Happy Irish New Year!

17 Mar

So this year I made my own corned beef with smashed cabbage and potatoes.

The corned beef was actually made of  seitan.

I got the recipe here:

http://www.everydaydish.tv/index.php?page=recipe&recipe=98

By the way if there’s any food that could use a name change it’s seitan.

But then again, seitan may be the only the only thing that makes eating vegetables seem metal.

32 Responses to “Happy Irish New Year!”

  1. Marci March 17, 2011 at 7:49 pm #

    I wish I could eat seitan (darn you gluten!) – that dish sounds fantastic.

  2. Anthony J. Rapino March 17, 2011 at 8:40 pm #

    I have to admit, before I read how you made the corned beef, I was wondering why it looked so funky. It does sound delicious though. I’ll have to try that.

  3. jackie March 17, 2011 at 9:45 pm #

    I don’t do St. Patrick’s day..I’m a pagan and he was responsible for running the pagans out of Ireland or high jacking our holidays to make the Catholic religion more palpable to them..bastid.

  4. Katherine March 17, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    that looks scrumptious! I love seitan.

  5. Bethany Shady March 17, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    It tasted like Grape Nuts.

    • kelly March 18, 2011 at 12:55 pm #

      I was wondering.

  6. Anna March 17, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    That’s pretty sweet. I thought I was SOL because we’re always fasting for lent. That looks good.

    Is it just me or do you always feel jipped when they don’t eat their sandwich at the end of a video… Take a bite, dammit!

  7. toby March 17, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Yeah, I was wondering why your corned beef looked like honey cake🙂
    You had me and my 12 year old son totally giggling out loud with that seitan bit – thanks!

  8. MARTA March 17, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    no conozco la celebración del dia de san patricio, I hope you enjoyed the day! nice weekenk jorge and beth!!

  9. DANIEL ELCHE March 18, 2011 at 12:01 am #

    looks great

  10. mrcelofan March 18, 2011 at 12:22 am #

    No sabía de la existencia del seitán, parece ser que se la conoce como la carne vegetal… de lo que se entera uno leyendo en internet🙂

    Nunca te acostarás sin saber una cosa más !!!

    Saludos.

  11. Claudia March 18, 2011 at 1:50 am #

    It looks very good, especially the smashed cabbage and potatoes. Don’t know about the fake corned beef. Don’t like the real stuff either but this is kind of on the scary side.

  12. Jean Schubert Beachgirl5835 March 18, 2011 at 9:21 am #

    The devil, you say!

  13. Gracie March 18, 2011 at 10:33 am #

    Thumbs up from a vegetarian🙂 Looks awesome!

  14. Liz V March 18, 2011 at 10:48 am #

    Man that looks good. But it needs a green mint shake to go with it.

  15. Gretchen March 18, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    WHOO hoo! Love to see your trying things vegan style!

  16. Heidi March 18, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Here’s my impression of Dana Carvey as the church lady eating dinner with Jorge on St. Patrick’s Day:

    “Hmmmm … this corned beef tastes a little different … why is that? … I don’t know … Could it be SEITAN?!?!?!?”
    🙂 Love to you, Beth, and the puppies!

    • Nadine March 22, 2011 at 8:50 pm #

      Good one, Heidi !!! I thought of the Church Lady when he said that, too ! LOL

  17. carol March 18, 2011 at 7:13 pm #

    i know you like to bake, and this blogger just did a whole series on vegan puff pastry! http://vegandad.blogspot.com/

  18. Aj March 18, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Hey Jorge, you where a question on jeopardy tonight. the answer to the question was Lost.

  19. Karen March 19, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    Yum love seitan as well – looks great.

  20. Tammie March 19, 2011 at 10:55 am #

    I never liked the actual meat version that my Dad ate every year, so I non meat would probably not improve or diminish my opinion of the traditional St. Patrick’s Day fare. One of these days I want to get some seitan and make a mealoaf and see if my guys notice the difference.

  21. Becky @TheVioletFig March 20, 2011 at 6:47 am #

    I LOVE corned beef too much to try a veg version! The smashed potatoes and cabbage look really good though

  22. Sara Apel Kelly March 20, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    Mmmm…grape nuts and potatoes. I’m in! Team Seitan!

  23. gina March 21, 2011 at 6:25 am #

    I am a horrible vegetarian because I am afraid to try new things. Been a vegetarian for 25 years and live on peanut butter. I have gotten better in my older age. I just recently tried this mail order vegan food provider. (Won’t mention for promo purpose) but they have a stew made with seitan. Looked horrible when cooking it I mean horrible but tasted really good

  24. Maureen March 21, 2011 at 11:03 pm #

    More an Irish-American dish than Irish. For a real treat make yourself some traditional Irish soda bread (just 4 ingredients) next year. Bread, butter and tea-could live on it. This St. Patrick’s Day Hope you avoided the green beer and banished any 4 leaf clovers from your person!

    • Lisa March 22, 2011 at 10:25 am #

      Maureen – Do you have a link to a recipe you could recommend?? We are addicted to the Irish Soda bread at Henry’s. I’m quite sure it’s not exactly traditional. We get the chocolate chip one! But I would love to make some Irish Soda Bread from scratch. Sometimes it’s a pain to Google a recipe and try to whittle it down to the best one.

    • Jessica Murray-Ruef March 23, 2011 at 9:52 am #

      LOVE Irish Soda Bread. Easy to make, fast, and VERY yummy. 🙂

  25. Traci March 22, 2011 at 9:16 pm #

    You’re just fabulous, you know that!
    I have an amazing recipe for vegan potroast with seitan – should I send it your way?

  26. James Hernandez March 26, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    Jorge,

    Corned beef is the shiznit.

  27. fay April 30, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    Oh yeah, I’ve adapted the seitan sausage recipe on Everday Dish for a few years now. I made vegan boudin a few months ago. Great site.

  28. Mallory June 27, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Bahahaha! I can’t wait to tell my friends that tease me for being vegan how metal I am now =P lol

Leave a Reply

