Redwoods Do Impress

11 Aug

So part of the drive to Canada included passing through the Redwood Forest.

We saw all of the novelty trees.

The Drive-thru Tree. (But we had too much stuff on top of the car to drive through it.)

The Tree House (literally).

and The Grandfather Tree.

But nothing was as awe-inspiring as driving through the forest itself. I recommend the trip if you can ever take it.

31 Responses to “Redwoods Do Impress”

  1. Debbie De Geus August 11, 2011 at 8:00 pm #

    You were in my home county! I tell all of my friends that they NEED to go to see the Redwoods, its something everyone should see. Now when I see trees on the east coast, I think that they are just sticks in the ground!

  2. Cheryl August 11, 2011 at 8:07 pm #

    When we cycled the OR coast to San Francisco, we rode through that area and got the same pictures! Too funny, and yes, we agree, is a must see stop! Glad to see u r smelling the roses along the route….

  3. Debbie M. August 11, 2011 at 8:09 pm #

    Wow, that tree house must be very small inside. If it was in NYC it would probably rent for $1000 a month at least🙂 Sounds like you’re having a nice trip.

    • Brook August 12, 2011 at 8:09 am #

      It is probably $2000 a month considering where it is in California.

  4. eef August 11, 2011 at 8:37 pm #

    ahh, looks like fun! i really want to see some giant trees!

  5. Tamara August 11, 2011 at 8:44 pm #

    Hey, you were in my neighborhood! Glad you enjoyed yourself.🙂

  6. Ratmando August 11, 2011 at 9:01 pm #

    So cool to see these- where are the doglettes? Is beth hiding in the tree? So glad to see trees- I miss them. In vegas, the trees and grass are stucco. (rhymes with Yukko) On the X-files, the best fun was driving to sites and seeing grass, trees, ocean.. oh man, jealous of YOU! Get to Banff!!🙂

  7. Donna Siano August 11, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Wow it looks like you guys are having fun. Thanks for the update.

  8. LSE August 11, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    I always wanted to see these! Someday, someday.

  9. Pedro August 11, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    Aqui en España no tenemos esa especie de arbol. Siempre me han llamado la atención y tengo muchas ganas de ir a verlos a tu país y visitar in situ las sequoyas gigates. Algún año de estos a ver si consigo ir por alli. Bonitas fotos Jorge. Un saludo.

  10. Claudia August 12, 2011 at 1:49 am #

    It looks just beautiful!
    Thanks for sharing.

  11. David August 12, 2011 at 4:16 am #

    The tree house reminds me of that scene in The Princess Bride where they found Wesley by triggering the door in the bottom of the tree trunk. And also Winnie The Pooh’s house.

  12. Uncle Walts Niece August 12, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    That was our favorite part about our drive to Canada — The Redwoods are so awesome! We saw them on our way home because we decided to do the coast drive DOWN back to L.A. — It was extra treacherous because we were cliffside the entire time !!! 😮

    We rented a convertible Mustang with NO trunk space so all our stuff rode in the back seat…I see your back seat was filled too!

    (We called it Cooch Bay…) lol —

    Have a terrific time up there…looking forward to the updates!

    P.S. – Thank you for being SO awesome !!!

  13. jennY August 12, 2011 at 8:13 am #

    yes its so amazing how “big” and old these trees are! 🙂

  14. LorieK August 12, 2011 at 9:48 am #

    I love the California redwoods! If you’re ever in Melbourne Australia it’s worth a trip to see the giant eucalyptus too. http://isaac.org.au/info/bigtrees.htm

  15. Jeff August 12, 2011 at 10:45 am #

    I believe that one of the Star Wars films was shot there.

  16. MARTA(BcN) August 12, 2011 at 11:03 am #

    is awesome! Jorge ya nos han llegado tus fotos firmadas en Barcelona, muuuuuuuuuuuchisimas gracias!!!!!!! Im so happy!!;)
    good luck in your new life in canada!

  17. Lyn C August 12, 2011 at 12:09 pm #

    Jorge here in the UK we have a range of vegan foods called Redwoods and I got very excited thinking you had discovered them!! It was nice seeing your Redwoods, but I think you’d be impressed with ours too😀

  18. James Hernandez August 12, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Jorge,

    Will do! Glad you posted those awesome photos. Made my day!

  19. .Hollywould. August 12, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    This is my dream vacation someday! So glad you got to soak in the beauty of it!

  20. Jacque Sue Roycroft August 12, 2011 at 3:04 pm #

    my favorite story about my middle kid who was about 4 when we went thru the red woods..we got out and were walking around and he was just amazed..my oldest son was about 6 was a little more jaded..but Thom..wow..he laid down on the ground and and just looked up at the trees for a long time and then i head his little voice..full of awe…
    ‘HOLY SHIT.’…yup..that’s my boy.

  21. leendadll August 12, 2011 at 3:34 pm #

    I loooove the redwoods! If you find yourself in the area of Crescent City/Eureka, I HIGHLY recommend dining at The Samoa Cookhouse!! It’s a former logging camp that was turned into a restaurant and serves meals “loghouse style”. The bread and blackberry jam are AMAZING.

    Another good adventure is the mail boats on the Rogue River, in Oregon!!

  22. janis gonzalez August 12, 2011 at 5:10 pm #

    Jorge~ these are great! So good to hear that young people like yourself, enjoy such beauty.
    Im sure it was awe-inspiring♥

  23. Marta August 14, 2011 at 11:52 am #

    Enormous the trees😛 I would like to see them close by

  24. Carrie August 14, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

    You must have taken 101 through Eureka- that goes through 3 blocks from my house! Definitely try Samoa Cookhouse on your next trip through – it’s great!
    My husband and I saw you and your posse two years ago at Disneyland, but didn’t bug you. You were wearing a hat. We were about to board Mulholland Madness and were pointing out famous people lookalikes and I looked up and saw you! Kinda felt like a sign from my brother who had passed earlier that year – we always watched LOST with him and you were his favorite (he was very Hurley-like!) It made my heart very happy.
    Anyway, we’ll be there again in a couple of weeks for my husband to present some research at a pediatrics convention and are so bummed – it looks like we have no chance of another Jorge sighting!

  25. Kathy August 15, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    So glad you are sharing your trip with us. Still a huge fan and can’t wait for the new show to come on. You just feel like an old friend and get so much happiness from everything you share.

    Love the babies and hope they will be happy in Canada.

  26. Mighty Morfin August 15, 2011 at 5:38 pm #

    Awe dude! Those pictures are awesome! If you ever get a chance, try visiting the Sequoia National Park! It will blow your mind away as to how big these trees are!! Also how sad that there’s only a few remaining. But at least we did save those few. Glad you guys are enjoying your trip!!

  27. Mimi August 15, 2011 at 8:27 pm #

    The hubs and I drove that route after (or as part of) our honeymoon on our way up to Victoria, B.C., where my husband is from. Such a lovely drive! Those huge trees are phenomenal, no? Safe travels!

  28. devonellington August 20, 2011 at 12:14 pm #

    When I lived in San Francisco, I went out to the redwoods as often as I could. I loved them. There’s nothing like them in the world.

    I think I was a tree in a previous life. Or maybe a dryad! 😉

  29. Patty August 21, 2011 at 1:48 pm #

    I think I posed inside that same tree about 36 years ago!! Mother Nature is the great equalizer, isn’t she?!

  30. Tammie August 24, 2011 at 7:22 pm #

    All that is missing from the tree house is a sign that says ‘Trespassers Will’. Which, of course, Piglet would tell you is short for Tresspassers William. Which was his grandfather’s name.

Leave a Reply

