Pumpkin Bonus

27 Oct

The night of our carving party I made a vegetable bean stew to which I always add butternut squash.

And since a pumpkin is a pumpkin…

Instead of peeling and chopping it up, I scooped out the insides (not easy) so that I could preserve the shell for carving (also not easy).

Them little buggers is tough! The pumpkin saw couldn’t even break the surface. Had to use one of my big boy knives.

22 Responses to “Pumpkin Bonus”

  1. Jeff October 27, 2011 at 8:08 am #

    Since there’s still time, how about something like this: http://www.happydogsplay.com/blog/wp-content/uploads/2009/09/ss_101342988.jpg

    • Marta October 29, 2011 at 12:40 pm #

      I like it ! 🐶

  2. Tena October 27, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    “Them little buggers is tough!” lol How was it?

  3. Jenn October 27, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    I’m impressed you managed it! I used to work somewhere we cut them in half to sell, and I had a hard enough time with just that plenty of times!

  4. Steve Vance October 27, 2011 at 1:08 pm #

    I’m surprised you don’t have the handy drill attachment (think small cement mixing attachment meets hand held mixer meets death). You put it on a power drill, it’s got uber sharp edges on it, and you go to down on the pumpkin. It cuts through all the innards nice and painlessly (unless you touch one of the sharp edges, did I mention it’s sharp?).

  5. ratmando October 27, 2011 at 1:44 pm #

    Had a GREAT laugh reading this (Oh forgot my icon is switched- couldn’t remember my other log in!) Someday I’d love to see these in person, (so would everyone reading, I”m sure!) I like Steve’s idea.. makes it very macho mashing mucho.

  6. Donna Siano October 27, 2011 at 1:54 pm #

    Love it! How do you make your stew?

  7. Jacque Sue Roycroft October 27, 2011 at 4:07 pm #

    absolutely terrific.

  8. Nancy October 27, 2011 at 7:15 pm #

    Loved seeing the pumpkin carvings and your stew sounds yum-o! If you have the time to sometime post the recipe would love to give it a try.

  9. Wander Chow (@wanderchow) October 27, 2011 at 9:12 pm #

    Oh good gourd.

  10. DANIEL ELCHE October 27, 2011 at 10:40 pm #

    muy chulo

  11. Claudia October 28, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    WOW!!!! Can’t think of another word. Just WOW…………..

  12. MARTA(BcN) October 28, 2011 at 1:03 pm #

    estaban buenas las judias(beans)? I love your pumpkin art!!!

  13. James Hernandez October 28, 2011 at 3:06 pm #

    Jorge,

    Nice touch! Butternut squashes actually make nicer (taste an texture) pumpkin pies.

    • kake79 October 30, 2011 at 4:52 pm #

      Really?! Do you simply replace the pumpkin in the recipe with butternut squash or are there other changes in the recipe?

  14. Rita October 28, 2011 at 4:19 pm #

    Love it. But when you said you had to break out one of your “big boy knives”, I had visions of you borrowing it from John Locke. I’m sorry, as you can tell, I still haven’t let go yet. Happy Halloween.

  15. jonathan peters October 29, 2011 at 10:09 am #

    I love your Gagne pumpkins. You should check out our game with art by michel gagne— Insanely Twisted Shadow Planet. I think that you would dig it.

  16. Marta October 29, 2011 at 12:43 pm #

    Funny ! Happy Halloween

  17. David October 29, 2011 at 2:24 pm #

    Love it! It’s really cute.

    Happy Halloween Jorge. Miss you on my TV screen, can’t wait for Alactraz.

  18. gaila15 October 30, 2011 at 6:37 am #

    We, at work have to design a pumpkin every year. My departments pumpkin is totally pathetic but others are very creative. The meat department made their pumpkin into a cheese burger. They sliced the pumpkin in half, held the top up with skewer sticks. Had the seeds glued on top of the *bun* to look like bun seeds. Made a real huge hamburger, melted cheese and sliced tomato’s inside the bottom half of the*bun*. If it’s still there I’ll take a picture and send it to you. Among a few others that were really different. Happy Halloween!

  19. pamelalovescharlie October 30, 2011 at 3:37 pm #

    LOL…love this one…it looks the way I feel after a looong day ;D

  20. Katherine October 31, 2011 at 3:36 pm #

    So cool! I’m impressed by your squash repertoire!

Leave a Reply

