So I’m Giving AT&T a Chance

12 Mar

At the suggestion of an employee who commented on my blog I decided to call Customer Support at AT&T Wireless to talk about the problems. Because let’s face it all WE can do is vent to each other.

The woman who helped me, “de-registered” my phone so it would have to find a new connection to the towers. She told me that there were a number of towers in the L.A. area that were currently under repair.

She also suggested that I download the “Mark the Spot” App to give them feedback whenever I experience an issue. 

I figure why not? The worst it could do is help.

But I had to laugh when I couldn’t even send the registration text to sign up.

28 Responses to “So I’m Giving AT&T a Chance”

  1. Jennifer Crowther March 12, 2011 at 9:56 am #

    Verizon is the way to go. I’ve had hem for years and there is never a problem. The other day they gave me some extra minutes for free (700 total). Verizon also has the iPhone now.

  2. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies March 12, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    We’ve been on Verizon for about 10 years… in that time, if we are in Las Vegas, or Las Vegas New Mexico, we’ve never dropped a call- except when we lived in the Outer-zone. We lived in an area which was a bermuda triangle.. two towers faced east, one faced south, they in effect, “erased the signal” of each other, right in OUR house. Only our house. We can call from the neighbors, and the driveway. We moved, no problems. And now Iphone. (if you haven’t seen those bears and the I don’t Care video- you gotta youtube it.)

  3. Ikkin-bot March 12, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Having been to Europe and Africa where everyone has cheap cell phones that work EVERYWHERE I cannot figure out what the problem is in North America . . . other than cell phone companies.

  4. nora March 12, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    too funny! Probably not to you… but thanks for sharing…and finding the humor in the situation rather than going all crazy-Sheen on us about it! 😉 I am about to leave TMobile and was searching for another company… looking forward to the next “advice” from an ATT service rep.

  5. Chas Pinto March 12, 2011 at 10:14 am #

    I’ve had AT&T for awhile and I guess I’m one of the lucky ones… I’ve had very few issues with them! My husbands work phone is T-mobile and man, that is the way to go! They’re excellent…. if only they carried my beloved iphone!

  6. coffeegod March 12, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    No good deed goes unpunished. Virgin Mobile USA. They use Sprint’s coverage area and are 60 bucks a month unlimited text/web/talking.

    I should get compensated!

  7. MARTA March 12, 2011 at 12:16 pm #

    My phone company in Spain gives me problems with coverage, next month I change it, I hope your problems are solved soon

  8. devonellington March 12, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    Typical. My first cell phone was with AT&T, and they were a nightmare. Verizon’s definitely not perfect, but the coverage and the support for the phones are better (their online support sucks).

    Sorry you’re going through this — it takes energy that can be used better on other things!

  9. James Hernandez March 12, 2011 at 1:21 pm #

    Jorge,

    Good news. If more people stick with AT&T maybe they can raise their dividend rate, it stands at a pawltry 6.1%

  10. Jules March 12, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    I’ve lucked out with AT&T, but have got to say that you’re having a fun time with them! Thanks for the entertainment!

  11. Anastasia March 12, 2011 at 4:06 pm #

    Wait until the iPhone 5 comes out and get it on Verizon. You’ll never look back. My husband is in the military and lives across the country from me for now (a year) and we talk on our AT&T iPhones several times a day, and EVERY SINGLE call is dropped over and over and over because of useless AT&T service. I don’t know how they can stay in business, they must sit around all day at their corporate HQ laughing at us.

  12. Koshka March 12, 2011 at 6:46 pm #

    I’m in Canada, and as much as I hate Rogers for their ‘Bell in the 70s’ approach to customer service, I have great reception on my iPhone. I’ve heard nothing but crap about AT&T. Do as Anastasia suggests – switch the moment you’re able!

  13. jackie March 12, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

    I’ve got a couple of tin cans and some string…

  14. der5er March 13, 2011 at 5:39 am #

    As Network Operations Supervisor for another carrier in another city, I can tell you that AT&T probably has over 1000 towers in the LA Area (if you include OC and Riverside County). So, while true, her statement that “there were a number of towers in the L.A. area that were currently under repair” is meaningless. I’ve got just a little under 200 towers in a much smaller city (and a much smaller company) and we always have a “number” of towers under repair.

  15. Antonia March 13, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    I live in NYC and have AT&T and my calls get dropped all the time. I tried to switch to Verizon but I travel a lot and Verizon doesnt carry sim cards so even if you go to Canada for a day, your phone wont work. I talked to a couple of people at AT&T and they hooked me up with the iPhone 4G, which I guess has better reception and connects to signals better and faster. I havent had a problem since.
    I dont think Verizon is a better choice. Its more expensive and doesnt work overseas. What good is that?

  16. kake79 March 13, 2011 at 9:05 am #

    I’m a Network Engineer at a small wireless company. Just so you know, what the AT&T rep did by “de-registering” your phone is nothing more than what you can do by turning your phone off and back on. It really wouldn’t have any effect on your signal strength. It’s just a typical step for Tech Support at any wireless carrier to take for some strange reason because it rarely, if ever, accomplishes anything.

    • Gia March 13, 2011 at 12:33 pm #

      I have to say that sometimes just turning off my phone and turning it back on does fix some problems, so that wasn’t a bad suggestion by the AT&T tech. Same with my laptop. If it starts acting up sometimes just restarting it fixes whatever glitch there was.

      • kake79 March 14, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

        I guess you do have a point when it comes to smartphones. They are, afterall, more like your laptop than your home phone. Since I don’t deal with data in my job, I tend to forget that. So a power cycle would help with some issues. It, however, should still have no effect on signal strength.

  17. Sleeper March 13, 2011 at 10:36 am #

    I use the Mark the Spot app. I’m beginning to feel it’s a complete waste of time, but I keep reporting outages and dropped calls. I report the same locations at least once a day.

  18. Leslie March 14, 2011 at 8:16 am #

    Maybe it’s not soley AT&T’s network that’s the problem? I know the iPhone is the greatest thing since sliced bread (comment dripping with sarcasm), but there are other phones out there that are just as good if not better. I have the HTC EVO Slide with Android OS and LOVE IT!!! My phone before had the Android OS and it was just as good. I haven’t heard much about the new Windows phone….

  19. jennY March 14, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Dude thanks for sharing! I can’t stop giggling that the freaking text to AT&T wouldnt go through! I mean comeeeee onnnnnn! Right?!

  20. Scott Urner March 15, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    “She told me that there were a number of towers in the L.A. area that were currently under repair.”

    Good luck with that truthiness.

  21. Amy March 16, 2011 at 8:53 pm #

    I use the app as well and I laugh each time it asks to run a “diagnostic test”. I report several issues a day and all I get is the canned text message response back. I wish they would credit my account after so many reports. Oh well! I enjoy reading your posts! They brighten my day.

  22. Lisa Brown March 17, 2011 at 9:26 am #

    Just thought I’d share a link to an article that (imho) takes a very realistic look at the iPhone on AT&T and the iPhone on Verizon. http://www.bgr.com/2011/03/16/why-i-switched-back-to-an-att-iphone/?utm

    There really isn’t a carrier out there right now without their own unique “problems”, so people have to figure out what they’re most willing to deal with/out. Is it a good answer, no, it most definitely isn’t, but as new technology is invested in and new towers are installed in areas that are having issues, I for one am hopeful that service overall will improve.

  23. Nick Manteris March 18, 2011 at 2:04 pm #

    The “problem” with Verizon and the iPhone, if you’ve already become used to AT&T, is that you can’t use data services *at the same time* that you are talking on the phone. This may or may not be an issue for most people.

    Also, I think the AT&T people are instructed to tell people that there are cell towers in your area that are being repaired. The repairs in my area have been going on for almost two years now.

  24. Tammie March 19, 2011 at 11:16 am #

    Classic!

    • Stacey Becker March 31, 2011 at 10:05 am #

      We switched to Credo Mobile. They support good causes and paid off our contract with ATT!🙂

  25. Andrew April 14, 2011 at 11:01 pm #

    Dude, didn’t you know AT&T is a black hole in LA? If you ever go to Studio City, don’t plan on using your phone…

    You would think: iPhone… Apple… the movie industry standard would have the best reception, but nope.

    It’s like a Jeff Foxworthy joke.

    Do yourself a favor an switch to Verizon, choke signal bradah!

Leave a Reply

