So begins my week of morning subtraction.

14 Mar

“Oh man! 7:15? That means it’s really 6:15!”

36 Responses to “So begins my week of morning subtraction.”

  1. Tim March 14, 2011 at 9:18 am #

    Ha. I do the same thing.

  2. sillyandrea March 14, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    Yep, same here.🙂

  3. Lisa March 14, 2011 at 9:31 am #

    My boyfriend does this and it drives me crazy! (Particularly when he adds and he should be subtracting.) This morning I told him, “when are we going to adopt the new time change?” Sheesh! My favorite day of the year is when we change the clocks! I don’t care that my eyelids feel like bricks right now. Summer is coming!!!!

    • alcessa March 14, 2011 at 9:36 am #

      I have the habit of setting my alarm clock to wake us at unusual times … like: 07:48. I love it, but it makes my husband all … restless😀

      • Gracie March 14, 2011 at 10:46 am #

        I set my alarm clock an hour before I have to wake up, purely for the joy of saying “Oooo! I still have an hour to sleep!” and proceed to set it for the actual time. I’m so weird.

  4. Krista March 14, 2011 at 9:34 am #

    It’s especially bad when not all of the clocks have been changed. It’s like they are mocking me!

  5. MARTA March 14, 2011 at 9:54 am #

    Mondays I get up at 4 am ufffffff, in Spain we are finishing the day, son las 6 de la tarde. take care!!

  6. Daniel Malaquias March 14, 2011 at 10:12 am #

    Hey Jorge, como vai as coisas? E lo nuevo filme quando será lançado hein?

  7. Lurkertype March 14, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    That just prolongs the confusion. Go with what the clock says and it’s easier.

    It’s worth that lost hour of sleep (I went to bed early so it evened out) to have it light into the evenings. Feels like spring is here.

  8. crankypants March 14, 2011 at 10:19 am #

    Is this before or after you change the clocks? I’d better change my desk clock here at work or I’ll be staying late.

  9. Jessica March 14, 2011 at 10:20 am #

    My baby boy is having no problem….adjusted GREAT – but me, I’m all screwed up!

  10. Randy & Rachel March 14, 2011 at 10:39 am #

    Jorge I thought you, like us, would be on Island time heheh

    hey, we got you some primo homemade peanut butter from Georgia (my grandmother’s recipe)

  11. jennY March 14, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    hehehehe…yes time really does mess with ya!

  12. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies March 14, 2011 at 11:51 am #

    the critters are fairly irked that they haven’t been let in on the time change.. they still think it’s feeding time NOW

  13. jackie March 14, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    arghghghg

  14. Miss Scarlett March 14, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Ugh!I hate the time change. Freakin’ farmers – can’t they just get up earlier??

  15. Jeff March 14, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    You could move to Arizona, where in some parts there they don’t participate in DST.

    • Lisa Brown March 15, 2011 at 7:55 am #

      Or to Hawaii…😀

  16. courtney March 14, 2011 at 1:56 pm #

    at least it’s not 8:15

  17. devonellington March 14, 2011 at 3:16 pm #

    I totally resent the lost hour of sleep, and I spend a few weeks running around feeling as though I’m late, even though I’m meticulous about being on time.

    On the flip side, in fall, I dash about with a lot of extra energy, feeling like I’m so far ahead!

  18. leendadll March 14, 2011 at 3:39 pm #

    I do that too!

  19. kake79 March 14, 2011 at 3:44 pm #

    I totally do that. I also whine about how dumb DST is. In my mind, it is noon when the sun is directly overhead; I don’t care what the clock says. All this clock changing to play mind games with ourselves is just stupid.

  20. Alana March 14, 2011 at 3:48 pm #

    LOL! I do the same thing. I thought I was the only strange one!🙂

  21. mrcelofan March 14, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    Felicidades por “Alcatraz”🙂

  22. Kristianna March 14, 2011 at 6:50 pm #

    That’s the same math we do for… well sometimes until Fall with our bedroom clock. The other ones are easier to change, but I hate holding down two buttons at once and then missing the hour until I have to go back around the whole 23 hours again (or one more time because I suck at concentrating, apparently), so yeah, I just leave it alone. 🙂

  23. Irish Girl March 14, 2011 at 8:28 pm #

    That’s one of the things I love about living in Arizona. We don’t do Daylight Savings Time. It’s great.

  24. Claudia March 15, 2011 at 1:47 am #

    Laughed out loud!

    Yep, do it too!!!

  25. Dan March 15, 2011 at 2:16 am #

    Oh, come on! that means you can pop corks at 7 PM with the daylight sitting outside with friends!

  26. April March 15, 2011 at 5:12 am #

    I do it too….stupid daylight savings time!

  27. Janet March 15, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    I, also, am not a fan of Daylight Savings Time and read recently that we don’t really save much money by changing times. I say, “write your congressperson and ask them to sponsor a bill to end it!”

  28. Randy & Rachel March 15, 2011 at 11:01 am #

    Jorge, we thought you would be on “island time”. Just push the button, dude.

    Now its gonna take an extra hour to make your homemade peanut butter.

  29. Collette March 15, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    EXACTLY MY POINT!!! Same thing happens in the fall. Can’t we just do away with all of this silly hour back/hour forward? Way too confusing for my simpleton brain🙂

  30. pamelalovescharlie March 15, 2011 at 2:00 pm #

    I HATE this time change!!! My kids are walking in the dark to the bus stop at the end of the street. It’s so far down (no street lights) that it can’t be seen from our house and I hate wondering if some weirdo is going to grab them in the dark…also I get crabby losing an hour of sleep…can you tell😉 And what’s the big deal if it gets dark one hour sooner at night…it’s just an extra hour the mosquitoes can bite and give you Lyme disease…

  31. Penny March 15, 2011 at 10:01 pm #

    A few years ago my husband decided, unbeknown to me, that it was Spring Back. That would have been okay if I didn’t have to get up at 5AM. Up I got, dressed etc. Took off in my car and thought it was funny that NPR still broadcasting the BBC,that all the local stations were on “tape” and would only announce the time as half past the hour etc. When I got to work the parking lot was empty with no one in sight. That was when it finally dawned on my foggy brain that my husband may have gotten the time wrong. This was at a time when cells phones looked like bricks which answers the question why I didn’t phone home. After all this we are still married.

  32. Tammie March 19, 2011 at 10:56 am #

    I was an hour late for my nephew’s birthday party:o(

  33. Stacie March 23, 2011 at 10:24 pm #

    It stinks being back here on the mainland, doesn’t it?

Leave a Reply

