Brown Dog Cafe

16 Mar

My favorite breakfast in Vancouver might be Brown Dog Cafe out in Point Grey, specifically for their Whole Wheat Vegan Pancakes.And I think the woman behind the counter has a sense of humor because after I placed my order at the counter the “number” she gave me for the table was this:

40 Responses to “Brown Dog Cafe”

  1. niven March 16, 2012 at 8:37 am #

    hahahahaha!!!! i guess she was all out of ben linuses to pass out.

  2. Lorenzo (@Ihatesemicolon) March 16, 2012 at 8:46 am #

    Thanks for this information, I start to write down restaurants and other interesting places for my trip to Vancouver this summer.🙂

  3. ratmando March 16, 2012 at 8:56 am #

    LOL THAT is good peeple. (and lol niven, too)

  4. dani elche March 16, 2012 at 9:00 am #

    Uf , que recuerdos me trae ese oso ¡¡¡¡¡¡¡

  5. Kim Smith March 16, 2012 at 9:33 am #

    Jorge,
    That’s great!🙂 Had you been there before so she was ready with the polar bear this time? Mmmm, vegan pancakes! I’m doing raw now, but I used to love making vegan pancakes with teff flour using flax & chia for the egg replacer.
    My hubby & I are long time vegans & vegan chefs. If you’d ever like any recipes or are ever in Vegas we’d be happy to share some vegan goodies with you.

  6. Jeff March 16, 2012 at 9:47 am #

    Did she let you keep it? Are you dressing up the pups in green tomorrow?

  7. musemanticore March 16, 2012 at 10:17 am #

    HAHA Awwww. That’s actually quite a cute polar bear. (I never did figure out why there were polar bears on the island)
    They’ve only just started airing Alcatraz here in the UK. I think I jumped out of my skin at least three times.😀

    Stay safe.

    Peace.

    • Jeff March 16, 2012 at 1:06 pm #

      The way I understand it, the smoke monster morphed into a polar bear because there was an image of a polar bear in a comic book that Hurley had with him when he boarded the plane in Sydney. When the plane crashed, the comic book got misplaced and Walt found it.

      • musemanticore March 17, 2012 at 4:52 pm #

        Good grief man, you’re more observant than I am. I’m still watching the box set. (I watched it when it aired but adverts ruin the flow of the show for me.) I’ll have to pay attention to that comic. Cheers🙂

      • Viladin March 17, 2012 at 7:39 pm #

        That’s incorrect, but a good guess.🙂 The polar bears were shipped in for Dharma experiments.

      • Jeff March 18, 2012 at 7:15 am #

        What I posted applies to the first episodes from season one. But John Alexander (see his post below), has a very valid point, so my smoke-monster theory is probably incorrect since I forgot about the animal experiments.

  8. Kathy March 16, 2012 at 11:27 am #

    hahaha….cool! 🙂

  9. Debbie M. March 16, 2012 at 12:28 pm #

    LOL, I love it!

  10. John Alexander March 16, 2012 at 1:25 pm #

    I believe Dharma was doing experiments on animals, including polar bears. When Ben killed all the Dharma folk the bears and other animals (the chicken, etc.), they were left to roam the island(s).

  11. Tammie March 16, 2012 at 1:42 pm #

    It makes me wonder… Does she have a sense of humor, or was that a coincidence? It’s great either way!

    • Leslie Peddle April 13, 2012 at 7:34 pm #

      Not a coincidence: she has a great sense of humour and quick wit.🙂

  12. Alicia B March 16, 2012 at 3:23 pm #

    Now see, if I was you…..when she handed it to me, I would have said Dude…..
    LOLOL. You coulda freaked her out back.🙂

  13. fhid March 16, 2012 at 3:53 pm #

    That is awesome! The pancakes look pretty great too!

  14. theurban6 March 16, 2012 at 4:32 pm #

    LOL, Whats sad is it took me a minute to make the connection😉

  15. Debbie Nelson Johnson March 16, 2012 at 5:01 pm #

    😉 Good one.

  16. henrywasserman March 16, 2012 at 7:49 pm #

    The polar bear rocks!

  17. Donna Siano March 16, 2012 at 9:16 pm #

    What other animals did she have? Thanks for sharing. We hope to see you Sunday that is if it doesn’t snow our here in Lake Elizabeth, Ca.

  18. Donna Siano March 16, 2012 at 9:17 pm #

    out here. Sorry

  19. Carol March 16, 2012 at 10:19 pm #

    I had a 2…3…4…count before I connected the polar bear to you and LOST…lol…duh

  20. Jorge's Groupies March 16, 2012 at 10:32 pm #

    Jorge, this just goes to show you how much people admire you. Who could not ever love Hurley? You made Hurley, Jorge, Hurley didn’t make you. You are a beautiful spirit among humans. Your bear is cute. Hope you got to keep him. Enjoy your break, Jorge. Hope Hawaii is survivng their storms. Tell Beth and the fur babies hi.

    P.S. We’ll take a stack of those pancakes.

  21. Claudia March 17, 2012 at 5:26 am #

    That is just the coolest thing ever! One of my favorite stories.
    Gotta give it to her for keeping her head and showing her support without making a scene.
    I would be struttering and babbling……………….

  22. Jean Schubert March 17, 2012 at 5:51 am #

    Subtle. Nice.

  23. Marta March 17, 2012 at 7:27 am #

    At last I find out where the bear was!🙂

  24. MARTA(BcN) March 17, 2012 at 8:41 am #

    que gente mas simpatica, yo cuando veo osos polares siempre pienso en lost😉

  25. Pedro March 17, 2012 at 11:07 am #

    me encanta el osito

  26. April March 19, 2012 at 6:52 am #

    That’s awesome..

  27. llisa March 19, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Just proof that LOST fans… your fans… are everywhere!… and we love you Mr Funster!

  28. Betty March 20, 2012 at 1:48 am #

    wow, those pancakes look good.

  29. James Hernandez March 24, 2012 at 1:31 pm #

    Jorge,

    That is the patron saint of Lost! Head to Churchill Manitoba to see them in real life.

    P.S. Go Leafs Go!!!!

  30. Hattori Hanzo aka Mark Judge March 25, 2012 at 4:39 am #

    hehe- If you were in a cell with someone, you would have to poo in front of them. Funny!

  31. Shona April 12, 2012 at 8:20 am #

    Hi all, from Brown Dog Cafe !! ( esp Jorge/Hurley )
    she did know, it was intentional , and we all LOVED meeting you
    thxs for the support, we like our pancakes too
    XOX BDC

    • Alicia B April 14, 2012 at 3:22 am #

      That just puts a smile on my face. See, there are fans everywhere, and we are not all psycho.🙂

  32. Carly April 13, 2012 at 2:35 pm #

    I was the girl working behind the counter!! I did give you the polar bear for a reason…I figured it was a subtle way to show you I was a fan instead of blubbering like an idiot…:)

  33. Antiaddict April 13, 2012 at 3:16 pm #

    She’s awesome! I actually know her, and she’s that quick to come up with it on the fly. Plus you were both our favourite!

Leave a Reply

