Man the Spam Has Picked Up

1 Mar

It’s funny that this happened after coming back from Hawaii, but I had 115 spam comments when I logged in yesterday.

My favorite spams are the ones that pretend to be real, with very generalized comments like, “Great post, very informative on this subject.”

So unfortunately if this keeps up I’m not going to be able to go fishing for legit posts that get treated as spam so if your comment doesn’t post that’s probably why. Sorry.

26 Responses to “Man the Spam Has Picked Up”

  1. Alison March 1, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Are you using Askimet? It’s built into wordpress, and is generally pretty good at picking out the offending comments!

    • Groovymarlin March 1, 2011 at 1:09 pm #

      Second the recommendation for Akismet! It does a GREAT job of filtering out spam comments. And I agree with Jorge – those ones that oh-so-carefully pretend to look legit (“Very interesting site, thank you”) are the WORST. Luckily, Akismet filters out about 99% of those. Amazing.

      • Aditya Jagnani March 1, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

        Now that’s as intelligent spam😉

      • Aditya Jagnani March 1, 2011 at 11:49 pm #

        Now that’s an intelligent spam😉

    • Jorge Garcia March 1, 2011 at 11:54 pm #

      Yes. That’s how I knew I had 115 spam comments. I wasn’t counting them myself. I just thought it was a stat worth noting.

  2. David Nescio March 1, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    I thought this post was going to be about SPAM since you just went back to the islands for a bit. I know they’re making a special edition SPAM tin for Hawaii and I had figured you picked one up while there. That sucks about the spam comments though. Hopefully it dies down and it’s not too much of a pain to sort through the comments. Good Luck!

  3. Rachel March 1, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    I thought you were going to say that people have started to eat more spam in Hawaii.

  4. Sam G March 1, 2011 at 10:15 am #

    I thought the same thing about Hawaii/SPAM – the last time we were there we came across Macadamia Nuts with SPAM – the nuts are covered in a pink powdered SPAM.

  5. alcessa March 1, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Oh, so that’s what happened to my last comment😦 Spammers, go away!

  6. Amanda March 1, 2011 at 10:32 am #

    I do comment moderation for the magazine I work for, and I have a list of my favorite spam comments- the best, just for the complete randomness of it, was “Blah what what is this Poop whut.”

    I have no idea what it means, but it made me laugh…

  7. jenea March 1, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    My favorite spam is when -the king of Africa feel need in 1000000$…

  8. Alexis March 1, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    When you wrote “spam comments” I thought you meant the actual Spam, as in food. I hear that’s big over there!

    And so did all the people above me! Ha!

  9. Maine Mom March 1, 2011 at 1:05 pm #

    it’s funny you post this – I just got my first, “Great pic, btw…” and they inserted some random info with a website.
    DELETED!

  10. jackie March 1, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    I been called a lot of things..but not spam.

  11. Collette March 1, 2011 at 2:36 pm #

    For a moment I thought you had an incident with SPAM – the potted meat. For your sake I’m glad you didn’t.

  12. Jeff March 1, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    SPAM and pineapple pizza…it’s to die for.

  13. vospik March 1, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    Aha! Now you see why I comment so often! Like friends, once you’re used to our relentlessly goofy comments, you know right away we are people. I mean, did spammers say ‘very informative on that subject’ about the carrot poops? That’s WORSE than a carrot poop! (eh, maybe).

  14. Janet March 1, 2011 at 5:39 pm #

    Well, that sucks!
    This is not spam by the way. I repeat: this is not spam!
    Have a great day, Jorge.
    J~

    • Dani March 1, 2011 at 5:52 pm #

      I have that problem on my blog too, although not 115 comments. My favorite are the ones in french with no links that basically say the same thing “I like your subject and want to learn more” or some such nonsense. Are they just doing a test run?

  15. Philline March 1, 2011 at 7:05 pm #

    When I saw your title, I thought you were talking about the spam that you eat, especially since I knew you were at Hawaii. Now I’m craving some spam fried rice…

  16. Andy March 1, 2011 at 8:18 pm #

    Great post, very informative on this subject.

    J/k, I get a ton of spam on my blogs too, the akismet plugin takes care of the large majority of it.

  17. Aditya Jagnani March 1, 2011 at 8:39 pm #

    Great post, very informative on this subject lol

    Anyways , was wondering if the address still works???
    and if it does , do I like need to send some additional stamps or cash cuz I kinda live in India .

  18. BethS March 2, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Darn! I was hoping to find another spiced ham recipe!
    Now I see you’re referring to spam (stupid, pointless, annoying, messages) and not SPAM! hehe – Have a great day Jorge!

  19. Mary March 2, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    Jorge! You have to activate Akismet on WordPress. It’s already there and you need to activate it (turn it on) and plug in your api key, which WordPress sent you when you set up the blog. If you need help, let me know and I’ll be glad to do it for you or walk you through it. It’s very easy and your SPAM problem will DISAPPEAR. Promise! You’ve got my email so holler if you need a hand.

  20. Mighty Morfin March 2, 2011 at 7:14 pm #

    Awe dude! That’s so hilarious!! Spam never ceases to amaze me! It has so many uses….fried, sandwiches, with egg, in burritos, any which way you like…now messages you don’t want!! Will wonders never cease?!! LOL!!! Sorry dude, but I thought this was so funny!!! Sorry about all the spam. I hope you still get good messages!

  21. Tena Lynn March 3, 2011 at 8:25 pm #

    Crap. But you know, who could blame you? Sigh~~~

Leave a Reply

