Portland: Our Favorite

18 Aug

Our favorite stop of the trip was probably Portland. For one thing we stayed at a real hotel

(although unloading the car in front of a crowd was a bit of a nightmare). But the staff were really great there. And I saw Bill Walton and Charles Barkley in the lobby. They were there for the Brian Grant Foundation Golf Tournament which can explain why the place was so busy.

While in Portland everyone said to go here. 

They had a crazy long line so while my mom and I headed back to the hotel, Beth went in for reconnaissance.

She returned with a vegan dozen which we tested like a box of chocolates (a bite here, a bite there).

The novel designs were very impressive.

But jelly is still my favorite.

43 Responses to “Portland: Our Favorite”

  1. Nicole August 18, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Great, now I want a doughnut.

  2. Pedro August 18, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Que pinta mas buena tienen esos pastelitos. Yo tambien quiero unooooooooooooo!. Seguro que estan riquisimos. Buen provecho Jorge!.

    • DivaJean August 18, 2011 at 10:57 am #

      I’ve seen this place featured on the Travel Channel/food shows. I think I saw that they had people shaped doughnuts (the regular glazed kind) that were made to look like voodoo dolls.

      Definately a destination spot should I ever get to Portland in this lifetime.

  3. Ducky August 18, 2011 at 10:08 am #

    I saw the doughnut place on Food Network – did you get a Pepto Bismol doughnut?

  4. Laura August 18, 2011 at 11:09 am #

    So you didn’t get the bacon maple donut?

  5. thoughtsappear August 18, 2011 at 11:13 am #

    Mmmm…doughnuts…. (Did that sound like Homer Simpson? It was supposed to.)

    I’ve heard good things about Voodoo Doughnuts!

  6. n632cm August 18, 2011 at 11:21 am #

    Any other recommendations in Portland? I leave in 1 week for my first visit…looking forward to these doughnuts…

  7. Kim August 18, 2011 at 11:28 am #

    I saw that place on Anthony Bourdain’s show. He ate one that had bacon on it. They have some funky looking donuts. They even had some topped with frosting turds. Mmm.

  8. Jake Brownson August 18, 2011 at 11:53 am #

    Glad you enjoyed our fine city!

  9. Henry Wasserman August 18, 2011 at 11:55 am #

    The good life!

  10. Lisa August 18, 2011 at 12:04 pm #

    Jelly are my favorites too! It looked really really yummy!

  11. Kat August 18, 2011 at 12:18 pm #

    My office did the lighting design for that hotel (The Nines)! Hope you liked it!

  12. eef August 18, 2011 at 12:24 pm #

    Voodoo Doughnut! I just went there as well! My doughnuts: http://www.flickr.com/photos/eef-ink/6049654301/in/photostream

    haha =]

  13. Donna Siano August 18, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Wow it looks like your having a great time while on the road. Take more pictures of you and Beth. Oh and of your mom and your 4 legged kids. I’m still sorry you left California. You guys be safe. Donna

  14. Deborah August 18, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

    If you spot Charles again, be sure to yell out “War Eagle” to him. It will take him back to college.

  15. Jeff August 18, 2011 at 2:48 pm #

    If Alcatraz doesn’t work out, you could do your own travel show on the travel channel. You can call it “Jorge’s America” and you will be known as the Charles Kuralt of the 21st century.

  16. marie August 18, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    des doughnuts vegan!!! comme ils ont l’air bon!! je suis végétarienne et très gourmande, malheureusement en France c’est très difficile de trouver de la nourriture vegan…vous avez de la chance!

    I don’t speak english very well but I’m going to try to translate my comment: vegan doughnuts!!! they seem to be delicious!! I’m a vegetarian girl and I’m very gourmand, unfortunately in France it’s very difficult to find vegan food… you are lucky!

    bye!

  17. suggestivetongue August 18, 2011 at 4:37 pm #

    Sad I missed you while you were in town. That would have been the run in of my life. Glad you enjoyed Voodoo… and your time here🙂

  18. Uncle Walts Niece August 18, 2011 at 5:14 pm #

    I should’ve known that Portland would be your favorite stop…

    • Teresa Avalon August 21, 2011 at 1:12 am #

      Everything from Portlandia up is great, well, until you get past Vancouver, but Vancouver rocks. Not like Hawaii, but it’s a cool city.

  19. kake79 August 18, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

    But the question is, did The Nines have bottle openers in the bathroom?

  20. Aaron Edwards August 18, 2011 at 7:32 pm #

    Next time try the Voodoo Donuts on Sandy. A little bit of a walk, but no line!

  21. Rob Paine August 18, 2011 at 7:47 pm #

    It’s my favorite too! I live in Spokane but go there a few times a few times a year to hang out with friends and eat tons of food.

  22. Ratmando August 18, 2011 at 9:13 pm #

    now Now in hunger. for doughnuts thanks.

  23. MARTA(BcN) August 18, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    awwwwwwwwwwww que buena pinta!!! I want it!!

  24. Claudia August 19, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    OMG those donuts look divine!!!!
    WOW is about all I can say.
    Did they taste as good as they looked????

  25. LSE August 19, 2011 at 3:06 am #

    Omg, those donuts are INTENSE! I am also super impressed they are all vegan. My heart stops just looking at that first one. Yum, yum!

  26. Heather August 19, 2011 at 8:22 am #

    I loved Voodoo Doughnuts when I visited…did you go to Powell’s books yet? And there if a fantastic chocolate tasting place too. YUM!

  27. Mimi August 19, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    Ever had Tim Horton’s doughnuts? Mmmmm, you’ll have to have some when you get to Vancouver! Yummo!

    • maria paterson (@modmodmama) August 22, 2011 at 9:35 am #

      Oh dear… Tim Horton’s is no comparison to a Voodoo! (esp since they’ve stopped making them fresh).

      If you feel like hitting up stateside again though, not too far across the border is a place called Rocket Doughnuts, which makes a mean one. The maple bacon is incredibly popular!

  28. Becky August 19, 2011 at 3:22 pm #

    Jelly is my favorite too!

  29. Jacque Sue Roycroft August 19, 2011 at 8:59 pm #

    what the hell is a vegan dozen?

    • Jeff August 20, 2011 at 6:46 am #

      Made without animal products…such as milk and eggs.

  30. shutupmeg August 20, 2011 at 12:12 am #

    i think you and i went on the same vacation this year. voodoo donuts are amazing and i’ve been craving it since i left. … and that was the only thing i liked about portland.

  31. devonellington August 20, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    Good stuff — in every sense of the word!

  32. Marta August 20, 2011 at 3:30 pm #

    I ♥ donuts…but I ve never seen those ones :9

  33. maki August 20, 2011 at 8:13 pm #

    It makes my mouth water. Have a nice trip!!

  34. Teresa Avalon August 21, 2011 at 1:08 am #

    You found Voodoo donuts. The best of Portland, I’ve heard. I, of course, went to their website to see if they had gluten free. Alas, no.

  35. llisa August 22, 2011 at 1:40 pm #

    I hate doughnuts… they are soooo gross!

    Bbhahahahahahaha…. yea right,
    OMG they look delish!
    GIMMIE THAT BOX RIGHT NOW!!! MMmmmmm,,,,

  36. jennY August 23, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    wow those things look frigfing delish!!! and they are Vegan!!! Dude!

  37. Mary August 24, 2011 at 7:42 am #

    Those look amazing! I’ve always wanted to try Voodoo Doughnuts but sadly I’m too far away😦

  38. mk August 28, 2011 at 10:25 am #

    I heart Portland!!! I was in Portland at the end of July. The bacon maple donuts at Voo Doo are the best!!!

  39. Junni September 5, 2011 at 7:26 pm #

    I saw you at the farmer’s market in Pioneer Square and that this moment of… do I go say hi? What if it’s not him. No, it’s totally him. But no one else is bugging him, so I don’t want to be THAT girl. 🙂 Glad you enjoyed our fine city, come back any time.

Leave a Reply

