We Had a Skunk Situation Last Week.

27 Sep

Beware Beth curses like a sailor in this thing.

Many of you are concerned about the fate of the skunk. We just left it there and by the morning it was gone. Beth thought he might get too fat eating the garbage and get stuck in the “honey tree.” But he did not.

69 Responses to “We Had a Skunk Situation Last Week.”

  1. sharon zimmer September 27, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    OMG! But then what……….?

  2. Jean Shea September 27, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    You can’t leave us hanging. What happened to the poor thing. I mean it was just being a skunk, so if this has a bad ending for the skunk, I guess I don’t want to know.

  3. MARTA(BcN) September 27, 2011 at 10:49 pm #

    Como terminó la historia?? poor Beth!! lol

  4. CarolineB September 27, 2011 at 11:26 pm #

    But what happened next?

  5. Steve Vance September 27, 2011 at 11:51 pm #

    My favorite part, I’m scared for you. Awesome.

  6. Debbie M. September 27, 2011 at 11:56 pm #

    LOL, that skunk was pretty calm considering all the yelling that was going on. Did “Peppe” eventually find other accommodations?🙂

  7. nevergirl September 27, 2011 at 11:57 pm #

    that just made my night.. you two are so sweet to each other🙂 please tell beth i wouldn’t want anyone else to have my back in a skunk situation either.

  8. Jackie Jones September 28, 2011 at 12:03 am #

    haha i love the domestic adventures of you and Beth that are caught on camera, they are amazingly hilarious!

  9. leendadll September 28, 2011 at 1:32 am #

    i hope you left the door propped open for awhile so it could wander back out. Beth was making me laugh!

    • Vicky Fisher September 28, 2011 at 1:41 am #

      Please update. What happened to poor little Pepe Le Pew??? Was he able to get out? Did he get you on his way out? Enquiring minds want to know! LOL

  10. Claudia September 28, 2011 at 1:39 am #

    OMG that was an awesome look into life with Jorge and Beth. I LOVE you guys.
    Beth had me rolling!!!! This was a great way to start the day.
    Ok. What about the skunk????? How did you get rid of it without getting sprayed????
    Did he spray???? We need much more of this story.

  11. MM September 28, 2011 at 1:45 am #

    Lol that was a bit like Paranormal Activity except it features a skunk instead of a ghost and was more entertaining:)

  12. Michelle September 28, 2011 at 2:32 am #

    Haha wonderful.
    Don’t go near those things. Besides stinking, they bite and scratch. Take it from a southern gal. :p
    Beth is so cute. I would have reacted very similarly.

  13. Jeff September 28, 2011 at 3:23 am #

    That’s why you should always have a bunch of tomato juice on hand. That’s what the Partridge Family bathed in when they got sprayed by a skunk.

  14. Josselyn September 28, 2011 at 4:06 am #

    I. Love. Beth.

    I hope you got the skunk out!

  15. Sebastian September 28, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    As good as the rat video. Love it. Beth is awesome in these situations🙂

  16. Mary September 28, 2011 at 5:22 am #

    lol, Watching this was the perfect start to my morning. I hope there’s a follow up post!

  17. wendy September 28, 2011 at 6:11 am #

    Beth. Language. I’m still trying to get my 4 year old to understand that was a skunk, not a fuck.

    • Michaela September 29, 2011 at 10:01 am #

      loooooool, that answer made my day.

  18. Patty September 28, 2011 at 6:13 am #

    Jeff: I thought the same thing…Partridges, tomato juice! I loved watching this, but I’m surprised Beth let you live after recording her…lol.

  19. Shannon September 28, 2011 at 6:53 am #

    Woah! How did the skunk get out? And does your garage stink to high heaven????

  20. Jacque Sue Roycroft September 28, 2011 at 8:19 am #

    Beth cracks me up..Beth was right..you should get the fuck away from there.Skunks have rabies.

  21. Özer September 28, 2011 at 8:23 am #

    LOOOOVE Beth!!! In those situations I curse like a sailor too (not that I’ve had any skunk situation, though)
    But what happened to the little creature???
    (BTW, this was more entertaining and suspenseful than a “suspense” movie I was watching last night)

  22. janis gonzalez September 28, 2011 at 8:36 am #

    Are you serious??? So then what happen? YOU CANT leave us hanging! Please tell me he/she got out safely… now I am gonna worry about the little guy! Remember…TOMATO JUICE gets the stink out. Lots & lots of tomato juice♥

  23. Lisa September 28, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    SO thoroughly enjoyable!!!! Everyone is asking how it got out but I’m wondering how it got IN??!! Great way to start out a Wednesday morning. And ditto re: Beth. Beth, you realize we all adore you, right?

  24. flight815down September 28, 2011 at 9:03 am #

    LMAO! That would be me, re: the way Beth was acting.

  25. Grete September 28, 2011 at 9:23 am #

    How’d you get the skunk out?! (Beth is HYSTERICAL, by the way!)

  26. Shaw September 28, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    TOO FUNNY

  27. Melissa September 28, 2011 at 9:53 am #

    Beth? Adorable! Yes, totally freaked out, but still adorable!

  28. Donna Siano September 28, 2011 at 10:10 am #

    You two are so cute. Thanks you so much for sharing part of your everyday life with all of us. You guys really make my day. I look forward to seeing whats next. Love you both Donna. Oh when will you have your new address so we can send you stuff. Happy new home.

  29. Mary Paddock September 28, 2011 at 10:31 am #

    Okay. Beth’s wrong. It most assuredly is funny. And you’re even funnier for teasing her so much.

    Here’s the scoop, city kids, Skunks aren’t given to attacking and only spray if cornered (which yours was) and given no other choice. Your best bet is to prop the door open and wait until morning. Chances are very good your visitor, sensing that he’d been discovered, would leave. In the future, your outside trash should be in a can with a lid.

    Oh yeah–PS–Skunks don’t all have rabies. They are not born with it-they have to be infected by it just like any other warm blooded animal.

    LOLOLOL!

  30. Hollie Porter September 28, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    Please please please make more of these. This is just too funy!

  31. mvcmendesArcus September 28, 2011 at 10:41 am #

    You two are animal magnets.

  32. sally September 28, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    You had me laughing… skunk is bigger than Smidge and Pip… keep them away …

  33. han September 28, 2011 at 10:58 am #

    Dude…

  34. Jeff September 28, 2011 at 11:07 am #

    Skunks as pets?…just ask this kid: http://www.loftsofmerchantsrow.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2011/05/pet-skunk.jpg

  35. Marina September 28, 2011 at 11:45 am #

    poor skunk😦

  36. Tony September 28, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    Classic! There’s nothing like having close encounters of the furry kind.

  37. Rita September 28, 2011 at 1:19 pm #

    Still laughing. The best is when Beth tells you that this is serious stuff, and it’s not funny during which time we hear you laughing. Love you two together. Thanks for sharing.

  38. Mandy D. September 28, 2011 at 1:26 pm #

    Awweee it’s just a baby skunk. c:

  39. Oliverde September 28, 2011 at 1:28 pm #

    Poor little cornered skunk. But they do defend themselves radically,😉.

  40. Kathy September 28, 2011 at 1:53 pm #

    oh man must be an epidemic-we live in arizona and my 5 lb yorkie was just sprayed last week by a skunk-came in the house and our house reeked for a week!!!!!!!! WORST SMELL EVER…………………

  41. Mrs. L September 28, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    Okay, not as funny as the rats in Hawaii but still pretty funny. Me thinks little creatures seek you and Beth out? LOL

  42. nanscorner September 28, 2011 at 2:51 pm #

    One of my dogs got sprayed a few years ago when a skunk dug its way into our fenced in yard. My poor dog was trapped… the skunk was between her and the door to get in. Thank God for a great groomer!

  43. jackson September 28, 2011 at 3:54 pm #

    This was so much fun to watch! We’ve had similar incidents (I guess we all have), and they always play out the same way . . . mayhem but lots of laughs.

  44. James Hernandez September 28, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    Jorge,

    Skunks aren’t a big deal. Live by the moto Quando Omni Flunkus Moritati. That will
    see you through!

  45. Becky Nelson September 28, 2011 at 5:01 pm #

    LOL!!! These are becoming my favorite part of your blog…🙂
    I’m surprised Beth doesn’t beat you for posting this!!!😀

  46. pamelalovescharlie September 28, 2011 at 5:33 pm #

    LOL…I love how you are chuckling and staying so calm while Beth is freaking out. I think the rat thing was worse than a cute little skunk…and how did you guys keep the dogs out of the excitement??? Mine would have been going ape shit crazy😀 My first thought when Beth posted on FB was a moose, so a skunk doesn’t seem all that bad ;D

  47. kake79 September 28, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    Man, Jorge, you’re hair is getting really long! Before long, you’ll be able to lop it off and donate it to Locks of Love.

    • kake79 September 28, 2011 at 5:44 pm #

      *your

      • Carl Meserve September 28, 2011 at 6:00 pm #

        So… welcome to Canada, eh.
        What you had dare was what we call da native fauna. Jest don’t tick ’em off… all he was looking for was some leftovers.

        Put your trash in cans with tight lids, or next Mr. Raccoon and Mr. Possum will come a visiting. They have much worse table manners than Pepe’.

  48. coffeegod September 28, 2011 at 6:06 pm #

    Three words: Metal Garbage Can.

    Hysterical vid!

  49. kathy September 28, 2011 at 6:19 pm #

    LMAO! 😀

    Love you both!!

    xx

  50. MARTA September 28, 2011 at 9:55 pm #

    Hahahaha suerte que se fué, rats,skunks… you need build a zoo.lol

  51. Tena September 29, 2011 at 11:22 am #

    OMG!!! Sitting right there, almost as bad as the rats!!

  52. Pedro September 29, 2011 at 12:48 pm #

    jajajaja pobre Beth, cómo terminó la historia?

  53. llisa September 29, 2011 at 2:31 pm #

    Beth – this isn’t f-ing funny! This is SERIOUS!
    You – (kind of quietly) giggle giggle giggle

    So Great! as great as the rat(s) in Hawaii!
    (I curse like a sailor too:))

  54. lucymom42 September 29, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    Okay.. you have to let us know.. what happened to the skunk?? BTW, my kids and I love your blog. Welcome to Canada.

  55. GroovyMom September 29, 2011 at 7:52 pm #

    Hey guys – We have the occasional skunk visitor and honestly – we adore them. We feed neighborhood cats and the food attracts the occasional skunk (or raccoon, or possum) too. We are careful to be quiet when we realize they are on the porch. We do tend to gently close the front door (in the rare event they spray, which is almost never), and we huddle in the front window to watch them. They are such beautiful, non-aggressive animals. I love the way they waddle when they walk.

    I know – people say NEVER feed them, but what am I going to do – put up a sign “this food is for stray cats only”.

    If I could get a vet to de-scent one for me, I would have a pet skunk in a heartbeat.

  56. Jeff September 29, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    He got away? That’s too bad. I think Beth would have looked good in this: http://flypaper.bluefly.com/images/anna-sui-fall2007.jpg

  57. Christina Jones September 30, 2011 at 12:05 am #

    I was watching this video and then I clicked out the youtube channel and watched the rat video…sooo funny!

  58. gaila15 September 30, 2011 at 6:44 am #

    Well I have to say the skunk didn’t creep me out like the rats did. He was a cutie like Flower. I felt Beth’s fear! Great video.🙂

  59. Irish Girl October 1, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    Hee hee…well, if a skunk freaked her out that much, she’d have gone bonkers back where I come from. I once discovered a muskrat in the dog food. My hand was inches from its toothy little snout before I realized what I was looking at and snatched it back.

  60. Dianne October 1, 2011 at 5:54 pm #

    Beth was hilarious!

  61. Jason Lee Miller October 2, 2011 at 9:39 pm #

    Reminded me of my wife the night the Coyotes surrounded us while taking the dog out…. or when she heard that we have rattlesnakes here…. and Black Widows… come to think of it she has done a lot more swearing since we moved to British Columbia…

  62. Marta October 5, 2011 at 12:56 pm #

    It´s beautiful but…I´ve never smelt a skunk. Is it true it smells awful?

  63. Ian October 6, 2011 at 11:08 pm #

    yes! I’ve been waiting for so long to a good quality follow up to the Rat Incident! Beth delivers I fine scared as shit performance yet again!!!!!

  64. laura w October 7, 2011 at 9:35 pm #

    you and beth have quite the adventures with the critters. she cracks me up and you stay so calm.🙂

  65. js January 22, 2012 at 2:51 pm #

    I haven’t been her in awhile and I missed this. I almost hurt myself laughing. When I was a kid there was an incident with a FROG IN THE TOILET (I say it in all caps because that was how my mother kept saying it over and over). No idea how it got there, but all of the jumping up and down and chain-reaction screaming that happened anytime any of us accidentally bumped into each other while staring into the toilet should have been caught on film. I think eventually my little brother scooped him into a strainer and put the lid of a pan on top of it, and then ran like hell through the house and let him go out in the yard. Poor little frog. The amount of flipping out we did for something that posed exactly zero danger to us… image if it had been a skunk.We would have gotten sprayed for sure.

Leave a Reply

