Thanksgiving: Plants vs Animals

25 Nov

As I sit here enjoying my Thanksgiving leftovers sandwich I thought I’d share the details of our beast/non-beast feast. We doubled up on almost everything.

Turkey breast and Tofurky roast.

Beth’s Green Bean Casserole made with cream of mushroom soup and my dairy free version.

Beth’s Mashed Russet Potatoes with dairy and my Yukon Gold mash without.

My stuffing with apples and raisins and Beth’s stuffing with bacon.

My sweet potatoes with brown sugar and orange zest. (Beth had no entry in this category.)

Beth’s store bought pie vs my homemade vegan pie.

Pie was a winner. But I did go a little heavy on the spices.

Hope you had a good one.

28 Responses to “Thanksgiving: Plants vs Animals”

  1. Chris D. November 25, 2011 at 7:55 pm #

    Our local vegan restaurant sold meals to go! Mmmm so good! Hey Jorge I don’t know if Beth reads the comments here but this is the only way I know of to sort of reach you. I think I found something she might like for Christmas🙂 http://www.wbshop.com/Harry-Potter-Hogwarts-Personalized-Acceptance-Letter-Chromaluxe-Panel/HPEZPPPHOGLC5,default,pd.html

  2. ratmando November 25, 2011 at 8:02 pm #

    if you ever want a pet chinchilla, you are the oly one I’d trust with the safety of one of my babies– you both rock!! (hubby spoiled me and took me to a great restaurant- first time in 23 years I didn’t cook)

  3. Chris Hudak November 25, 2011 at 8:17 pm #

    Thanks for the share…..

  4. Donna Siano November 25, 2011 at 10:20 pm #

    Wow! Thanks for sharing. It looks so good. I’m getting ready for work and the pictures make me hungry. I guess I’ll just have to take soup to work. Thanks again you guys are the best!!!

  5. Debbie M. November 25, 2011 at 10:38 pm #

    We had the Tofurky too. We cooked it at home and brought it over our friend’s place who had cooked a turkey. A few of their meat eating guests tried our Tofurky and liked it. Also made mashed sweet potatoes with cinnamon. Does Beth ever try your vegan recipes? They look good.

  6. Gretchen November 26, 2011 at 12:18 am #

    Vegan love!! I made my own seitan roast this year and vegan pumpkin cheesecake! Your stuff looks great🙂

  7. Katherine November 26, 2011 at 1:38 am #

    My family made vegan pumpkin pie with coconut milk and Field Roast hazelnut cranberry roast. It was awesome. Thanks so much for posting your pictures, they look delicious!

  8. Claudia November 26, 2011 at 5:41 am #

    That food looks delicous. The first picture made my mouth water.
    It REALLY made me hungry.
    Did you bake that bread??

  9. Amanda November 26, 2011 at 8:38 am #

    Your stuff looks great, especially the pie and sweet potatoes. Well done!

  10. Kathyann November 26, 2011 at 9:45 am #

    Very nice! I’ve never had yams with orange zest. How does one go about making a vegan pumpkin pie. Hey, Beth….mine were store bought, too. My Grandmother is shaking her head at me.

  11. oh_pook November 26, 2011 at 11:17 am #

    Your whole post begs the question…

    Did you see the Muppet Movie and if so, how many times did you shed tears!?!?
    My answers
    Yes.
    5 times (but only twice did they reach chin)

  12. jeannie cave November 26, 2011 at 12:17 pm #

    Cam almost smell those variations. What a divine set of pix from Mr and Mrs Pie

  13. Jeff November 26, 2011 at 12:36 pm #

    mmmmmm…tooofuuu

  14. pamelalovescharlie November 26, 2011 at 1:11 pm #

    LOL…I’m with Beth on everything but the pie. Homemade pies, especially with extra spices are the BEST! That’s how I make mine🙂

  15. Sue November 26, 2011 at 1:36 pm #

    Never a fan of Tofurkey – much prefer Field Roast in the vegan “meat” category. This year I tried Gardein’s Savory Stuffed Turk’y for Thanksgiving. I haven’t liked much of the gardein “meats” before, but this one was very good – like breaded croquettes with gravy. And if you haven’t already tried it, Earth Balance’s Coconut Spread is way better than their other stuff, and makes me not miss butter one bit. Glad you had a good Thanksgiving, even if it was only Thursday.🙂

  16. Sarah W. November 26, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    Yukon Gold ftw! The pumpkin pie looks awesome too. I made my first vegan roast this year, and no one else wanted any, but I’ve been enjoying the super delicious leftovers all weekend. (It’s this one: http://www.theppk.com/2011/11/seitan-roast-stuffed-with-shiitakes-and-leeks/ )

  17. joanna November 26, 2011 at 8:57 pm #

    this made me so happy. you guys are great.

  18. Heather November 27, 2011 at 2:02 am #

    I really admire you for going vegan! I have been veggie for almost a year and plan to eventually go vegan.

  19. Uncle Walts Niece November 27, 2011 at 8:15 am #

    Raisins are my kryptonite…

  20. ameyfm November 27, 2011 at 10:04 am #

    nice! I love the side-by-side. At my family dinner, we had everything from my vegan feast (for me and two other vegan relatives) to my brother’s deep-fried turkey wrapped in bacon. Whoa. Have you ever tried the Field Roast Celebration Roast? I used to get Tofurkeys but now I like the FR more. Also I think it’s from Seattle/Pacific NW, so it should be easy to find. YUM! I love that you made so many different dishes!

  21. Jackie Denney November 27, 2011 at 12:08 pm #

    if they Goddess didn’t want us to eat meat she wouldn’t have made bacon

  22. James Hernandez November 27, 2011 at 4:24 pm #

    Jorge,

    Looks like someone had a delicious thanksgiving. What’s on the menu for the holiday season in December?

  23. Dani Elche November 28, 2011 at 12:19 am #

    plantas win

  24. Jeff November 28, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    Chihuahua plays pool: http://www.wimp.com/chihuahuapool/

  25. MARTA(bcn) November 29, 2011 at 10:22 am #

    Mmmm yum! Mientras sea comida no me importa que sea vegetariana.

  26. lostsailors November 29, 2011 at 6:15 pm #

    Mmm! You guys went all out!

  27. Anomalies December 5, 2011 at 11:28 pm #

    Happy belated Thanksgiving to you both. I see peashooter from Plants v. Zombies! A favorite.

  28. Sharon December 19, 2011 at 9:19 am #

    I haven’t been here in a while so I missed this lively post. Lots of great food and fun!

Leave a Reply

