Mote Con Huesillo

12 May

As the days have gotten warmer I found myself with a hankerin’ for Mote Con Huesillo. 

It’s essentially a summer “beverage” even though it definitely requires more than a straw.

It’s basically “mote” which is husked wheat,

“con” (with)

“huesillo” (dried peaches) that have been cooked with water, sugar and cinnamon.

It’s delicious. So the only place I know to get it in LA is here.

But last time I was there I saw this: And I got the idea to make up a batch myself.

I picked up some Trader Joe’s Dried White Peaches. Soaked them and cooked them. Using a recipe I got online. 

Turned out pretty delicious.  I especially like it for breakfast.

39 Responses to “Mote Con Huesillo”

  1. Slave Driver May 12, 2011 at 9:42 pm #

    I’ll have to take your word that it taste good. Frankly, it looks like a science experiment. An evil science experiment…

  2. LSE May 12, 2011 at 10:51 pm #

    Huh! I’ve never heard of this, I’ll have to look into it!

  3. Brad Johnson May 13, 2011 at 12:02 am #

    You should share the link to the recipe you used. I’d love to try this if I can get the stuff I need.

  4. mrcelofan May 13, 2011 at 12:24 am #

    Si dices que está bueno lo estará, seguro, pero parece algún tipo de organismo desconocido conservado en formol recién sacado del laboratorio de algún científico loco…

    Saludos.

  5. time for a trip to become the next Iron Chefetarian! (yeah yeah you figured out vegetarian chef already, but some folks will wonder if it’s an Irish Folk Band)

  6. Rafa acmewolf May 13, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    I really had not heard of this drink. I’ll try it when I have time.

  7. Joan Crawford May 13, 2011 at 5:36 am #

    It must be delicious because it looks like old meat floating on top with the Devil’s gallstones clustered around the bottom.

    • Jessica May 13, 2011 at 2:29 pm #

      thats freakin hilarious! I gagged a little when I saw it!

  8. Electricladee May 13, 2011 at 6:06 am #

    Whew! I thought the opening pic was that of a pig fetus in formaldehyde. I’m not sure I’m comforted by the fact that it’s a delicious drink. 

  9. Matt May 13, 2011 at 6:45 am #

    I believe you’ve just inspired a new homebrew (beer) for me to make. Apricot Wheat – I know it’s been done before but sounds like a delicious summer beer.

  10. Özer May 13, 2011 at 7:01 am #

    Hehehe, I found it suspicious too when I visited Santiago and didn’t tasted it. But now I am curious, I will check the recipe in a Chilean cookbook I have (my husband is part chilean, but he doesn’t like mote. But we love pisco sour and cola de mono!)

  11. bdestefani May 13, 2011 at 9:38 am #

    Thanks for this great recipe, Jorge! Chileans, ftw🙂
    If it’s as great as your Almond Milk recipe I know this will be delicious too. Mote con Huesillo is my favorite. I haven’t been able to find it here in NYC and have been debating whether to make it myself, but couldn’t find a recipe I liked.

  12. Car Title Loans May 13, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    You can find anything in Los Angeles if you really look for it. Is that store in the valley? It sounds like an interesting brew, and living in this heat, too; I think I’d like to give it a try!
    Ava

  13. David May 13, 2011 at 11:04 am #

    That pic at the bottom, it looks like the bottom of the jar is filled THE TAAAAALE OF CAPTAIN JACK SPARROW!!!!

    Sorry, I just can’t focus on anything or complete a thought since I heard that song.

  14. pamelalovescharlie May 13, 2011 at 11:11 am #

    Hmmm…I love peaches and cinnamon, but I’ve never heard of this and probably won’t have a chance to try it…I’m thinking I’ll stick with my raspberry lemonade🙂

  15. yellowdoggranny May 13, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    I love ya sweety, but I’m not eating or drinking anything that looks like a fetus.

  16. Liz May 13, 2011 at 1:01 pm #

    I was rewatching The Man Behind the Curtain last night and my friend and I were trying to figure out what was in the jars in Jacob’s cabin. But now I think it may be mote con huesillo.

  17. MARTA May 13, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Uaaaa Jorge parece como dicen algunos un feto en formol jajajajaj, pero como dice la frase,_: las apariencias engañan. seguro que está bueno.sure is good

  18. Pedro May 13, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Yo nunca he visto nada parecido. La verdad, no me parece que tiene una pinta muy apetecible pero si dices que esta muy bueno seguro que lo estará.

    Un saludo, Jorge.

  19. Sam G May 13, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Looks Mucho Yummy! Especially, ice cold.

  20. Jeff May 13, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    Wouldn’t it be easier just to spread some peach jam on a toasted slice of whole wheat bread?

  21. Gia May 13, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

    Hmmm… we don’t have anything like that in Mexico. Although in Mexico my relatives have been known to eat pickled pigs feet…

    Huesitos means “little bones” or pieces of bone, so I’m sure that refers to the appearance of the drink.

  22. renita wessel May 13, 2011 at 6:52 pm #

    do u drink it and eat the stuff in it too? i will have to try it. your so crafty when you want to be Jorge. Peace

  23. renita wessel May 13, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    do you drink it and eat it? i will have to try it. Peace

  24. Oliverde May 13, 2011 at 8:12 pm #

    Reminds me of Chile….

  25. thespotlightreport May 13, 2011 at 10:03 pm #

    How good is Mote con Huesillo looks disgusting for many people but is yummm, we are Chileans living in Australia!, come and visit us😉

  26. thespotlightreport May 13, 2011 at 10:06 pm #

    ahh! BTW JJ & Brian Burke are coming to Sydney to promote Super 8 so exciting!!!

  27. ikkinbot May 14, 2011 at 8:27 am #

    It does look like an evil science experiment. Evil can be delicious too though. You should definitely wear a lab coat when making it up.

  28. Lisa May 14, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    I love you Jorge, but that looks revolting! LOL~~ we’ll have to take your word for it : )

  29. Becky @TheVioletFig May 14, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    Hmmm. Looks like something I’d like. The wheat in the bottom remind me of Bobo Tea. Have you ever tried it? I love it with Lychee Jelly instead of the tapioca bubbles. mmmmm

  30. Melody May 15, 2011 at 10:11 am #

    I’m not going to lie, the second to last picture looks like some sort of body part from a mad scientist’s evil lair.

  31. Jeff May 15, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    Scully and Mulder might take an interest.

  32. Irish Girl May 15, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    …”a hankerin'”?

    Irish

  33. Goof May 15, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    😀 I saw this on Youtube and had to share it with you. It’s a spoof of that zombie video game you like.

  34. Gustavo Salinas May 16, 2011 at 9:19 pm #

    Hugo, cuando pases por Chile me avisas y te llevo al REY DEL MOTE CON HUESILLO.

    saludos de Chile

  35. Cindy May 17, 2011 at 1:20 pm #

    I love that you said ‘a hankerin’. I love that word. Please use Flabbergasted and Skedaddle next! lol
    Love you Jorge!

  36. Katherine May 17, 2011 at 1:39 pm #

    That stuff is yummy…my grandma used to make it for me.

  37. Sariel May 17, 2011 at 5:32 pm #

    Wow…!!! Mote con huesillos very cold is delicious. Very easy to prepare, healthy and yummie.

    Hugs from Chile!!!.

  38. hostelsandtours June 12, 2011 at 7:17 pm #

    Oh! Mote con huesillos! A must in Chilean Summer! We always recommend travellers to taste while they viist our country. You can find it in every corner, but in Santiago, there is a place called “El Rey del Mote con Huesillos” The KING of the Mote😉

Leave a Reply

