The Culprit is Revealed

7 Mar

This is the staple.

It’s the kind of thing you learn to fear when your dog is what the vet calls a “junk eater.”

Smidge is home now.

42 Responses to “The Culprit is Revealed”

  1. Nicole March 7, 2011 at 12:37 pm #

    So glad Smidge is home and doing well. My dog has eaten DVDs, crab shells, styrofoam, string, foil and many other worrisome non-edible items. I don’t understand what the appeal is because I’m pretty sure none of those things actually taste good nor should they be fun to swallow. That’s what she said.

    • Wyzwmn March 7, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

      jeez…I thought I had it bad cos mine eats paper…shutting up now LoL

  2. Allison March 7, 2011 at 1:25 pm #

    I had a neighbour once with a golden lab who would constantly eat gravel. That poor dog had more surgeries than I can remember to remove rocks.

    My dog, on the other, prefers to eat blocks of butter, entire pies, and king-sized chocolate bars. Nothing phases her.

  3. Leon G March 7, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Wow,”Junk Eater,” that’s two words no parent wants to hear. Well, I guess “poop eater” isn’t that great either.

  4. I’m sending you some stuff not only for you n beth but definitely for the sweet little fur balls. Wow what an ordeal you’ve gone through! I’m watching Monty extra hard now. (and keeping olive oil at the ready!)

  5. Jeff March 7, 2011 at 2:32 pm #

    Cotton balls…who knew??? http://au.answers.yahoo.com/question/index?qid=20080617101658AAjQXrI

  6. nora March 7, 2011 at 2:40 pm #

    Oh Smidge! Why must you worry your parents so? Feel better and stop pretending to be a goat! 😉

    Thanks for the update!

    • Marilyn Kanes March 7, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

      This made me laugh! Yeah, Smdige, what she said!

      Thanks for letting all of us know she’s okay!

  7. macquills March 7, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    My dog is a sock thief.. Her vet called her.. episodes, “Dietary Indiscretions.”

  8. mrcelofan March 7, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    El mío una vez se tragó un cangrejo de río entero, y entero lo echó a los dos días…
    Que satisfacción pueden encontrar en hacer esas cosas ???

    Saludos.

  9. Kelly March 7, 2011 at 5:11 pm #

    I’m glad she’s home and doing better.

  10. john (not lennon) March 7, 2011 at 5:17 pm #

    doesn’t bear thinking about the damage something like a staple can do to such a small creature.
    Glad all’s well. Good luck with keeping an eye on what goes in😉

  11. lisa March 7, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    Is that metal? lol…I’ve seen a full sleeve of a sweater get thrown up at dog daycare! lol! I’m so glad they caught it in time! It doesn’t help when you “junk eater” is so low to the ground that they don’t miss anything on it!🙂

  12. Dani March 7, 2011 at 5:55 pm #

    Our dog, Jersey, eats so much stuff I am totally convinced it is just a matter of time. One time I had to pull a stick out of her butt. Gross. Then the other day my husband pulled a long string of blanket out of her mouth. He said it was like a clown with one of those scarves. Crazy dogs!

    Glad Smidge is okay!

  13. Gia March 7, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Holy crud!!! Glad Smidge is okay! That could have been really bad. Poor thing!

  14. Luke March 7, 2011 at 7:20 pm #

    What a relief. I’m glad Smidge is well. If you ever have kids, keep an eye on those dirty dieapers. My dog likes to eat them, and they make for some interesting poo.

  15. Janelle March 7, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    That’s definitely not the kind of staple that one uses to staple papers together, for instance! What kind of mutant stapler from hell do you have, in God’s name?!!!!

  16. vospik March 7, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Heh, good thing this pic is not the ‘actual size’ of the staple!!! That bag makes it look like something from the CSI, but hey, now its framable😉

  17. Kelly W March 7, 2011 at 9:30 pm #

    Glad Smidge is home. Amazing what dogs will eat, huh?
    We had a Miniature Pinscher who ate the heads off of my boys’ toy soldiers. Georgie also ate crayons. We were “treated” to red and green poo one Christmas and a pastel Easter. All of which had little soldier heads peaking out as well..lol

  18. kraftypixie March 7, 2011 at 9:52 pm #

    Glad she is recovering.

  19. Angela Rynan March 7, 2011 at 10:16 pm #

    What a relief to hear she’s well and home again. 🙂 My little boy Billy once wolfed down a ham hock, and the bone dust created a golfball-sized mass in his intestine. Of course, dogs can’t pass that, and he nearly died. I got him to the vet just in time, and the surgery itself was dicey. He very nearly didn’t make it. But he eventually recovered, and against all odds, was the same bouncy, hyperactive, sometimes exasperating dog he always was.

    Now I’m hyper-vigilant about anything he eats or even sniffs at, and obsessively clean my floors of any debris he might wolf down. Darn mutt will eat anything if he thinks it’s interesting enough.

    Irish

  20. Katzenmother March 7, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    Mammal toddlers, whether in the form of puppies or little children seem to have to put everything small in their mouths. I remember when my daughter was little. Hypervigiliant all the time about possible dangers. When I was little, I liked to eat crayons along with my pet poodle who helped me. My mom never knew what to expect in our “pooh”. Fortunately the two of us gave that habit up….
    Glad to hear the precious little girl is all better and the nasty staple is gone. Her parents can give a big exhale that the crisis is over. Take care!

    Cindy

  21. jackie March 7, 2011 at 11:23 pm #

    you know this won’t be your last visit to the vet for this don’t you???

  22. MARTA March 8, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    me alegro de que ya esté en casa,I’m glad to be home!!

  23. Teresa Avalon March 8, 2011 at 12:14 am #

    I will once again say thank you to the universe for bringing Ollie “yes, I countersurf, but only for food” Dog into our life. There are times when I wish he weren’t a Standard Poodle for he can countersurf like nobody else – all the way to the frickin’ back, but he’s quite particular and he never destroys his toys either!

    That said, I’m happy for all of you. If Smidge has to be dumb enough to eat a staple, at least he’s smart enough to get a wealthy daddy instead of an unemployed actor who can afford to help him out with these things.😉

  24. Janet March 8, 2011 at 1:30 am #

    That must have been scary for you both. Get better, Smidge!

  25. Claudia March 8, 2011 at 2:52 am #

    Smidge is a wild child for sure! So glad the staple is out and she is home.

  26. Karen March 8, 2011 at 7:05 am #

    I read an article in our local newspaper recently of the hazards ordinary household items can have on pets – but a staple??? really??? Glad Smidge is okay must have been scary.

  27. GroovyMom March 8, 2011 at 8:58 am #

    OMG – REALLY glad your puppy will be OK. I’ve always had poodles, and 2 of them were notorious poo eaters……(It’s like foo fighters – only nastier)…. They pretty much all like to get into the trash. But usually they just root through it looking for food scraps. Much less of a problem now that we have a separate compost container – on the counter.

    It’s great that you realized something was wrong. You could have had a much worse outcome.

    GOOD LUCK with your little garbage hound.

  28. GroovyMom March 8, 2011 at 9:00 am #

    PS – My cousin (who I won’t name) ate and pooped a light bright peg when I was a kid. I was lucky enough to be there when it was discovered……as her Momma was changing her diaper. It was scary & funny and one of those “I’ll never forget it” childhood memories!

  29. BillyTwigs March 8, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    So glad that Smidge is doing well.
    A parent’s nightmare!
    Good luck!

  30. pamelalovescharlie March 8, 2011 at 10:40 am #

    That staple looks huge! Poor little Smidge! I’m so glad my chihuahua, Charlie is a picky eater…he always wants a bite of whatever food we are eating but when offered a tidbit, he sniffs it, sometimes tastes it and more often than not, puts it delicately on the floor where our American Eskimo Momo…wolfs it down. Gotta love the furkids🙂

  31. Shan March 8, 2011 at 12:12 pm #

    I feel your pain. I too have a “junk eater” and live in fear she’s going to eat something that will hurt her.

  32. Jessica March 8, 2011 at 3:40 pm #

    so happy she is home….whew!

  33. drallaycart@sbcglobal.net March 8, 2011 at 4:51 pm #

    I had a dog once that ate a string of Christmas lights and an ornament. The vet said nothing much he could do, just suggested dosing her with cod liver oil. She survived and her poop in the snow actually looked kind of pretty!

  34. Aparatchick March 8, 2011 at 7:44 pm #

    Ah, poor Smidge! Junk eaters, yeah I know what that’s like. We once gave our nephew a shark jaw for Christmas (hey, he wanted it). He left it on a shelf in his bedroom, where his dog promptly ate it. Do you know how sharp shark teeth are and how many are in a shark’s jaw? We were pretty sure we had inadvertently killed his dog, but she pulled through. Ugly vet bill, though.

  35. JB March 9, 2011 at 12:28 pm #

    I’m so glad Smidge is home and recovering. When my 6 year old Chihuahua was a puppy, she ate money, sofas, clothes, and bed linens – thankfully all soft things. Well, the money eating was especially hard and painful – for me!

  36. laura w March 9, 2011 at 8:58 pm #

    unfortunately i just experienced this same problem recently. it started a week ago with my dog getting sick and ended today when they went in and found a rope toy in her stomach and intestines…a rope toy that i didn’t give her. i’ll spare people the pictures of that mess though🙂

  37. eB March 10, 2011 at 12:22 pm #

    Your ideal reminded me of something I went through when one of my kiddos ate a toy. I’ll blog about that soon. I am so, so relived that your puppy is going to be OK.

  38. Tammie March 11, 2011 at 8:26 am #

    In proportion to her tiny body that is huge! I’m sorry that she ate it, but I am really glad that she did not choke on it!!!

  39. Jonnie March 13, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    So…I’m watching Season 2 of Lost. Hurley and Sun are waiting for Vincent to finish digesting her wedding ring. Hurley says something like “dogs will eat the darnedest things.”

    I chuckled. At least Smidge prefers the least expensive type of metal. :o)

Leave a Reply

