The snow the other night

19 Nov

I shot this the night it started snowing here. Being someone whose only experience with White Christmases involved white sandy beaches, I find this both exciting and worrisome. I wish I could hibernate.

26 Responses to “The snow the other night”

  1. Liz Soltysiak November 19, 2011 at 5:37 pm #

    Beautiful picture!

  2. Karen Chimento November 19, 2011 at 6:12 pm #

    Nothing like it snowing outside while a fire is going inside. Oh, and cocoa. Just saw a tv ad for Alcatraz, so exciting!

  3. Jeff November 19, 2011 at 6:13 pm #

    So…are you gonna go single or dual stage with your new snowblower?

  4. Donna Siano November 19, 2011 at 6:23 pm #

    You would make such a cute bear. We get snow here in Lake Elizabeth, Cal. Its nice sitting by a fire and watching it snow, Just enjoy!

  5. Debbie Nelson Johnson November 19, 2011 at 6:40 pm #

    It will definitely take some getting used to for you and Beth. Here in North Dakota, we’ve got 4 inches of snow on the ground already.

  6. Paul-ene November 19, 2011 at 7:58 pm #

    You will learn to love it…..just buy a snowmobile…makes the winter go by alot faster!

  7. Debbie M. November 19, 2011 at 8:05 pm #

    From my days in a snowy climate you will need to have sand on hand for the ice so you don’t slip and fall. Also, make sure your car has snow tires. Get a snow brush and scraper for taking the snow and ice off your windshield. Oh, and don’t forget the snowblower if you want to get your car out of the driveway:)

  8. Lurkertype November 19, 2011 at 8:08 pm #

    That’s going to make filming interesting since it doesn’t snow in San Francisco. Guess you are indoors on sets!

  9. Jackie Denney November 19, 2011 at 8:46 pm #

    I went from Texas to Oregon years ago..the first summer I was there they had a high of 90 and people were keeling over at the heat…laughed my ass off..they got even with me when that winter it snowed and had the worse snow storm in years…

  10. pamelalovescharlie November 19, 2011 at 9:49 pm #

    It’s much easier to get warm when it’s cold, than it is to cool off when it’s hot. You could be naked and still be hot and sweaty. In Ohio we have both extremes…hot, humid (blech) summers and snowy, freezing winters. I usually hibernate in the summer…house closed up tight, a/c going like gangbusters and yet never able to cool the whole house to my liking. I’ll take the snow over muggy, heat any day! I always LOL when the weather channel shows the hot weather states hitting the 50s…the people have hats and coats on…I don’t grab a coat until it’s in the 30s…but I start whining about the heat when it’s over 82😀

  11. twoaz1 November 20, 2011 at 2:11 am #

    In my experience you will either love it or hate it. Given the vids of you in WI I suspect you will love it a little or hate it more. Beth is accumulated to the climate, but if she’s not cool with shoveling, hire some one. It is often a chore beyond what we are able to accomplish alone. Snow can be fun, but with practicality it sucks and hurts. Hoping you both enjoy Vancouver and your new job… taking in winter as a new and valuable experience. Love to you both.

    PS I despise winter😛

  12. Claudia November 20, 2011 at 5:51 am #

    I can totally understand your feeling that way. Totally.
    If I woke up to sandy beaches and the ocean I would feel exactly the same way.
    Enjoy it all to the max. You deserve it!!!

  13. Jessica November 20, 2011 at 6:39 am #

    OMG I just had a great idea……you and Beth should have a snowman party! Like your annual pumpkin carving party!!!!!!!!

  14. gaila15 November 20, 2011 at 7:51 am #

    The absolute worse part of winter is the driving. That would be my only concern, and the rules are to slow down..that is all. I’m sure Beth will be all over that. Most of us do hibernate during the winter unless you’re into skiing and such..which I detest. Enjoy it though. I would never give up the four seasons.🙂 Looking forward to January…only for your show.😛

  15. Michele G. November 20, 2011 at 10:07 am #

    Wow, we haven’t had snow here in Toronto yet, but they have had some north of the city.

    In keeping with the other posters’ winter tips, don’t forget about black ice when you’re walking (slipped & broke my elbow last winter) or driving (look it up, plz!).

    The only way to survive when it really gets cold is by layering and investing in a nice thermal or silk 2 pc set – Mountain Equipment Co-op has lots of options. A down coat is a must – (make sure it’s 80/20 ratio down to feathers). And make sure your winter boots are waterproof and rated to at least -40C. You’ll be fine :} And it should be fun for you guys to watch Pip & Smidge discover the joys of snow, too!

    Plus, snow is amazing – the air smells different in the winter and a nice fresh covering makes everything look so beautiful…

    Until you get so frikken’ cold at the bus stop that you swear you’re moving to Mexico tomorrow😛

    P.S. Love your blog!

  16. Jen November 20, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    I wouldn’t worry too much. As you saw, it tends to snow here just a tiny bit, and then all melt away a few hours later (or get washed away by rain). Maybe a couple of times a year we might get a bigger snowfall that lasts for a few days, but generally most of the city shuts down anyway so it isn’t too awful. You just need a scraper for your car windows because you will definitely have lots of mornings that require window scraping! My least favourite part is never being able to go anywhere quickly…I’m always running late and then end up even later after the window clearing.

    • gaila15 November 20, 2011 at 2:33 pm #

      One of my favorite scenes from Fargo is when the Macy character is scrapping his car windshield. Haha

      It doesn’t seem like the winters are too bad where you’re located.

      • Jen November 20, 2011 at 7:12 pm #

        Yep, I’m in Vancouver, same as Jorge and Beth! We don’t get “typical” Canadian winters here, by a longshot. I’m kind of giggling at the “snowed in for days” and “rated to -40” comments…I have lived here my entire life and have never come close to encountering either of those scenarios!🙂

  17. Kimmy November 20, 2011 at 2:57 pm #

    You should spend a (long…they’re *always* long) winter in upstate NY, the snow capital of the US. As a local who grew up here, I bet you’ll never want to see a single flake of snow ever again!

  18. cathe jones November 20, 2011 at 4:14 pm #

    snow angels, shovels, 12′ snow drifts– THAT is snow!! duuuude, tis nutn yet

  19. Kathyann November 20, 2011 at 5:53 pm #

    LOL Growing in NE Wisconsin, winter can be rough so I am thinking it is harder where you are at. The times you get snowed in for days are the rough ones.

  20. Ian November 20, 2011 at 7:00 pm #

    Wait! Somehow I remember a family vacation where Beth was filming you outside in a mountain of snow. So this shouldn’t be too foreign to you!

  21. Kristen November 20, 2011 at 10:23 pm #

    I grew up in MA, where hey, there were Halloweens that were snowed out some years. After spending seven years living in CA, that first light snow was nice. Now? Just wrap in my arm blankets and give me some tea.

  22. Jeff November 21, 2011 at 11:02 am #

    That house in the background of your photo reminds me of the Brady Bunch house.

  23. MARTA(BcN) November 21, 2011 at 11:53 pm #

    love it!!! yo quiero nieve!

  24. Katherine November 26, 2011 at 1:26 am #

    You would look adorable hibernating.

Leave a Reply

