But don’t ever think I’m okay with dogs being slaughtered, I’m not.

  45. Janet February 3, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

    heartbreaking, Jorge. Thanks for bringing this to my attention.

  46. Becky February 4, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Good god… just reminds me that I could never be an Animal Cop… I wouldn’t be able to handle this shit calmly!!!

  47. Oliverde February 4, 2011 at 3:31 pm #

    So incredibly sad. We treat animals as if they were OBJECTS, with no regard for their emotional lives, or their wellbeing. My neighbors gave their French bulldog, who they bought as a baby! to a shelter when they had a baby themselves, because it was now to much trouble to walk him. You know, what with the snow and all. We went to get him back, it was too late, he was put down. I think about that poor 4 year old pup everyday.

  48. vospik February 4, 2011 at 7:06 pm #

    Just goes to show that even when people know better, some in society have chosen to try & get away with anything they can. I am saddened to think of how many other such things happen without anyone being held responsible or caught…Oh, and by the way, if you think this is bad, don’t start reading about what happens to animals in some other countries, you won’t be able to sleep at night, I promise you!

  49. Irish Girl February 6, 2011 at 6:24 am #

    In this case, the F-word is the only one that seems appropriate. My God. I’ll be only too happy to donate.

    Irish

  50. Irish Girl February 6, 2011 at 6:32 am #

    I posted a link to this entry on my FB page, too. I have a lot of friends who are animal lovers.

  51. Chris February 6, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    I saw this a few times via Twitter but could not and still can’t bring myself to read the details. I *do* appreciate your link to the SPCA and will give what I can. Thank you so much Jorge. I hope this sick SOB gets what he deserves.

  52. Heather February 6, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    I’ve been involved in greyhound adoption for over a decade & when I read this article about the sled dogs, it saddened but didn’t surprise me. Thousands of greyhounds are killed annually in the US because they no longer make money on the tracks. I’ve heard stories of them being used as live bait in Mexico for shark fishing & as live bait in Alaska for hunters going after wolves.

    It breaks my heart. If a dog is essentially livestock, at least end his/her life in a humane way. Medication to euthanize isn’t THAT expensive.

  53. Melissa February 9, 2011 at 9:15 pm #

    This is a terrible tragedy. I hope this doesn’t put mushers in a bad light though. The majority of mushers take very good care of their dogs because a dog that isn’t healthy doesn’t run. The killing of healthy dogs is uncalled for. Sadly, things like this happen more than you actually hear about. I lived in bush Alaska and most villages don’t have a Veterinarian full time in the community. Because of this most dogs get put down by being shot. The community I lived in, the animal control officer stopped attending to the animals that were at the shelter. Because of a lack of oversight no one realized he wasn’t doing his job. He left six dogs to starve and freeze to death. He claimed that it was due to the stress of having to shoot dogs. The rest of the country never heard of this because of such apathy toward how animals are treated in rural AK. Somehow he got off without charges and I hear left the state and is working with animals in NM. All I can say…WTF??

  54. beema February 10, 2011 at 9:59 pm #

    It’s great that you are passionate about animal rights! I wish more people were…

  55. Mary N. March 29, 2011 at 7:59 pm #

    This absolutely breaks my heart.

  56. lindaluau March 30, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    When I first heard about this I cried. Everytime I’ve thought about it since…I cry. Horrifying.

Leave a Reply

