Great Even When It Doesn’t Work

18 Oct

So I have a folder on my desktop for stuff to blog about that’s pretty old. The problem is I don’t have a lot of new stuff going on except work and I can’t talk about specifics yet. So perusing through my “blog me” folder (which is what it’s actually called – I’m not proud of it) I was reminded about this app “Word Lens” I downloaded before my trip to Spain.

The app works like this: You hold your phone up to a sign and it translates it for you instantly, no network required . I have to say it’s pretty great.

The grammar might be a little off but it really works.

Of course it’s not perfect. For one thing the app fools you into thinking it’s free only to find the languages are an in-app purchase. And you have to buy each direction of translation. Spanish-to-English and English-to-Spanish are sold separately. So be careful and don’t accidentally buy the language you already know. And Spanish and English are the only languages available so far.

And finally sometimes it’s wrong.

But if you try again…

It’s still wrong but closer.

Man that was the best wiped of place I’ve ever had.

13 Responses to “Great Even When It Doesn’t Work”

  1. Claudia October 18, 2011 at 1:46 am #

    This was interesting, not up there with Beth and the skunk but it was still interesting.
    It is truly cool that you still take the time to update your blog for us. And we love it Jorge!!🙂

  2. Cathy Akers-Jordan October 18, 2011 at 4:39 am #

    Cool app, even if it makes mistakes. Thanks for sharing!

    Hope the skunks are gone now.🙂

  3. MARTA(BcN) October 18, 2011 at 4:45 am #

    hahahaha wiped of place??? google translate works better I think hahha, sometimes we have not the same words spanish-english ..no quieras saber lo que me cuesta a mi aprender ingles, en españa el nivel no es que sea muy bueno. so well , we need learn languages.se os quiere Jorge and Beth!!

  4. Pedro October 18, 2011 at 6:52 am #

    Las traducciones literales generalmente no son acertadas en ningun idioma. A mi me cuesta muchisimo mas enternder el inglés que a ti el castellano que lo dominas bastante bien. Besos Jorge!

  5. Gwen Styles (@gwenstyles) October 18, 2011 at 8:34 am #

    My teenage daughter once tried to pass off an essay she wrote for her French class as authentic. I knew the moment I saw it she’d written the whole thing in english and passed it through an online translation tool – she must have forgot I’m completely bilingual🙂

  6. Aaron - West Palm Beach, FL October 18, 2011 at 2:55 pm #

    Just be like sienfeld and Blog about “nothing”

  7. Jeff October 19, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    I’m still waiting for a Canine-to-English translation app. “Blog me” as a folder name seems quite appropriate to me, so be proud of it. Truly looking forward to the premier of Alcatraz. January of 2012 will be here before we all know it. I hope that the series will be long-lived. For marketing purposes, I would like to see thousands of people walking around wearing Alcatraz tee-shirts prior to pilot air-date. Just a thought.

  8. Becca October 19, 2011 at 7:55 am #

    It’s a bit literal and word for word, but it will do in a pinch.

    Once in Mexico (back when it was safer to travel there) we were at a toll booth and it said “Keep your receipt; is your safe.” It was supposed to be “it’s your insurance”–es su seguro. We got a good laugh out of it.

  9. Julienne October 19, 2011 at 8:55 am #

    I am glad these programmes and gadgets are not perfect yet: Not only do their translation results make me giggle, but also it means that we human translators are not obsolete yet😛

  10. Felice October 20, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Haha! Incredible.

  11. LSE October 20, 2011 at 3:09 pm #

    What a cool app!

    And mmm, wiped of place. Sounds existential!

  12. Fra October 25, 2011 at 4:10 am #

    even if it seems “a little” inaccurate, when you’re dealing with a
    language that you don’t know, it could be useful… like google translator, which is completely useless if you know the language a bit, but if you don’t know a single word…
    Now i’m picturing myself in some place like russia (i don’t know their language at all) and there, i think that thing could be really useful!!

  13. Marta October 25, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    Bueno, al menos se entiende…aunque lo del pan- bread-place no sé yo si se entiende mucho😛

Leave a Reply

