Every Time I Have Peanuts or Peanut Butter in Canada

13 Nov

I think of spiders.

And then I’m reminded of that thing where a jar of peanut butter can have random bug parts in it.

Hmm… Something else to start making myself.

21 Responses to “Every Time I Have Peanuts or Peanut Butter in Canada”

  1. Tena Lynn November 13, 2011 at 3:55 pm #

    Oh yuck~~~have you ever watched Food, Inc? It will change the way you look at lots of foods. Beef, chicken, eggs~~~you name it!!

  2. Tena Lynn November 13, 2011 at 3:59 pm #

    Oh sorry I forgot~~~you will love this video I promise. Way too funny~~

  3. Francoise November 13, 2011 at 4:08 pm #

    arachide in french means peanut. If you ever go to France and want to buy some peanut oil you will need to ask for some “huile d’arachide”.

  4. Dawn- Kate November 13, 2011 at 4:18 pm #

    There is an interesting book called Bugs In The Peanut Butter that you should check out.

  5. Jessie November 13, 2011 at 4:26 pm #

    I am so glad I am not the only one! Not the spider thing, I live in NJ, but the bug part thing. Every time I make the twins pb&j I think about the bug bits. I can only eat peanut butter if I don’t think about it. I guess I’m a bit odd, but hey, now you are too!!!

  6. Donna Siano November 13, 2011 at 4:39 pm #

    Good idea! If you make peanut butter yourself please take pictures or video tape it.

  7. James Hernandez November 13, 2011 at 4:43 pm #

    Jorge,

    Got love that french. Arachides = Arachnophobia or Arachnids. Wait till the summer
    when the watermelons come on sale – french word for that is too funny.

  8. Jackie Denney November 13, 2011 at 7:36 pm #

    If you watch Food Inc. the only thing you’ll want is a coconut and a hammer

  9. Kathyann November 13, 2011 at 7:57 pm #

    LoL Ugh! I love peanut butter.

  10. Lori Howden-Weaver November 14, 2011 at 12:27 am #

    One of my favourite French terms is for seafood…”fruits de mer” ( fruit of the sea)!!!!!! Now that’s cool!!!!! Food is a great motivator when it comes to learning another language, eh? (did you catch that partially intentional “eh” ?!). Yes, some of us Canadians learned cereal box French when we were little…have not heard of the PB thing… it’s too cold here to worry about bugs…they all die in the winter anyways (well, they do in Edmonton!!!!)…it’s kind of nice having a bug-free season!!!!!

  11. Katherine November 14, 2011 at 4:24 am #

    Could you possibly be more adorable? I can just imagine you in the supermarket picking things up and reading them apprehensively.

  12. Claudia November 14, 2011 at 4:56 am #

    Oh, I NEVER heard this one before. Good God that is just gross………….
    I have no words. Just yuck.

  13. thatcreativedude November 14, 2011 at 6:26 am #

    Does it have one of those ridiculous warning labels on it like Peanuts do here in the USA? “May contain peanut products.” etc… No, really?

  14. Gis November 14, 2011 at 7:16 am #

    El otro día mismo compré una tableta de chocolate con almendras, y cuando llevaba comida la mitad, me percaté de la existencia de unos gusanitos blancos muy monos moviéndose a voluntad por dentro del repugnado entonces dulce…

  15. lostsailors November 14, 2011 at 7:43 am #

    Ha! Before I even read the rest of this entry I saw the picture and thought, “Spiders?” You are not alone I guess!

  16. Joan Crawford November 14, 2011 at 11:26 am #

    Have you started listening to Q with Jian Ghomeshi on CBC radio yet? Watching The Rick Mercer Report will also help you immerse yourself in the Canadian culture.

  17. Robin November 14, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

    If you go to a natural foods store in the bulk section you can usually grind your own peanut butter (and usually almond butter too). Super fresh, bug-free, and fun too!

  18. Jeff November 14, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    Now I know how they get the chunks in chunky peanut butter.

  19. Andrea Mitchell Freitas November 15, 2011 at 1:37 pm #

    OMG me too!!!! My husband is Canadian and every time we go up North to visit his parents I see this and think the same thing!

  20. Bear November 16, 2011 at 1:41 am #

    Have you tried the Kraft Extra Creamy Peanut Butter yet? I have friends in Detroit who will cross the border just to find it!

    Or is it, Kraft Extra Creamy Spider Butter???😉

  21. James Hernandez November 16, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

    Ooops I meant grapefruit and not Watermelon!

Leave a Reply

