More Hawaii

3 Mar

This time we opted to stay at the Turtle Bay Hilton.

It was especially cool because this is whale migration season, so you could see them from hotel room. We saw spouts and flukes and a couple times we caught them jumping out of the water.

And as a bonus Turtle Bay was sporting a double rainbow. 

Something that Turtle Bay does right:

Free wifi.

Something else:

Power strips. There are plenty of places to charge your gadgets.

Something Turtle Bay does wrong:

Balcony for one? Really? We have to take turns sitting out there?

21 Responses to “More Hawaii”

  1. Donna Hood March 3, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

    Hello Jorge,

    My husband and I were at the Turtle Bay at the same time as you and your girlfriend. We saw you two in the lobby and I wanted to say hello but I also wanted to respect your privacy.
    We were in the West wing and you are so right about the whales. I tried to get some good photos, sitting motionless for long periods with my camera to my eye; I think that I mostly got tired arms. I haven’t gone through my photographs yet so maybe some came out.
    Anyway, I stopped by to say a proper Hello and to wish you the best of luck with your new endeavors.

  2. Hollie March 3, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    You don’t have to take turns. You can just hold Beth on your lap while you watch the whales. 😉

  3. April March 3, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    aww, I like Hollie’s idea : )

    Nice rainbow photo!

  4. Debbie M. March 3, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    LOL, I hate poor design. Why even bother making a balcony if it’s only for one person. People usually come these places in pairs. Great views though!

  5. Lisa March 3, 2011 at 2:03 pm #

    As I’m afraid of heights, I don’t even think I could enjoy sitting on that itty bitty balcony! But I’d certainly take that over sitting in front of my computer at work so I guess it’s not so bad after all!

    P.S. I’m sure I’m not alone when I say, really enjoying the frequency of the posts!! 🙂

  6. alcessa March 3, 2011 at 2:25 pm #

    That’s not a balcony, for sure.🙂

    It’s a … a wine-cooling basket?

  7. Linds March 3, 2011 at 2:43 pm #

    Welcome to my neighborhood- have you tried the new Surfin’ Tacos restaurant in Hau’ula?

  8. Michelle March 3, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Full on double rainbow. All the way across the sky.
    🙂

    Also, that is one lonely balcony.

  9. jackie March 3, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    Oh my Goddess, the view…wow.

  10. Chris March 3, 2011 at 5:23 pm #

    But what does it *mean*??? So glad you and Beth got a chance to go back🙂

  11. KathyinMN March 3, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    having free wi-fi always rocks. We were just in Maui…you could see the whales from the shore there too. Its really incredible. I want to go back, particularly now that I’m back in cold, snowy, grey Minnesota. More Hawaii pics please!

  12. I miss the smell of the place- hawaii is just so wonderful to smell- spam especially.

  13. MerryKarma March 3, 2011 at 7:41 pm #

    Well, I guess you can cut them a little slack…and as another commenter remarked – Beth can sit on your lap while y’all whale watch.

  14. DANIEL ELCHE March 4, 2011 at 12:00 am #

    double rainbow double luck.
    whatever is free is good.
    and if you collect a power strip to another strip be the bomb.
    salts balcony yes yes yes, all this also be yours ja ja ja ja.
    I speak as an Indian.
    not to speak or write ingles.sorry

  15. Janet March 4, 2011 at 4:35 am #

    Beautiful view there. I agree, poor design on the balconey. I mean, I understand the no BBQing rule, but seating for one? 🙂

  16. MARTA March 4, 2011 at 5:44 am #

    ohhhh I want to go to Hawaii!!

  17. eB March 4, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    Love those pictures. Double rainbow is the new awesome and with good reason. Blessings~

  18. Joan Crawford March 4, 2011 at 12:54 pm #

    I hope you sat on the deck, slightly drunk, saying “Wish you were here!” every few minutes to Beth and giggling to yourself.

  19. Kathy March 4, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    Love your blog. Everytime you mention Nunu I get tears. Can’t wait to see Alcatraz. Keep us up to date.

  20. Tammie March 5, 2011 at 2:11 pm #

    I would call that a balconet. Those photos you take with the super cool iPhone app make me want to go out and get an iPhone. (I sent my niece a link to your blog about that app and she downloaded it right away.)

  21. Tiffany noélli March 7, 2011 at 4:10 pm #

    Very beautuful rainbow!!!!😉

Leave a Reply

