Why is it?

29 Nov

Whenever you get a new dictionary, the first thing you look up is “fart?”

I just showed Beth the dictionary on her computer and sure enough that’s exactly what she typed in.

And I can’t tell you how many times I turned to the “fart” entry to decide between two different dictionaries while in a store.

So after we learned what a fart was again we went on to other vulgarities not listed in the dictionary, although we did try numerous letter combinations in case we were spelling it wrong. Eventually we ended up finding what we were looking for on Wikipedia.

And as a bonus learned a new word:  “vart”.

21 Responses to “Why is it?”

  1. ratmando November 29, 2011 at 11:35 pm #

    uhm, if you get an iphone with Siri- go ahead and ask about a Blow ..er you know the rest.

  2. Worm Wrangler November 30, 2011 at 12:16 am #

    I find myself trying to find how close to godliness cleanliness truly is. I think it changes between dictionaries, but I lose focus. Either way, it’s not that close. There’s d, e, and f in the way.

  3. Claudia November 30, 2011 at 2:37 am #

    You guys are like two peas in a pod. How did you meet??? It is THE PERFECT MATCH.
    Love these stories.
    You make my day!🙂

  4. Marcus November 30, 2011 at 5:49 am #

    Vart is how germans fart.

  5. Christa November 30, 2011 at 7:03 am #

    I bought a 4-letter combination lock to use at the gym instead of a 4-number combo because I could never remember the number combinations. I set my combination word and said to my husband, “I bet you can’t guess my combination.” He said, “FART.” He was right.

  6. Jackie Denney November 30, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    ah..the difference in 50 years..when I was a kid(sonny) we would go to the library and look up words like penis, vulva, clitoris, and giggle like insane people.

  7. Jackie Denney November 30, 2011 at 8:48 am #

    now I need directions to ‘find them’.

  8. Tena November 30, 2011 at 8:56 am #

    I love you guys, you are made for each other!! Besos and then some!!

  9. MARTA(BcN) November 30, 2011 at 10:01 am #

    Fart existe en catalán idioma que se habla en Catalunya(barcelona) y quiere decir estar harto. Un beso Jorge!!

  10. MARTA(BcN) November 30, 2011 at 10:06 am #

    AHHH y fart en espanyol Pedo o en catalan se dice Pet.

  11. Jeff November 30, 2011 at 10:44 am #

    LYAO with this soundboard: http://www.fart-sounds.net/fart_sound_board.htm

  12. Cindy November 30, 2011 at 12:06 pm #

    Reminds me of something I read yesterday: “We are all a little weird and life’s a little weird, and when we find someone whose weirdness is compatible with ours, we join up with them and fall in mutual weirdness and call it love” (Dr. Seuss).

  13. Marta November 30, 2011 at 1:02 pm #

    Then, what is fart? may somebody tell me, please?

    • moon December 2, 2011 at 7:19 pm #

      Pull my finger to find out😀

  14. Sandra December 1, 2011 at 5:18 pm #

    Congratulations for the film Maktub! I went to the preview and it was a beautiful surprise see you at the movie. We laugh a lot!

  15. Margie December 1, 2011 at 5:43 pm #

    I saw a calendar you and Beth might like today. It was a fart calendar!! lol

  16. lostsailors December 1, 2011 at 7:54 pm #

    Well, let’s face it, fart is one of the most versatile and USEFUL words in any culture.

    Speaking of dictionaries, I have an Afrikaans one. Let me look that up for you!

    Poep!

    El oh el! A fine word. The dictionary also offers up, “ʼn wind laat” or to break wind, when in finer company.

  17. llisa December 2, 2011 at 3:13 pm #

    My parents had a dictionary from the early 50s and under “fart” was the description “a gaseous explosion between the legs” and it had a drawing of trowser-ed legs spread and wind lines and curls shooting out from the crotch🙂.
    It always made me giggle and (clearly) I’ve never forgot… I’m giggling now! Hhmmmm… Wish I knew what happened to that dictionary. Fart & poop… always good for a chuckle.

  18. Heather December 2, 2011 at 5:42 pm #

    I think you have WAY too much time on your hands….

  19. Kristina December 2, 2011 at 6:01 pm #

    My girlfriends and I — all professional and cultured women, went to Puerto Rico on vacation and stayed a night in a town called Fajardo. Which, when you say it in Spanish sounds like ‘Fa-hardo’ which sounds like ‘Fart-o.’ We spent days cracking up anytime anyone of us said the town’s name. We joked that the gas stations should sell shirts saying “I got gas in Fajardo.” I think they’d sell like gangbusters.

    • Jorge Garcia December 7, 2011 at 12:53 pm #

      then you’d love germany where the off ramps are all called ausfart.

Leave a Reply

