Watching Japan Right Now

11 Mar

I’m guessing you are too.

Looks like they’re going to need a lot of help.

If you’re wondering where to go,

here are a few suggestions I got from The Huffington Post:

American Red Cross

In fact you can donate $10 from your phone by texting REDCROSS to 90999

Save the Children

Global Giving

 

21 Responses to “Watching Japan Right Now”

  1. MARTA March 11, 2011 at 11:46 am #

    sometimes life is unfair, it’s terrible that children suffer tragedies, no one would have to suffer such tragedies, everyone helps!!!!

  2. Patty March 11, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    Thanks, Jorge, I figured you would have something about this. Worried about Hawaii and the tsunami, too!

  3. leendadll March 11, 2011 at 12:46 pm #

    I can’t stop watching the coverage. Today I confirmed that “Cat Island” was probably wiped out by the tsunami.

  4. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies March 11, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I am on the NHK site, http://www3.nhk.or.jp/nhkworld/ where they are telling people not only on the east, but with the newest quake on the west, how to get help to Japan and that it is getting more difficult. Tsumami’s aside- the aftershocks for both are ranging from 4.0 to 7.2, and if you are ever in that size of a quake– fear isn’t what comes to mind– survival is. This Navy veteran remained glued to the tv trying to spot the bases and the ships, to see if all were able to offer support. Wow, just deeply saddened. (and we’re still cleaning up New Orleans, so people can still help there, if they feel helpless about Japan).

  5. Janet March 11, 2011 at 3:57 pm #

    You always seem to do the right thing, Jorge. I am proud of you.

    I found myself crying at the losses there. Hundreds have died and hudreds more are missing. So many homes are lost. And to make matters worse they had a 6.6 (I think) on the West side earlier today.

    I will do all I can for them.

  6. Tena Lynn March 11, 2011 at 4:57 pm #

    I feel terrible just hearing about it. Been busy all day. It extends to Hawaii and the west coast too, huh?

  7. Jules March 11, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    Donation done. Thanks!

  8. William Cary March 11, 2011 at 6:03 pm #

    What no one has mentioned is that this is crucial farmland being destroyed by salt water. The picture above showed greenhouses and spring crops being inundated.

    Japan will be facing food shortages at levels unseen since WWII. Even now with the power off in Tokyo people will find it more difficult to obtain a meal for the next few days.

    The infrastructure is damaged and a society accustomed to traveling many miles each way via high speed public transportation has screeched to a halt. Train tracks are damaged and buses cannot pick up the volume of stranded workers. How does one walk 60 miles to work or home daily? Can you ride a bicycle 60 miles to work? Would you even if you could?

    This is a society changing event for the entirety of Japan and it potentially could turn them into a third world high tech country for at least the near future. Thank the Maker that their societal customs prevent looting and will help determine how people react and repair.

    The Four Horsemen are riding and their presence is being felt.

  9. Teresa Avalon March 11, 2011 at 6:38 pm #

    I work nights and last night was surprisingly quiet on our NICU unit so we spent shifts watching the TV all night. The quake and the tsunamis in Japan were and continue to be awful but, and I can’t explain this at all, the moment I felt terror in the pit of my stomach was when I watched the remote camera on one of Hawaii’s beaches showing the water rushing away from the coastline and it just kept going and going and knowing that that meant what was coming wasn’t small. I guess maybe it was because we knew that one was coming so there was a chance to get scared. More likely, that was just all I could wrap my mind around – the quake in Japan was just so huge and the tsunamis there so rapid and so horrific, I just felt shock then.

  10. Teresa Avalon March 11, 2011 at 6:57 pm #

    As an addendum, this is a really good time to make sure your emergency preparedness kits are together. I know, it’s like backing up the computer – one plans to do it tomorrow. But, there are now tons of websites online that give easy and area specific instructions on preparedness. I’m on the ring of fire up in Washington state and this was a wake up call for me.

  11. pamelalovescharlie March 11, 2011 at 9:56 pm #

    The pix on CNN this morning were incredible and horrifying at the same time! I can’t believe the devastation and feel so bad for those people….there has to be a huge loss of life and it must be terrifying as the aftershocks just keep coming😥

  12. LSE March 12, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    Donated. I can’t stop watching the footage of this quake. I started getting really emotional watching the first-hand recordings on Youtube.

  13. maki March 12, 2011 at 7:56 am #

    Thank you for suggestion and kindness from JAPAN. Still continued earthquake many locations. There is really really big damage in east Japan. Very shocking. We need more help and I must try what I can do myself.
    Don’t worry I’m O.K.cuz I live in west Japan(Kobe).

  14. devonellington March 12, 2011 at 12:39 pm #

    I’ve volunteered with the Red Cross several times over the years, and they really do put the money to work.

    It’s so important to make sure, when we donate, that the bulk of the money goes to the cause and doesn’t just vanish somewhere.

  15. Erig March 12, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    Thanks for reminding me, Jorge. Just donated.

  16. jackie March 12, 2011 at 9:02 pm #

    terrifying..makes you realize how every day could be your last.

  17. Matt Comegys March 14, 2011 at 6:17 am #

    I split my time between Gunma and Nagano, Japan. We had quite a shaking here. I managed to stay pretty zen in my 6th story office, but the adrenaline definitely kicked in about four minutes into the quake when I no longer felt sure that the building was going to stay up. We didn’t get much damage here, and though we are now dealing with timed blackouts and food shortages, we’re far luckier than the folks a few hundred kilometers to the northeast. I’m just hoping I don’t wake up with Gamera at my window in the morning with the happenings in Fukushima.

  18. Marta March 15, 2011 at 12:29 pm #

    http://www.abc.net.au/news/events/japan-quake-2011/beforeafter.htm

    Impresionantes fotos interactivas del tsunami de Japón. Pasad el ratón por encima y podeis comprobar el antes y el después

  19. Jennifer Davis March 15, 2011 at 2:08 pm #

    Good to give to the people, but also please don’t forget the pets!
    http://www.hsi.org/news/news/2011/03/japan_aid_plan_031411.html

  20. jean cave March 19, 2011 at 3:27 pm #

    There is a bit of speculation that the recent earthquakes are linked to the solar flare cycle which is cranking up to a Solar-Max in 2013. Themis (USA) is a satellite-based research programme that has been studying this for a few years. Before that, little was known about the relationship of Earth and Sun. It is a compelling theory as both the NZ and Japan quakes came 3 days after giant flares that sent a stream of particles to Earth. Themis can track which ones will hit our planet. My friend in Norway said there was an unusually luminescent Aurora display at the exact time of the huge 8.9 quake. I believe this was also experienced as far south as Minnesota?. This is not a God thing but the functional workings of the Infinitesphere of which we are the tiniest part. I sincerely hope that this research will lessen the dreadful impact of these events in the future.
    Heartbreaking scenes.
    On a L O S Tian point, no-one will be doubting anymore, that a boat can be displaced or a statue clobbered.
    Take care.

Leave a Reply

