Ready for the Road Trip

4 Aug

So we picked up some special car tested harnesses for the babies to buckle them into the seat belt for long trip to Vancouver. Smidge complained at first. But they ended up travelling well. Except when Pip figured out how to wiggle out of her harness on the last leg.

28 Responses to “Ready for the Road Trip”

  1. Debbie Johnson August 4, 2011 at 9:57 pm #

    Love the last photo; they are very lucky, darling pups.

  2. Debbie M. August 4, 2011 at 10:17 pm #

    OMG, how cute! Glad you had them buckled up and everyone arrived safely.

  3. Sam Grant August 4, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    Aw, such cute babies.

  4. mrcelofan August 5, 2011 at 12:30 am #

    Viajar con niños pequeños siempre es complicado.

    Aunque tengo la sensacion de que el arnés es muy aparatoso e incómodo.

    En lugar de un viaje en coche parece que vayan a subir el Everest.

    Saludos.

  5. Claudia August 5, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    These pictures are SO CUTE!!! I am grinning from ear to ear and it isn’t even 5AM yet!!!!
    Can’t wait for the next post!!!!

  6. Antónia August 5, 2011 at 1:59 am #

    Come to Açores!

  7. MARTA(BcN) August 5, 2011 at 5:10 am #

    Awwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwwww so cute!!!! pero que perritos mas bonitos!!! Jorge suerte en tu nueva aventura y en tu nuevo hogar, un abrazo!

  8. Tena Lynn August 5, 2011 at 5:54 am #

    Isn’t she the one always trying to get out of her clothes? WHAT are you going to DO with her??!! LOL!

    Cute little baby girls.🙂

  9. Kathyann August 5, 2011 at 6:58 am #

    Awww, that is just precious. LOL about him wiggling out. Awesome way to travel with tiny babies, though. I have a Chihuahua myself.

  10. BethS August 5, 2011 at 8:28 am #

    They are so adorable! Glad they’re traveling safely, but yes, they can be little Houdini’s when you try to constrain them, even when it is for their own good.

    BTW..thank you for the autograph! You signed my picture of my winning lottery ticket with “Hurley’s” numbers! My daughter was thrilled!!! She loved how you wrote, “Stop, Wait, the #’s are bad?” LOL

  11. Sandy August 5, 2011 at 8:43 am #

    Ahhh! Brought back good memories. Mini-dachshund (Kelly)…traveled with me everywhere. Miss her.❤ Good luck in Vancouver…really looking forward to the new show…and hearing about your adventures.🙂

  12. kathy August 5, 2011 at 9:15 am #

    Too cute! 🙂

  13. Ellery August 5, 2011 at 9:59 am #

    Hey Jorge,

    Got the signed pic for myself and dog, Hurley! Thanks much!

  14. kake79 August 5, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Glad you all arrived safely. I hope you enjoy your new home. Keep us posted on filming and all the good stuff going on for your new show.

    P.S. My dog has the same issue with a car harness; he figured out pretty quickly how to get his front legs out of it.

  15. Jennifer Davis August 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    The cuteness is out of control! It cannot be harnessed.

    • Jennifer Davis August 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

      Oh yah, also welcome to the Northwest! I hope you like gray skies….

  16. devonellington August 5, 2011 at 12:27 pm #

    They are soooo cute!

    And I just added a four month old black kitten named Tessa to our household, along with the two Russian Blues (who are now 11 — where does the time go?)

    Have a great trip!

  17. Danny August 5, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Jorge! Saw you at the Pike Place Market on Wednesday. We were shoulder to shoulder but I just couldn’t bring myself to say hey…especially in the market…it’s so crowded! Anyway, good luck with “Alcatraz” and enjoy the rest of your trip.

  18. Jeff August 5, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    Thanks for the idea. I’m going to start looking for a way to keep my dog safer when he is with me in the car, even though he may not like it.

  19. pamelalovescharlie August 5, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Aww…so adorable!!! I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how Pip’s ears stayed floppy…she has such a sweet baby face! My chi (Charlie) wants to go in the car with us, but then he shakes and whines and sounds miserable…crazy dog🙂 I was wondering if the girls were riding with you and Beth.

  20. Kali August 5, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    Enjoy Vancouver and welcome to Canada Jorge! I’m a Victoria, BC girl myself so I hope you like it out here.

  21. nitou13 August 6, 2011 at 10:49 am #

    Your dogs are too cute. Hope you and Bethany enjoy Vancouver. I heard it was a great city.😉

  22. Robyn Ciaburri August 6, 2011 at 1:00 pm #

    Yes the car gear don’t work. When your dogs are too smart and get out. Spanky is a pro! the little dogs get out!!!!!!!! becareful,safe trip,love you guys. let us no your arrived. xxx000000 Robyn and Spanky boy

  23. Margie August 6, 2011 at 2:15 pm #

    I know it’s been said time and time again, but they are just so darned cute.

  24. Pedro August 6, 2011 at 2:16 pm #

    Que perritos mas adorables!. Que tengas buen viaje y muy buena suerte en tu nueva aventura en Vancouver.
    Por cierto, que no se me olvide, muchisimas gracias por la foto firmada que me has enviado.
    Un abrazo.

  25. llisa August 8, 2011 at 1:35 pm #

    I run an Independence pet shop for dogs and cats (no animals… just neat stuff) and we sell a great car seat that can help you (next trip).
    It’s at snoozerpetproducts.com and it’s called “The Lookout”. There are several sizes and your 2 kids could share 1 car seat. It will work with your vests too. Once the doggies can safely see out the window they almost always calm down and enjoy the ride.
    Hope you, Bethany and the kids arrive to your new GWN home safely!
    ENJOY!
    (Can hardly wait for you to be back on TV🙂

  26. american thighs August 9, 2011 at 12:49 pm #

    I love it when you do Puppy Updates!! I’m *this close* to adopting my first ever dog after months of fostering, hopefully my Chi will be as cute as yours have all been🙂

  27. kraftypixie August 11, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    I was wondering how well those car harnesses work & now I know. If you dog can wiggle out, mine definitely would. I use a harness to walk her, rather than a collar. I can’t remember where I got it, but you only have to clip one clip (it’s kind of like a figure 8 with the part that goes around the neck crossing in the middle where there is a plastic piece & then the sides hang down & you bring it together & click it under or on the side)- the ones w/multiple buckles & straps were too complicated to me. I have her wear that & tie her leash to the headrest post. She’s a yorkie-chi & was a very nervous car traveler at first. Now it’s old hat. She rides on a big blue cushion as well & when we stop, she does what I call her ‘meercat’ & stands on her hind legs to get a better view- it’s great to see peoples faces when they see her!

Leave a Reply

