The Best Thing about JFK Airport

8 Jun

Is the fact that they have Ms. Pacman. Of course it costs a dollar to play but I figured I’d splurge. 

And I also learned that my skill level at Ms. Pacman has not changed whatsover. Since it came out thirty years ago the story is still the same for me. Once the dots turn red, it’s time to die.

29 Responses to “The Best Thing about JFK Airport”

  1. Dawn Kate June 8, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    I LOVE MS. PAC-MAN!

  2. Marilyn Kurtz Porter June 8, 2011 at 10:17 am #

    We have this same machine at our local movie theater! I was just looking at it the other day, thinking, “Man, the classics never die.”

  3. danajamesjones June 8, 2011 at 10:18 am #

    since when do airports have arcade games? i guess that why your blogging it haha

  4. Dawn Ramage June 8, 2011 at 10:24 am #

    If you are ever in Portland, OR, make sure you hit up Ground Kontrol (http://www.groundkontrol.com/). They have all the old time games…so fun!

  5. DANIEL ELCHE June 8, 2011 at 10:35 am #

    TODO UN CLASICO

  6. Lisa June 8, 2011 at 10:46 am #

    We picked up a pizza at the local Pizza Hut in Mission Viejo and lo and behold there was a Ms. Pacman there as well!

  7. Plume June 8, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Wow, there are still arcade machines out there in the world? I thought they’d be all gone now that kids all have their iPhones and wifis and androids and wiipads and so on.

  8. Lisa June 8, 2011 at 11:25 am #

    Get one of the plug ‘n play things and you can play at home all the time! They’re only $20 or so, unless you find it on sale somewhere. 🙂

    • Charli June 8, 2011 at 10:59 pm #

      i’m thinking about ordering an iCade off Thinkgeek for my ipad for Ms Pacman etc

  9. David June 8, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I love Ms. Pac Man, but given the choice on that machine, I would have chosen to play Galaga. I have a 30 year old, never changing strategy for that game as well. Get your first ship captured, get it back again, and spend the next 40 levels kicking alien butt with a double missle assault.

  10. Rafa acmewolf June 8, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    I remember when I finished the classes at College (public) I spent 25 “pesetas” (in Spain, aprox 1982), equivalent to 25 cents in dollars (quarter), at that time, for a game of Ms. Pac Man and, of course, the “Space Invaders” another coin, 25. LOL

  11. Jeff June 8, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    When I was a youth eons ago, my siblings and I were the first on the block with a home version of Pong. For a short while, we were extremely popular with all of the other kids in the neighborhood.

  12. Cathe B. Jones June 8, 2011 at 12:52 pm #

    I’m still trying to figure out why I keep failing at pong. PONG!? (am I the only one who beta tested it?)

  13. Cathe B. Jones June 8, 2011 at 12:59 pm #

    (ps.. thanks to the new set up here, I’m officially not the Comedic Author with Rat Training Tendencies, but back to being me…with rat training tendencies)

  14. BethS June 8, 2011 at 3:45 pm #

    Oh my gosh, I loved that game!!!!!! I also liked regular Pac Man, and Centipede!!! Wow, cool, I would have splurged too!

  15. MarnieB June 8, 2011 at 4:11 pm #

    I love that you are a big star and you still think about splurging a dollar on a video game. I didn’t buy chips at work today ’cause I have a $2 bag of tortilla chips at home and couldn’t see spending 75 cents for a little bag from vending.
    Love Ms.P, but I’m with David. I used the same strategy on Galaga.:-)

  16. James Hernandez June 8, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    Jorge,

    Dude they have the same game in the Tallahassee Florida Airport.

  17. Jeff June 8, 2011 at 8:30 pm #

    Look who’s driving: http://youtu.be/4sXMIUDlPAo

  18. MARTA June 8, 2011 at 10:25 pm #

    I love pacman! Que recuerdos, sobre los 13 -15 aÑos jugava mucho.

  19. Viajero June 8, 2011 at 11:41 pm #

    ¡Última tecnología!🙂

    ¿Cuanto tiempo llevará esa maquina ahi?

  20. Tyson Garst June 9, 2011 at 5:50 am #

    HAH! JORGE!! Belive this or not, but I used to stand on my mom’s back because I was not even tall enough to reach the controls (age 4 or 5) and I would get past the “red dots” levels so she was on the floor for quite a long time – what a mom won’t do for their kids!!! I did have a handheld one at home (early 80s) so I was excellent and addicted due to many hours of practice😀

  21. pamelalovescharlie June 9, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    LOVE LOVE LOVE those old games! You can buy a little Pac Man (and some others) game thingy….it is a little box with a joy stick and you just plug it into your tv….I think they are about $20. We still have ours somewhere. They are a little more fun than the tiny ones for the hand held systems but you are tethered to the television🙂 Still some old school fun!

  22. Lisa June 9, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Sorry for the off content comment Jorge, but I know how passionate you are about animals. Thought I’d pass this along about some laboratory beagles in LA being put up for adoption in case you wanted to write a post about it. Maybe one of your wonderful fans is in the area and interested. http://www.msnbc.msn.com/id/43335526/ns/local_news-los_angeles_ca/

  23. Donna Siano June 9, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    You are so funny! Thanks for all that your post. You really make my day.

  24. Cindy June 9, 2011 at 5:13 pm #

    I was addicted to Ms. Pacman in the 80s. I played it at summer camp and someone had sped it up.

    Now it’s $1 to play????

  25. Pedro June 10, 2011 at 10:03 am #

    Por muchos años que pasen el Pacman me sigue gustando tanto como en aquellos años.

  26. Tammie June 24, 2011 at 8:54 pm #

    They have the same game at my son’s orthodontist! I would not call it a free game because I do not have orthodontic coverage to help pay for his braces, but I can play while they are checking him out without putting any coins in it!

  27. davesnyd July 9, 2011 at 5:51 pm #

    Ms. Pac Man is only one of the many arcade games at the International Center for the History of Electronic Games:

    http://www.icheg.org/collections/arcade

  28. Kanadka January 18, 2012 at 2:13 pm #

    Well, I just discovered all your blogs today, Jorge. Needless to say, I’ve done nothing at work today!!

Leave a Reply

