Comic Con 2011

30 Jul

Man! It’s been almost 20 days!

I’ve had a pretty busy last few weeks. As I write this I’m in Coos Bay en route to Vanouver (more on this later).

Thought I share a few Comic Con highlights:

This is a tote bag embroidered with  my face that a fan brought to a signing I did at Nerd HQ.

At the same signing I saw a dude with this shirt on. Whoever drew this really didn’t have much perspective. I mean I’m shorter than Claire in this picture.

I got a kick out of this reminder printed on the back of our name cards at the TV Guide panel. “Keep it clean folks!”

Something you may not know about a life in Showbiz: You see a lot of loading docks and smell a lot of garbage. Pretty glamorous huh?

But the best part of weekend was seeing a tuckered out Batman catching a ride on a rickshaw. Followed by Robin and Harley Quinn on foot.

Could not have made that up.

 

29 Responses to “Comic Con 2011”

  1. Chris Dornan July 30, 2011 at 10:21 pm #

    Awesome.hope the road is being kind to you guys. hey, my wife and I just got our LOST box set book back in the mail that you autographed. Thank you for that, you are so very busy, and yet to take that time made our YEAR! Alooooooooha !

  2. Kathyann July 30, 2011 at 10:44 pm #

    Looks like an awesome time!

  3. IslandPearl July 30, 2011 at 11:12 pm #

    Very funny! Batman in a rickshaw.

    I just got back from Ireland, and thought of the pics you posted of your trip there a couple of years ago. I, too, will have to wait for another try to get to Giant’s Causeway, but we had a grand time exploring the southern parts of Ireland. Daughter lives in Scotland, so she got the driving chore. Yay! I’ve posted some photos over at my blog pearlstuff at blogspot, if you’re interested…

  4. Claudia July 31, 2011 at 2:31 am #

    Missed you!
    Love the post, cracked up with Batman in the rickshaw and also the tee shirt with short Hurley. Too much. The tote bag is super cool.🙂

  5. LSE July 31, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    Comic Con sounded like such fun this year!

    I love that Batman with his ride, that has to be better than the Batmobile.

  6. janis gonzalez July 31, 2011 at 5:13 am #

    too funny!
    HAve a wonderful time in Vanouver~

  7. April July 31, 2011 at 5:30 am #

    Saw you at the Alcatraz signing. Sad I didn’t get to have my picture with you. Cant wait for the show to begin!

  8. Emily Drew July 31, 2011 at 5:55 am #

    Thank you so much for sharing! I think I may love that tote.😀

  9. Jeff July 31, 2011 at 6:33 am #

    As a former restaurant supply delivery person, I really got to know the “glamour” of the loading docks, garbage areas and back hallways of the Mall of America not far from my home. Reality holds many fascinating views for those who dare to take a peak behind the velvet curtain.

  10. Rachel July 31, 2011 at 7:38 am #

    Ah, Coos Bay. The Mother Ship. Say ‘hi’ to my mom & dad for me!🙂 And have a wonderful time in Vancouver. What a gorgeous place!

  11. pamelalovescharlie July 31, 2011 at 10:29 am #

    As much as I love living in the Midwest and experiencing all 4 seasons…sometimes I think we miss out on a lot of the fun events and mingling with “the stars”! Thanks for the updates, it looks like it was a great time! And I LOVE the tote bag🙂

  12. Lurkertype July 31, 2011 at 11:41 am #

    I’m super-excited that you’re heading to Van b/c that means you’ll be working on something I can see on my TV! (Though I really wish it was actually shot in San Fran so I could maybe see you IRL! Stupid economy.)

  13. Bonnie July 31, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    Comic Con 2011 was crazy! Loved seeing you at the Nerdulation Panel! Everyone was so funny! Thanks again for signing my Hurley shirt!

  14. melmelly July 31, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Coos Bay?!?! Oh man! You drove right thru Brookings! You have some huge Hurley fans that are 7 and 4 years old here. Safe travels to Vancouver, BC! 🙂

  15. Ade July 31, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    I have that same shirt! I always get compliments on it, too. LOL, it’s a great way to attract your fellow LOST fans.

  16. Miss Scarlett July 31, 2011 at 9:54 pm #

    Love Batman in a rickshaw! Thanks for sharing that. ;-D

    Coos Bay is lovely! and funnily enough we were just trying to remember the name of the Oregon seaside town where my Mom got locked in a shop.

    True story – and my worrier Aunt had us carry walkie talkies on that trip in case we got “seperated”.
    Good thing my Mom had one or who knows how long she would have been wandering the aisles of that tiny giftshop.

    You’ll be in Vancouver?!

    Are you relocating here?
    That would be great – it’s a beautiful city and riots aside, we’re a friendly lot.

  17. cuinxlifebro August 1, 2011 at 12:07 am #

    Hey Jorge, just wanted to say thanks again for the pic as you arrived outside Nerd HQ (it’s now my twitter icon). The ‘friends’ convo was great fun, especially when you “fell asleep” when the guy who DID fall asleep asked a question. Looking forward to hearing more about the possibility of an Alcatraz ‘cast with Bethany.

    Thanks also for signing my now treasured LOST/Star Wars bag http://twitpic.com/5u9lw1 This will never, EVER, end up on eBay, btw. Giacchino & Lindelof added their names at the EW panel, which you would have got a kick out of. Carlton struggling to change out of the ‘trooper kit was hilarious to watch.

  18. Tena Lynn August 1, 2011 at 5:35 am #

    We missed you! Glad you are enjoying the journey~~~

  19. Rafa acmewolf August 1, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    I followed closely the Comic-Con this year and I think it was the best. Thanks for sharing Jorge.

  20. Rafa acmewolf August 1, 2011 at 5:43 am #

    By the way, I hope “Alcatraz” is a success. I look forward to the premiere.
    A hug.

  21. JC August 1, 2011 at 5:52 am #

    Jorge – seeing all of those people makes me cringe a bit…that’s a lot of people…that’s a lot of people to see live (or potentially see live)…in one place…at one time…

    That might be a 4 XANAX event for me…so, I’ll live vicariously through you/your fotos. 🙂

    WHEW!

    Safe travels to Canada.🙂

  22. Jessie August 2, 2011 at 6:48 pm #

    AWESOME! Thanks for the chuckle.

  23. Jeff August 4, 2011 at 4:21 am #

    Dog hams it up for the camera: http://www.wimp.com/puppyplaying/

  24. MARTA(BcN) August 4, 2011 at 9:06 am #

    missed you!!!! se hechaban de menos tus post, espero que el viaje a vancouver haya ido genial, un abrazo muy fuerte!!!!

  25. devonellington August 5, 2011 at 12:30 pm #

    Loading docks, garbage, and don’t forget all the fast food in the cab of the truck! Or maybe that’s just us on the crew!

    Hope you had a blast at ComicCon. One of these days, I hope to get there –with one of my projects!

  26. nitou13 August 6, 2011 at 10:47 am #

    For the first time in my life, I was at the comic con on Saturday and Sunday. That was a lot of fun. I attended the “alcatraz” panel. The pilot was AWESOME, you were really good as Dr. Soto and I can’t wait to see the rest of the season. Looks like you had a lot of fun too. Thanks for sharing !😉

  27. RobPerrin August 8, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    Saw you at the Friends of the Nerdolution panel and thought you were great — funny and affable even though you must have been HOT up there. I noticed the following day for Monaghan’s set that it was cooler and they had a towel & 2 bottles of water for Dom. Thanks for signing the “3 Dudes” pic of me and my two kids; they got a big kick out of it when I got back home. Hope Canada is treating you well.

  28. kraftypixie August 11, 2011 at 3:08 pm #

    I have that shirt as well! Is it really true or a joke that Beth might be on Alcatraz? How would she find time to write? Who would watch the fur-kids??? Inquiring minds want to know!!!

  29. Mighty Morfin August 15, 2011 at 5:30 pm #

    That’s too funny…the pictures of Batman, Robin & Harli!!! What? Batman couldn’t afford to get a rickshaw for the others? Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha! Ha!

Leave a Reply

