Someone’s Gonna Get Her Teeth Knocked Out

14 Apr

So when Pip finally got spayed it was discovered that she still had baby teeth even though her big dog teeth were already grown in. As is often the case, the vet removed her extra teeth during the same operation. Problem solved.

But I had a sneaking suspicion when I brought her home that she may not be the only one with this issue. So I grabbed Smidge and checked her mouth.

Sure enough she was double-fanged. Sounds cool but apparently it can lead to serious problems if food gets caught up in there, so we knew we had to take her back for teeth removal.

Of course this was the same week as the staple incident so we thought we should give her a moment to recover first.

Well today is the day.

I’m a little worried about her.

And here I never showed you how truly talented she is.

Now I know every parent think their child is gifted, but check this out:

Of course I should have been mad about this happening inside the house. But can you imagine how hard it is to make it stand straight up like that? Kid’s an artist!

P.S. Not to be outdone. Attention-whore Pip got stung by a bee.

Just kidding.

About the timing that is. We do think she got stung by a bee.

It’s just that it was a long time ago.

She’s fine by the way.

39 Responses to “Someone’s Gonna Get Her Teeth Knocked Out”

  1. crankypants April 14, 2011 at 9:01 am #

    haha! Elvis left a poo snowman like that a couple month back. It fell over before I could get a picture but I am glad I am not the only one who would commemorate it with a photo.
    Your poor doggies, there is never a dull moment, huh.
    Best of luck to Smidge on her teefs removal today. Too bad they couldn’t have done it during the staple removal, I worry too.

  2. nora April 14, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    I saw Smidge reading a book about Stonehenge. I bet that is where she got her inspiration! 😉

  3. MARTA April 14, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    picadura de abeja??? poor!!! Im glad she’s well, yo tengo un perro de 3 meses, nunca habia tenido perro, ahora está con problemas de dientes, no para de morder!!! I have dog 3 months old, not to bite! not to do lol pero uffff como se hacen querer!!!

  4. Jessica April 14, 2011 at 9:10 am #

    awww poor pups!!!!!!! They are very sweet

  5. Jennifer April 14, 2011 at 9:30 am #

    My pup has been stung by a bee once, but has stepped on wasps in the grass several times.. those aren’t happy days.

  6. Marilyn Kanes April 14, 2011 at 9:33 am #

    I’m love with your dogs. And you. And Beth. Thanks for your generosity in sharing your life with your fans.

  7. Comedic Author With Rat Training Tendencies April 14, 2011 at 10:28 am #

    LOL! Monty had double teeth too!!! We called him the Vampire-uahua. He finally got all of them out on his own, thanks to a Kong and a few happy choice jerky treats. he also is a very talented poop-ature artist. Part statues, part poop- his latest creations seem to be braided, or look like Challah bread, albeit small brown little twists. We worried he’d get bee stings on his micro-manhood because he lifted his legs on bee covered rosemary bushes. But, he managed to beeeee -free himself. After a year and a half, he’s now taken to chasing our cats. Took him long enough.

  8. Wyzwmn April 14, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Pixie had these delightful standy uppy ears till 2 weeks ago…she had an allergy attack that in the end sent me to the vet twice in 2 weeks and cost approx 500.00 – the sign she was feeling crap was that her ears flopped like a hound dog…a 3.5 lb hound dog…but a hound dog all the same…
    *sigh*
    I miss standy uppy ears
    I hope they come back….
    she’s find by the way!

  9. Janet April 14, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Doggies! Gotta love ’em!

  10. Michelle & Hailey April 14, 2011 at 12:10 pm #

    Wow, never a boring day with those two cuties!

  11. Sommery April 14, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Thank you for sharing your babies with us. I like dogs… as long as I don’t have to take care of them. Kind of like how some people feel about kids🙂

  12. llisa April 14, 2011 at 12:38 pm #

    I had a dog Jack that hated flying bugs and although warned… he chopped a bee out of the air and got stung in his lower lip. It swelled to ginormous proportions and drooooped! He couldn’t understand why his food and water kept falling out of his mouth! hahahaha we were hysterical and he did not appreciate it at all! he was okay in a day or so.
    You’re kids are really coming up with some interesting issues! What are they going to do as teenagers???
    gulp… or adults?!?! YIKES!

  13. Auto Title Loans April 14, 2011 at 1:13 pm #

    It’s a shame she can’t talk, because I’m sure Pip would say the darndest things. After all, that’s regular Picasso work you have on your hands, so it obviously needs a snazzy title. Have you thought about selling the picture of Poo on E-Bay?

  14. mrcelofan April 14, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Cuando son cachorros te los comerías, y cuando crecen te arrepientes de no haberlo hecho.

    Yo si fuera tú no les daría de comer después de las 12 de la noche.

    Tengo la sensación de que te van a dar tema para muchos posts…

    Saludos.

    • Tea April 14, 2011 at 2:18 pm #

      I’ve got a pooch named Leo who got stung once and is now terrified of bees. He always lets us know when one is in the house by climbing on someone’s lap and shaking like a leaf.

      Why does your doggy still poop in the house? Seems like celebrity dogs are prone to that.

  15. Jeff April 14, 2011 at 2:52 pm #

    I’m guessin’ that Smidge-poop can easily be sold as art on ebay.

  16. Sarah April 14, 2011 at 3:17 pm #

    My chihuahua Mr. Big ate a wasp when he was a puppy which stung him in the exact same spot! It was quite comical I’m sure, as I drove up to the QVC drive thru and held him up for the pharmacists to see yelling, “What should I do?!?!?” I see now a call to the vet would have been better. However, they were nice and told me to give him a 1/4 tsp. of baby benedryl, which they gave me right then. Whew.

  17. Tena Lynn April 14, 2011 at 5:34 pm #

    OMG that is too funny~~~you go, girl. Encore!!

  18. Kim Nesbitt April 14, 2011 at 6:53 pm #

    Our Chihuahuas also leave stand up poops, too! Congrats on your babies! Haven’t checked out your blog in a while!

  19. Jennifer April 14, 2011 at 11:30 pm #

    Shared like a true parent…they say it’s all downhill from here…first, you’re proud of their poop…next it’s their boogers…

  20. vospik April 14, 2011 at 11:36 pm #

    Heh, these two should have their own action adventure series, with a little drama & comedy thrown in. Actually, I think you & Beth should collaborate & make a book out of their stories…Don’t worry, I won’t ask for anything but a nod in the back where you thank people ;0

  21. Ann April 15, 2011 at 6:08 am #

    My previous dog had the most talent of any dog around. One time she pooped on a small spruce sapling and one of her turds got skewered on the tip-top point of the tree, like a hot-dog on a stick!! I know that anyone walking by would think some disgusting pervert must have picked up the turd and molded it onto the tree like that but no.. she was a natural talent. My current dog tries hard to top that but the best she’s come up with is dropping her poop neatly on a nice basketball-sized rock. Looked like a art exhibit on display next to the path.

    Also, my previous dog had a similar puffy-snout reaction to the nose drops the vet gives for kennel cough immunization. Her nose looked like a tennis ball. I called the vet and he said as long as she wasn’t having any trouble breathing then I could just give her a Benadryl which did do the trick. Of course, my dog was 45lbs and a whole lot bigger than your little dogs so you’d have to check with your vet what the dosage would be if your dog ever gets stung again (reaction might be worse the second time now that she has the histamine in her system).

    Did the tooth extraction go okay?

  22. Arthur April 15, 2011 at 6:09 am #

    Your dogs are crazy man, every day is a new adventure.

  23. Jeff April 15, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Then again, no master-“piece” in the poop-art world is complete without corn.

  24. Joan Crawford April 15, 2011 at 8:49 am #

    Oh sure, when *she* makes a poop-statue, it’s all pictures and pride but when *I* do it it’s all “Please never come back here again” and calls to the police.

  25. Donna Siano April 15, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    You have two very cute dogs. Do you ever dress them up? Thanks for the pictures

  26. Lisa April 15, 2011 at 2:17 pm #

    So from the looks of that picture, it sounds like you are no longer having an issue with them eating it?? We adopted a dog a month ago and I was horrified to find that he ate his stuff this week. Sooooo sad to see this happen. Never happens on a walk or the dog park. Just in back yard – it happens so fast I can’t even get out there in time to get it. Would love for you to follow up on this if the problem has been solved and let us know what worked. I had NO IDEA dogs did this until I read your post about it.

  27. Marta April 16, 2011 at 9:02 am #

    Every bit an obelisk🙂

  28. Maine Mom April 16, 2011 at 10:30 am #

    OMG – you just totally cracked me up! Thanks for the laughter.

  29. Tammie April 16, 2011 at 6:05 pm #

    Nice poo sculpture! Kudos to Smidge, she is quite an artist. You bronzing things has recently come back into vogue! (jk)

    • Tammie April 16, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

      I meant to say , “You know, bronzing things….”

  30. Jeff April 17, 2011 at 7:30 am #

    Straight out of the Dharma Initiative: http://www.youtube.com/user/ultragraphik#p/u/4/0uYsjs_xleg

  31. Gia April 17, 2011 at 9:29 am #

    So how did the extraction go? I hope she’s feeling much better by now.

    (One of my dogs leaves pieces of “art” like that, too, but I’m not sure which one.)

  32. Antonia April 17, 2011 at 10:53 am #

    Thats so funny because last Friday my shih tzu, Juliet, had the same thing happen to her. I took her in to get spayed and got called while I was waiting that she had 3 baby teeth still in there aka,$30 per tooth, that had to be taken out because they were pretty tight in there. I got little Juliet back drooling and stitched up, but shes fine now. Hope yours is too.

  33. Susan April 18, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    I had to comment on your cute dogs. We had a similar week. Dentist said some baby teeth needed to be pulled to make room for permanent teeth, there were multiple bathroom accidents, and two beestings within a few seconds. All in just these past few days. Ahh, the joys of parenthood.

  34. Ian April 20, 2011 at 9:42 am #

    Wow only you would post a picture of excrement on your blog. Kudos! Was there a buck 35 in nickles hidden in there.😉

  35. James Hernandez April 27, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    Jorge,

    Stacking your chips is a sign of talent!

  36. Norma May 14, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    I also have a chihuahua and when I walked into my kitchen yesterday I found a similar “Stonehenge” looking poo. The first thing I thought was “hey, that looks oddly familiar”.

    They are truly a gifted breed : )

  37. John May 30, 2011 at 7:31 pm #

    i wrote a poo song for my daughter…

    she thought it was great for about 3 days…and then?

    hmmmm…..not-so-much.

    anyway – tony romo got married and they had chocolates given to the guests…thought of you with the name of the chocolates:
    http://dudesweetchocolate.com/

    Peace – John

Leave a Reply

