Aulani Menehune

8 Mar

One of the details I liked the most about the Aulani resort were the Menehune they have hidden all over the property. A Menehune is a type of “little person of the forest” in Hawaiian mythology. This is just a random selection that I found during my visit.

23 Responses to “Aulani Menehune”

  1. Chinny March 8, 2012 at 6:38 pm #

    That is a very cool tradition. Although pic #5 looks like it is about to pounce on some unsuspecting victim……

  2. Tammie March 8, 2012 at 6:53 pm #

    What a fun tradition! I am guessing that there is an element of luck or protection that goes along with those images.

  3. Sue Forsee March 8, 2012 at 6:54 pm #

    Have you ever searched for the “hidden Mickey’s” at the Disney parks. It looks like these are modeled on those. I wonder if the resort also has hidden Mickeys. . .

  4. niven March 8, 2012 at 7:12 pm #

    that could make for a potentially creepy movie.

  5. flight815down March 8, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    You didn’t drive on The Pali Highway with pork in your car, did you? Bwahaha!

  6. John Alexander March 8, 2012 at 7:48 pm #

    Creepy little guys, for sure. Loved the latest podcast. Good luck for another season!

  7. trishy March 8, 2012 at 9:38 pm #

    These remind me of that Brady Bunch episode where the boys steal a sacred idol and have back luck! Didn’t Greg almost die or something?

  8. Jorge's Groupies March 8, 2012 at 11:29 pm #

    Okay, Jorge, as long as they don’t start popping up in Alcatraz prison cells!

    Anyway, they are very cute little fellows. Hmmm. You didn’t take one home for your garden did you? A new playmate for the furbabies.

    Glad you had a great time over there on the island. Have a great time in Japan.

  9. Mrcelofan March 9, 2012 at 12:27 am #

    Pues a mi me dan un poco de miedo.

    Saludos.

  10. jean cave March 9, 2012 at 1:52 am #

    Way cute. That gives me a great idea for my homeplace.

  11. Claudia March 9, 2012 at 2:43 am #

    Very cool!!!!

  12. maki March 9, 2012 at 7:39 am #

    I love them! United Airlines Menehuhe is cute too. He had tried ski!
    http://www.worthpoint.com/worthopedia/rare-united-airlines-ski-the-west-menehune-man-1

  13. brandy March 9, 2012 at 9:20 am #

    They are cute..except for the ones that appear to be in the corners of rooms ready to pounce on you and drag you away.
    Nightmares!

  14. Jeff March 9, 2012 at 9:54 am #

    The second photo reminds me of Dominic Monaghan.

  15. Laura in Cancun March 9, 2012 at 11:02 am #

    They remind me of the “aluxes” we have in the Yucatan Peninsula… little Mayan pranksters who live in the jungle🙂

  16. Jackie Denney March 9, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    as a pagan I am blown away by them…so terrific.

  17. MARTA(BcN) March 10, 2012 at 2:28 am #

    a mi tambien me dan un poco de miedo hehe

  18. Jules March 10, 2012 at 3:09 am #

    How cool! I like little touches like that.

    And on a totally different topic… I woke up at 2 a.m. from a dream about how you were teaching a class and I was on my way there in a navy van I’ve never owned and it was raining out. I couldn’t wait to get there but never did. I wound up in some other classroom making crafts projects and was really disappointed to have to wake up before meeting you. Argh.

  19. Pedro March 10, 2012 at 3:57 pm #

    A mi me gustan. Jorge, explicanos cosas sobre la mitologia de estos hombrecillos.

  20. Dianne Davis March 12, 2012 at 9:46 pm #

    When living on O’ahu seven years ago, our then 13 yo daughter had an interesting experience while attending a summer horse camp at YMCA Camp Erdman (the one LOST used for the “Others” camp–we recognized it right off). They woke up one morning and small footprints were all over the ceiling in their cabin. Another afternoon things were all disheveled while the girls were out on trail. We had heard menehunes were very active in the area—and she had those stories to tell when we picked her up that Friday. I always listened to the locals and honored their warnings about the menehunes, the Night Marchers, and Pele on the Big Island. I’ve had my own experiences in the military housing in the AMR area–scared me straight awake and called my friend over on Tripler (it was nearly midnight). She had NEVER heard me talk like I did that night–I swear it took years off my life—and had to talk me down. Of course this was when my husband was TDY in S. Korea for his job, and when I told him about it, he said to lay off the sushi. Still teases me but I know what I saw….and he responded to my telling it to leave. POOF—gone! Took nearly three hours to calm down and try to get some sleep. I had to be back at our youngest daughter’s school (then 5 years old–and sleeping in my bed with me that night it happened) and work the next day. Told a local of what I saw and she nodded and said that was normal around here. OY!!!!!

  21. TofuForBrains March 14, 2012 at 1:21 pm #

    How’s the veganity at Aulani? Walt Disney World (Orlando) is remarkably vegan-friendly if you do a little homework. I’ve never been to the other Dis parks, but I’ve heard they are less veg-friendly.

  22. TofuForBrains April 1, 2012 at 9:08 am #

    Here is more info on the menehune at Aulani from a renowned Walt Disney Imagineer, Joe Rohde. http://disneyparks.disney.go.com/blog/2012/04/imagineer-joe-rohde-shares-a-story-of-the-menehune-at-aulani-a-disney-resort-spa/

Leave a Reply

