Brother, Life’s a Bitch… and She’s Back In Heat.

31 Dec

Finally got around to watching They Live. 

Man, I’ve never seen anyone not want to put on sunglasses so badly.

16 Responses to “Brother, Life’s a Bitch… and She’s Back In Heat.”

  1. bullion December 31, 2011 at 1:42 am #

    Hell yeah! Awesome and underrated Carpenter flick… I also should watch this one again.

  2. Carl December 31, 2011 at 2:04 am #

    I came here to chew bubblegum and kick ass…and I’m all out of bubblegum.

    Whenever I run out of bubblegum that line is always going through my head.

  3. MARTA(BcN) December 31, 2011 at 6:04 am #

    me quedo flipada con algunos de tus post jaja me dejas sin palabras, feliz año nuevo!!!

  4. Mrcelofan December 31, 2011 at 7:26 am #

    ¡¡¡Gran película!!!

    Un saludo y feliz año nuevo.

  5. Ron Strelecki December 31, 2011 at 9:22 am #

    The world desperately needs a sequel to “They Live.” And it already has a perfect title awaiting it: They Die! Another under-heralded film with a subversive political message from the eighties you might want to check out is “Head Office” starring Judge Reinhold… It’s as relevant today as the day it came out.

    • Jorge Garcia January 1, 2012 at 1:58 pm #

      I’d rather see a reboot. I thought the premise exceeded the payoff.

      • Jason Lee Miller January 3, 2012 at 5:23 pm #

        I find that with a lot of his movies (John Carpenter), its like he has these insanely great ideas that get limited such that the expected ‘big bang’ is a bit of a ‘fizzle’

  6. Tammie December 31, 2011 at 9:25 am #

    “I’m here to kick ass and chew bubblegum… and I’m all out of bubblegum.” My favorite one liner from a fabulously cheesy movie!

  7. Andrew December 31, 2011 at 10:50 am #

    One of the best cheesy movies of all time. I was just watching this not too long ago. Thank God it’s on Netflix.

  8. Debbie Nelson Johnson December 31, 2011 at 2:47 pm #

    My sons and I discovered “They Live” back in the 90’s. It became a favorite with them. Gotta love a movie where the lead wears the same shirt throughout the entire film.

  9. Jackie Denney December 31, 2011 at 2:49 pm #

    I loved that movie and never had the nerve to admit it till now..

    • Karla December 31, 2011 at 9:28 pm #

      Love that movie!

      Happy New Year!

  10. niven December 31, 2011 at 7:56 pm #

    i’m such a poser for having used that quote without ever knowing where it came from. i’ve been schooled. 🙂 next on netflixs.

  11. Michelle December 31, 2011 at 10:37 pm #

    Love that movie… another old cheesy alien favorite is “Strange Invaders” with Paul Le Mat, Nancy Allen, and Diana Scarwid.

  12. Jason Lee Miller January 3, 2012 at 5:21 pm #

    I had heard rumours of a reboot and would like to see how it could be redone… and yet (to me) it just wont be the same without ‘Rowdy Roddy Piper’ 😀 Its funny because no one ever really gave the man props for acting when he was in the WWF and yet to me he really made that movie and it would be hard to imagine anyone else doing it…. who else can turn a stupid sun glasses scene fight into a ten minute ordeal but an ex wrestler lol?

    Come to think of it I suspect you would do a damm fine job in any remake- get your agent on it!

  13. thenewcollector January 27, 2012 at 11:03 am #

    This almost made me snort tea on my keyboard. Thank you. Did you ever see the South Park version of that fight? Pretty funny too. Apparently Carpenter was so annoyed by critics calling his films needlessly violent he decided a 10 minute fist fight over sunglasses would really piss them off. I think it manages to be one of the most memorable, and hilarious, fight scenes ever.

Leave a Reply

