I Love This Place

2 Apr

So when I’m out and it’s getting close to lunch time I like to type the word “vegan” into my map app to see what pops up around me.

The biggest lesson I’ve learned from doing that is if the word “Vegan” is in the name (Vegan Plate, Vegan World, Vegan Glory) hands down it’s going to be Thai food.

But doing that also led me to this place Tony’s Darts Away in Burbank.

All Craft. All Draught. All California.

It’s a bar that is most likely known for its beer. But they also reserve one tap for a craft soda as well.

They aim for sustainability and zero waste.

Now let’s face it, when it comes to bar food the only vegan thing most places offer is a basket of fries.

The focus at Tony’s is sausages. And the beauty is of the thirteen sausages on the menu, five of them are vegan.

How rare it is to find so much shared real estate on a menu for both plant and meat eaters alike. Kudos to Tony for creating a place we can all share.

32 Responses to “I Love This Place”

  1. Debbie M. April 2, 2011 at 11:18 am #

    Wow, that’s amazing. I wish more restaurants did this. I’m happy when I find veggie burgers on the menu. I’d really be happy to see non-meat sausage. I buy the Italian vegan sausage with Sun-Dried Tomatoes and Basil from Trader Joe’s. My husband and I love it. So much better tasting than meat sausage. When I ate meat I never really cared for sausage. The package says it can be cooked on an outdoor grill.

  2. Lynne April 2, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    The biggest lesson I’ve learned from doing that is if the word “Vegan” is in the name… hands down it’s going to be Thai food.

    Not necessarily! Here in the Northeast, half the time it’s Vietnamese.

  3. eB April 2, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    That sounds wonderful – if I ever get back to Burbank for a visit, I will have to check it out. It would be nice to do some real darts for a change.

  4. Any April 2, 2011 at 12:35 pm #

    I have been following your blog since early(er) Lost days, and I never put together the pieces that you are a vegan. As a fellow vegan, thanks (for everything)!

  5. aimee April 2, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    That sounds amazing!! On a different note I was in Maui last week and checked out the Flat Bread Company you had raved about on your older blog…LOVED IT!!! We ended up eating it about three times and now as I sit in Oahu, I am missing it soooo much..Wish we had one on this island. Thanks for letting us know about it!

  6. MARTA April 2, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    Thanks Jorge, I hope to visit USA someday and visit this place

  7. molly April 2, 2011 at 1:52 pm #

    Follow Your Heart in Canoga Park is in the middle of nowhere but it is SO good for veg*n food. They have meat, too, if I recall correctly. I moved away from LA six years ago and still dream of their Zorro Burrito.

  8. Gia April 2, 2011 at 2:12 pm #

    I bet Eric would like this place- he’s a big fan of beer. And vegan sausages, but mostly beer.

  9. heather April 2, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

    this post reminds me why i like you and read your blog – you are such a good guy!

  10. Sandy April 2, 2011 at 3:33 pm #

    Clicked on the menu and chucked to see “Vegan Sausages” and “Not Vegan Sausages”.🙂

  11. Mo April 2, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    Awesome! I know where I’m headed the next time I’m in LA.

    By the way, I absolutely love your blog!

  12. Jennifer April 2, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

    Smoked Apple Sage notSausage — yum!

  13. David April 2, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    If I ever make it to Burbank, I’ll have to check this place out. Right after I get through shopping at the Buy More.🙂

    • kake79 April 4, 2011 at 2:59 pm #

      Aw… now I’m longing to see Jorge on Chuck. Could you imagine him doing a guest spot as a new Nerd Herder? Hanging out with Jeffster? That would rock.

  14. chris April 2, 2011 at 10:57 pm #

    hey Jorge, i’m so excited that you’re finding great eats! i’ve always loved that you share your creativity in the kitchen and i always wondered what you’d find to create with a vegan menu! right now my wife and i are vacationing in Oahu and found a rad place called Loving Hut on King St. we didn’t think we’d find another great place since Hale’ closed up after our visit last year. keep it up brotha!

    • Gretchen April 3, 2011 at 1:34 am #

      Chris, try simply joy, also on s.king! It’s the best!

  15. Gretchen April 3, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Just when I think u can’t be any cooler, you go vegan!? I’ve been for 8yrs now…find me on fb…”The Vegan Translation”‘, I also live on Oahu…you know we have 5 1/2 all vegan restaurants now? And also a diner in chinatown that can make a vegan version of EVERYTHING! Veganism is on fire!

  16. mrcelofan April 3, 2011 at 6:05 am #

    Vegan; desconocía totalmente esa filosofía. No dejas de sorprenderme!!!

    Saludos.

  17. Emily Drew April 3, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    This menu makes me happy.🙂

  18. Hazel April 3, 2011 at 9:39 am #

    “Now let’s face it, when it comes to bar food the only vegan thing most places offer is a basket of fries.”

    And a lof of the time, they like to cook the darn things in goose fat so even they aren’t vegan (at least in the UK) So many of us vegans become resigned to the ‘baked potato’ diet when we’re dining out *G*

  19. Tammie April 3, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    The Italian sausage sounds very promising. I am not a vegan, and I love sausage, but it frequently upsets my stomach. I bet the vegan version would be much more agreeable. Too bad I am in Texas.

  20. Janet April 3, 2011 at 3:29 pm #

    Nice that you found a place that vegan. Vegan sausages? Never had one. Well, enjoy!

  21. jackie April 3, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    baaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaacon

  22. sharon zimmer April 3, 2011 at 9:43 pm #

    nice- he’s excited- he’s going this week …:)

  23. Katherineq April 4, 2011 at 12:02 pm #

    I’m super impressed that they also have Vegenaise and Daiya cheese! This place looks awesome!

  24. Adam Miller April 4, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    I’d like to try this place. I’m in burbank all the time for work being a PA, and I’m always looking for new places. Vegan World and Vegan Plate are good, but you’re right, it’s always the same Thai food. I wish there were more healthy places to eat around here.

  25. lindaluau April 5, 2011 at 1:55 pm #

    If you’re ever in Toronto lemme know. A bar in my neighborhood sells vegan ribs- they’re not even on the menu but the owner is vegan. They’re really good, too.

  26. Jiu Jitsu Los Angeles April 6, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I’ve been looking for a new bar to try outside of the West Los Angeles area. (Trying to broaden my bubble horizons)I’m going to have to check this out. Because who doesn’t love beer and sausage? Being from Chicago, not me!

  27. Cindy April 7, 2011 at 2:01 am #

    Hey, be careful as a lot (a LOT) of those vegan spots have been busted for having animal products (even actual meat) in their food. Also, if you’re in Echo Park for dinner, ELF on Sunset right by the American Apparel store (Sunset and Alvarado almost) is really, really, REALLY good. Really good.

  28. Jonna April 11, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    I love that place! The vegan sausages are so tasty. There is also a great place called Wurstkuche in downtown LA that serves a whole lotta craft beer, exotic sausages (sounds dirty, but I mean they serve sausages made of alligator) and a handful of vegetarian sausages (I like the italian one best). Very cool, kind of well-hidden place (which does not prevent it from being very popular and often times having a big line outside for din din.) Ooh they also have awesome belgian fries with a variety of dipping sauces. Very good.

  29. Jessica April 11, 2011 at 11:12 am #

    I love Tony’s Darts! Have you been to Wurstkuche in Downtown LA?? The Holy Grail of vegan sausages!! Go there now!!

    Blue Palms in Hollywood also has some pretty amazing vegan sausage options….

  30. Sam Friedman April 13, 2011 at 9:40 am #

    Went while I was in LA this past week… had the Aurora, and it was pretty tasty. Thanks for the recommendation!

Leave a Reply

