Washington: the State, the Freeway Signs

24 Aug

We went through Washington and stayed in Seattle.

A cool thing about Washington state is the freeways numbers on the signs are in George Washington heads. (Later in Canada we’ll find them all in maple leafs.)

We saw the Space Needle. But driving through Seattle was a challenge. The way the blocks are cut diagonally by thoroughfares resulted in us having to make an inordinate number of hairpin turns to get where the GPS wanted us to go.

Something else I noticed that appears to be a trend of most motels now is a windowed shower curtain. It’s been fifty years since Psycho and we finally  have one last line of defense before getting stabbed in the shower.

34 Responses to “Washington: the State, the Freeway Signs”

  1. Debbie M. August 24, 2011 at 9:55 am #

    LOL, if someone had come out with windowed shower curtains 50 years ago they would have made a bundle.

  2. Kat August 24, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I live in Redmond, Wa and I just came back from visiting my parents in Spokane, Wa and I thought the same thing about the hotel shower curtain!

  3. Ratmando August 24, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Yeah, I so want to read any travelogue table book you write.. with the bakery items on each one! Our Monty-chihuahua wants to meet your kids… if you ever get to Vegas, they have a place to crash. (We have to find an shower curtain with a window, first)

  4. Sam Grant August 24, 2011 at 10:16 am #

    Like the Psycho Shower Curtains.

  5. Henry Wasserman August 24, 2011 at 10:26 am #

    There’s always one more line of defense. Call on Jesus!

  6. yogahz August 24, 2011 at 11:00 am #

    Mukilteo is my city🙂

  7. WanderChow August 24, 2011 at 11:37 am #

    That is one of the major things I don’t miss about Seattle (having moved July 1 to San Diego): “you can’t get there from here.” The roads are terrible, all the bottlenecks and bridges and bizarro intersections. It always made Portland seem so civilized. Vancouver seems far tidier also. And, San Diego is now very easy to get around. Enjoy your time in the NW! You’ll get a kick out of Granville Island, Stanley Park, and if you have time, the Gulf Islands and Victoria.

    • Teresa Avalon September 3, 2011 at 5:45 pm #

      Not only that, but downtown, especially, is famous for putting signage in wrong places. For instance, there is one that tells you to turn left to get to I5 interchange but what it really means is wait for two blocks and then do that left. I learned that one by trial and error and when I showed it to a visitor, he was highly amused. I also hate the way the label freeway entrances as just “freeway”. We have three major freeways so that signage is ubiquitous but just not quite as helpful to the newcomer as they might imagine. And yeah, downtown not being a square is a bitch kitty.

      Now that I’ve griped about the signage, I love my almost home (I live just outside Seattle – apparently “you can’t get there from here”) and I wouldn’t trade it for anything. Well, anything but Portland or Vancouver.

  8. Maureen B. Keane August 24, 2011 at 11:43 am #

    Yay Mukilteo by the Bay! My town too. Not that there’s much of anything to see here. We do have a nice lighthouse. And, of course, the ferry.

    “But driving through Seattle was a challenge.”
    LOL Now that is an understatement!

  9. Cathy Akers-Jordan August 24, 2011 at 12:13 pm #

    My father-in-law would love that shower curtain! Like so many other people, he was scarred for life by watching Psycho.

  10. Will U August 24, 2011 at 12:51 pm #

    Did you take that picture of the space needle? That halo looking thing around it looks pretty cool.

  11. Colleen Oakes August 24, 2011 at 2:13 pm #

    If you have time, make sure to drive up north to Olympic Penninsula and visit Lake Crescent and the Hoh Rain Forest. Also, Forks is fun🙂 It was the BEST part of our trip to Washington, and we’ve heard that from almost everyone. It’s just so stunningly beautiful and weird out there.

  12. Donna Siano August 24, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    How cool is that! Seeing you in the shower. I give that picture a 10+. You guys are cool. Its nice to be part of your fan club. Still miss you in California. Thanks for making me laugh. Donna

  13. Dave Thompson August 24, 2011 at 4:16 pm #

    One thing I loved about Washington State – free coffee and cookies at all the rest stops. It’s not always gourmet, but it’s free.

    Citizens of Washington, I salute you!

  14. Becky August 24, 2011 at 4:46 pm #

    I love the shower pic!

  15. Alix White August 24, 2011 at 4:59 pm #

    when I first moved to Washington those heads freaked me out.

    • Teresa Avalon September 3, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      Yeah, it’s funny, I don’t even notice the difference any more.

  16. pamelalovescharlie August 24, 2011 at 5:16 pm #

    LOL…for some reason the shower pic made me think of the creepy Burger King guy….I can picture that nasty King creeping on someone in the bathroom ;D

  17. Jessica August 24, 2011 at 5:57 pm #

    BA HAAA HAAAAAAA Thats hilarious……I too thought of the creepy burger king guy that just pops up.

  18. Jypsycat August 24, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Hmmm. We have those same shower curtains in my LA Fitness gym here in Texas. Think about that for a while…

  19. Brett from Oz August 24, 2011 at 6:44 pm #

    Watch out Beth if you start resembling Janet Leigh more and Jorge starts wearing his moms clothes and a wig around the house!

  20. Tammie August 24, 2011 at 6:58 pm #

    I would so stay at any Motel/Hotel that had the humor to use that as a part of a promotional campaign! “Psycho safe showers!”

  21. Jeff August 24, 2011 at 7:39 pm #

    Awesome photo of the Space Needle! I dined in a restaurant at the top of it back in 1978. I think the restaurant is still up in there.

  22. mrcelofan August 24, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    Muy bueno lo de la cortina del baño !!!!

    Saludos !

  23. Bill August 24, 2011 at 11:15 pm #

    It’s nice to see you’re not blowing all the bucks you earned from LOST on expensive hotels.

  24. Claudia August 25, 2011 at 1:40 am #

    You are a total riot and absolutely crack me up~~~~
    I just love your take on things.
    Thanks for the giggles.

  25. MARTA(BcN) August 25, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    hahahah I love it!!! me encanta!

  26. Jennifer August 25, 2011 at 2:58 pm #

    Shower curtain. Hysterical.

  27. BusDriverDave August 25, 2011 at 6:31 pm #

    I saw psycho for the first time when I was about 8 years old. I took a bath every day for three years because I was afraid to close the curtain. Thanks for bringing back that awesome memory!

  28. Miss Scarlett August 25, 2011 at 8:55 pm #

    I love it — one last line of defense…

    I thought perhaps you were going to comment on the road signs that are funnily aggressive (and usually rhyming) they are one of my favourite things when camping along the Washington & Oregon coast.

    eg Click it or Ticket
    Litter and it will hurt (seen downtown Seattle)

    Canadian signs actually add words like please or thank you to littering signs — the contrast can be startling but mostly: Funny!

  29. BethS August 26, 2011 at 7:44 am #

    LOL, if only Janet Leigh was so lucky😉

  30. Jacque Sue Roycroft August 26, 2011 at 12:50 pm #

    eek

  31. Patty August 29, 2011 at 11:42 am #

    I’m hearing that scary Psycho music… EEEE EEEE EEEE!!!!

  32. James Hernandez August 31, 2011 at 2:20 pm #

    Jorge,

    It’s a good thing you have a window as sidekick22 looks like she has the goods to do you in.

    P.S. Tell sidekick22 that its serated edge down.

Leave a Reply

