A few of you…

6 Nov

have criticized my last post saying that Vancouver does not constitute the “Great White North” although according to this map…

Furthermore I’d like to let you know that techincally I live in NORTH Vancouver.

So…

there.

30 Responses to “A few of you…”

  1. V. Fisher November 6, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    Speaking from a Miami perspective – yeah, you’re in the Great White North!😉

    • eB November 6, 2011 at 1:51 pm #

      Exactly. 😀

  2. MARTA(BcN) November 6, 2011 at 12:20 am #

    you’re right!! a hard winter, abrigate bien, bufanda, guantes y gorro scarf, gloves and caps lol!! un beso!!!

  3. ratmando November 6, 2011 at 12:28 am #

    you are way way whiter and norther than me, mike, monty, and the vegas critters

  4. Claudia November 6, 2011 at 3:55 am #

    You go Jorge! I got a good chuckle out of this post!!!!
    You know where you live🙂

    I didn’t comment on the frost post having lived through that ridiculous snowstorm last weekend on the East Coast. We got 12″ of snow on 10/30 and all I can say is UGH.
    But I can’t complain because so many people lost power as a ton of trees came down.
    NJ was hit hard but CT really got slammed.
    So when I read your post about the frost I just had to tell myself to just keep my mouth shut about snow and be happy that I had power and was on the computer.

    Hey, looks like I did just complain about that snowstorm……………

  5. Carl Meserve November 6, 2011 at 4:34 am #

    1) You currently live in Canada.

    2) Therefore, you live in “The Great White North”.

    3) Have a Brador, kick back and watch the CFL playoffs.

    4) Enjoy the culture that is Canadian. Relax.

    5) Visit us here in Detroit. The only city in the United States SOUTH of Canada.

    • Donna S November 6, 2011 at 1:29 pm #

      I guess you’ll have to explain “5) Visit us here in Detroit. The only city in the United States SOUTH of Canada.” to me.

  6. Jennifer November 6, 2011 at 5:18 am #

    From what I understand, once you hit the border, there is a large wall of ice that divides the US from Canada all year long. At least thats what people tell me when I travel in the US. You will have to make your way to West Edmonton Mall during the middle of January to visit their indoor water park. THEN you will have truly experienced the great white north. And waterslides are fun.

    • Tara Buss November 8, 2011 at 8:54 am #

      that’s not true, there’s no ice that divides Canada and the US.🙂 Might as well believe that us canadians that we live in igloos

  7. Sandy November 6, 2011 at 7:23 am #

    hahaha…that’s right, Jorge.🙂

    I’m in the Pacific NW…just north of Seattle…lots of green…not so much white…but you never know! I have pictures of ‘white’ as proof that it does happen.🙂

  8. Colleen November 6, 2011 at 7:58 am #

    I stand corrected!

  9. WyzWmn November 6, 2011 at 9:37 am #

    I live on “the Island” outside of Victoria…and we are in the Great White North by comparison to the other Island you used to live on…the good news is that I can almost guarantee you that as far as winter goes…we’ll get frost…but only a week to 10 days of snow…(quite often it falls over night and is gone by noon) at least that’s the way it’s been for the 15 years I’ve been here…the West (sic Wet) Coast is Canada’s Garden of Eden…you are more likely to get mold than snow here…You may want to consider rain gear for Pip and Smidge (my Pixie does the most pitiful displays of cold when it rains and it does for months)…and invest in a pair of RBLT’s (rubber bottoms leather tops) for yourself LoL…if you start feeling blue get yourself a SAD light or start taking 2000 IU’s of Vit D a day…works wonders….Can’t wait for ALCATRAZ!

  10. Miss Scarlett November 6, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    omg – my comments keep disappearing

    i had said: that’s a good map, eh?

    all of canada is pretty much the GWN, as indicated on your map. NV, though it’s beautiful, rarely gets snow — you can head up to Cypress if you want to play — do your tiny dogs like snow? as much as halloween costumes? my little girl adores the snow but she’s woolly and that might make the difference

    i’m just north of NV and we get snow, followed closely by rain, most winters. I work in Whistler and we’ve had 3 days of snow there already — a mighty cold winter is forecast so perhaps you will see snow in your new place

    which will kind of suck because…i don’t know that NV has much in the way of plows…but you could play in your yard!

  11. Alexis November 6, 2011 at 11:19 am #

    Dude. Is that the map from the Strange Brew action figure set? Not that I would know…

  12. Bob November 6, 2011 at 11:36 am #

    I applaud your restraint, Jorge, in not simply responding, “Take off, you hosers!”

    • eB November 6, 2011 at 1:47 pm #

      Hehehe!

  13. Jennifer November 6, 2011 at 12:58 pm #

    Dude… you grew up in Orange County (I went to Mission Viejo HS while you went to San Clemente?). It’s the great white north to you!!! We think it is freezing at sixty degrees!

  14. Julie November 6, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

    The Great Lakes on that map are huge! They pushed Southern Ontario all the way to the east coast and totally bumped off New York State! Lol

  15. Jeff November 6, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    Soon you’ll be catching your fish dinners through the holes that you cut open in some lake near your home.

  16. pamelalovescharlie November 6, 2011 at 7:01 pm #

    LOL @ your “so there”….that’s a nah nee, nah nee, boo boo if I ever heard one😀

  17. Tena November 7, 2011 at 8:40 am #

    You tell ’em, Jorge!! 🙂 So there!!

  18. Oliverde November 7, 2011 at 11:47 am #

    Totally the GREAT WHITE NORTH.
    Is it white already?

  19. Irma November 7, 2011 at 7:11 pm #

    As an Eastern Canadian, I have to stand with the people who say you are not technically in the Great White North. Vancouver is its’ own little microcosm of mild weather that the rest of Canada only dreams of. Last winter, my husband and step son had to go up on the roof to shovel off the five feet of snow that was making the entire house creak and doors hard to open. (On the other hand, you now know we get fabulous summers and glorious autumns.)

    Think of Vancouver as your “training wheels” to winter.

  20. Amy November 8, 2011 at 10:52 am #

    In my book anywhere that gets snow is considered the great white north!

  21. Marie November 8, 2011 at 8:10 pm #

    I’m Canadian and to me the Great White North was more like Yukon, NorthWest Territories and Nunavut😛

  22. Lori Howden-Weaver November 8, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    This map is hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I love it!!!! Watch…it will snow all winter in Vancouver now, just to get back at us…and actually, I have heard that it is going to be a wild winter!!!!

    • Sam November 14, 2011 at 9:45 am #

      Hahaha, that’s what they said LAST winter, and we got nothing! Even some gorgeous sunny short-wearing days! That’s what I love about Vancouver! You can never really predict the weather here.

      p.s. Jorge, you’ll get more snow in North Van! ;o)

  23. Uncle Walts Niece November 8, 2011 at 9:29 pm #

    When I went to Vancouver, the locals said that it didn’t snow much there – at least in the area around the Pan Pacific Hotel and Stanley Park… but apparently, Whistler gets TONS of snow!

    I am sure we are gonna find out how ‘white’ it really is and how GREAT that’s gonna be… Eh ?

    Awesome !!!

  24. Carl Meserve November 9, 2011 at 7:38 pm #

    Explaining Detroit is the only American city SOUTH of Canada….. OK, I screwed up. This is what you get when you play one too many quarters of football without wearing your helmet.

    Detroit is the only US city NORTH of Canada. The city of Windsor, Ontario, tucks itself underneath the city of Detroit with the border being the Detroit River. Therefore, if you live in Detroit, Canada is located to the North, South and East.

    Sorry for the mix-up.

  25. James Hernandez November 12, 2011 at 12:34 pm #

    Jorge,

    You tell ’em. As someone who has seen his fair share of snow Vancouver is sorrounded by it (albeit in the mountains).

    p.s. Go Leafs Go!!!!

Leave a Reply

