Worst Gambling Odds Ever

13 Dec

Last weekend we went to watch the Packer game at a local pub. Not being much of a football spectator I started entertaining myself with a little BC Lottery gambling. The odds were slightly less than 1 in 5 that I’d win according to them. So I figured with five tickets, I just might win one. And sure enough I did.

And what was my big payout?

$2.00 CDN.

Wait a minute.

That’s what my original bet was on that ticket. 

So to clarify I bet on a 1 in 5 chance to break even five different times. The BEST that could have happened was I would have made back my original bet, which I only did once in five games.

“Daddy! I got cider in my ear.”

Stay away from this game.

16 Responses to “Worst Gambling Odds Ever”

  1. ratmando December 14, 2011 at 1:11 am #

    Here in Las Vegas, we rely on those who have only understood mathematics very poorly. Thanks to the gamblers, I pay no state income tax. (yay)

  2. Claudia December 14, 2011 at 3:53 am #

    They got you coming and going!!!
    Not nice…………..:(

  3. Jeff December 14, 2011 at 4:52 am #

    You should have put your money on the Packers. They just keep on kickin’ butt.

    • flight815down December 14, 2011 at 8:46 am #

      Amen, Jeff! I’m originally from Wisconsin and a native ‘Cheesehead’. Go Pack Go!

  4. oh_pook December 14, 2011 at 6:23 am #

    Oh I love Guys and Dolls!!!

  5. Jackie Denney December 14, 2011 at 6:28 am #

    you would have done better by betting on the game

  6. Jerry Chappell December 14, 2011 at 7:19 am #

    But remember, in Canada you don’t have to pay income tax on those winnings!

    • Jorge Garcia December 14, 2011 at 10:23 am #

      For two dollars? Thanks for nothing. Still getting reamed on sales tax anyway.

      • Jerry Chappell December 14, 2011 at 11:11 am #

        Jorge, I just have to tell you that my sister-in-law got your Robe from the mental institution, in the LOST props auction. She’s still trying to figure out how to mount it in some kind of huge shadow-box in her living room. I suggested she should put a digital picture frame in beside it, showing some screen-shots of your scenes, or some actual video.

  7. Tammie December 14, 2011 at 8:05 am #

    Yeah, that pretty much takes the fun out of winning unless you only buy one ticket and win the first time you play:o/

  8. flight815down December 14, 2011 at 8:45 am #

    LOL Btw, I am a native of Wisconsin, now living in Southern California. You did go to watch the ‘team’. Once a Packer fan, always a Packer fan. Have you tried playing ‘Hurley’s numbers’ on the big lotto up there?

  9. Kristin December 14, 2011 at 9:28 am #

    Yes! Play The Numbers!

  10. Donna Siano December 14, 2011 at 11:23 am #

    Sorry you didn’t win big.

  11. lostsailors December 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    EL OH EL. This reminds me one time I read my horoscope and it said it was a good day to play the lotto that I would win something for sure. I usually enjoy that astrologist so when I was out getting gas I figured, “Why not?” I spent four dollars, got four scratch and score cards. … And I did win.

    4 dollars.

    Can’t say the horoscope was wrong? Hahaha, that still cracks me up today.

  12. Shaw December 14, 2011 at 3:46 pm #

    That is how we pay for our free health care!

  13. Denis December 23, 2011 at 2:45 am #

    You are supposed to raise your bet ( like it says on the bottom of the ticket) IE re bet the 2$ you won .Since you had a 9 and an ace , that 2 $ could have been much more !!!

Leave a Reply

